Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Finland Deports Over 100 Nigerians‏

Friday, December 12, 2014

Finland Deports Over 100 Nigerians‏

Finland yesterday deported more than 100 Nigerians who have sought asylum in the European country.
The deportees, some of whom have stayed in Finland for over one year arrived the cargo terminal of the Murtala Muhammed International Airport (MMIA), Lagos at 7am yesterday with a cargo airline called, Privilege Gourment. 

They included children, women and some with their immediate family.

One of the deportees, Mr Isaac Ejiofor, told journalists that the affected Nigerians had no criminal records in Finland, wondering why they should be deported after spending over one year in the asylum camp.

Ejiofor who explained that he was initially in Greece, said he went to Finland to seek asylum so that he could get documents that would enable him work in the country.

He alleged that the Finland authorities only picked up and deported Nigerians where they were found among other African nationals.
When asked if the Nigerian Embassy at Finland was aware of their plight, Ejiofor said the embassy was aware but refused to come to their aid after paying 1,500 euro to the embassy officials in Finland.

He said, “The policeman asked me what I want since I do not have any criminal record to warrant my deportation.
“I said I wanted to work and live a normal life in Finland, so he (policeman) told me to seek asylum and I did that.
“I was taken to the asylum camp and was there for about more than a year processing my documents that will permit me to work.”

Another deportee, who only gave his name as Jackson, said the Nigerian Embassy officials in Finland must have colluded with some Finland Immigration authorities to extort money from asylum seekers in the camp.
He said that the embassy officials, however, promised to assist them to get working permit from the Finland authority.

A female deportee simply called Esther, said that she and her husband has been in Finland over 14 years, but was surprised that they were deported without committing an offence.
She said that she was deported along with her seven year-old daughter and husband without any compensation.

She said that other Africans in the camp were given an opportunity to stay and work in Finland, but that the Finland authority were hostile to Nigerians.
She appealed to the Federal Government to come to their aid, particularly Nigerians in Finland and other Europe nations.

She said that most of the Nigerians at the asylum camp in Finland came from other European countries like Greece, Denmark, Sweden and Norway to seek asylum to be able to get working documents. - Culled from leadership online.

*So many questions needing answers....
I dont understand...what is in Finland that they left where they were to go there?Jumping from frying pan to fire!
Why is Finland hostile to Nigerians?
The Nigerian embassy in Finland needs to look into this matter.I do not like the way Nigerian embassy ignore things that have to do with their citizens at all.
After 14years and deported,how do they start again in Nigeria where there is NO HOPE to even hustle?
Na wah!!!

69 comments:

1. Ok ohhh, una welcome, I hope they didn't inject any drug on them, just asking ohhh. Finland officials are wicked.

1. Nigeria should also start deportation of some foreigners too,abi name only them sabi deport?

2. stella 14yrs in finland witout residence permit of stay ..is a lie.i could understand that of 1-2yrs being deported but 14yrs is not true!..i live here in finland so i know this things... i feel sorry for those deportees but thats life

2. Hmm...Nigerian embassy there should have done something about it before they brought them....**AMA Ghana**pls visit my blog..iamladydoris.blogspot.com

1. They should come and join Eku edewor and host at 53 extra. Or better still form association of finland returnees and join any radio station as OAPs. They are welcome to pick any accent they like. Toke can help dem out in that regard.

4. almost everywhere we go we are treated badly...hmph..this green white green blood we have has its good and bad but it seems these days its more of the bad...

5. Ihekire Tony

Is good they are back home, farming season will soon be here, we have enough land. Let them come and hustle here, Nigeria is a blessed land. I don't think I have seen someone from finland before. Do they look like human?

1. At ihekire... Abi...make them come back home jare...farming season will really begin soon

2. Nope!they are monkeys,just like u

6. Buhahahahahaha...
    Funny thing now is most of em guys will come and be posing "Yankee returnee" without shishi...
    And some stwepid gals would fall victims hoping they've found *Obodo Oyibo* horseband...
    I smell Christmas... *shines teeth*

1. Hahahaha! No be small obodo oyinbo horseband
      Choi!

Eeeya! This is so sad though
      How and where re they gonna start from?
      My sympathy guys

2. This is sad and funny at the same time.
      any sdk deportee ? Pls share your story in the in house news.

Just kidding

7. Nigerian embassies generally do not care about their citizens.
    It is all about what they can put in their pockets.
    Sad that these people were treated like this. I cant imagine it.
    Meanwhile what country is Finland sef? Arrant rubbish, jagbajantis nonsense.
    All these small rat countries using Naija to shine. Shior

8. Double wahala.
    And they'll only come home with a box or two and empty wallet.
    Nigerian should stop running heater skelter. God's blessing is not a respecter of geographical location

9. Eya, some Nigerians must hv been giving them the hella time of their lives.

*lips sealed and watching*

10. I sigh. It is well, even in the well.
    Oluyomi Odukoya

1. Hi dear .Hope all is well? Haven't seen your comments for some time.

11. The 14years in Finland lady...Your home coming is not in a good way at all...Nigerians and their bad mouth..

1. I even feel for her daughter who is not used to nigerian life, nigerian embassy no de try to try at all

12. My cousin lost. All hopes dashed. Imagine the crazy man. He has not won the primaries n he was talking of due process.
    Stingy man. In his first tenure,he was impeached. The guy no wan chop n e no free odas chop. All his political dreams gone for now. Dr Agwoturumbe,do you need him for ya gods?. Ok Na
    #looks around.
    #wrongpost
    #whereisdfreakingrantpost

13. The way they treat nigerians in these countries is something else. .even in mumu south africa here, come see how they treat nigerians...its really really bad. .i wish our embassies all over will look into this but it's as if all what they do is extort money from nigerians and connive with d useless countries. .

14. Na wa o. Nigerians are in Finland majorly because education is free there. Most of them went there as undergraduates. You enjoy free education and also get a job whilst at it.
    In an economy like ours, any other part of the world is Uhuru!

1. You are a liar. Nigeria is better that most of them

15. Bad government nai dey cause this problem. Nigerians are hated everywhere in this world. Yet our government claim we are in the UN. Afterall Fela don sing am before, we dey deceive ourselves.

Now na politics, so they dont have time for people. Until one of them win before anything can be done. God dey. Sorry to our brothers and sisters that were deported. Make una take heart.

16. well,welcom back.I hope say una send money to build house for naija since wen una dey dere.d one dat has spent 14yrs,hope u have savings.to d ones dat didn't send any kobo to naija wen dey were dere,Gos is ur only hope

17. Stels u are asking why dey left Naija for Finland?
    U don't seem to understand how bad dis our country has become.
    it's not just that we don't have those amenities we pay for,from elcectricity to healthcare. Nothing here in Naija is regulated! Most landlords wil build shitty houses and charge his long-suffering tenants 5 times what he used to build d house.

There r some areas dat don't have NEPA poles not to mention light.
    Things have become Sooo bad here.
    And u know d sad thing?
    It's not that Naija is poor.NO!
    we r not poor.just that some greedy peeps in power keep embezzling our money...over n over again.
    The nearest trend now is Serving Governors passing d mantle to their sons in law n their daughters....Odiegwu

And then,upon all dese suffering,we stil smile amidst everything.the hardship,d drudgery....Then Boko Haram came!
    As if we havent suffered Enough!

Now tell me,how can someone stay?
    stay in a country where one can be blown up in a church or a mosque where u have gone to find solace from all the injustice??

Nne leave matter,I have Never been to Finland,buh shey they have electricity ni??

@ Esther,nne i am so sorry....After 12 years? Where wil u guys start from now?
    In all,just know That God wil make Ă  Way for u and all d others affected....ok?

And its not just Finland Embassy.most Naijas are complaining of Naija embassies all Over d world...how dey collude wit d country's immigration to extort them.
    Much have being reported about this worrisome trend buh den Our clueless Govt n dosé in power Wont raise à finger to protect its Citizens in d Diaspora....

1. My dear TGW d matter tire me o. Which way Nigeria?

2. Gosh u are soo sensible..i mean u hav said it all.y do people travel out to giv birth?cos of d shitty health care in naija.y do de travel out for education?i can remember wen i was having an operation..nepa took light..de had to hurry to get d gen started,nd used a rechargeable meanwile.nd d house i live in lagos..d water is crap but d landlord doesnt care..we either use it,fix it ourselves or shut up about it..so if i see an opportunity to migrate to finland?hell yea.TGW,God will bless u jare..ur comments always so on point.kip it up

3. Preach! But emmmm dnt think Esther will read this*i kid,winks

4. Bless u general's wife for this comment

5. Nne, this is why I watch out for your comments, your mother planned your pregnancy, took her supplements without fail and breastfed you well so your head dey there.

Can you imagine a friend of mine finished his Ph.D. in a foreign country, was so good that the University offered him a job only for him to be rejected by their embassy for no good reason? The painful part is that his course mates that were just average have started work because they're from France and even India sef(just ne godu).

Anyway our leaders are a reflection of the populace. The average Nigerian is not exactly their brothers keepers.

18. welcome bak home..nija loves u all...lol d hustle is real around here..stella they wil fit in with time..na when hunger wire them

19. Welcome home....Una meet us well

20. Nigeria my country, Goodmorning fam.

21. Hmmmmmm na wao Nigeria don't care for their own

22. Nigerians can waka sha, like stella said so many unanswered questions, not fair tho. 9ja embassies abroad can fall her citizens hand eh

23. Imagine being uprooted frm a place u nw no as ur home.americans wldnt tak dis.de wld retaliate.but out govt are blinded by corruption nd greed.nd de wld be deported sit notin.dats d most annoying part.so were do de go especially d kids.who knows finland sef

24. Oh dear! Do I call wasted 14 years? God will make a way for una. Welcome onboard to Nigeria, welcome to the heat and up NEPA. At the end of the day whoever said there's no place like home was a fortune teller, he saw the future clean and clear.

25. Na wa o..has things gotten this bad that even finland is now deporting us..I don't knw sha but if I whr to b the president I wud reciprocate the gesture by deporting some finland nationals that re here..lol..bt seriously we have a very bad image in the outside community..all those yahoo yahoo boys alone are doing more harm than good to us..so all those runs babes that already have one yahoo guy booked for xmas knw dt ur maga is part of the many problems we re facing as a nation

26. This is sad o, wia will they start from? Anyways, u r welcome back home... Its well.

*Rmn blessed*

27. Very soon nija go empty... Everyone wants to run for greener pastures!

28. Heyya back to square one
    Hope you guys have savings..
    Nigerians which one we dey?
    The weath of the country is sparsely distributed
    The rich getting richer
    Nobody cares about the poor,old widow and children
    Nigeria my Nigeria
    Why am I not from America abi Germany sef
    Mrs dimoko come and adopt me naa...
    I don turn poet this morning

29. Wlcum home

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

30. Nigerians are hated world over not just in Finland-even in other African countries. Our reputation preceedes us-its just sad that people have chosen to paint the whole country with one brush... 90% of the reason for hating nigerians though is envy-we are natural over-achievers.

31. The woman who was deported with her family after 14 whole years its not easy for her. Her family should have been allowed to stay.

UK blog visitors click on my name for unprocessed virgin human hair 7A and 8A graded. Thanks

32. In the season when relations will be expecting from them... chai. God dey.

33. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    I hate this country i swear....
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

34. Bad and sad..eyah..the Lord is their strength..

Son of Solomon

35. Nawa o hw them go do nah esp if there was no savings.welcome back to ur naija.haba stella y persn no go seek refuge 4 another country , our economy is something else , where do I start listg frm? Ma dear any country u see u can comfortably stay den go.evn some nonsense countries wil b doing guy 4 naija.this country is blessed oda contries feel threatnd by nigerians buh cos of d greedy ppl we hav in govt...God heal our land.

36. I don't usually comment on here but this is a touching one. Firstly Stella you live in Central Europe and should know how many Nigerian embassies in Europe. Nigerian Emassy in Sweden takes care of Finland and the ambassador have few friends in Helsinki the nation capital duping people in the Assylum camp. Finnish Authorities should be the best in the world as no any form of organization will take a dime from you as they are recognized as a bureaucratic state, and the most honest people in the world except for some racist who don't like Africans to spoil there country. Ordinary Otedola is richer than the Finnish Govt talk less of Dangote but they managed there tax payer money so well that everyone is equal and they have the best social benefits in the world. As for the woman with 14 yrs residency am pretty sure there's more to it as you can't even cope here moving around without a legal resident card so probably she did something wrong and her paper was cancelled and Moreso 14yrs is more than enough to have Finnish citizenship even if you went through Asylum. And the bad part Finnish people don't like the fact Nigeria as a rich country in Africa neglecting its Citizen to suffer and still want to mess other nations system up. Gabby

37. The woman who stayed 14 years, is it 14 years in asylum camp? If she had the necessary papers there is no way they would have been deported. I know many Nigerians who are living legally and working in Finland! If Finland is hostile to Nigerians then it must be because of the criminal activities so many Nigerians are involved in in the diaspora!

38. I don't usually comment on here but this is a touching one. Firstly Stella you live in Central Europe and should know how many Nigerian embassies in Europe. Nigerian Emassy in Sweden takes care of Finland and the ambassador have few friends in Helsinki the nation capital duping people in the Assylum camp. Finnish Authorities should be the best in the world as no any form of organization will take a dime from you as they are recognized as a bureaucratic state, and the most honest people in the world except for some racist who don't like Africans to spoil there country. Ordinary Otedola is richer than the Finnish Govt talk less of Dangote but they managed there tax payer money so well that everyone is equal and they have the best social benefits in the world. As for the woman with 14 yrs residency am pretty sure there's more to it as you can't even cope here moving around without a legal resident card so probably she did something wrong and her paper was cancelled and Moreso 14yrs is more than enough to have Finnish citizenship even if you went through Asylum. And the bad part Finnish people don't like the fact Nigeria as a rich country in Africa neglecting its Citizen to suffer and still want to mess other nations system up. Gabby

39. so many interesting things here in finland,free education,social support etc,finland is a peaceful country n we africans call it paradise ...having your resident permit of stay and schooling you get paid for it though it is always in finnish language,free apartment and not to forget about the monthly allowance.

so talking about the lady who spent 14years in finland, please that is not true.' this post link was sent to me by a very good friend of mine, i immediately call some friends living in the capital to comfirm ..guess what they all said imposible..i bet you she must have stayed in other countries before coming to finland and thereby calculating all the wasted years together.

40. Eyah, na Boko Haram, PDP vs APC naim cause am.

41. The problem is that most foregin countries do not see Nigeria as been poor becos we are not. We are more blessed than most African countries. God has been good to us but our leaders are something else. I pray for a revival in Nigeria.

42. I can see that the people who are interviewed on this write upp knows next to nothing about immigration laws or grounds for seeking asylum.

In the first place Nigeria is a key factor and well known rich nation in Africa. Secondly there is no war in Nigeria. So less that 4 out of every 20 Nigerian asylum seeker in Europe is granted assylom "that is the good liers".

"Ejiofor said the embassy was aware but refused to come to their aid after paying 1,500 euro to the embassy officials in Finland".The Nigerian embassy any where in the world does not have any say on there immigration decision. So if att all they collected such money from u, you are the fool here.

“The policeman asked me what I want since I do not have any criminal record to warrant my deportation" The above statement is FALSE because if you are illegal in any country in the western, you are not on their data base so no one knows if u have any criminal record or not, so the Finland police can not tell u that when they dont have you on their data base.

“I was taken to the asylum camp and was there for about more than a year processing my documents that will permit me to work.” Are you so stupid that you dont know that seeking assylom is entirely a different thing from work peremit?

I am useing this medium to tell any Nigerian who will be leaving that country, if you are not coming to study, which gives you resident permit stay back home. Alternatively if you are coming to Europe with a visa, just look for onyibo. For your information there is no easy resident permit for Nigerians in Europe. Some people end upp with menthal illnes b4 they will be granted asylum on humaniterian ground, that is if they are lucky because they say we are rich.

Why is Finland hostile to Nigerians? They are not hostile to us they are just angry that they dont have 1 over 10 resources that we have, yet we can not tak care of our own.

I have been interpreting for an Europian country's migration board for some years now and know what am say.

Shalom!!