Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctors In House Section

Saturday, December 13, 2014

Doctors In House Section

I have never heard of anything like this before but I do know that God is still the CEO of Miracles!

BARTHOLIN'S ABSCESS IN THE PRIVATES

Dear Stella,I have bartholin's abscess. I have had the reoccurring abscess and I have drained it twice at the hospital. I don't want to go to the hospital again since it keeps reoccurring. 
Has any blog visitor encountered such and how did they deal with it, abeg ooh BVS, I need solutions fast cos this stupid abscess is so painful and it is affecting my sex life. Hubby don dey look my honeypot with one eye. Thanks Stella.

AH,in the Vayjayjay?...thats like a boil with milky water and blood?Jesus!

Disclaimer - This is not a hospital but a forum to exchange and interact and offer 'possible' solutions.please do not administer home treatment from advice gotten on this platform and make sure you visit a recognised medical practitioner to get recommended drugs for your situation.Thank you.

133 comments:

1. Poster may God heal. Hmmm...... I dnt know what to say again.

1. Otito ike kwa Hian God will heal u o.

2. Dear poster..drainage of bartholins abcess doesn't totally rule out its re occurrence better said it's has a high chance of re occurring most especially if you don't take right dose of antibiotics.
      Your best bet is to present to a gynecologist preferably in a teaching hospital.. A minor surgical operation called marsupialisation would be done and after this re occurrence is slim but in the mean time maintain good perineal(area around your anus and vagina) hygiene and you can wash up with warm water(please I didn't say hot) that might ease the pain a little and may even.help the abcess drain.

3. Its caused by ds basic factors: very poor hygiene,multiple sex partners and untreated infection. Try strong antibiotics after draining.(Sue)

4. When I say poor hygiene,I mean u need t take extra care of ur privates esp after pooing. Wash well!!

5. Nawah! Never heard of anything like this; hopefully, the drs in the house will be able to help.
      Pele poster

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

6. This comment has been removed by the author.

7. This comment has been removed by the author.

8. Mennn this one bad oh u sure u didn't sleep with any man that inflicted the stuff on u while u were single, coz these things are more spiritual o.

9. Sometimes, abcess continue to return. To prevent repeat, you may need a special procedure that can be done in the hospital. In one procedure, a small catheter is placed inside the cyst or abscess for a few weeks to allow for a new duct to grow around the catheter as it heals. This helps the abcess drain better and prevents it from coming back. In another procedure, called marsupialization, the doctor surgically opens the duct and sews the edges to the surrounding skin to keep it open and prevent another abcess from forming. (CULLED)

10. SliKky S u are what we describe as an olodo. U have a 'smart'fone yet u r so dumb. Ehen Poster. As I write, I have a cyst. My doctor says I can leave it there as long as it's not growing. It is just fluid accumulating in one place. Don't panic. It's a minor issue ok. Aunty Stella don't scream like say na disease. A lot of people hav it without even knowing. It's sometimes very small. Mine is painless and has been same size for years.

2. Hmnn. Neva heard of it too. Tink u shuld see a specialist ASAP

3. sis abeg go d hospital o make DAT tin no worst pas d way e dey o me Neva hear dis ish bfr I swear

4. Both men and women must be sexually disciplined, you can't be opening your legs any how and any where and expect to be free from all sorts, some men drop their pants almost everywhere they go. Close your legs or use double condom.

1. Stewie Gilligan Griffin13 December 2014 at 11:15

Actually, Bartholin's abcess/cyst is usually not caused by STDs. It occurs on the Bartholin's gland when the duct is blocked.

Poster visit your ob/gyn. May God heal you.

2. .....and you are so sure it was sexually transmitted to her?

3. She could close her legs and use double condom? Overdaft dey worry you, you didn't read the married part abi. If you don't better advice to give just shut your mouth

4. @moi waa sere, double condom lo le se. lol

5. Did she tell you it was sexually transmitted or you actually do know the poster?

I suggest you also take your advice and close your legs and MOUTH.

6. You have a point but Not all infections are gotten through sex.
      Just like Staphylococcus and Trichomoniasis.

7. Moi sumtimes wen yu talk/type I just wonder,anyway kai my frd has bartolin cyst and hers is bcos she doesn't get wet evn wen she is horny(lubs all the way),d last one that hapnd 2 her,nah me help her drain am wit string,pending till when she will open her bartolin duct,poster try and go 4 d surgery.

8. My dear goggle bartholin,s cyst and know d causes.I only talked about my case so she can feel better.I have never had an std and will never have it.although its one of d causes of bartholin,s cyst,its not d only one.pls stop saying rubbish.I used my name cos I don't have anytin to hide.goggle is ur friend.

9. Ignorance stinks. I am sure u didn't even bother to read up about it.

10. GOOGLE IS YOUR FRIEND AND IT'S JUST A CLICK AWAY!

5. It is well o. Maybe you should try another hospital for a more thorough examination. Try to see a consultant in a teaching hospital if you are in Nigeria. May God heal you.

6. I think prayer and hospital remains your best bet for now.
    VJ is a very delicate place and you wouldn't want someone telling you to mix goat shit with your hubby's sperm and apply on it.
    May you find healing soon.

Buongiorno SDKers

1. Never heard of it, pls, go back to the hospital, i take God beg you.
      What is the cause? You need to know the root cause and address it else it will keep re- occurring.

You are healed in Jesus name, amen.

2. Me too @Whirlwind.
      Never heard of this.
      Wishing you quick recovery dear poster.

Off to Google to read up about this Bartholin cyst.
      We learn everyday.

7. I can't give any advice cos I'm only learning about this today, thereby having to google for more info. Go to a highly recommended gynecologist i'm sure u will get much better help. Best of luck

8. Lol. No be small disclaimer oh. Before dem sue Stella sey e don de do hospital consultation without license. At first I thought I saw dat footballer's name for dis sickness. Oya real doctors needed here, no quacks.

1. Don't mind stella, you go fear disclaimer now,lol

2. Lmao.
      Balotelli?
      I thot so too!

Poster
      May God heal u o. I never hear such before but I know abscess doesnt sound good.

Dr Iphea o gbata oso!

9. I don't know about this but I pray u find solution to ur problem

10. Hmmmmmmmm
    This is new
    Let me just read comments.
    It is well poster.

11. Reading about this for the first time.Balm of Gilead

12. Reading about this for the first time.Balm of Gilead

13. Never heard of it. But I went after paddy mi Google and here's a copy and paste treatment from healthline.

"Treatment
    Treatment Options for a Bartholin’s Abscess

It is possible to treat a Bartholin’s abscess at home with the use of sitz baths. In a sitz bath, you fill the tub with warm water only up to hip level. It may take many days of sitz baths to treat the abscess because the opening of the Bartholin’s gland is very small and it may close before drainage is complete. Though soaking may not be the most effective cure, a sitz bath can soothe your pain and discomfort. With a Bartholin’s abscess, you should soak in three or four sitz bath a day, for at least 10 to 15 minutes each.

If the abscess is very large, your doctor may decide it best to drain it surgically. This procedure can be performed in your doctor’s office under local anesthesia, but general anesthesia in a hospital is also an option. Talk to your doctor about the best course for you.

During the surgery, an incision is made in the abscess and a catheter is placed inside to drain the fluid. The catheter may remain in place for several weeks. Once the abscess has healed, the catheter can be removed by a surgeon or allowed to just fall out on its own.

Since the abscess is likely the result of an infection, your doctor may prescribe antibiotics. But in most cases antibiotics are not required if the abscess is properly drained.

If you continue to develop Bartholin’s abscesses and find they greatly impact your quality of life, your doctor may want to perform a procedure called a marsupialization. This is a surgery very similar to the other drainage procedure. However, instead of allowing the incision to close, your doctor will stitch the incision open to allow for maximum drainage. A catheter is typically still used. Marsupialization can be performed under local anesthesia, but depending on the size and complexity of the abscess, your doctor may perform the procedure under general anesthesia. Your doctor will treat any infection present before the surgery.

If none of these procedures are permanently successful, your doctor may recommend your Bartholin’s glands be removed. This surgery is rather rare and would require general anesthesia in a hospital setting."

**hope it's somehow helpful.**

In other matters, so good to be back on SDK. Gosh, I missed my once-in-a-while comments... hope you guys missed it too, lol.
    Happy Saturday, y'all

14. Dear poster..I don't know how to reach u, my bros wife has the same thing, and she keeps going to hospital steady but after my mum used her hand to treat her(my mum is a nurse) till today she is enjoying herself, dat was seven yrs ago. Till today I still don't know how my mum did dat but wat I know is dat she is talented in her career. I pray it went well with u. Cheers.

15. Sorry dear. Don't know abt it. Pls visit different hospitals to get varying opinions. May God heal u.u

16. Hearing abt dis 4 d first time....may God heal u

17. Visit a good teaching hospital, all the best but know that with God nothing is impossible

18. monalisa look alike(swtestJ)13 December 2014 at 11:22

I just Google it now na so so big big grammer full there chai!but it's something that grows in d Vjayjay area..God will heal u in Jesus name

19. Never hrd of this 2. Speak healing upon you in Jesus name. Amen

20. May U be healed in Jesus name o, it's not a big deal with Jesus and a gud guynae in a specialist hospital:
    Sabo wats gud? Hope Ur day is going gud? Check d oda post U asked abt d age tun,SMART

21. ab gini.. Im seriously damned. Lady were u promiscuous?
    Ecoli are major causers of abscess in growing children. But in ur punani? Na die. Ive never heard of this

22. shocking! May God give u permanent healing. I guess it has to b treated frm within ur blood.

23. Never heard of that. Please walk your way to a hospital, another one if you must.
    Best of Health.

*Ayah Shehu*

24. Abeg oh my own na testimony biko, bv make una help me dance shoki oh na me be d person wey talk say my menses was scanty last month and towards de end of de period it came wit a bad smell and my discharge was yellowish and scratches me omg na so una come advice me some even yap me but I fear oh I come run begin de hot water therapy wit salt and detol haa I even use garlic as my fud so taa my whole body come dey smell garlic na so I walk go hospital 4 swap test na so dey result come show no growth found omg I still dey doubt myself na so my discharge come dey normal hia lik play lik play my period come yesterday my fellow bv de thin dey pour lik water omg na so so dance I dey since oh before una yap me am a virgin oh so I dnt knw how come de infection. Tnk u all

1. LOL
      I'm so happy for you anon 11:29
      May your healing be permanent in Jesus name, Amen.
      Congratulations.

25. am just hearing of this for the first time...lemme google it first

26. Welcome On Board Flight 2015

HEAVEN ON EARTH !

God's Intervention ... Asap

27. God would help you find a lasting solution to this problem, I honestly haven't heard of this. Maybe its time to really change hospital.

28. 1. What it should look like naturally
    http://www.m.webmd.com/women/bartholin-gland

2. What it shouldn't look like. http://www.m.webmd.com/women/bartholin-gland-cyst

Madam from what I read, you could have a recurring STI which maybe the reason for this growth after drainage. You and your husband should go for test before you talk of draining.
    It's possible he keeps on infecting you with STI if you're faithful and he's not.

Ladies we should also try to up our hygiene game. Swish and Swipe your toilet seat daily, it's not that hard. A bottle of disinfectant is 180naira and two drops in there can help alot.
    Change your God forsaken pants and don't wear pants to sleep except you are in a situation.

29. Pele poster! You need to see a qualified gynaecologist asap. The treatments you previously had were probably wrong because you said the abscess was just drained- with bartholins abscess/cyst what u need is drainage+ marsupialisation that way there won't be room for any further abscesses/collection. Google na your friend!

30. It's well dear poster. #dat Udi Chick

31. Hello. I had this three years ago and I had to have it drained surgically. It came as a shock cos I had never heard of it before. It's a random occurrence and I do pray it doesn't happen again.

32. Ok firstly, it's a bacteria infection ,d bacteria is called E. coli or std lik gonorrhoea or chlamydia, u can try antibiotics, use sits bathe at home, it may take days of site bath to treat it for 15 minutes nd finally ur doctor can drain it surgically under local anaesthetic , Wetin ur husband de look? Na std na, u know weda na him give u?

33. My first time of hearg dis,,d Lord is ur healer,,pls visit hospital

34. hmmm.see a gynaecologist pls

35. Na std be dis one too abi wetin? And pla dont ask me to go check google,i know where it is

36. So like most BVs, I haven't heard abt this before. Googled and found this link, should be helpful to you. http://www.healthline.com/health/bartholins-abscess#Recovery5.
    You will need a very good doctor though.

37. Pls kindly go for proper test and find out why it keeps coming bk.. God heal you

Stella abeg how do u joggle motherhood and work? I get overwhelmed atimes

38. Check out this website. http://www.healthline.com/health/bartholins-abscess#Treatment4

39. You will have to go and drain it at least for now so you can be comfortable. as for a permanent solution it is only God that can heal, or maybe you should have a minor surgery to remove whatever is making the boil to form.

40. Hmmmmmn. You didn't tell us when nd how it started, vaijay s sensitive nd I think ur frequent visit to this so called hospital is not helping, u should hit a specialist.

41. Ave never heard of this before nitori olorun oo..
    Poster biko run to a general hospital and see a doctor ASAP...
    Don't play with your health oo..
    And if the abcess keeps reoccuring..
    Then keep draining it..
    And pray pray pray and sow seeds concerning it..
    *faithful BV enemuwe Thelma*

42. Ave never heard of this before nitori olorun oo..
    Then keep draining it..

43. Thelma enemuwe said....
    Ave never heard of this before nitori olorun oo..
    Then keep draining it..

44. Thelma enemuwe said....
    Ave never heard of this before nitori olorun oo..
    Then keep draining it..

45. Bartholin’s abscesses occur when the Bartholin’s glands, located on either side of the opening of the vagina, become obstructed and infected. If the gland becomes blocked, a cyst will usually form first. If the cyst becomes infected, it can lead to a Bartholin’s abscess. The abscess can be more than an inch in size and cause extreme pain. While most Bartholin’s abscesses end with a full recovery, there is a 10 percent chance that the condition will come back.

46. Hmmm! Dfrnt knds of illness or shud I say disease. Pls kndly c a gynae asap

47. What Causes A Bartholin’s Abscess? What are the Symptoms?
    Most experts believe that a Bartholin’s abscess begins with an obstruction of the opening of the gland. There are two Bartholin’s glands, each about the size of a pea, with one on each side of the vaginal opening. They provide lubrication to the vaginal membranes. Bacteria that get into the gland can cause an infection, swelling, and an obstruction. Fluid builds up in the gland, increasing pressure in the area. If the infection and swelling advance, the gland may abscess, breaking open the skin. Bartholin’s abscesses usually only appear on one side of the vagina at a time.

It may take years for fluid to build up enough to form a cyst, but an abscess will make itself known right away. A Bartholin’s abscess can be extremely painful and the area will likely be red, swollen, and fevered.

Doctors believe that bacteria such as E. coli, or sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) such as chlamydia or gonorrhea, may cause the infections that lead to Bartholin’s abscesses.

48. Wooow!!! Bartholin abscess. It reminds me of the abscesses seen in the oral cavity, submasteric abscesses, dentoalveolar abscess etc.
    It is basically the same principle of management with all abscesses
    Bartholin duct is seen in the opening of the vagina, abscesses are usually due to an underlying infection or a gland is been blocked and can't be drained through the ductal opening

Where u giving antibiotics? Before the incision and drainage was done ?
    I think you should also check ur blood sugar, sometimes high blood sugar can predispose you to infections like this.
    Go back to your doctor

49. Chk dis link dear

http://www.healthline.com/health/bartholins-abscess#Recovery5

50. How are Bartholin’s Abscesses Diagnosed?
    To determine if you have a Bartholin’s abscess, your doctor will perform a physical exam to check for any lumps or bumps within the vagina that would indicate an abscess. A fluid sample will likely be taken from the area to examine for any STDs present that may need treatment as well. If you are over the age of 40, or have already gone through menopause, your doctor may want to perform a biopsy on any masses found in the vagina to rule out other possible source of the problem.

51. Treatment Options for a Bartholin’s Abscess
    It is possible to treat a Bartholin’s abscess at home with the use of sitz baths. In a sitz bath, you fill the tub with warm water only up to hip level. It may take many days of sitz baths to treat the abscess because the opening of the Bartholin’s gland is very small and it may close before drainage is complete. Though soaking may not be the most effective cure, a sitz bath can soothe your pain and discomfort. With a Bartholin’s abscess, you should soak in three or four sitz bath a day, for at least 10 to 15 minutes each.

If the abscess is very large, your doctor may decide it best to drain it surgically. This procedure can be performed in your doctor’s office under local anesthesia, but general anesthesia in a hospital is also an option. Talk to your doctor about the best course for you.

During the surgery, an incision is made in the abscess and a catheter is placed inside to drain the fluid. The catheter may remain in place for several weeks. Once the abscess has healed, the catheter can be removed by a surgeon or allowed to just fall out on its own.

Since the abscess is likely the result of an infection, your doctor may prescribe antibiotics. But in most cases antibiotics are not required if the abscess is properly drained.

If you continue to develop Bartholin’s abscesses and find they greatly impact your quality of life, your doctor may want to perform a procedure called a marsupialization. This is a surgery very similar to the other drainage procedure. However, instead of allowing the incision to close, your doctor will stitch the incision open to allow for maximum drainage. A catheter is typically still used. Marsupialization can be performed under local anesthesia, but depending on the size and complexity of the abscess, your doctor may perform the procedure under general anesthesia. Your doctor will treat any infection present before the surgery.

If none of these procedures are permanently successful, your doctor may recommend your Bartholin’s glands be removed. This surgery is rather rare and would require general anesthesia in a hospital setting.

52. Outcome and Recovery
    If you have developed a painful, swollen lump near the opening of your vagina, call your doctor if it does not go away after a few days of warm sitz baths. If you develop a fever or the pain starts interfering with your daily activities, consult with your doctor for treatment. You should have no lasting effects from the abscess once it is successfully treated.

53. I pray u find solution to ur problem.

54. Also use clotrimazole cream, wen u have pains use ibuprofen, use warm water to wash up always , sit on hot water with sea or Epsom salt. Also use serrapeptase, it's an enzyme supplement.

55. Batolin Cyst is a minor surgery that can be done in any teaching hospital. I do not know what causes it but i had mine done at UNTH, Enugu. Mine was not leaking any pus or blood it was just like a big boil.

Please kindly see a gynecologist or a consultant.

God will heal you.

56. Batolin Cyst is a minor surgery that can be done in any teaching hospital. I do not know what causes it but i had mine done at UNTH, Enugu. Mine was not leaking any pus or blood it was just like a big boil.

God will heal you.

57. Hi,dis is my first time on this blog,pls treat me well blog readers

58. May God heal you. Sounds like a tough situation.

59. My dear,go back to d hospital and re-run d test to knw d right medication to use. Change ur undies after treatment and always soak wt hot family before washing. Maintain proper hygiene down there.lastly ask ur husband to go for test too. May u be healed amen. Sdklastborn

60. Hia.........will just read comments

61. Run to living faith church canaan land ota if you are in lagos but if not go to anyone close to you if only u believe and have faith am not joking u will be healed

62. Oposter,will advice u to do a test for possible STDs (sexually transmitted diseases). This would involve a urine and/or blood test, as well as a swab form the genital area, take antibiotic. sitting in a warm bath may help the cyst to burst,thus preventing the formation of an abscess.

63. Hmmmm never had of this before, poster please you have to go to the hospital and ask them why it keep reoccurring don't play with your health by saying u don't want to go back to the hospital. Pls go that is where you will get solution very fast.

64. M hearing about this sickness for this 1st tym,my dear take it to God in prayer.

65. Just go to a good govt hospital and back it up with prayers.

66. http://www.healthline.com/health/bartholins-abscess.. Read

67. I can imagine the pain because I've had an abscess before and I know how painful it can be. Go for thorough examination since it's reoccurring. I pray God heals you.

68. Genny Baby, how's dt foot of urs??

I prayed for u last night and dis morning..*smiles*

Hope u'r feeling beta today.

Happy belated birthday Iphie Dearie.. U owe a special place in my hrt.. Someday, I let u know how come.

Happy weekend everyone!!!
    Stay safe!!

69. I will just sit down and read comments to learn. Poster, may u find solution to ur problem, amen!

70. Draining d abscess will make it grow again I once had an abscess it was drained at 1st but it doubled d size d next day so I had to undergo an operation and the seed was removed. It's a growth draining it will mk it come back the root has to be removed so I advice u go to a good hospital. I can imagine d pain u r goin tru sorry but see a doc fast

71. Never heard of such before. I pray you get that advice that will turn your frustration into testimony. It is well.

72. Dear poster,i can image what u're going thru. Try using chymoral tabs. It might dry it up. Pele oh

73. Blood of God!!!! never heard of this, and at such can't proffer any "possible solution"

74. Bartolins abscess is collection of pus in the bartholins gland, the gland produces fluid that lubricates the vagina.
    If you have drained twice and it has recurred then what you need is what is called marsupialization, i.e the gland is surgically opened, contents drained and wound left to heal.
    Visit a teaching hospital, they know what to do.

75. it happened to me twice,it is really painful,make sure u keep down below clean and dont wear G-string or anytin dat wuld irritate ur labia..and wen it burst b careful dont allow the fluid gt in contact with d oda area cos it usually re occurs.tk cr n God heal u.above all pray abt it.

76. "The prefered method of drainage is the insertion of a catheter known as a Word catheter for four weeks as
    with simply incision and drainage the cyst may reform"

Saw this on Wikipedia, maybe that might explain why the cyst/abscess keeps growing back. You should look for a clinic or a hospital where this procedure can be carried out. Its fairly simple and not as invasive and should give u long term relief. You u can also opt to have the glands permanently removed.

And pls BVs calm down,its a rare condition but its never fatal and really causes no symptoms other than just the swellings with some people complaining of slight pain. It has no effect whatsoever on a woman's fertility or her reproductive organ.

And to the poster, you'll be fine dear just do your research on the 'Word Catheter' and hospitals dt can have it carried out. All the best. Ebuka

77. Batolin Cyst is a minor surgery that can be done in any teaching hospital. I do not know what causes it but i had mine done at UNTH, Enugu. Mine was not leaking any pus or blood it was just like a big boil.

God will heal you.

78. Nne, as hospital no treat you ni na sdk go treat you. You better keep going to hospital oh. Thy Lord is your strengt

79. Wow....pls get a very gud specialist for dat oh b4 husby go run comot house. All d best

80. Really bartholinths aren't that much of a big deal u can have them Taken care of with a minor procedure. everyone has those glands something just blocked her drainage n that's why derz an inflammation.nit could have been an infection or over secretion of the glands themselves. Just have it taken out

81. Hospital is the only advice I can offer.
    And may God heal you of this kind of disease permanently. Amen

82. There is a definitive treatment for recurrent bartholin's abscess. Marsupialization. You can read about it. But it is a minor surgery.

83. Dear poster there's nothing 2b scared of...obviously the abscesss wasn't drained properly and that may be y it keeps on reoccuring,Nwayz go 2a tertiary hospital 4 MARSUPIALIZATION

84. This comment has been removed by the author.

85. See a good gynecologist. If you drain, it will keep reoccurring. Talking from experience.

86. Marsupialization is d surgical treatment of choice. It isn't an STI. I&D is only temporary solution. If only drainage is done it wld recur. However wt marsupialization d gland outlet is left open so d abscess caused by blockage of its drainage tract wldnt recur.

87. Marsupialization is d surgical treatment of choice. It isn't an STI. I&D is only temporary solution. If only drainage is done it wld recur. However wt marsupialization d gland outlet is left open so d abscess caused by blockage of its drainage tract wldnt recur.

88. Sorry u hear. Use hot water therapy. It works like wonder. Clean it with hot water for few seconds. It will open maybe that day or next. The black blood will flow out on its own. It will reoccur till after menopause but with the hot water therapy, it will be less frequent & without pains. Sorry

89. Sickness dey oh. Sorry Poster. Please go see a doctor ASAP.

90. Sickness dey oh. Sorry Poster. Please go see a doctor ASAP.

91. Na wa o, orisirisi. The Lord will heal you

92. Ok guys if you don't like my comment, just sit on my middle finger and spin….kikikikiki….Are you all seated?..Ok spin…lol.

93. Dónde Comprar La Garcinia Cambogia En Panamá?