Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria Now 39th Most Corrupt Nation In The World

Thursday, December 04, 2014

Nigeria Now 39th Most Corrupt Nation In The World

While Nigeria remains 42nd on the latest global ranking by world football governing body, FIFA, the country has advanced on the rank of the most corrupt nations.

Nigeria is now the 39th most corrupt nation in the world, the global corruption watchdog, Transparency International, TI, has said in its latest release.
According to the Corruption Perception Index 2014 released on Wednesday,
Nigeria scored 27 out of a maximum 100 marks to clinch the 136th position out of the 175 countries surveyed for the report.

The country appeared to have advanced by eight points against its 2013 rating of 144th of 175 countries last year.
A statement issued by the Transparency International noted that more than two thirds of the 175 countries in the 2014 Corruption Perceptions Index scored below 50, on a scale from 0 (perceived to be highly corrupt) to 100 (perceived to be very clean).
Denmark is the least corrupt nation in the world, ranking first out of the 175 countries surveyed while North Korea and Somalia are the most corrupt nations of the world.
Botswana comes top as the least corrupt nation in Africa, ranking 31st least corrupt globally while South Africa is ranked 67th.

Transparency International Chairman, José Ugaz, in a statement on the TI website, said countries at the bottom needed to adopt radical anti-corruption measures in favour of their people.

“The 2014 Corruption Perceptions Index shows that economic growth is undermined and efforts to stop corruption fade when leaders and high level officials abuse power to appropriate public funds for personal gain,” Ugaz said.
“The biggest falls were in Turkey (-5), Angola, China, Malawi and Rwanda (all -4). The biggest improvers were Côte d´Ivoire, Egypt, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (+5) and Afghanistan, Jordan, Mali and Swaziland (+4),” the statement said.

The anti-corruption group said it was currently running a campaign to unmask the corrupt, urging the European Union, the United States and G20 countries to follow Denmark’s lead and create public registers that would make clear “who really controls, or is the beneficial owner, of every company.” - Dailypost

*This just shows that corruption has eaten deep into most government system the world over,imagine Nigeria being 39th! na wah!

47 comments:

1. I'm not surprised o, if we are ranking 39th as we are like this, I dread the country ranging 1st.

1. This piece got me laughing. Nigeria 39th? What happened to 1st - 10th position? So, there are other countries whose leaders have a private bank abroad.
      Unbelievable.

2. Kai i don't understand again oh,so I was reading a post on SDK it was about flavour he sent shout outs to all his ugebes on IG,then I woke up to realise it was a dream.sigh,

3. So what country came first? Lol, so we are not that horrible set? Lol

4. Madam stellz abeg can you pls put the full list here,soo we can know the country that came first!! Cos if naija is like this and scoring 39th;then all hope isn't lost!! In other news;i raise left yansh wella for the first country ooo..her citizens must surely be going through hell...

PLS CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD MY LATEST MIXTAPE

@MARTINS ABOY

5. By the time we reach first position,the citizens will be as malnourished as Somalians,then the poor will start eating up the rich!cos trust nigerians,they rather die trying.

2. I thought they would say we are d first...I wonder what d 1st corrupt nation wd look lyk! Aunty stellz goodmorning!

1. Bahahahaha na tohday? I wonder which country was ranked number 1.. Kaii nawa oo n i bet ghana our neighbouring country is not even on the list lol

2. U took the word out of my mouth,was thinking we'd be ranked 2nd or 3rd..shaking my head for nigeria.on a lighter note pls sdkers rejoice with me finally am commenting using an ID.lol

3. Was thinking we lld come 2nd on d list, 39th eeeehn! There's hope, but my question is can a country so populated like ours be corruption free?

1. Population has nothing to do with corruption. If our systems are working the way it should, the population would have been controlled sef

2. My dear, we can't be corrupt free, other countries who have good control system are one way or d other still wallowing in corruption.

4. It is well dear Nigeria, e go better!

5. I'm protesting this result. I went through the reports and some of the data were understated.

Nigeria should be the most corrupt, full stop.

6. At least we better pass country wey be No. 1.hehehehehehe

7. the only controller G4 December 2014 at 09:05

To tell you Stella;all I can say is God have mercy upon us and cleanse this land.I don't know where we are heading to with the rate that we are moving.I ask God even if it half a person that he finds worthy;for his sake may he save his people. last time 144/175 and now 136/175.what kind of doom are we heading towards. Lord pls save us oh.

8. Things can only get better. Abi.

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

9. Wonder how many more months for us to graduate to the first position...........nigeria na olodo o,common 39th,y couldn't they come first........LMAO.God will help us

10. Stellastica I can tell you with all confidence that the ranking is absolutely incorrect, Nigeria should be ranked No 1 on that ranking. The people that did the ranking should go get their facst right.

11. Wait,we no carry first wif al ds rubbish wey de happen? Den d country wey carry m na hell on earth... #Shame

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

12. Hmmmm dis corruption tin is not just d government dat will help to reduce it but all Nigerians in our own little way let us all help stop corruption.......God will help us

13. Ghen ghen.....Naija wanna proove that they don't carry last.....Corruption is infact an understatement

14. Mrs Dimoko the corruption in our country ehnn..Inshort let me rant small
    FG gave my village billions of naira to compensate us for the damage Obasanjo Admnistration did to us.You wont believe some people have decided to pocket part of the money.I went to my village and was so disappointed.Development is zero.I am so angry.Things like this makes me want to be a politician.Why cant top government officials think of the masses?Only God can wipe away corruption from our land.

15. The bitter truth, so help us Lord.

16. They should do their analysis properly jor. Naija 39th? Thought we should be 4th or 5th. I wonder what no 1 to 3rd corrupt country will seem like.

17. My country......We wish it will get better ¥ sad face ¥

18. naija no dey carry last as usual..lol..anywayz we will get better smday n all will be history...God bless nigeria

19. 39th? Ha that means we try naa, I think say e go don reach like number 1 sef mtchwww...

20. We are better than some! No country is free from corruption

21. Really???!!!….39???…I expected Nigeria to be among the first 10 countries.

22. 39th? Hmmmmmmmm I fear 4 d first 5 countries....was surprised 9ja no dey top 10 sef.

23. Abeg we try o jare
    Atleast we r 39th...what if we were 1st.
    With the rate we are going North korea and Somalia had better watch out for us.
    Nigeria my Country...e go better.

24. Corruption!that's d only thing our leaders knw!mumu country mtcheww!!!!sdk princess

25. 39th too far sef.Given the recent activities in the country i thought it should have been worse.people embezzling money without remorse or second thought,abusing power and authorities like their lives depend on it.Nah we for dey top the list.
    #iam Bond#
    Awka,Nigeria.

26. 139th position. Thank God naija no dey carry last. Pls when we go take first make i know. Stella bb me when we come first ooo

27. 39th? There is still hope for Nigeria to erase itself frm this list. All hands must be on deck frm d govt to dt common man on d streets. Say No to Corruption. We can help build a great&healthy Nigeria.

28. That's right, we are progressing... from 144th position to 136th... that is progress.

Nigeria kwenu!

But that corruption is not just from the government or high places. We sef for yonder, we dey try well.

Imagine a story I worked day and night on, posted on a website and put a copyright warning on o, some Amebor gist thief came and kolobi this story to im FB page without due permission and dey there dey give imself Likes target... on top people stories o.

Corruption is become a tradition is Nigeria and it is disgusting.

Me, I'm tired of this country and its 'no be only me dey do am' citizens.

MTcheew!

1. That is an infringement of your intellectual property, what did you do about it? Your silence is what aids corruption my dear.

29. Congrats nigeria! At lrast we r not the first and last,however its been ranked!

30. Omo! If nigeria is ranking 39, na Em be say we still be virgin oooo compared to d country wey be say them like to carry 1st position for everything.

31. This ppl themselves are corrupt, even though it's glaring we deserved 1st position. Naija, it is well.