Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Yobe Shuts All Schools Over Boko Haram Bombing.

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Yobe Shuts All Schools Over Boko Haram Bombing.

The Yobe State Government has closed down all public and private schools in the state, following Monday’s suicide bomb attack on Government Science Secondary School, Potiskum.
The attack claimed 48 lives and injured 79 others.

The Commissioner for Education, Muhammad Lamin, said in a statement in
Damaturu on Tuesday, that the closure was with immediate effect.
Mr. Lamin said that government decided to close the schools to enable it adopt more security measures to guarantee the safety of students, teachers and the school environment across the state.
Monday’s attack has been condemned both in Nigeria and by the international community. The UN, U.S., and UNICEF all released statements condemning the suicide attack by a suspected member of the Boko Haram.

Meanwhile, Alkali Jajere, who represents Yobe South Senatorial District in the Senate, has appealed for a change in strategy by security operatives to contain insurgency in the state.

Mr. Jajere, who spoke with journalists in Damaturu, said the renewed attacks on innocent people of the state called for a change in strategy in the fight against insurgency.
“The number one responsibility of government is to protect the lives and property of the citizenry; government must live up to this basic responsibility.
“We are optimistic that with the necessary support and motivation, the Nigerian security forces can defeat insurgency,” he said.

The senator urged security officials to respect the rules of engagement in their operation, and called for synergy between law enforcement agents and the public, to effectively fight insurgency.

(NAN)

32 comments:

1. When will there be peace in naija

2. Nigeria! ! !
    Boko haram dis Boko haram that. I wonder if/when dis bokoharam wahala would ever cease. So many lives lost. No amount of 'security' can ever be enuf. Shutting down the schools was a great initiative and we are hoping d appropriate measures will be taken. It is well.

1. Madam mgbeke with cockroach husband, u too get mouyh to talk. With ur abakaliki wedding

2. Shut up anonymous 7:24pm. Is it her fault that everything is wrong with your life? Bitter fool.

Aeegurl...

3. Anon 7.24,the simple truth is:
      SHE IS MARRIED.
      YOU ARE NOT

4. Miss Gemini,u ain't fit to comment here,just save ur time for your rabbit ears husband,rubbish

3. this country!

hmn!

one day na one day sha!

4. i am scared for Nigeria, my beloved country. i am scared because the peace we yearn for seems to be soo far away from us. i am scared because i dont know what to believe...will it ever be better? will we ever sleep with our two eyes closed? Lord God, please intervene and save your children from devils parading themselves as humans. Amen!

5. Are these people humans at all??
    Is this fair?
    We just recovered from the Ebola epidemic that kept these kids away from school, and now this?? What do they want from us??
    I wish I can wake up from this nightmare! 48lives!!!!!!!!!

6. There is war in that region. No use lying to ourselves! Peace may be elusive until 2019;that's if a northerner becomes President then.

1. It is not about s northerner as President. Cant yall see what is going on, was BH not in operation under Yaradua? Or Yaradua was not a core northerner? Naija as a whole is under serious fire, northern, muslim, christian talk is to distract you all. Wake up Nigerians o.

2. The annoying part is that the closure of schools is one of their main targets...well for the girls, Shey they think female education is a crime. Bastards

7. Election thins'.... Very terrible corrupt leaders

8. In fact, let them relocate themselves from that state.

9. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    What a painfull exit....

10. Soo tried of this world don't think I have any reason to be alive...... no admission no job nothing to live for..... my parent keep comparing me to other kids that have admission and insult me like it's my name..... This was not how I planned my life God is soo unfair......... at least I av seen my birthday no else to live for....

1. Whatever job you get without first having a degree wouldn't be a good one and you will probably be stagnant there. I suggest you concentrate on looking for an admission than on job hunting. Education is key. U can try polytechnics too, I don't know how they do their own things tho but people from polys get hired too, some get into oil companies sef and banks higher them a lot too. The trick is having a good result and the kind of school you went to wouldn't matter. Don't mind your parents, most african parents have absolutely no iota of idea on how to be there for their kids instead they make them feel worse about their situation. Don't loose hope, u will get admission next year
      Abc

P.s for the people blabbing bcz of the comment I made on straffing my friend, like I said our priorities clearly differ and seriously y'all need to chill on playing the self righteous card that's just downright hypocritical. To the bitch that called me a harlot, your mom did a good job on her training, I learnt my skills from her. Thank her for me, xoxo

11. The North is full of illiterates now this…hmmm..

12. have mercy ....on us

13. These evil men are taking over the states slowly,two down,one in progress,till they raid the whole nigeria!
    At this point I also believe GEJ should resign:its two things glaring now,dat he is being sabotaged or he is not capable!so to protect his remaining dignity and to save innocent lives from being lost everyday,he should honourably resign!
    Ah ah!what is all dese?#sobs#

14. Datz gud nd wats d way 4ward afta closin down d skulz?

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

15. Hi Stella, I just saw a pop up for free shopping vouchers, I tied to answer the questions and lost the page. How do I get it back?

16. I read abt the blast when I dey holdup. I saw the gory pix and I started crying. Real sobbing o. I just moved a bit and parked by the roadside.
    If you have seen that pix,I bet you,u will shed tears. The one that made me cry uncontrollably was the pix of one of d dead students,wearing white shirt on white trouser,with his shirt still neatly tucked in,also wearing a black belt. He was lying as if he was sleeping. Oh Jesus.

17. Why is it that everywhere we look these days there is war? In almost every country, there is some kind of war?
    What have we done, are doing to bring this upon us?

May God save us all.

And why can't this BH issue be put to an end?

18. People passing were looking at me,I didn't care. I was crying the tears of a heartbroken mother. A policeman noticed me and came and knocked at my window. I rolled the window and when he asked what the problem was,I showed him the pix on my tab. He said,"Madam,na Jona dey cause this one o. If he resigns,BH will stop. I said thank u Sir and drove away.
    May the souls of these innocent boys rest in perfect peace. Amen
    Lord Take Control of my nation. Amen

1. Amen to ur prayers Irene. Heart broken, Chai!

19. Hmmmmmmmm rip to the departed