Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Jonathan’s Wife’s Visit Causes Traffic In Yenagoa

Friday, November 14, 2014

Jonathan’s Wife’s Visit Causes Traffic In Yenagoa

The visit of wife of President Goodluck Jonathan, Patience, to Yenagoa, Bayelsa State, on Thursday, paralysed social and commercial activities on the Yenagoa Mbiama Road for many hours.

It was learnt that the traffic congestion was caused by overzealous security operatives, who cordoned off some places with their vans because the President’s wife was in town to distribute empowerment items to some groups in the state.

Commuters and motorists who were trapped in the gridlock created by the visit were seen struggling to make detours.
Those who were frustrated by the long traffic jam disembarked from their vehicles, confused as to what to do next.

A teacher in a school at the Erekpa area of the town, Mr. Preye Goodluck, said the roads had been blocked as early as 10am in anticipation of Patience’s visit.
He said, “As early as 10am, security personnel blocked some roads in the Yenagoa metropolis, particularly the Ovom and Etegwe areas of the capital city.

“Scores of persons who went to the outskirts of the metropolis, such as Igbogene, Agudama and other places, were also affected because they found it extremely difficult to wade through the snarls.

“Many of us who wished to get to other parts of the metropolis had to pass through Isaac Boro Expressway. Even the traffic on the expressway was beginning to build up around 3pm.”
A motorist, Mrs. Stella Honesty, introduced political undertone to the whole scenario, wondering what the President’s wife was coming to give as empowerment items to the people.

She said, “Is it because general elections are around the corner? In fact, if I were some people, I will reject any empowerment. Where was she all this while? Some of us have refused to be deceived by this entire political gimmick.
“Look at the kind of suffering one is going through because she is coming.

Must she create tension each time she visits anywhere? I have been trapped in this logjam for a long time for a journey that would not have been more than 30 minutes.”
Meanwhile, at the Samson Shania Stadium at Ovom, Yenagoa venue of the programme, Mrs. Jonathan gave away various gifts and cheques to different groups.

She urged the women to vote en masse for her husband, Jonathan, who recently declared for re-election.
She said the Peoples Democratic Party provided the best platform for women in the country.

She reminded the women that her husband had promised 35 per cent positions for womenfolk in his government if he won the 2015 presidential elections.
Governor Seriake Dickson was not present at the event, though his deputy, Rear Admiral John Jonah (retd.), attended. -Punch reportage

31 comments:

1. No be only grammar o...with expired rice n teargas

2. Distribute empowerment items?

Backwardness of the highest order!

3. Na dem sabi. I only read d headline

4. jona must have been very local, for him to have married patience

5. What rubbish! This can only happen in a lawless country like Nigeria.

6. Well, wateva she likes she can distribute, i still see her as a wife to a govt official and when i can, i will drag all the 1st ladies (former, current n future) to court so that they can refund our common wealth they squander without constitutional backing

7. All hail Dame Pershe d former perm sec..I hope she hasnt fallen out with Seriake Dickson cos i wonder why he was absent...

1. She has fallen out with Dickson na. Y do u tink she resigned as a permanent secretary and the governor was conspicuously absent at the event.

8. That is always the case.

9. You guys are missing the point. Gradually, everyone, in every part of the country (and yes I'm taking about GEJ defenders) will see that the argument is not North/South, Christian/Muslim but responsible leadership vs impunity and irresponsibility. Let's go there.

10. Poverty Is Problem in this country..so people will be given moneys 3 months to election and after that till 2019 what happens to them

1. Your own problem is illiteracy!

11. Kpele2 those pipo whose movement were paraylsed,its normal naa,anywhere dis sets of persons go to is a closed down&no movement zone for others except only dem&their entourage.

12. Only if people wld stop turning out to welcome all political post holders who embezzles money to make life hard for common nigerians....But how can people stop wen poverty is parvelant in our county,I guess this has always been the leaders aim.

13. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Welcome to Nigeria wey dem dey worship politians like say them be gods...

14. she try....ochi! stella nigeria ist nicht deustchland oo reportage ke...

visit my blog...dafemoritz.blogspot.com

15. Be empowered today and remain unemployed with poverty till 2019, when She will be back again wiyh more droplets-People with Fish mentality.

16. BVs… you guys need to see the ugly 5* hotel Mama Peace built with her share of the National Cake in Yenagoa. I cannot believe she sat down with professional to design that building she calls a resort.
    Not only is the exterior ugly and cheaply constructed, the interior is actually worst.
    I sat next to her family relative (or so she called herself) on my trip to London as I was luckily upgraded from business to first class. The chick was so boastful and I being the lovely lady I am sat patiently and listened to what she had to say. I befriended this chick and we met again in Knightsbridge. Stella before my very eyes, she bought Hermes bags and paid almost 70,000GBP on the spot. I don’t know if I was shocked with anger or jealousy but what I do know is that God is watching oh.
    It’s absolutely shameful and so obvious Nigeria is not a democratic country but a dictatorship. A few minutes’ drive from her hotel is the slums.

1. It's her inferiority complex that psychopants capitalise on 2 massage her ego

2. And you can't be trusted...who upgraded you by d way?

!!omu Iya dun!!

3. Mama Patience can never get it right. Na 1 star brothel. Smart people will only use and dump them. Those people that were tear gassed deserve it, poverty is not a license for stupidity.

17. Spirit abi Ghost find your kingdom go.she had that hotel a long time.if the hotel too fine you will still talk,e no fine you talk.if you can't afford Hermes bag,gegely go buy your cheap Aba bag and stop acting as if you know too much.

18. This is not news Stella......they are not the first and won't be the last...how many times in your life have u seen a president visit a state and there w no traffic? Stop looking for every opportunity to insult them.....make una vex with God wey choose them over your fathers and mothers......everyone will give an account of their lives before God....