Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ali Modu Sheriff In Secret Visit To Arms-Laden Chad-Bound Plane Detained In Nigeria

Sunday, December 07, 2014

Ali Modu Sheriff In Secret Visit To Arms-Laden Chad-Bound Plane Detained In Nigeria

A former governor of Borno State, Ali Modu Sheriff, widely accused of sponsoring Boko Haram insurgents in Nigeria, may be lobbying for the release of the Chad-bound cargo aircraft confiscated in Kano for transporting large consignment of military hardware, PREMIUM TIMES can report today.

Sources at the Aminu Kano International Airport,where the plane is currently detained, said Mr. Sheriff visited the Kano airport at about 10 p.m. on Saturday and held discussions with some officials on the possibility of releasing the aircraft.

Our sources said on arriving the airport, officials allowed the former governor a secret tour of the aircraft, during which he inspected its consignments.
“I was there and I saw him and two airport security officials accompanying him to inspect the plane. I saw the black helicopters and two bullet proof SUVs,” one of our sources said. “I also heard him (Mr. Sheriff) say verbal directive had been given from Abuja for the release of the plane but that authorities of the airport were insisting on written directive.”

Mr. Sheriff could not be reached to comment for this story. His known mobile telephone number was switched off for several hours that PREMIUM TIMES called Saturday. He is also yet to reply a text message sent to him.

The Manager of the Kano Airport, a Mr. Adamu, told PREMIUM TIMES he is in Abuja and was therefore unaware of Mr. Sheriff’s tour of the detained aircraft.

The former Borno governor is a close ally of both the Nigerian president, and the government of Chad – the plane’s final destination.

A 2010 Intelligence report by a Nigerian security agency suggested that Mr. Sheriff was personally involved in the recruitment, training and dispatch of Boko Haram fighters, under the full cover of Idris Deby, the Chadian president.
Chad is Nigeria’s neighbour. Laying on Nigeria’s northeast shoulder, and sharing long distances of unregulated borders, it is considered a window to safety for Boko Haram fighters.

An Australian negotiator engaged by the Nigerian government to bring Boko Haram insurgents to the negotiation table, Stephen Davies, also spoke of how the insurgents named Mr. Sheriff as one of their sponsors during his conversations with the terrorists.

Airport officials told PREMIUM TIMES Mr. Sheriff’s verbal pressures to let the plane go was turned down.
He was asked to get written permission from “ogas at the top” – authority high up in Abuja – our sources said.

After inspecting the plane and holding discussions with local officials, Mr. Sheriff reportedly left for Abuja, Nigeria’s capital city, in a private jet at about 11:30 p.m. Saturday.

Security operatives at the Kano Airport had seized the plane when it landed at the facility at about 2a.m. Saturday as a result of technical problems.
Crew members of the airplane were immediately detained while investigations continued, officials said.

“Security has since been beefed up at the airport in order to ensure proper investigation,” the officials added.
The General Manager, Communications, Federal Airport Authority of Nigeria, FAAN, Yakubu Datti, confirmed the seizure of the plane.
He said the pilot sought permission to land at the airport after the plane developed problems.
“The plane had a technical problem and the pilot sought (for) permission to land at the airport’’, he said.
Mr. Datti said security agencies had since commenced investigation into the matter.
Security sources told PREMIUM TIMES the plane was travelling to N’djamena, the capital of Chad.
PR Nigeria, an agency known for distributing press statements on behalf of the Nigerian military, later circulated a statement saying the aircraft contained “a chopper tucked in it”.

“… Intense investigation is ongoing including using diplomatic means to unravel the mission of the aircraft, its origin and destination,” the statement said.
This is the third time since 2009 that planes loaded with arms would be arrested in Kano, our correspondent says.

The detained planes were later released after investigations.

The destination of the latest aircraft has however raised concerns amid increasing worries in Nigeria over Chad’s alleged role in the Boko Haram insurgency plaguing Nigeria’s northeast.
The plane and its consignment was initially thought to originate from Russia but the Russian Embassy in Abuja issued a statement denying ownership of the AH-124-100 heavy military transport aircraft.

Air cargo experts describe it as one of the biggest serial and strategic heavy lifters in the world. It is intended for the transportation of heavy and oversized cargo and various special-purpose vehicles.

Although in commercial use too, the Russian military is beloved to own 14 of the AN-124-100 version of the jumbo cargo jet, manufactured by the Russian Antonov.

*This serious!...we await his robust response.i have my crying handkerchief ready to join him in crying a denial...mscheeeew!

29 comments:

1. Wow!
    Nice job by the people that detected the arms laden plane...
    I will advice travellers to avoid that airport for now before the "owners" of the arms and ammunition decide to come one hot afternoon to collect their ngwonwgo!

As for the sponsors of this evil sect..i will still tell you this again..God is watching your evil acts..for all the blood you have shed..it will be visited upon you and your generation except you confess and repent!..na so bible talk am!

1. Sweetie, don't be happy now. Very soon, we won't here anything about it again. These boko people aren't smiling.

2. This man is wicked!!!!!!!!!!

All of em Northern Governors are the sponsors of Boko Haram and yet they are the worst hit these days!!!!!!!

N he wept and denied it!! Allah punish you there idiot!!!

Estee Reloaded, don't be surprised that the plane will soon be released and nothing,absoluteky nothing would be done to this devil!!

Honestly I dunno if am team GEJ anymore. ..

Abeg let Buhari win.

1. Kindly re-read what you wrote and see if it makes sense to you. If it does, then you need a great deliverance. May God be with us

3. God Almighty will expose the enemies of Nigeria.

4. Take this anywhere and this is coming from an insider
    Ali Modu Sherrif (ex bornu governor) is Number 1 arms and ammunition dealer in Nigeria. This has made him a multi trillionaire. And he settles your own GEJ (Goodluck Jonathan), the president, in trillions as well, STEADILY. So ur drunken president of Nigeria is very very aware. Who is fooling who? All the allegations against sheriff re: boko haram are very true.
    I'm sorry for you all who have ever believed they mean well for you or if u ever believed his crocodile tears then u can believe that lizards fly
    Lesson to you all, keep voting for them during election u hear, instead of you to get angry, go collect your voters cards and vote and insist on a change. Kick them out!

1. Who is our hope?
      Gej, Buhari, ibb?
      God help us.

2. Walai u spoke my mind, u all should keep fooling yourself. Have you ever thought of all d book haram suspects they've been arresting? Where are they today? Jonathan and co aided their release, they buy suffisticated weapons for this boko boys and deh leave our military with scrap called weapon. Jonathan is clueless he knows wats up wit boko haram he can end it if he wishes to. As for those of you that are not in the north and don't know wats happening pls just shussssh

3. SOPHISTICATED. ...You can ask people to shush but you don't know how to spell???? Hmmmmmmmmmmm

4. Who say jonathan is clueless?
      He is not, he is a green snake, slow poison,
      He knows everythings

This is what u get wen someone like Ali modu acused of a grave involvement of crime such as boko haram is allow still flying around free
      Is he above the law?
      Well he is now!
      I totally agree with u anon,
      They re all allies, they don't care about the masses
      As far as they re concern
      BH can finish nigeria and they cul care less
      So far they pad their pocket with mint usd!
      But I know no one is above God
      And he will sure deliver us!

5. God is on da throne

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

6. Another Ostrich defense in the making, how will insurgency end. Rain has fallen on the king!!

7. Anonymous 8.40, you talk like an insider. Got proof? Be careful mbok

8. Your president knows/ is involved hence the reason nothing has been done. when the accusation first came out, was it investigated? No.

9. Time is ticking....the wicked must be exposed.

10. I have always had my suspicions about This sinister Man.

And some peeps stil want GEJ come next year???!!

11. Lets wait till things unfold. Dis is election period and it could b APC propaganda to rubbish him...... We r too quick to judge..... France has accepted to owning d plane so with time things will unfold. Let's watch n c

12. This man should be in jail, but just wondering why he's still a free man. A lot of evidence to implicate him.

13. Whr ar we going in dis country

14. I don't even know what to believe anymore in this our country. May God expose every enemy of this great nation and put them to shame. Amen.

15. It is well with Nigeria. Very confusing story! GEJ is his ally? This man walks freely till date even after all the allegations levelled on him. I even saw a pics of his campaign and pple were cheering him on....how foolish! Its been said yhat the sponsors of BH are known Nigerians and i wonder how any human being would know these things and do nothing....The blood of the innocent will continue to ring in their ears, GEJ inclusive for knowing the sponsors of BH and refusing to bring them to book...I am so pained!

16. Conflicting reports, gossip, rumours, Naija bloggers and confusion.

17. Hmmmm!!A story for another day;but all I want to ask them is;is it just for the money that will make them bury their souls in the pit of hell.How do they manage to sleep?after seeing the hideous Crimes they commit and the blood of the innocent flowing on mother earth. because I personally can not sleep with a single thing on my mind.who are they making those money for; generations that will kill themselves over blood money and squander it with no respect or mercy.kaii God will not forgive you all.lai lai!! you will never go unpunished. This is the type that the bible said;the sins of the father shall be visited upon its generations.Even your generations to come will never have peace because the blood on mother earth will never be at peace with you for generations to come.
    @ anon:When you talk about marching out to seize power;are you talking about revolution because that's the only way that our vote and opinions will count;without that our casted vote is as good as nothing;even if we march out in millions to vote;we will still go bk to our various homes and they will do the usual with our votes.

18. @mrs D bu 2015 we will know who is our hope....