Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Tuesday Morning News Roundup.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Tuesday Morning News Roundup.

Good morning! Here are things you need to know this morning according to dailypostng.

- Singer Orezi was, at the weekend, kicked out of Redeemer’s University’s premises by the school management just as he was about to perform his hit track, Shoki.
According to reports, Orezi, a protégé of rapper Olamide was invited by the Redeemer’s University Student’s Association for the 2014 Fresher’s event tagged ‘The Debut Night’ and everything was going on smoothly until the university’s chaplain, Pastor Gbenga Akosile stormed the hall and instructed the DJ not to play the Shoki track.

The chaplain allegedly threatened to expel the DJ who happens to be a student of the institution if he played the track.

Reports say many of the students were disappointed and resorted to what was described as a stage-managed protest but Orezi had to leave.
Orezi confirmed the report on twitter saying “Off to Lagos! Last night still funny though, Redeemers’ University authorities, na wa oo. We were about to start having fun and they just dulled us”

-Considering that the war against Boko Haram has no ‘end’ in sight, the  Federal Government on Mondayand for the third time resolved that the state of emergency in Adamawa, Borno and Yobe states be extended. The decision on the extension  was taken at a meeting of the National Defence Council held on Monday.

- Report says some PDP Governors have threatened to work against the party in the 2015 governorship election as they are reportedly angry with the party Chairman Alhaji Adamu Mu’azu, for allegedly manipulating the result of the ward congresses in their respective states. Some of  the angry governors, according to report are Isa Yuguda of Bauchi State, Gabriel Suswam of Benue State, Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom, Ibrahim Shema of Katsina State and that of Cross River State, Senator Liyel Imoke.

-A political drama ensued yesterday in Ado Ekiti, the capital of Ekiti state as  the Peoples Democratic Party members in the state House of Assembly appointed  Dele Olugbemi as Protem Speaker in the absence of the Speaker of the House. The PDP that  had seven lawmakers in the 26-member assembly were reportedly joined by three unnamed persons. Report says all APC members of the House were stopped by security men from getting into the Assembly complex.

-Pastor Tunde Bakare, the Convener of Save Nigeria Group and the General Overseer of Latter Rain Assembly,has said that former President, Olusegun Obasanjo killed students’ unionism in the country. While speaking at the June 12 Cultural Centre, Kuto, Abeokuta, on Monday, Bakare said Obasanjo, as the then Head of State in 1978, used extreme force to frustrate Nigerian students during the ‘Ali Must Go’ protest.

- The Senator representing Lagos East Senatorial District, Gbenga Ashafa, has said that the All Progressives Congress, APC will not be divided over the entrance of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Tambuwal into the race for presidential ticket. He made this statement  at an empowerment programme in Lagos.

- The National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress , Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, had on Mondaytermed the celebration of the Nigerian military over the recapture of Chibok from Boko Haram as a disgrace. Oyegun said it was a big disgrace that the rag tag militant captured Chibok from the hands of the military in the first place.

-  The  #BringBackOurGirls campaigners were yesterday ignored by the Minister of Education, Mallam Ibrahim Shekarau and Minister of State for Education, Prof. Viola Onwuliri, in their protest to the Ministry of Education over the killings of schoolchildren by Boko Haram in the North-East. The protesters who were at the Federal Ministry of Education, Abuja from 4.10pm to 5.45pm were not attended to by the Ministers.

-Femi Fani Kayode’s legal battle against the EFCC is almost over as out of the amended 40 count-charge, bordering on an alleged offence by Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC charged against Fani-Kayode, trial judge, Justice Rita Ofili-Ajumogobia, discharged and acquitted the accused of 38 counts, while ruling on a no-case submission filed by the defence ( FFK) on behalf of the accused.

- Nobel Laureate, Professor Wole Soyinka, Monday, said poor leadership was responsible for current national debacle. Soyinka advised that the country should rise above its present standard and equally raise a monument for the missing Chibok girls.

-. At least four persons were reportedly killed yesterday in Owerri, Imo State and Abonema in Rivers State, in different bloody attacks. In the attacks, several others sustained bullet wounds. Report says two of the deceased were killed at Ama Hausa, Owerri, Imo State capital, following a misunderstanding between a Hausa trader and an indigene of Owerri.   The other two, according to report were killed when two rival cult groups clashed at Abonnema, headquarters of Akuku Toru Local Government Area of Rivers State.

Herbalist allegedly kills and dumps client’s body on Lagos beach

A 55 year-old herbalist was over the weekend arrested by the Lagos State Police Command in connection with the alleged murder of a 62-year-old woman declared to be missing since last month at Olodi Apapa area of Lagos.
The suspect, who was identified as Isiaka Akanbi and claims to be a Muslim cleric, had the deceased’s personal effect exhumed from his shrine.

It was said that the victim, Raliatu Kareem,visited the herbalist in his shrine located on Lawani Street, Olodi Apapa, on October 25, 2014 before her mysterious disappearance. The late Kareem, who lived at 15 Ope-Ewe street in Ijaiye Agbado area of Lagos was reported to have gone on a visit to a relative who had a baby at Salubi Street, Olodi Apapa.

But while returning, she informed her relative that she was going to the herbalist’s place.However, there was apprehension two days later, after the undisclosed relative got a call from Agbado Ijaye, demanding for the whereabouts of Mrs Kareem.

Policemen from Tolu division then got involved which led to the arrest of the herbalist. Police sources hinted that the herbalist eventually confessed that he dumped Mrs Kareem’s remains at Marine beach.

A Police source said: “But when we went to where he claimed to have dumped the corpse, we did not find it. During interrogation, he said he did not kill his client but that she slumped and died while in his shrine which he claimed doubles as a healing home.

“He collected the deceased’s personal effects which included handset, bangles and ring and buried them behind his compound so as not to leave any trace. But the lid was blown because the relative who the deceased went to visit was aware of the visit to the Alfa’s home. We are still searching for the corpse. Its recovery will form another phase in our investigation.”

In his reaction, the Police Public Relations Officer in Lagos State, Kenneth Nwosu, confirmed the arrest of Akanbi, but stressed that investigation is on-going.

30 comments:

1. ahhhhnn...shoki? the chaplain sef! what is wrong with shoki? mtchew.

babalawo visit has taken her to her grave. over to God. she should go and answer to God, the purpose of her visit.

2. May God deliver his children. Is good to always tell your friends and family about your movement. Wonders shall never end.

1. NEVER EVER go anywhere without letting people know....I have sisters, and they are my best friends. ..I tell them where I am going, and what I am doing....sometimes they stare at me in disbelief, but if I don't tell them who will I tell? Always have that one person you trust to tell it to...TC

3. Things are happening... May God continue to save his people.....

4. People still patronize herbalists in this day and age??!! SMH.

5. Every time I say thank God for Internet as many would not believe such horror exist in Nigeria. Killing another for no justifiable reason

6. Hmmmm! Orisirisi news in Naija. But that Shoki pics got me laffing!

7. Its Redeemer's na, so im not surprised.

Please click on my name for Fashion/Fitness/Beauty tips

8. When you are in rome,you behave like roman, so you expected them to let you play such songs in redeemer uni, u must be dreaming! U for go unilag nt redeemer! That is why when must of you that studied in private school's gratuates,you still behave like kids from secondary school. Abeg next »

9. Ekiti people deserve whatever they get.... What a stupid democracy we practice in dis country...how can 7 people impeach som1 in a 26-man house?..-s it not soposed to be 2/3 majority?..I weep for my dear country...

What's wrong wit d shoki dance or orezi's shoki song?d lyrics is not lewd na..anywz,na dem know

10. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    All this church schools wey to dey form holy holy..... And that state of emergency really make alot of sense no doubt....

11. All this pastors sef.. mtcheew orezi no shaking as far as you collect your money.. mr herbalist God don catch you oo

12. Stells whats it wit u and ds woman.does she remind u of someone in your villa.heheheh.u seem not to get tired of using her often or does she dance d same way as u#covers face#
    In other news pls where is jagbajantis.he reigned almost daily on ds blog for few weeks and then vanished.d promise he made on giving bv's b.i.s monthly till dec made me remembered him.hope he is okay.pls check up on him on our behalf.its not all about material things

13. ANGELRAY SAID
    So people still patronize these dirty looking herbalist, na wah.

14. Nice... Stella pls help an up n coming post ma comment.

Hello guys pls visit www.biminiflash.blogspot.com its a blog where Lifestyle meet News, Gossip, Facts and Business...

15. Sometime I wonder what happened to Nigerian military, we use to be formidable, bringing peace to other war ravaged African countries (Liberia, Sierra Leon etc). Now we flee to Cameroon because of bh in few states, the hierarchy of our military should be ashamed of themselves. In fairness I know the foot soldiers are doing their best, being that they are in the trenches with little or no support in terms of weapon and logistics, not forgetting sabotage. May God help those at the war front.

Ekiti remember what happened in Rivers state.

16. Such a pity her life wasted cos of babalawo activities.
    RCCG can do worse than that, Orezi hope say money drop for your account sha

17. Ahhnn Shoki. Chai! Wetin MRA Kareem wan go tell God now?

18. Thats why I like ICPC.
    They don't have bordersome number of counts like EFCC, they work quietly and achieve more. EFCC na publicity they like, and few convictions.

19. It only takes a razz look and small white cap, u have become an Alfa! Rubbish! My mother in law patronizes them like mad. I can't stand them! I'm sure refused to have sex with him that why he killed her

20. Shoki ah Shoki dat kind song nor follow for d. Chaplain eye so Orezi Shud hav sang anoda song Instead. A lesson for those who patronize herbalist

21. Why did they invite the guy, knowing their rules in the school...and what was orezi thinking, no way wwere they gon let him perform...thats a churchy school

22. Shun dem well o. The rate at which Yorubas patronise babalawo, there is God o.

23. God save Nigeria.

When you go to Rome do like Romans. Shoki in Redeemer University???

I don't know why people still patronise these people with fake powers and its baffles me that most of their customers are christians.

I remember some years back, an incident that occurred in one of the orthodox churches in my friend's village.

A well known WICKED DIBIA in their village came to church and people where all starring at him like someone with a plague coz its believed according to her, the fear of the dibia is the beginning of wisdom in their village.

So after the service one elder from the church asked the dibia to pls follow him that the pastor want to see him.
    She said the dibia reply "Tell ur pastor I only came to church today to see how all those who visit him to perform one or two wickedness for them are busy opening their mouths to receive communion and forming "HOLYNWEJE"end of quote.

God help us.

24. Patronizing babalawo up and down.

25. I thank God for the internet. Before now the only killings we used to hear about were the ones reported by biased newspapers, and that have to be the ones that happened outside western Nigeria. Now, we know evil people are everywhere. People need to be vigilant. Rose

26. All these Hollier than Thou people Kpaaaaa-----kpaaaaa, wetin? to dance ansd sing Shoki don become sin again? abi because dem call the dance "Shoki" na there the problem come dey? Na this kind "Chapman"dem dey dance "Shoki" inside small small girls Vayjayjay! Useless Chaplain wey dey read him bible Upside down! mtchewwwwwww!*hissing continues*

27. Herbalist ke..@ dis age n time.na wa o

28. So anybodi wey de dance shoki no go enta Heaven abi?nawa fr ds church pple nd dia finkin....... Blame Jonathan all u want,he will still b d president in 2015....... You take ur hand kill yasef by ursef nd fr ursef alone...if to sey u go huse shey u fr still de alive...pple wif juju finz,only God kw wetin she bin wan go do....

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~