Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria Blasts America, says U.S Has Let Nigeria Down In War Against Boko Haram

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Nigeria Blasts America, says U.S Has Let Nigeria Down In War Against Boko Haram

Disappointed by the refusal of the United States to help Nigeria procure military weapons to combat Boko Haram, the federal government has now openly expressed its dissatisfaction with the American government decision, arguing that the Americans were letting Nigeria down at her hour of need, Empowered Newswire reports.

While receiving a delegation of the U.S. Council on Foreign Relations yesterday, the Nigerian Ambassador to the United States, Professor Ade Adefuye said both the Nigerian people and the government feel abandoned by America.

“I am sad to inform you that the Nigerian leadership: military and political, and even the general populace, are not satisfied with the scope, nature and content of the United States’ support for us in our struggle against terrorists.”

“We find it difficult to understand how and why in spite of the U.S. presence in Nigeria with their sophisticated military technology, Boko Haram should be expanding and becoming more deadly”.

“The U.S. Government has up till today refused to grant Nigeria’s request to purchase lethal equipment that would have brought down the terrorists within a short time on the basis of the allegations that Nigeria’s defence forces have been violating human rights of Boko Haram suspects when captured or arrested.”

Indeed the US government had equally explained that it would not be selling military weapons to Nigeria due to human rights allegations against the Nigerian military.

But Mr. Adefuye, in his meeting with the Council on Foreign Relations, dismissed such allegations.

“A stable and secure Nigeria is an invaluable asset to America,” Mr. Adefuye said - Premium Times reportage.

*Hmmm,which allegations is Adefuye dismissing?Nigeria person when shit go dey him front e go say na puff puff?can Nigeria  handle lethal weapon?Abeg abeg abeg........

45 comments:

1. He has a point tho....abeg let us not depend on them jor

1. Why depend on them, they have professed that Nigeria will divide and you think they will help you escape their own I'll wish against the Country.
      GEJ, legalize light arms and civilian GTF and let's manage what we have an secure our county.

2. Ewo l'eleyi to jala soju bi kini yi? Abeg!

3. Mr Adefuye,tell your government to stop peddling lies and corruption.Maybe then the super powers might take us serious.

2. Sebi you want to be independent abi?you see?

I thought the so called "perpetrators" like GEJ says are in this Nigeria?

And going by this report,its sounding like a mandate that US should help Nigeria .I don't think we are taking the issue of this boko haram seriously till when it gets to Aso Rock,then they will rise up to the challenge. Abi where are the Boko Haramist getting those sophisticated weapons?

1. Exactly. Moreso when they were leaving Nigeria they did so quietly, which made many assume that they prolly didn't believe that chibok girls were missing after much investigation. The excitement attached to their 'triumphant entry' into Nigeria became annihilated, leaving us hopelessly screwed. Now the truth of the matter don begin show face. BH will just be laughing at us.

3. Ihekire Tony

These Americans are stupid, so boko haram has human rights. and those they are killing, what rights do they have...? .....animal rights!

1. Tony, be talking like a graduate please.

4. Lol @ Nigeria
    person when shit go dey him front e go say na puff puff?

5. If weapon can be given to Iraq,Afghanistan,Egypt,Philippines,Pakistan and many other 3rd world countries,I don't see why Nigeria should be exempt from the privilege.if America refuses,Russia and china are clear and easy options.they want to actualise their 2015 prediction to come true by fire by force

6. Keep waiting for America to fight your war for you, don't take action. Keep waiting.

7. Abeg make dem no bring am o!. NA boko boys hand e go endup wit

8. why should they be angry when on thier own they haven't done any tangible thing yet they expect foreign help Abeg Abeg jare we should act actively first Bfr seeking or expecting other helps. Oga Jona dey there till biko get u at ASO villa

9. Americans have analysts and they are wise enough to know that those weapons can be mishandled and once they get into the wrong hands, the masses will be the ones paying the price...... 2015 election is just around the corner the last thing we need is importation of lethal weapons biko!!!!

10. This government never seize to Amaze me. Is it America will fight our war for us. Is Boko Haram a creation of America. We are to dependent of these people. If America will not sell weapons to us, what happened to Russia and China. Our system is bad very bad, riddled with corruption, insubordination, misplaced priorities, apathy towards the common man and less privileged. The truth of the matter, we do not need the support of Americans to win the fight against this insurgency, we can do it if we are truly determined.

1. But with up to date ammunition to match that of BH. See how all our soldiers are dying and fleeing the battle fronts because they cannot match BH and their fire arms. It's not rocket science, if they don't give our soldiers good ammunition they won't go to war.

11. Story! Its our fight let's face it

12. The rate at which dz people are expanding is terrifying and they are well equipped. We can't match them with the same weapon but smth better. I'm really scared for Nigeria I no go lie.

13. Why do they need the help of the US to procure weapons? What about the ones they went to buy from south Africa? I'm not sure I understand what his point is.

14. ANGELRAY SAID
    That is their bizness abeg, thank God I don't live in the north, Muslim is a very barbaric religion.

1. Angelray, they are in Nigeria...you are in Nigeria and you are saying thank God you do not live in the north. Typical naija attitude, was that not what everyone said till bombings entered the East? Ok sit there and be displaying ignorance.

15. Abeg they should stop pointing fingers n fight there battle.....if is 2 loot money now ,they will score A1.

16. Lethal weapons no way,more casualties the boko haram will even steal them and use it against innocent people

17. Oh puhlize, don't blame the American government for anything, they've got their own demons too. They still tying finish up whatever war Bush started in Iraq by fighting those Isis rebels and this one is here talking balderdash.
    Our 'leaders' needs to justify their huge pay package, and call the BH by their names cos they all know them and they also know who is sponsoring them.
    And PS, USA no longer buys oil from us, they have invested in Shale oil and they very much enjoying the benefits. So, they care less now.

18. See me see matter o! So the blame game is now the solution right! I guess it has gotten to the extent of expecting outsiders to fight our wars. This country is a big joke. I thought we've been going to other neighboring african countries to keep peace, so why can't we do same here? I just tire jare. BH has its sponsors within (mole) which has made it difficult for US to intervain,

19. BH has been terrorizing Nigerians for years. It is now 6 months to elections that the government just realised that it needs sophisticated weapons???

How did BH get its own store of sophisticated weapons? How do jazzed up armed robbers get their sophisticated weapons??

At this rate of getting into power by all means, some people want to blow up the country!

America should come and fight your war, abi.... Mschew

20. Must we buy from US? Are they the only country selling military hardwares. Naija is always looking for who to blame. Please they should look elsewhere...Russia and China will readily sell to Nigeria...It's not compulsory that it must be US.

21. Nigerians we can fight and defeat bh on our own if we can unite n stand firm against bh just as we did to ebola.

22. As usual, Africans blaming Europe and America for their problems. They loot their nations and still blame it on Europe and America. SMH.

23. The truth is that Jonathan's government has lost the support of the usa, simple and straight forward...the weapons he wants to procure will find their way into the wrong hands, into the creeks, into the hands of PDP cronies that want to rig elections...and will not go to the soldiers fighting bh..

24. USA didn't do anything just that FG messed up in relying/trusting a country that derives joy when calamity that has to do with reduction/downsizing of population befalls a country. Are we babies not to know this or didn't we see the hand-writing on the wall? Abeg US no do anything na we cause our problem. China, Russia are there and they chose US and SA. Jona wake up, you have been sleeping too much. Mama Peace pls tap him to wake up and buy weapons from China, Germany, Russia, etc.

25. Why will we not blame others. Man cheats you blame women, girl is raped you blame everyone but the rapist, Terrorists are bombing us, we blame people who are on their own. Naija forever dodging responsibilities since 1914. Biko make I see road. I am sure someone will soon say it is because they do not want to see GEJ rule in 2015 or because they want our oil(hahahahaha). Delusional people

26. I don't trust these Americans, theirs is a witch cried at night and a baby died in the morning (Nigeria 2015 break up). After what happened in Libya even sacrificing their ambassador, I don't trust them again. They can't sell us weapons but bh has some of the world's sophisticated weapons ( the armoured tank that that was captured by our military is not in the arsenal of most African countries). Please lets buy from Russia or China, I don't think they (Americans) wish us well.
    Am sure they're weary and surprised how an African country can be blessed with diverse human and natural resources, because if we harness all we have we will be a super power.

27. Oh now it is America's responsibility? What have you done with the resources you have had for them to allow you purchase 'lethal weapons'. Wait well well
    Mstchew

28. These guys are clowns. All you have to do to get U.S attention is agree to buy arms from Iran and Russia, in anycase they know they are indirectly involved and so want the rebellion to last as long as possible so they can set up a base in the Sahara to prevent other nations getting uranium from Niger.

29. Nigeria is just a joke and GEJ is just a mistake. You are blaming US for your inefficiency to do the basics. Obama s first strategy in combating ISIS is to cutoff all sources of their funding. Copy tht and thank me later. shebi u ar just waking up. What happened to the billions released to fight boko haram.
    Jonathan is a total failure to human world.

30. Did America create your woes????

31. Nigerians can be unintelligent. Your president has the man power to annihilate Boko Haram, he chooses not to. To announce his 2015 aspiration, he pulled out the big guns.... For a bloody announcement when people are loosing their lives. I've no idea why any reasonable souls would vote for him in 2015. Look around you..... Nothing is working. Nothing. Even as a zoologist, he can't help diversify an oil depended nation into Agriculture. PS Buhari is no better.

32. Oh what a joke! It's time for blames now #Americawillknow.. What won't the federal government say nowadays. Hahaha