Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerians Good Morning! - News On Thursday

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Nigerians Good Morning! - News On Thursday

Good morning! Here are some things you need to know this morning according to dailypostng.

- Some towns in Adamawa state formerly under the control of the Boko Haram insurgents have been recaptured by the Special Forces. Report says the Nigeria Army has recaptured Gombi, Hong and Pelia and are now in full control of the areas.

-President Goodluck Jonathan, Wednesday boasted once again that there’s no party in the country that can defeat the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.Jonathan made this statement while hosting members of the Presidential Declaration Committee led by a former Minister of Defence, Dr. Haliru Bello, to a luncheon in the Presidential Villa, Abuja.The president, who disclosed that he hardly got what he wanted, noted that sometimes, things that he did not think about were the ones he got.

-The Akwa Ibom International Stadium yesterday went ‘dead silent’ after the Super Eagles crashed out of the nations’ cup qualification in a 2:2 draw against the Bafana Bafana of South Africa.

- Report says the Presidency is already making consultation on full deployment of soldiers to Borno, Adamawa and Yobe states, considering that its request for an extension of the emergency rule in the three states badly hit by Boko Haram may be turned down by the lawmakers. Report says in the case of full military operation, it will be practically a war situation.

-The All Progressives Congress, APC, yesterday alleged that the rising cases of insurgents activities in the north resulted from Jonathan’s desperation to return in 2015. APC National Chairman, Chief John Oyegun made this assertion while addressing party faithful at a rally in Abuja on Wednesday.

-A police witness, Olusola Agboyi (DSP) Agboyi while testifying before the Coroner inquest set up to investigate the collapsed Synagogue building says that preliminary reports suggested the foreign guest house might have collapsed as a result of internal saboteurs either by visitors or lodgers at the premises. The witness also claimed that the mystery ‎aircraft that allegedly hovered over the collapsed building was a Nigerian Air Force (NAF) CH 130 Hercules on training.

- Many supporters of the All Progressives Congress were on Wednesday led by the National Chairman of the party, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, Governor Rotimi Amaechi of Rivers State, and other leaders of the party to the Force headquarters to protest the withdrawal of security aides of the House of Representatives’ Speaker, Tambuwal who is now an APC member.

-Former National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, Alhaji Bamanga Tukur, has asked a Federal High Court in Abuja to return him to office as the party’s Chairman. Tukur said that he remains the Chairman of the party going by the constitution as his resignation did not follow any due process required by the law.

- Three female Police officers from Oregbeni Police Station, Ikpoba Hill, Benin, were yesterday beaten to stupor and stripped by some tenants at Oregbeni quarters. Report says the officers went to arrest a tenant whom the Landlady claimed had since been served with quit notice but refused to leave. Report says trouble started when the lady insisted on having her bath before leaving for the station but the police insisted she must follow them immediately.

-. A civil society group, Socio-Economic Rights and Accountability Project, SERAP, has given the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, and All Progressives Congress, APC, 14 days ultimatum to provide information about their 2015 campaign budget and sources of such funds. The group says it will proceed to court if both parties failed to respond timely.

- A dismissed Divisional Police Officer, DPO, Segun Fabunmi, who is currently standing trail over the alleged killing of one Ademola Daramola and for inflicting injury on many others during the mass protest on fuel subsidy, has told a Lagos High Court that he could not explain how the ammunition allocated to him left his rifle. He however told Justice Olabisi Akinlade that he did not chased anybody, and did not shoot nor injure anybody during the protest.

-The Police on Wednesday said the “strange ‎aircraft” that allegedly hovered over the collapsed Synagogue Church of All Nations (SCOAN) building was a Nigerian Air Force (NAF) CH 130 Hercules.
‎A police witness, Olusola Agboyi (DSP) while testifying before Coroner Oyetade Komolafe stated that the aircraft, which was on a circuit training mission, flew at very low altitude.He said: “I recorded statements from 34 witnesses who claimed the aircraft was flying very low and had caused panic among residents of the Ikotun area.”
Agboyi stated that preliminary reports suggested the foreign guest house might have caved-in as a result of internal saboteurs-visitors or lodgers at the premises.
The witness, who said he led the team that investigated the collapse and was also a member of the Federal Government’s panel, posited that the saboteur, undetected, could have used explosives or chemical substances to bring down the building.The officer added that he interviewed one of the survivors, Taiwo Temitayo Taiwo, who claimed he heard a thunderous noise and saw lightening moments before the building came crashing.He, however, noted that the police did not rule out the possibility of structural defect but had not got a reply to the letter the agency wrote to the Lagos State Ministry of Works requesting a test on materials used at the site.

Keshi Snubs Sedia Sfter Super Eagles Fail To Qualify For AFCON 2015
Stephen Keshi once again failed to show up for his post-match press conference, after the Super Eagles were held to a 2-2 draw by South Africa in Uyo – a result that means they will not be at the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations in Equatorial Guinea.
Rantie scored twice to put the Bafana Bafana two goals up, before Sone Aluko bagged a late brace for the hosts at the Akwa Ibom International Stadium.
After the game, the media waited in vain for the Big Boss to hear his comments, but he stayed away. Even after they caught up with him as the team boarded their bus, Keshi still refused to utter a single word.

His South African counterpart, Ephraim Mashaba, however lamented his side’s failure to break the jinx against the African champions.
“We lost [control] the game in the last five minutes and we will go back and see what went wrong but on a more serious note, my boys did very well. The Nigerian side are a good team too because you can see their tactical awareness and their match intelligence but unfortunately, my boys were able to stop them,” Mashaba said.
It is the second time in Nigeria’s history that they will fail to defend their AFCON title.

20 comments:

1. Okay. APC. PDP. What else?BH. ..
    Please pray for Nigeria. Good morning fam!!!

1. Na Hajia Florence Fatimah dey push Bamanga Tukur, she can't get over the fact that the power has ended so soon, lol

2. I said it before that Nigeria won't qualify, it's just their way of doing things. Win the trophy and then fade away for a few years.

Hmmmmmn! In Benin City, anything cab happen. AK suppose fear oregbeni people na. Na wa! Good for the police women though, dem sabi show power unnecessarily.

TB Joshua is doing magic! Hmmmmmn! People are testifying rubbish now, anyway that's what the police is known for. Always giving false reports.

3. Well read! Na Bamangar tori still dey totori me o!! Morning my beloved family!

4. Ok...
    I read about 'beaten and stripped police' and errrmmm first two lines on SCOAN collapse.
    Ain't got time for GEJ and his political bla bla bla.

5. Gaddammit!!!

6. ANGELRAY SAID
    Don't understand what SCOAN saying, their building is not the only building in that area, how come other buildings did not collapse, they should plz tell us what actually happened.

7. Hahahahahahaha......I like what those Oregbeni tenants did those oversabi female policewomen,hahahahahahahaha. Na dat wan interest me pass for the whole matter today. Dem treat dia fuck up, yes, who do anyhow must see anyhow.

1. You like??? Smh!
      Since you like it, you will experience same very soon.
      Yours will be in a full glaring stadium so get prepared.

2. I be policewoman? Ozuo
      Back to Sender Viva clara

8. Bamanga Tukur seeking to be restored as PDP chairman nawahooo.I laugheth laugh.

Stephen Keshi has always shown he is a very arrogant man so nothing surprising about him snubbing the media.

Collapsed building and its conspiracy theories to conceal the truth???

Peace to all men.

9. We failed because our NFF settled their issues with bringing keshi back. All Super Eagle needed was a psychological twist, just like in 2012 when Saisai failed to qualify. He came in, brought psychological twist which makes every player fight to defend his position without much input in the style of play but sheer determination from players gave us the Nations Cup. Fast forward the last two games, all we needed was that psychological twist (even if is Nembe City Coach), the change in the head coach will put all the players on their feet and we will get the needed results. Thanks to Giwa faction of the NFF for sacrificing the happiness of over 150million Nigerians at the altar of your pride and ambitions. Posterity will judge you guy.

10. We failed because our NFF settled their issues with bringing keshi back. All Super Eagle needed was a psychological twist, just like in 2012 when Saisai failed to qualify. He came in, brought psychological twist which makes every player fight to defend his position without much input in the style of play but sheer determination from players gave us the Nations Cup. Fast forward the last two games, all we needed was that psychological twist (even if is Nembe City Coach), the change in the head coach will put all the players on their feet and we will get the needed results. Thanks to Giwa faction of the NFF for sacrificing the happiness of over 150million Nigerians at the altar of your pride and ambitions. Posterity will judge you guys.

11. Dey shud allow GEJ 2 deploy dos soldiers abeg..

12. And d cover up for the Synagogue church building collapse begins to unfold, only God knows how much he's paid already, well, na here I dey dey look them

13. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Am just waiting for 2015....

14. Super Eagles no do well at all. I say well done to the Nigerian Army.