Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Government To Buy N9.2bn Cooking Stoves For Women

Thursday, November 27, 2014

Nigerian Government To Buy N9.2bn Cooking Stoves For Women

The Federal Executive Council on Wednesday approved the purchase of N9.2bn worth of cooking stoves and ‘wonder bags’ for rural women under the National Clean Cooking Scheme.

N9.2BN?what kind of stoves and how many????

Wonder bag is a non-electric slow cooker invented by Sarah Collins, a South African eco-entrepreneur, who came up with the idea of surrounding the pan with cushions six years ago during a power cut in her country.

The council also awarded a contract of N60.9bn to an indigenous firm, KaKatar CE Limited, for the provision of engineering infrastructure for Kyami District, Zone C, in Abuja.

The Supervising Minister of Information, Dr. Nurudeen Muhammed, and his counterparts in the environment ministry and the Federal Capital Territory, Mrs. Lawrecia Mallam and Bala Muhammed respectively, briefed State House correspondents at the end of FEC, which was presided over by Vice President Namadi Sambo.

Muhammed said the N9.2bn, inclusive of Value Added Tax, was approved for the procurement of 750,000 units of clean cooking stoves and 18,000 wonder bags.
He said the stoves were expected to be delivered by Messrs Integra Renewable Energy Services Limited within a period of 12 weeks.

Muhammed noted that the stoves, to be assembled locally, would provide jobs for Nigerians, among other benefits.
The minister said, “The National Clean Cooking Scheme is an aggressive drive to engender clean cooking culture amongst the poor rural women, to reduce and possibly eliminate cooking with solid fossil which is detrimental to health.
“The scheme is expected to provide 20 million clean stoves over a five-year period at the rate of four million stoves per annum, which will be distributed free of charge.

“It will also reduce incessant felling of trees, which exposes the country to ecological problems.
“Furthermore, additional benefit to Nigeria in switching over to this technology by the rural households is the carbon credits arising from the registration by the UNFCCC. The country stands to gain 50 per cent subsidy of the price through the generated carbon credits.”

He added that the government would be above aboard in distributing the items to ensure that political consideration was not considered in determining the beneficiaries.
He explained further that all women groups in the country were involved in the scheme from conception to the level of awarding the contract.
He said the instrumentalities of the participating groups would be used to distribute the items.
Shedding more light on the contract, the Minister of Environment said in deciding the rural women that would benefit from the free stoves, the government would give preference to the about two million female farmers that are currently procuring fertilisers through e-wallet and another two million women already registered by a non-governmental organisation.

She described cooking with firewood as a silent killer hence the need for the government to come to the aid of the rural women. - Punch reportage.

*N9.2BN IS A LOT OF MONEY!
HOW MUCH IS ONE STOVE?
THERE IS GOD OOOOOOO

82 comments:

1. Nawa for you Stella! You forgot that,everything in Nigeria govt.comes in billions...have you forgoten that our president spend 1.5 or more everyday for a day food..weeping for this and next generation if there will be one.

2. Y'all speaking grammar.. to stop all these nonsense is simple..vote out jona vote out pdp

2. someone just hit paydirt. stove ko burner ni.

3. Dia ris Godu ooo!
    Dia ris Godu oooo!!
    Dia ris Godu ooooo!!!

*crying*

4. Life is Beautiful27 November 2014 at 08:54

Something is rotten in the state of Denmark

5. But when lecturers in poly demanded for their money back then, they had to wait 9 months or so.......Stove indeed

6. Stellastica I can bet you that the total cost of all the stove that's needed to be bought is not up to that outrageous amount of money, the total cost of all the stove was inflated from its original cost, its another means for some government official to misuse and embezzle publice fund.

7. Are stoves the problems twisting the country? Stoves? Like stoves? Wow

8. Pray tell, wot sort of stove is dat? Sey na disel abi na kerosene e dey use?
    Kai, Nigeria govt I raise yansh for una!
    #cmehusslingtobuyindustrialovenoflezzthan50k. Nd Una wan use billions for stove!
    Hian, dix is jst a coded form of stealing!

1. it is called stove of life, gbogbonise stove, it will solve all the problems of these rural woman .Once they have the stove, they can send their kids to school, they have access to good medical facilities, clean water, electricity etc

2. Walahi! Na stove of life! I would rather invest my saliva in something productive than to say anything on this issue

3. The Earl of Banana Island27 November 2014 at 20:31

2 think with these stoves,rural women now have 2 add kerosene 2 deir daily expenditure...it's like a prison sentence

9. This is the kind of news that spoils my day. Why do we Nigerians behave like? Are we looking at the amount?? In this austerity we are in? Pls someone explain cause am so confused and sad.

10. A hell lot of money to b wasted.... I'm really not impressed.... with d level of poverty in d rural area. Is a stove d answer to her problem?

11. I don't think stove is the Nigerian women problem now. They need to be empowered and create job opportunities, where is food first before stove to cook it? let's see how far our government will go.

12. They will never change ... Just chopping the nation's money anyhow...wot kind of stoves are they purchasing? Ama shey Nkan oh... These pple shud fear God oh.. Na one of them go supply the stove wich may probably not be more than 1m naira and d said stoves will not reach all the rural women that is meant for ... Besides this is the height of misplaced priority... Stella na me n ur blog today ... No skol no work .. Happy thanksgiving day!

13. Oh shut it Stella! U talk way too much. Try to shush sometimes.

1. Sigh, re u sick or just retarded or are there tapeworm in your brain. We are talking about the outrageous amount of money spent on stove, u re here saying trash

2. Smh to tink u re a 'Mrs' I pity d poor man dat put such an infested gutter mouth in his house. Manerless woman. Keep licking Stella's pupu ass.

3. *Heavy sigh*. And they always come as anonymous to cuss out. Smh. You are part of this stove problem.

4. idiot, see it because of sick useless people like you I am using a blogger I.D, if you know you are sure of yourself, change your anonymous to your name. Anoufia

5. Mrs oreo,I was with u till 'I am using a blogger I'd'

14. Fire wood wey sweet to make jollof rice is now bad for our health? Is it not outside the house? 9.2 billion naira in this period of no money in Nigeria ? Something Is wrong somewhere.

1. Chai anonymous 9:01 u sabi the drill ooo. I still made some ofada stew with fire wood/charcoal this past weekend and e sweet die. It gives ur food that local sweet flavour. Yummy.
      As for the stove issh, well if truly they are giving the needy and it would be utilised by some women to make a living, cos some use it for commercial purposes though, then so be it. Contesting the price would be wasting my time. God sees all.

15. Another avenue to embezzle public funds.
    9.2billion to procure stoves ? It's fine, it's okay.

Scheming bastards.

A revolution is needed to take out all these powers that be. Look at other African states, fighting for what belongs to them.
    The Nigerian masses are so lax, while the economy is in the hands of the bourgeoise.

1. be the change you want to see. start the revolution and the lazy ones will tag along. dont just fight with your keypad

16. They should keep deceiving themselves! Y not use dat money n empower den n get dem something doing!

17. 9.2b for stove naija maka why???

18. Heeeey!!!
    Here we go again ooh!
    9.2bn for stove? Haaaaaa
    Eyin aiye!!!
    Nigeria! Sai Allah!

19. Naija and chop, chop. Smh!

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

20. Another clueless intervention from a clueless administration..... Any thing for the boys just to make money avialable for electioneering

21. 9.2bn worth of stove ......oriegwu . That amount of money can get every Nigerian a stove and change go still remain

22. Na wa oh 9. What? Oh my world.

23. 9 Gini to buy stove???

Ana emenu.....

Just SMH....

24. Wooow cnt wait to v my own cooking stove

25. Another SCAM.
    Useless administration,can you imagine? What a Government? They will give us silly excuses from their office soon more budget mismanagement is yet to come. Billions that will be life changer for the youths and their families, oh I cry my country. If the government do not know what to do with the fund, let them share 1million to each undergraduates entrepreneurs to establish themselves. Those who think Jonathan should continue to rule till 2019 should explain to us reason that man should stay a day in that office. For those who don't care about politics or what goes on in Nigerrupption, it's your destiny STOP toying with it.

26. To cook which food? Naija we hail!!

27. Another avenue to steal and divert tax payers funds.The committee that approved this should be sent to a psychiatrist for examination..For crying out loud, this silly govt should learn to priotize, epileptic power supply, bad drainages, bad roads, no water, no good hospitals that are affordable, how about schools? N9 billion on stove??? A won ole jatijati!

whirlwind

28. Na any and every means to gather funds for May 2015 elections jor

1. The Earl of Banana Island27 November 2014 at 20:38

Is d stove using water or kerosene?

29. It's funny that this our Government still think they can take all the citizens for fools. The price of those items have been extremely inflated. Please visit nb-wonderbag.com to see the real price of the Wonderbag. They cost as low as 30 pounds, do the maths. And if purchased in bulk cost much less too. Well, I guess money for elections has finally been released so let the games begin!

30. Misplaced priorities! Clueless govt! Hw wiLl stoves better d lot of these women?

31. Same as the millions spent on phones for farmers. Stoves, seriously stoves, person no get leg u de buy am shoe. MTCHEWWEEEEE.

32. This is terrible! ! Is this what we need now? I thought they mentioned something about austerity? I refuse to give up on this country. Yes, my vote may not be used come next year but I will still vote. Ike ndi a agwugo m
    This like the cell phone shared to farmers to "improve productivity" o kwa ya?

33. If they bought it, will they give them kerosene as well? No permanent power light to support this clueless idea of 'stove'. N9.2B for how many stove? Another way to whisk our money while we're looking for money to pay tuition/house rent. Mal. Nurudeen, Mrs Lawrecia and others make una fear GOD o. Nigerians do not need it.

34. Stella, christmas is around the corner. So our people will do anything to get money. How can we spend 9.2 billion for stoves. How much be stove for Oke arin market.Government don dey grease some people hands ooo. Doctors are going on strike. teachers dont teach well except students pay for lessons. God will help our country Nigeria.

35. And almost half the population are unemployed,iSsokay,OYO is the case in Nigeria,better u madam stella wey sharp eyes marry oyibo run comot from this mess of a country,it is well with the good Nigerians like us

36. The sad thing is that dose rural women will not even hear abt dis project talk more of seeing the stove at d end of the day.
    They are just looking for how to pull out money from the treasury for elections,nothing more!
    We all can see how deeply corrupted this regime is!but some blind biased bats will still be cussing anyone not supporting GEJ.smh!
    DiaisGodshao!

37. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Am guessing every month they will be giving them money for kerosine and gas...
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

38. Where are those dunderheads; Moi, Omo Senator and Tony? I pray this humongous corruption impacts your lives directly. Perhaps it'll jolt your dead brains to hazard some thinking. Out with GEJ in 2015.

39. Everyone of them is trying to steal as much as they can before 2015.

40. stoves that will pack up in no time. why dont you sponsor researches on climate freindly cooking stoves here in nigeria. they prefer boosting SA economy and allow ours to fail. Im tired of complaining, na sitdown look i dey.

41. Will they be replacing it if it gets spoilt? How many people will get it? Another way of milking our resources via this clueless project/idea. There is God o Mrs Lawrecia, Mal Nuruddeen and others. GEJ you dey see this at all, u think say Bayelsa pple wey dey villa go get this? N9.2b to buy how many stove. God is watching us all.

42. Maka y...
    9bn to buy stove, to cook what exactly?
    Firewood is detrimental to health and some of our grandparents @ 80+ are still cooking with it ?
    Nigeria pls give us food and forget about how its gonna be cook.
    Nigeria pls you will waste all the money u wanna use to buy these 'gucci' stoves if you don't give us what to cook with the stove.
    #weepingformycountry

43. @ platinum, I can't agree less with u on dis one at all. What God will judge hennnn! Issorai. Stove ko, bunner ni.

44. @ Anon 9:00, why the insult this morning? Stella's work is to talk too much which shouldn't be your problem since that is what pays her bills. Why not face your work and stop being petty.

45. Na this one una see open mouth there is a scheme currently as I speak not a lot of pple know about it! It's d graduate internship scheme by d federal Govt guess wat on a normal day u meant to get 30k but from inside thier ministry der a link wld tell u register and he takes 20 de pay u10k for the whole year d website closes friday and meaning the money is not even being used appropriately meaning this money for the stove probable cost 10 percent the remaining na to pay for jonathans election. For every Nigerian that votes that man here is ur curse: u would know no peace! Poverty shall befriend u for generations except we all come together and vote the right person it may be But not Jonathan. Nigeria is ruined!

46. The amount is outrageous and still yet the stove no go reach everybody.

47. Eeeeehhhhh what is the name of that country that their youth woke up one morning and killed all their leaders? I swear that is what these wicked leaders need,thiefs ole barawo chaii infact motibinu

48. Hmmm I dey wait for my own stove o.

49. A bit of info. Wonder bag is just a very good heat retainer. So here is how it works....You cook your food on a conventional stove of gas burner. Allow it to cook for few minutes (eg 30mins), then bring down the food and put it inside the wonder bad and cover up. You will have to leave the food (which is still inside the pot) for about 4 hours before it would be cooked enough to eat. The bag in itself does not generate any heat, but conserves the heat (not allow any heat escape) of the pot for hours.

The pro is that is saves u money for gas/kero. It reduces carbon emission by half (apprx).

The con is that it takes much longer for food to cook (which can be frustrating to a hungry man)

Now lets talk figures (money)

The wonder bag cost apprx $55 per bag in the US. So for 18,000 bags = $990,000.
    The CBN just recently devalued the Naira at N169/$1. At this exchange rate we come to a sum of N167,310,000 for wonder bags alone = N9,295 per bag (excluding tax).

The stoves will be 9,200,000,000 - 167,310,000 = 8,952,690,000 divided by 750,000
    = N11,936.92 per stove (excluding tax).

lemme now ask, this cooking stoves, what will they use as fuel? I am guessing its DPK (Kerosene). If so, then the whole purpose of this project has been defeated thus:
    1. Kerosene is EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE, more than cooking gas and `so much more than coal/firewood. Or will they buy Kero for them too?
    2. Kerosene does not combust completely hence still emit huge amount of carbon monoxide which is harmful to health.

My conclusion: I do not know what is meant by "clean cooking stove", but whatever it is, it needs fuel to burn and fuel cost money. The wonder bag ish is not feasible...I will wait four hours to cook meat that will literally take 30 mins on my gas cooker....
    This whole project is SHAM, a waste of resources which will benefit the importer who definitely has strong ties with the government. They can as well buy match sticks worth N1b to go along with it. I rest my case!

1. Hmmmm!!! You have sense jare. Na this kind post I dey like read

50. Yes oo! Give us stove and pls remember to hand our leaders individually to us to kill and cook. A stove with empty kitchen should in fact make our day. Pay workers and do just the basic things in that forsaken country and watch people buy their own stoves!!! D fuq is wrong with this administration??

51. Long hiss, there is always some silly excuse for irrelevant things...........and to even think that some pple are a billion richer from dis .......
    ,smh.......everything is misplaced, dey Neva get anything right and for how long will dis go on??? lawd have mercy, na so so billions we dey hear all for frivolities........
    Hope whoever cooks with dis stove, will Neva long for food again?

52. What is wrong with this country?! God! I keep asking what is our crime as citizens of Nigeria that we are been cursed with wicked, greedy, criminals who parade themselves as our leaders! 9billion for stoves & wonder bags?!
    Is that the way deforestation is been curbed? Ogini di ife a! To buy stoves for women? Then they will use their pee abi? With the exorbitant cost of kerosene in the market will that solve the problem??? If they want to curb deforestation is it not to crash the cost of kerosene & gas thereby removing the urge to buy firewood? Who likes to suffer? Cos using firewood na suffering naa.
    Jesus please come soon bikonu before they sell this country from under us.

53. 9.2 what???!!!.. That is madness.

1. The Earl of Banana Island27 November 2014 at 20:53

Really...GEJ 2015 u say?

54. Corruption!!!! I can bet these stoves will be shared out using " political considerations". The stoves are part of the freebies to be shared just before the elections and that is why they have to be delivered within 12 weeks. we cannot find money to upgrade our universities. Doctors and other health workers strike every other month. Jobless youths everywhere, The road between Umuahia to Ikot Ekpene is a sorry mess and yet 9.2million Naira can be earmarked to buy stoves.
    It shall be well with Nigeria. Amen

55. The stove them go many na because women plenty too

56. When people complain about how clueless this GEJ administration is, greedy and ignorant humans will say itz political beef... 9.2bn for stove just to increase carbon credit when developed nations are going green and preaching less carbon emission... I wonder why people will start being truthful to themselves. #GEJ MUST GO!!! LET US TRY ANOTHER HUMAN IRRESPECTIVE OF THEIR POLITICAL PARTY

57. So after buying the stove who go buy the kerosene?????? Abi no be money dem dey take buy kerosene. ***MISS EARTH***

58. This is highly embarrassing, GEJ won't stop embarrassing himself, I strongly believe the people around him want him to fail woefully. Stove? Stove? Why stove? What is going on? Where is the food? Where is the kerosene? You can raise fund from your supporters for stomach infrastructure for crying out loud, what happened to free education! Free healthcare. Lord have mercy. You will leave with your stove come 2015. Enough. @ Ogochukwu Adigwe, nice analysis. Thumbs up.

59. uc1million d calculator28 November 2014 at 08:15

In FELA'S VOICE.....I.T.T--INTERNATIONAL THIEF THIEF....V.I.P--VAGABONDS IN POWER