Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: IMPORTANT Memo To Blog Visitors Looking For A Job....

Thursday, December 04, 2014

IMPORTANT Memo To Blog Visitors Looking For A Job....

ARE YOU EMPLOYABLE??!! Do you leave a lasting impression to interviewers?
Please read this and do not say it is too long,it was sent in by someone who interviewed a few blog visitors....IT IS FOR YOUR OWN GOOD!

Hi Stella.
Hope this mail meets you well?
I really need to share this with BVs and I hope they all get to see this.
I thought about sending this in, earlier. But I didn’t want to seem ‘holier-than-thou’, as compared to others. I am not perfect, i am learning, I have my flaws and I am still building a career. So I am in no place or position to put people down. 

However, I have interviewed a number of people from this blog forum and I even interviewed two more people today, for a certain position. I told myself I must make some observations to help fellow graduates out there. 

I had two interviews today from two BVs. Let me play out the scenario.

These two BVs are graduates with NO EXPERIENCE. They have never worked before but their CVs are well constructed So i call them in. Mind you, this is a firm that requires a highly technical qualification.

Both of them didn’t do too well in the required tests, but it was okay because we were not looking for experience. After the usual questions and tests, we ask: 

Do you have any question for us?

Candidate 1: I need to know what the company is into? What kind of clients do you have? What is the scope of your business and how well can I advance in my career here? Sir/Ma, the truth is I have no experience and have never worked before. But I am hardworking and I am willing to learn. I need to groom my career and I need to be in a position where I can gain experience and know how it is done. Kindly re-consider my application.

Candidate 2: (putting two hands on chin and places phone on the table) I want to earn N150,000 and nothing less. Please I hope I won’t do marketing? I can’t work beyond the specific working hours, even if there is a deadline. I like to plan my time and no employer should interrupt. I won’t take below N150,000 (yet you were told you did poorly in the test and you admitted you had no experience and you are currently out of job) And I want to know what position you are recruiting for (yet you applied for the job). I want to advance in my career.

Please which of the candidates would you recommend for the job? We keep complaining about how bad this country is and how evil employers are and how there are no jobs. Let me ask you, ARE YOU EMPLOYABLE??!! Do you leave a lasting impression to interviewers?

As someone who is involved in recruitment, let me give us graduates some interview tips. Most of us are always punctual, but we still miss the target – IMPRESSING THE INTERVIEWER. Once you impress an interviewer, the possibilities are endless. If there is no available position now, your CV would be kept specially for future purposes. Or even forwarded to someone who needs what you have.

1. Please be presentable!! WTH?!! You people come in with un-ironed clothes. Even after you have been given one weeks notice. I know all the electricity challenges in Nigeria, but your presentation can actually make you get a job. Don’t you know? No loud makeup or long lashes, please!! No rolled up sleeves, it should be long sleeve or short sleeve.

2. Composure and body language!! You slouch on the chair, put your phones on the table and you have your two hands on your chin. Like, what da hell?!! Some of you even come chewing gum and letting your hair fly loose. You are shaking because you are frightened. Do you even get that scared of God when you pray? Come off it!! 
You are laughing because your interviewer laughs. Or you want to act as if you know it all, just because you have been told you are smart. Please, calm down. No one will employ an egoistic person. Drop your phone too!! 
Put on ‘silent’ and in your bag or pocket, not on the table. No employer has any business with your phone.

3. Communication. Do not, at any time, try to interrupt your interviewer. Its bad. Allow them to talk and you respond. Be audible when spoken to.  Wetin you dey fear? It’s either you are given the job, or you aren’t. Calm down, no rush. Say what you know and leave the rest. You are either too forward or too slow. You want to say what you aren’t asked (which might work if you applied for marketing) or you can’t even express yourself well enough. Why nau?? Even the English sef.....

4. Read your CV again. Just incase you are asked what is on there, you should be able to respond, without looking dumb. I don’t care if you lied in there. Just be smart enough to defend it- yes, because employers like smart people!! Stop lying on your CV. You wrote 200 things and you only know 2. You think your employer is stupid?

5. Transparency. Just say what you know show smartness, truthfulness, humility and willingness to learn and you would be considered. I know a woman who went for an interview with her baby, while others wrote ‘single’ on their cv. She was breastfeeding and couldn’t leave her baby at home. It was the baby that the boss saw that he made sure they employed her. He even helped her hold the crying baby, when he saw her at the interview door. 

Why? 
Cos he knew all those other women were married and lying. And he was tired of seeing lies on his desk. Some of us like to feel ‘i am smart’ but on a job you can never know it all, the truth will show.

6. Sensitivity. Be sensitive to the environment, reactions and interviewer. You don’t want to come across as someone difficult. Don’t gossip with other interview candidates. Sometimes, cameras are installed and you are being watched as soon as you walk in. 
Mind your business and do what you came for. Even if you have reservations you won’t want an employer to overstep, why not wait until you get the offer letter. Which you can accept or reject? Why start ‘warning’ them even before you are shortlisted? It’s uncultured behaviour, I must say.

7. Be polite to everyone you meet. From gateman to cleaner. You don’t know who is who. You don’t know if that short man by the door is the MD collecting fresh air and you just pass without ‘good morning’. And try and google more tips. Google is your friend.

Let me state a bit of my experience in the short life I have lived, so far. I am 26 years old and I graduated in 2010. I got my first job even before I finished university. How? I went to sell human hair to one man who was buying for his wife. She saw me on the road, liked my hair, took my number and said she would send her husband to buy hair for her through me.

The man calls me to meet him at a bbq fish joint and as I was marketing my product to him, his friend who was listening, arguing and even getting on my nerves at some point, offered me a job there and then- IN LAGOS!! 

I was yet to even start my final exam and I told him. He said whenever you come to Lagos call me. My parents thought it was a joke. I called the man after 3 months, he directed me to his office in VI, I met the HR manager, did the interview. And I went back home with an employment letter. Seems like a joke right? You might even think I slept with the man.... LOL. God knows my gain on that hair piece was 10k, as I was just a distributor for a retailer. And I needed the money to complete payment for my project typing. But look what I gained, just because I composed myself well. 

I may have insulted the man off, being that I wasn’t even supposed to be giving him any audience since he was not the one buying the hair-sef! The job pay was a little less than 100k, but it was a start.

I had not even gone for NYSC. So when I was called for service after one year, I went to pick up my call-up letter and I already had a direction as to where I was going and what I was doing. As compared to my classmates, who were still wearing tank tops and bum shorts. Since then, I have never gone for an interview that I haven’t been called back for.

Sometimes of my company clients approach me ‘Please leave your job, come and work for me, I will pay you more’.

At some point, my former boss relocated and shut down the company. I was out of job for few months. I met someone at a bachelors’ eve and we discussed to the extent that on the monday morning I was in his office to start as a contract project manager, for a contract he was just being awarded and he had been looking for who to manage. I learnt alot on that project, that I still capitalize on till today. And the story goes on......

I know there are may be no jobs around, but opportunities abound. 

Be prepared.

That’s the boys scout motto. Yes, because if you are looking at being employed you can get referrals from anyone at anytime. You go to club dancing like a slut, dressed like a gansgtar. Do you know who the person on the next table is? My boss and I had to look for people to get involved in a project for an entertainment brand, at some point. We went round clubs on a friday night searching for candidates. Sounds funny right? But my boss can be a crazy woman and YES we got the people we were looking for. 

Compose yourself to a point that everyone would even feel bad that you are job-hunting and you would be the first person that comes to their mind when people are asking for employable candidates (not saying you should be a saddist oh) It can be your neighbour you always insult or you boyfriends elder brother that you disregard because he is not a fine boy.

Lastly, stop waiting for fairy tale jobs. They don’t ever prepare us for the battle ahead, when in university. You are made to seem like your course is extremely needed and you will get a job once you hit 2:1. The oil companies and enviable jobs are there. Some are lucky to have them, others may never, others may have to struggle a bit before they get there. Until then, keep gathering whatever experience and adding to your CV. 

Try and intern too, instead of just sitting at home and wasting time. If you have no interest in office work, then do business and discipline yourself enough to face it squarely.

Thank you Stella.

Good luck to all!!

*WOW WOW WOW...THANK YOU ''M''....I even learnt somethings from this wonderful lecture.

148 comments:

1. Wonderful piece!

Thank you so much.

2. Goodday poster, would you be kind enough to invite me for an interview. I need a job badly before the year runs out. I need to put a smile on my parents face.

1. I promise to iron my clothes paper flat.

2. I recently cut my hair so you won't have to worry about me flipping hair left, right and centre. I have never fixed my eye lashes.
      Toothache won't let me chew gum. My phone has been on silent since I concluded NYSC.

3. I have a tiny voice but I promise to work on that before I see you.

4. I promise to be honest in my CV. Even if its just my name and telephone no written on it. As long as I explain what my name means and when I bought my sim card.

5. I am so down to earth. Barely 5'1.

6. I know about the cameras. I promise not to gossip even myself to other candidates.

7. I will greet everybody from the breadseller at my gate to the cleaner at your company.

I am prepared for you. Are you ready for me?
      Please forgive the humour. I can't wait to make a post like yours here 2, 3, 4 years from now. Thank you

Anticipating

3. Hahhahahahahahahaha... Ememjune! I'm in stitches!

Awww!

Nice humour girl.

4. LMAO! @ememjune! Abeg poster consider her. I loved this her write up! Lol@5"1 down to earth!

5. Lmao
      Ememjune I'm sorry I couldn't help but laugh. You are funny.
      Very interesting piece I must say, I learnt a whole lot. Thanks alot poster.

6. Lol. I am very serious oh

2. Ok lessons learnt! Thanks 4 dis memo.

1. Thanks so much for this.. I learnt a lot from it, I had to copy it just in case.. lol

3. Thank you so much M, that was really insightful, i've interviewed people before and I know how unemployable a lot of our youths are yet they complain that there is no job. Can u please authorize Stella to give me ur email, so I can mail u?

1. Long but worth the read. God bless u poster

4. Wow, I learnt a lot. Nice write up.

5. I love this write-up...well said. God bless you whoever wrote this...

6. Thank you ma'am...
    Thank you very much.

7. Thank u so much for this detailed advice, am a fresh graduate,haven't been for interview before,this will really go along way since am looking for a job now. Thank u.

8. Wow! Very insightful write up, it will come in handy when I'm ready. Thanks M.

9. I'm not surprised.

With the attitude of some BVs, I can't just imagine them being interviewed.

In our days, even a trainee sees the bank MD at the final interview stage. And you will dare appear untidy, interrupt, slouch, chew gum or even hold a phone at any of the stages?! Don't even bother.

1. @Goldscent. LMAO! Its a reflection of how deteriorated our society has become. Humility and politeness are scarce. Everyone thinks playing the " Do you know who I am" card is appropriate in every situation. Even on this blog

Reminds me of what my mum once told me. She scored a political connection that awarded her a land in Abuja just because she ignored a lady that kept heaping insults at her at a political meeting with whom she had a misunderstanding. The connection is a humble well placed woman, who attended the meeting and was shocked my mum kept quiet and asked her to come to her table.

What are we saying. From the way we write on this blog is enough sef. I only bother to read well written comments. TGW, BLOGLORD, YOU and others I cant remember now. I cant stand "fink" and some other childish ghetto abbreviations. I even go off on my brother who's a final yr student for some of these nonsense.
      Wetin concern me, he' ll soon enter job market. Maybe the interviewer will be impressed by his ass when he "sags" his trousers. Kmt

Sorry for any errors, that's why I avoid typing epistles

2. Gbam. Well said. I dont know why I read this post to the end even as the title isn't applicable to me and would ordinarily pass by. But I started to read it and got tired, until I read where she said she's 26, and I finished the writeup gladly because I wanted to know the mindset of this enthusiastic lady. I wish I could hijack you from your employers too, even though I have no vacancy at the moment.

Ada and Goldscent have finished it well. You never know who is watching. Be composed at all times whether at play or at work. Even if u have a sustainable employment u never know who'll offer u something better than u enjoy at the moment, so it's applicable to everyone who wants to grow in their career. If you have a nonchalant attitude, why seek for a job? You should be self sufficient.

Some people will go for an interview and start to talk about how wealthy their parents are and how they just want a job to keep busy and pass time. Ahah.. madness of the first degree. It is such attitudes that make children of wealthy folks degenerate their family empire and squander their inheritance frivolously like prodigal sons. I have seen all sorts. He who has ears should learn from the poster's tips.

10. Brilliant piece..well done! Seems all the opportunities are in lagos! PH employers locate ph BV that need jobs naa haba! Lemme not rant o!!

11. Wow I read evrythg Frm head to toe,am a single mother of a 2yrs old and am desperately in need of a job. Have dropped lots of applications both none is forth coming but am hopeful. And this just prepared me for when ever interviews come,learnt a lot,thank you M for enlightening us and thank you Stells, realy learnt a lot from this blog, always wanting us all to progress and thank you for posting merry Xmas in advance.

12. Nawahhh ohhh , this is very educating. Learnt so many things

1. Thank you very much for this info poster.

13. Thanks a bunch for this lecture M......

Please click on my name for Fashion/Fitness/Beauty tips

14. thank you poster for this wonderful leacture. I gained a lot from it am grateful. I wish to use for the next job I hope to go for by Gods grace. amen.

15. Hey poster. You seem versed. I am like you too. Please if you can help me,please help me. I have been at home for quite a while now.. I am done with Nysc.. I need a job from now till August;when ild be going for my masters. Pls anything good that you find. I studied international relations and graduated with a 4.05.. Which is not too shabby! Not that anyone cares about with you left school with in the labour market. Pls just help me.
    I know it shouldn't be about the money too.. But pls I wouldn't mind starting with something you started with or even more. Lol! Thank you!
    Other Bv's that can help.. Please help a sister. Si vous plair!

1. Posters exact point

1. Ask politely for a job. You're the one in need here. You cant tell them how long you can work for. Its a huge turn off

2. Never tell them what you expect to earn. Unless you have skills that are needed to keep the company afloat. Salary questions are always a trick question.its a salary not the price of a necessity. When you are offered the job THEY will tell you how much they are willing to pay. You can walk away if you aren't ok with it.

3. It helps NOT to advertise your inadequacies. Be confident with your 3rd class. Let them find out themselves. That's why you're invited for an interview and not given the job based on your scores. It's an opportunity to show you're a first class individual.

My cousin got a job with Nigerian breweries but left within a month for his masters. He got it on merit. He finished his masters came back and was still invited for another interview in the same company after a while for a better position.
      He's not a brainiac nor a necessity. He made an impression that made him stand out. The most available impression which unfortunately is seriously lacking in our youths these days is HUMILITY.

2. So vous plait

You want to start with what she started with.. May God hear you. That means you can't work with less for a start since no experience plus you don't even intend working for long

16. Wonderful piece. Thank you writter. These made a whole lot of sense,& majority re guilty of it.

17. Nice lecture....some pple sha, imagine holding on to your phone during an interview, other than an interview,y do people forget to comport themselves in public, is it home training? or just the way they are? I find it appalling, thanks bv for the advice,learnt a lot from it!

1. I learnt a lot from this piece I must say...@DatIgboChic as to why people forget to comport themselves, it pains me to my bone, my younger sis has no self-control whatsoever in public, I have talked, shouted, gotten angry at her, she refuse to learn, so maybe I will say that's how they are..

18. Trust me I don bookmark am already. Thank you many much #tongueout. Btwn some people will come nd act as if they knw/knew everything nd probably say dem no gain smtin. #justSaying

#TeddyBearHead

19. Thank you for this great insight . I learnt so much. It reminded of how my sister got a job just because of her decent dressing and composure.

1. Hi, lol. Am lol cos am just trying dis out 4d 1st time o, now am sure U have my mail id, stay ok.

20. This is really good and helpful. I have definitely learnt a few things from this and I hope others do too. Thank you

21. One will definitely learn one thing or the other.that's how one came for an interview with me and frmthe moment he walked in,u can smell arrogance.by the time he spoke wt me,I knew this one will keep looking for a job for a veeery looong time. Sometimes its not badluck or ur father's ppl frm the village that are after u.just look inwards and be composed.as the writer said,even if it means u wl pretend,do so first and then start showing ur true colour wen u get ur letter

22. "Some of you even come chewing gum and letting your hair fly loose"
    (Hahahaha like NDI ARABANKO.)

Good one poster, I hope they take it in good faith because most of the BVs their second name seem to be "ABUSE".

23. Thanks M,you are the best,God bless you loads. I learnt alot

24. Nice one. Learnt a thing or two...

25. thanks have learnt so many things from this write up. God bless u. Hally

26. Hmmm. God, all I need is your divine favor. *thinking*

27. Nice one. I learnt a lot.

Oyibo

28. quite a lecture...
    really interesting. Thanks 'M'

29. Thanks Alot....May God bless you

30. Thank you very much,i haven't gotten there yet but i know i have learnt for my tomorrow

31. REALLY? LIKE SEIOUSLY???

PLease what company do you work for?

you and your boss went scouting for 'candidates'on a friday night at club houses? interesting!

32. Thanks a lot poster, I have learnt some tips too. God bless you.

33. Learnt these things befor I went on IT, I composed myself so much that I caught almost everyone's attention,thanks so much poster have learnt more from you Godbless you

34. Long one but I read through it all. Very good points. It's natural to be nervous during interviews but as poster has said, try and put your best foot forward and be prepared.
    Poster, you seem like a very focused person who gets the work done. Nice.

35. Dis is the best piece iv read ds year. Good job poster!

36. Wow!This piece is so educative.

37. Hmmmmmmmmm i really learnt a whole lot.Thankyou

38. I'm sure I did great at my internship too,I worked better than some employees and even attended board meetings and rep the firm to clients, I was an intern but wasn't scared of anything/anybody, that's why my oyinbo GM who people were even scared of called me back to work,but now holy ghost fire consume any fowl spirit blocking my way cus I need that job before service.
    Well said girl..most people don't even know the abc of interview,yes you get nervous but stir it up with smartness and reduce anxiety too.
    During my interview, confidence that I never had just flew inside me,I didn't overdo anything,I just saw it as oral exam,you either pass or fail,its just a series of questions.

39. Wow!. I have learnt something from your lecture. Wonderful tips... I envy you( not in a bad way o). I wrote that because am in my early 30s without a job and little experience. My age and lack of experience disqualifies me whenever I see any job openings. I didn't gain admission into the university on time, so I finished at an age that people would term "old". I pray I get something soon. Like I said before, I learnt something from your writeup. Thanks for sharing.

40. wow! thanks for d insight .

41. Thank you for the write up, I read it from the beginning to the end. I want to ask you both a question(i.e. Stella and the writer). Is it possible to get a job with a 3rd class? I came out with that grade(so many things happened), just finished my pgd program, am very hard-working and smart although I lost some self confidence due to my grade. No one wants to give me a chance to learn new things and gain experience (even if am put on probation for some months to see how I perform). There is just this burning desire and hunger for learning(some of my friends say I love book). Still yet no room to prove myself. I intend sending you my story stells, maybe you can help me put it up in one of your IHN. Sorry for the long tory jare, just saying how I feel. PrettyWitty

1. darling, let me tell you about me. Finished with a 3rd class (hated school from the get go). Everyone was like you wont get a job go do pgd. I laughed. Before NYSC, heard about an opening from a friend. Went for the interview, Ive got this confidence like a double edged sword, at no point was I asked for my degree grade...why? Because they cld garner all they needed from that interview. It was obvious to them I was intelligent and highly proactive. I got the job....long and short, I have worked 3 highly placed jobs with my 3rd class. No one is pressurizing me to get d masters again. 3rd class is not the end. You've got to have the confidence, when being interviewed 'lean in'. Let them know you are ready for anything. Most ppl buy results in Naija so no one really believes in grades, more of what you have to offer not some certificate. Build yourself from within, hold God and march into the world with the takeover can do attitude

42. Some valid points. But this person came across as really brass and arrogant, and know- it-all and after reading this. ..I got a tad angry. And the right term would be 'egotistical'. Just cause it worked for u, doesn't mean others r doing anything different. From the stories u listed, I do not see anything spectacular w how u got a job, someone just decided to take a chance on u, most likely on impulse. So why can't u do so in same regard? if u were put thru the same formalities as the ppl u interviewed, I bet ul make the same mistakes. so pls get off ur high horse...sit down somewhere and just thank God u r highly favoured to get a job. cause that it what it was - Favour! Not the crap u just wrote

1. From your comment I can see why you didn't get what the guy saw in her to offer her the job. If you did your comment would be much more polite.

2. I totally agree with you! Gbam

3. Thank you very much. ..I thought I was the only one that noticed the arrogance. Good advice but it really did come out wrong. Imagine saying "you knew the direction you were headed while your classmates were still putting on tank tops and bumps shorts".

4. Blog Visitor "M"4 December 2014 at 19:38

Lol. I knew some will read arrogance into this. I only said it as it happened to me. its really difficult to please everyone at once. :)

5. Anyone who sees his write up as arrogance has serious issues.....gosh u guys have an attitude problem and can never go far in life...... U did not even pick an aspect but the whole thing...honestly u have issues if you say she wrote crap....humility is humbling yourself to learn from others....she was being sarcastic in dome places but not arrogance.....anyway I pray u go far in life with this negative attitude....

6. I am not surprised and I think that everyone should be allowed to air their opinion like the anonymous here. Although I align with the poster.

Dear anonymous, what I have learned as per with the average Nigerian today and their general over view of people.. is that anyone who is bold, brave, assertive, confident, even if they are not necessarily intelligent, stand the risk of being considered "arrogant". From the posters narrative I didn't deduce intelligence but I felt her confidence level.

While I may not necessarily agree with her 100%, I think for the most part of her analysis she was spot on.

Note that everyone looks out for different characteristics in people that they wish to work with. Her study may not serve as a workable template for others who seek employment, but there is something they can grasp from her view, which is composure, general body countenance, what to say and not say when being interviewed. Every other thing she said can be forgotten. Please understand the difference between arrogance and confidence. They are world apart.

I suffer the same fate that is why I am ranting here. Over sabi is what some people call it. But it works for me just like it works for the poster. Especially if it helps you in your career then why not? I was saying the other day of how shy a person I am, but yet, when it comes to my job I am brash and an unrepentant busy body.

There's is a lot of grooming to be done with those who are fresh out of school seeking employment, and I think this post is for them. Ok bye

7. Blog Visitor "M"5 December 2014 at 13:18

Thanks Sisi Eko.
      Apparently, I just finished the interviews when I sent in the mail and I was SUPER PISSED! Maybe I was too impressed with what I saw on paper that I was too disappointed, after the interviews.
      Unfortunately we hate to hear hard truth sometimes. And once you bare it all and you do state things clearly, you're seen as arrogant. Especially when you're a woman....
      And I do not regret the 'tank top and bum shorts comment' cos that really shouldn't be an everyday outfit for a serious minded graduate. Beach or picnic? Your choice!! Not to to school to come and get your call-up letter.
      Let's encourage our graduates to act like the certificate was well worked for. Most if these things we encourage or keep silent on aren't even allowed in the sane parts of the more civilized countries we try to emulate.
      Thanks to everyone who understands the intent of this post. God bless.

43. Wow! Wonderful advice!! U said is all!! Very apt!
    Please,I do not know the position you have been interviewing for but im very interested. I have a bs in Economics. Also a graduate of AGDC (after school development centre)email address is adesuwadupe@gmail.com

44. Thank you posted. An eye opener indeed. Pls vote for boo and I daily in the Big Nigerian Wedding contest. http:/woobox.com/dymgeb/vote/for/5292277. Thank you all

45. Wellsaid....I wonder why people wont prepare for interview... Google aint your enemy...Enough materials on tips of interview are there but they wont check it.

Some will feel because they applied from SDK Blog so its automatic and they will be picked no matter what...YIMU ....

On the other hand, different interviewers have their specifications. What pleases you might not please me but the poster have stated the BASIC things that cant be ignored...

Thank you poster, we cannot stop learning so i have gained alot.....

Stellz i dey hail oooo....

46. A friend went for an interview after years of joblessness, I asked him (howfar), he talked from A-B...Later I got a call,that he didn't seem like a serious person(i knew someone in the company so I helped), he was slouching and all, i'm very sure it's this rotten behaviour you listed up there that made them refuse to take him...Imagine after so many years of joblessness, I expected him to be so composed, the employer will give him 2jobs/position..lol

47. Good one poster. Hope everybody will take their time and read frm beginning to the end. Very very informative.

48. Am soo short of words like WOW!!!!!.believe it or not 90%of our graduates are unemployable. I love this write up and I learnt a lot

49. i love this write up..so encouraging...GOD bless d writer...i hope n pray that immidiately after my studies i also get a gud job like u..tnx once more..
    GOD BLESS NIGERIA

50. Real wao. This shows we learn daily. Poster, did I just say I leanrt or I love you. I suggest you go for lecturing job, because your lecture got me inspired. Let me edit my cv and compose myself and get ready for an opportunity. A word is enough for the wise.

51. i believe in one thing, THERE IS ALWAYS SOMETHING TO DO AT ANY POINT IN TIME, IT ALL DEPENDS ON YOUR ABILITY TO PUSH AND ALSO ADD VALUE TO YOURSELF. If you can't get a job immediately, try and build yourself. Its always better for your interviewer to know that you've been busy with short or voluntary jobs, than for him to find out that you've been idling away at home. Improve yourself always. Let your first benchmark not even be the amount you're to be paid. An employer knows what he wants and if he sees that you can give him that, he may start with a small pay to test your ability, but will increase it later. It all depends on you. Add value to yourself at all times. The fact that you're priced cheaply today does not mean that's how it will be for the rest of your life. Know where you're going and work towards it. Increase your self-worth, and show your willingness and readiness to learn. Be teachable.

52. This post is helpful,thanks a bunch poster

53. Thanks alot for the lecture. Bvs in ph,plz help if u are in a position to employ. Nothing seems to come my way yet d cost of living is high

54. God bless u for dis write up. Like she said I also learnt my lesson from an interview I attended was well dressed but my shirt was a short sleeve wit button turn up since then I don't try that when am called for an interview. I pack my hair neatly and I apply light make up. Although am still searching which of course I know am ready to work but in d mean time I hv gathered a lot of experience. God will help all of is looking for a job and I hope we learn from this and put it into consideration.

55. Insightful piece..thanks poster.

56. so true. I remember when i went for my present job interview. The babe that came for the interview along side me was several year ahead of me at the Bar. She came wearing jeans, asking me a fellow applicant questions i could not answer with her Ipad etc on display forming what not. Guess what, i was taken while madam with all the effizy and years at the bar was not. CCTV camera at work.

57. Really insightful.dat part about lecturers making u feel ur course is d most important really got to me.its soo true,nd yet,after graduating frm microbiology,still here,no job,no source of income.may God help me oo

58. Insightful, thought provoking and highly educating. I've learnt a lot. Thanks for sharing this, SDK we rock!!!

59. Insightful! Picked up a couple of details..knowledge is limitless.

60. Thanks for these tips. I sent in my CV but I wasn't lucky enough to be called for an interview. Will impress you if I get the opportunity.

61. At poster, You should have written an address of a company down the street for candidate 2 to negotiate salary for under performance. The mistake we make as graduate is that we don't prepare for interviews. I mapped out a year to prepare for interviews and tests.

Your class of degree dont matter if you are good. My present Company prompted a make shift driver to an assistance sales manager because of his communication, organisational'and negotiation skills (a story for another day).

Biko, i would appreciate it if i can exchange mails and chat with the poster more. Thanks.

62. Wow! This is really nice....Thanks a lot for sharing this with us

63. Wow!!!!! Really insightful. Thanks M and Anty Stells. This would come in handy for me. Have an interview tomorrow, BVs please pray for me o. Been hustling ticket sales since I graduated in 2011 and finished serving last year. I hope this works.....#first time commenting tho

64. So inspiring I learnt so much on this though I know most of all she said. Welldone

65. Wow!!!!! Really insightful. Thanks M and Anty Stells. This would come in handy for me. Have an interview tomorrow, BVs please pray for me o. Been hustling ticket sales since I graduated in 2011 and finished serving last year. I hope this works.....#first time commenting tho

66. God bless u.....You cant imagine d num of ppl u've help....am big in business but still wanna work under someone , i totally appreciate dis. may God do for u wat u can't do for urself....Amen

67. Worth the time. Very informative.

68. We have hear. Thank you

69. Went for an interview and was asked what my 5 year plan was. Didn't know what to say.

1. Common trick question. Saw it somewhere and the individual had answered" To be in your position". Well it was an oyinbo interview. If you tell a 9ja person that one him go say him village people send you. Lol!

70. Wow I have learnt a lot. Tnk u very much

71. nice write hp, very informative

72. Oh my! Thank poster and stella for this. I've learn't something new 2day. I'm going for an interview tomorrow, bvs please I need your prayers and I pray I get this job this time because of my sweet mum. So help me God. Amen

1. Good luck dear. Be calm and confident and say your prayers. Its well

73. Please do not submit a CV with an email address like cutie4u@gbogboe.com or preetytinu@ogao.com. I will ignore.

If you claim to have a degree in Accounting, for goodness sake, read your Fundamental Accounting textbook so you won't spend 20 minutes doodling when I ask you to post basic debit and credit entries.

Use DEODORANT and brush your damn teeth!!! Do not wear jeans or sandals. Google my firm so you know who we are and what we do.

And last but not least, utilise Brighter Grammar before you show up.

1. Buhahahaha! *faints* What of sexylexy4real2005@xxxxxx.com. Will that do *batting my scant lashes*

2. Hahahhahahahahahhahahahahahaha
      sweethoneylips@yahoo.com
      Adaorah and Anony una no well...

Nice,éducative,engaging,informative and well-written Write up. Was fun to read as well. Bless u Poster.

3. Lolllll. If you see the specimens wey don waka come my office ehn. Smh. Very upsetting nonsense. If you now say you'll train them, they are odeshi brains o. Nothing will penetrate. All they want is the salary. They are not interested in contributing to your establishment.

74. Grandest sermon I gave heard in a long while online...
    A word is enough for the wise
    Thanks for sharing, learnt something, which I would share to others..

75. Wonderful piece. I learnt a lot from this. Thanks.

76. Blog Visitor "M"4 December 2014 at 15:26

@Yemi Awonusi- Yes you can still get a job. Though you would have to get more qualifications. My relative graduated with a 3rd class by earns 300k in an oil company in PH. Just do more trainings and get work experience. 3rd class isn't the end of the world. Most times, we don't even look for paper qualifications, in recruitment. We look for smartness, really. Well, except clients specify - in which case they still come back to adjust requirements when un-satisfied. Don't be conformed to what the society says. It's well.

77. Blog Visitor "M"4 December 2014 at 15:31

@Anon 12:48- Yes, I found favour in the sight of God and man. But imagine if I had gotten to the interview with a wrong attitude. Would I have been taken? If I didn't hold my patience on that man, I won't have gotten the offer.
    Ofc, stories are different. However, whenever an opportunity arises-USE IT WELL! U spend hours sending CVs online, so what would your effort be worth if you don't prepare for the next stage of getting a job. That's my point.
    Thanks for the corrections.

78. Thanks so much poster for this educative write up. I really learnt a lot from it. I'm a fresh graduate and will soon be going for interviews. This information came in handy.

79. Blog Visitor "M"4 December 2014 at 15:38

Also, candidates should always add a good cover letter and send CVs in PDF or MS Word. Use decent e-mail addresses. Not "sexydiva@hotmail.com" or "Hot and spicy@yahoo.com"

80. Nice write up but i think I know you poster.........

1. Blog Visitor "M"4 December 2014 at 19:40

Maybe you do *winks*

81. So educating,thanks poster....bvz going for interviews sud stop disgracing Sdkers mbok...
    #faithful bv Enemuwe thelma#

82. So educating,thanks poster....bvz going for interviews sud stop disgracing Sdkers mbok...

83. So educating,thanks poster....bvz going for interviews sud stop disgracing Sdkers mbok...

84. Grandest write up I have read in a while.
    A word is enough for the wise
    Thanks for sharing, learnt something I could share with others.

85. This was really a nice one,thank u so much

86. Those pple no de find job jo,dem nva suffer wela..
    Abeg I de find radio job fr abuja ooo,make una hlp a soul na

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

87. Great work poster, it will definitely help those who open themselves to learning. I appreciate it 100%, more tops from others with experience.

88. Thanks alot for this wonderful insight. Please do u mind conducting the interview again? That way some of us that were not previously invited would get to show u our skills. I am desperately in need of a job, and believe me I won't disappoint u. Please, it will be d best xmas gift of my life. Thanks in anticipation
    Leticia

89. I love this piece, even though am just starting my service year but I strongly believe that a lot can happen in a year...

90. Thanks for the tips, it's soooooo informative.

1. Couldn't stop, myself from reading. Nice one.

91. Am with u all the way anonymous 12:48. If she knows it all as she seems to claim, she wouldn't have used the word “sadist“ in that context because a sadist is one who enjoys inflicting pain in another. So she doesn't know it all. If am to interview her and she uses that word wrongly, I won't take her. You all ass licker can curse all u want I don't give a f**k

Mercy from sapele. Original pilele pikin

1. Blog Visitor "M"5 December 2014 at 13:05

Jeez! Calm down. I can understand you didn't get the humor in that. Who uses that word in an interview anyway? What for?
      Ofc I can't know it all, I'm not God. However, the little I know I've shared.

92. I need an android phone as xmas present.Who will bless me? #feelingallalone#

93. I am in my mid 40s and I graduated from the university in 1991..I have worked since 1993 in between jobs and I must say that the younger generation are getting more unserious...you say a lot about who you are with the way you carry yourself....e.g..I see a lot of corpers who go to jobs and don't even take time to learn anything.....learn the job, learn about the company, be punctual, don't spend all your time on your phone or making calls and just gossiping with friends...for the ladies yes you just left school but get some decent clothes.. That's why some of the men you work with are only just interested in toasting you and taking you out....learn to write official letters, get a dictionary and learn how to use the right words....despite my over 20 years of graduation I still have a dictionary with me to be sure am using the right words when I write a memo, that's the way to learn..don't see it as just NYSC, if you are in a corporate office it's a stepping stone.....don't spend time gossiping, talking about frivolous things, toasting fine babes or friending oga...u don't know who is watching you.....my first job in the bank in 1993 I walked up to the MDs office and introduced myself and told him why I wanted a job with his bank....of course I had asked some questions and got some information about his bank...the guy was impressed with me, did not toast me and got my CV.... Thank God I was called for test like he promised and I did interview passed and was employed.....I know things have changed but sometimes with boldness armed with your preparedness God meets u at your point of need..today you see young graduates come for interview and the only thing you know they have prepared is their Brazilian hair, nails and clothes....ask them some current affairs they don't know cos they don't listen to news or read newspapers......the guys too are equally guilty....lol.... What do you want out of life? Sit down and have a plan...what is this long gist all about? Whatever you want to do prepare well...I.e if it's business get a business plan and research the business before you jump in, if you want an office job prepare for the interview and get informed about the company...as a corper be serious u might be retained if found diligent....

94. Wow. What can I say? You are d bomb. I was asked by an interviewer, if I had a question for him, andvI asked him when am I starting the job and he laugued and asked me to start immediately. Thought it was a joke but turned out to be true. Out of ten guys, I was chosen. Na God sha

95. I need experience please

Can any bv offer to help me
    I can do anything, I am just afraid of distance

96. Adaorah mrs chike alloy reply every post. Pls shut up go get a life. And u poster, miss goodie two shoes, self righteous n all knowing brat. Keep replying every comments pretending u re humble but in all still showing ur arrogance pause n listen to urself speak then u will know dat u re an epitome of rudeness not showing the humility n humbleness u preached. Some of those things u wrote there re good but take it from me that u went out of tune n as for those ass kissing ur genetically modified ass thinking they will get hand out from n other bv here, I have somting 4 dem ” LOOSERS RE NOT BORN THEY MADE”

Mercy as usual.

97. Adaorah mrs chike alloy replying every post. Pls shut up n go get a life. And u poster, miss goodie two shoes, self righteous n all knowing brat. Keep replying every comments pretending u re humble but in all still showing ur arrogance pause n listen to urself speak then u will know dat u re an epitome of rudeness not showing the humility n humbleness u preached. Some of those things u wrote there re good but take it from me that u went out of tune n as for those ass kisser kissing ur genetically modified ass thinking they will get hand out from u n other bv here, I have somting 4 dem ” LOOSERS RE NOT BORN THEY RE MADE”

Mercy as usual.

1. Dumbest comment on this thread, seriously. How would poster hand jobs to people whose real names she doesn't know? U guys need to chill and not see the bad in everything. #ByeFelicia

98. Felicia, u of all people that lived off recharge cards and other hand out from dis blog shuld know wat am talking about. Oh! I 4got u have selective memory. Beggar like u shuldnt throw stone at all. I don't av to banter words with u but pls stop playing dumb

99. You're really dumb @Anon 4:23 - Well, #byefelicia is a slang used to bid farewell to an irrelevant person. My name isn't Felicia. Google is your friend.... Exactly what this poster was saying!! Those of u complaining are the dumb ones who don't want to take correction from her post, but you just keep throwing stones. You have just showed how daft u are at reasoning like a 21st century candidate. Backward brains association who keep condemning women that speak their mind. Once again.... #ByeFelicia