Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nollywood Top Five Actors In 2014‏ According To Charles Novia

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Nollywood Top Five Actors In 2014‏ According To Charles Novia

controversial Nollywood practitioner cum critic Charles  Novia releases his Top 5 Nollywood Actors in 2014. Weeks back, he released his top actresses in 2014.

THE BEST 5 ACTORS OF 2014 
I did promise that my next post will be a review of the Best Actors in Nollywood in 2014. Last year on charlesnoviadaily.com, OC Ukeje won for 2013.  I am sure many read my list for the female counterparts for 2014 and whilst the criteria for judging the actors in 2014 won’t be any different, I have gone the extra mile to add snippets of what I believe were the extra efforts these actors on the list made to merit the mention they have received.
As usual, charlesnoviadaily.com sampled opinions of tested and trusted film professionals and critics who put heads together with me to scrutinize the art of many shortlisted names after which I had to arrive at the five names based on my overall veto. It is important to note too that there were no dissenting opinions amongst my team of experts about the Number One choice.
For the crowd which believes that an actor’s popularity and fan base automatically means that such an actor must be on lists such as this, I say to you; get your heads out of your closets. On this platform, all levels of professionalism are used as universal templates. I do not give a damn about the number of years an actor or actress has spent in the industry when I draw up such lists. I am more concerned with areas of the actors body of work for the year and how impressive such was when placed under an artistic microscope.
Using criteria such as interpretation, characterization, internalization, enunciation, and actor’s visualization among others, the following actors are my top 5 for 2014.

NUMBER FIVE: AYO MAKUN (AY)
ay-makun
Sometimes we have an impression that stand-up comedians are just a stereotypical bunch and do not really act outside the ambits of their profession. But it takes a lot of self-training coupled with an inherent acting talent for a stand-up comedian to mimic different characters on stage whilst on his routine. Transiting to the Big Screen and exploring all the elements of acting in such a move calls for some balls on the part of such a stand-up act. And AY proves that he has balls.
In the movie, ‘30 Days in Atlanta‘, one was impressed with AY and his acting prowess. Bringing to life  and to the screen, a social media legendary character known as Akpos, one could see that AY went all out with the character. His jokes were on point. His deliberately obtuse responses to obvious situations were good and most of all, he maintained a verve and onscreen energy which was demanded from the character all through the flick. That energy though might have been overdone in areas where he played to the gallery but such were quickly overshadowed by the brilliantly-plotted script in which Akpos shows us how a ‘Waffi’ neophyte epitomizes the average Nigerian who travels for the first time out of his country. In ’30 Days in Atlanta’, AY didn’t have to act funny. He was funny. Having seen him act in the tepid ‘AY’s Crib’, his sitcom on television where all he seems to do is to deliberately or curiously bulge his eyes when rendering his lines, I was wary of what to expect in his movie. But he was well-researched for the role and had a great supporting cast which helped his delivery.
AY deserves the accolades he has been getting over that movie. Most of all, he deserves to be on my list this year.

NUMBER FOUR: TOPE TEDELA
TOPE TEDELA
A Mile From Home‘ is Tope’s breakout movie. Having won a few laurels on account of the movie for ‘Best Actor’, I was curious to watch the movie earlier on in the year and when I did, I was not disappointed by his characterization in the movie. He played a character  which requires the utmost physical interpretation for the role as well as layers of emotional demands and intrinsic internalization. Where the dictates of the character needed him to deliver, Tope Tedela did. However, a trained eye could see that the young man still has a lot of work to do in some areas of his acting skills which a short course in an acting school would enhance if he so desires but that trained eye would also recognize that there’s a zeal within his talent which can be nurtured for the future. It is heartwarming to see the new generation of actors coming all out to prove that talent is king, beyond good looks.
For Tope Tedela, his talent may well take him places.

NUMBER THREE: LUCKY EJIM
LUCKY EJIM 2
Lucky Ejim’s name might not ring much of a bell to many but his art clanged more than a Church Bell for me in 2014. The movie ‘Render to Ceaser’ in which Lucky plays a psychotic villain had a run at the cinemas earlier in 2014 and Lucky stood out for me as the man of the movie. He was superb in his characterization and his articulation was brilliant too. Now, there is a difference between playing a villain and making the viewers accept that an actor is one. In this movie, Lucky blurred the lines and all through the movie, he was as good as they come in acting. After his commendable outing in the 2009 movie, ‘The Tenant’, we had to wait for years for the Canada-based actor to return to the Big Screen over here. And he didn’t fail.

NUMBER TWO: MIKE OMOREGBE
mike_omoregbe1
His name on this list would shock a lot of people who may not even know who he is. But he is an ACTOR and his artistry deserves my commendation. If anyone has watched ‘INVASION 1897‘ by Lancelot Imasuen, you would agree with me that Mike Omoregbe, who played the role of ‘Oba Ovoramwen’ was as brilliantly regal in the role as he was visually a sizzle in his interpretation. His carriage and internalization for that role was quite an aesthetic delight and he did stir a lot of African cultural enthusiasts with his various levels of interpretation for that role. For a first timer on the big screen, I must doff my heart to this new entrant on the block. Actors such as this should not escape Nollywood’s radar in the present future.

NUMBER ONE: SADIQ DABA
SADIQ DABA
Sadiq Daba is my number one actor in Nollywood this year. If his ascension to this list in the first place would shock anyone, I would gleefully go the extra mile to add an electrocution value to that shock. The Veteran Actor has perhaps given us his role of a lifetime and one which we will never forget in years to come.
I do not wish to believe that Uncle Sadiq’s role in ‘ October 1‘ could very well be a magnum opus to the industry, having being called out of a self-imposed retirement by Kunle Afolayan. It shouldn’t be. As the Colonial Inspector in ‘October 1‘, Mr Daba shows us all why tried  and tested actors of his professional ilk are still the unbeatable best. One could appreciate that he personally put in a lot of research and hard work into his character and limited himself professionally to acceptable areas of believable acting, eschewing melodramatic dictates which other actors cast in that role might have been tempted to accede to.
His acting reached a powerful crescendo when in the last scene, he confronted the White Colonial officers. That was an awesome interpretation. In this age of harried and hurried actors who believe that they know it all, they can learn lots from actors like Sadiq Daba.
He gets my ultimate diadem for 2014. Congratulations, Sir.
Hmmm i disagree with two of his choices but let me leave you to debate that......do you agree with Mr Novia's list?

74 comments:

1. Charles abeg go seat down, am tired of u jooor.

1. Ok. Congrats to them. Charlse it's high time u strted attaching awards to this ya lists oh..evn if na d paper type. All join..

2. Ibakatv is just a scam after giving them my £5 still no movies. Mrs O

2. Sadiq Daba is just d ish. I loved him in oct 1st

1. He played the Inspector Danladi Waziri character so well. He made it believable. Sadiq Daba, I doff my hat to you. Brilliant actor!

3. Charles you're gradually becoming that thing.
    Warri blog visitors una get any idea when dey wan show A'S 30 Days in Atlanta movie for that Cinema for PTI roundabout?
    And how much sef maybe I go sponsor one or two blog visitors to go with me. But una go buy una popcorn and coke by una sef o.

I just dey vex coz mio sposato always makes jest of me that I don't know how speak Waffi pigin but speaking English to this Igbudu market women dem dey think say I be JJC and na so so price dem dey call ontop a bunch of plantain.

1. They've finished showing it der na. Google 'silverbird warri' and check but I knw it showed last month sha. It is N500 on wednesdays (and mondays I think), other days are 1500 except u have a student ID card then it is 1k.

2. Check their site....weekdays is 1k n weekends 1500.

3. I'm not certain of that pti cinema dey show better movies oh. I doubt sha but will ask around.
      If you wan sponsor hola @ me oh..i go buy my own drinks dnt worry.

4. I love @Uncle Daba...that's all

Have not seen any of the movies listed

5. I don't even send.....
    Btw, Choi, I have been very busy for a while. My little man was ill and I had to take full care of him (my mum says it's cz he's my first, that's why I'm shaking like a leaf, lol).
    Anyway, I got back here and realized I have missed the Santa o....it aff pain me.....Oya, Genny nwa, share your own sharparly... Btw, how is your leg? I prayed for you.
    Manna Bee, hope you were chosen. If I had a job opportunity, I'd give it to you. You are very real. God will bless your hustle soon.
    Stella, God bless you real good.

1. Wow!! Mrs D, your first? See me here o thinking your children would be grown-ups. Where the heck did that thought come from? Oh, I remember now. Your response to my comment that says "ALL MEN" are cheating bastards.

Eeyah! I hope he is much better now? Pele

2. Lol.....
      My dear, he's my first o. I have been married for a little over a year and as regards the "all men comment ", we both know my stand......lol

Yes hun, he's a little better now....

6. Sorry i have not seen any of these movies,but i know Sadiq Daba is a professional actor so I'm not surprised he made the first position.

7. I hope this was done in no particular order, cos Sadiq Daba would have topped this list. Don't really know the others except Sadiq and AY. I need to watch that his new film. Seen the preview but hope it will be worth it.

8. Don't know about others, but well deserved for AY to be on that list.

1. Exactly why you didn't win. Blog whore

9. Tope Tedela is a good actor, dunno abt Ay haven't watched 30 days in Atlanta, the other names doesn't ring a bell.

10. That's his opinion.and he is entitle to it.

11. Mike Omoregbe is a very good actor, from stage to screen.
    It's been a while I watched a Lancelot movie...

12. Great
    That the invasion is great

13. Is Charles Novia 's rating now a standard in rating actors and actresses?i don't think so. His rating 4 d actors I disagree .

14. fair list...but who cares about his opinion?

*prove you are not a robot to.read*

15. Oga goan take several seats jor...

16. I totally disagree
    My top 5 in no particular order
    1. Gideon okeke
    2 Sadiq Balogun
    3. Ramsey Noah
    4. Mike Ezuronye
    5. Yul EdochieEdochie

Older actors
    1. Sam Dede
    2. Olu Jacobs

1. Its for 2014 ma'am.
      Charles Novia looks like that Zombie director in Courage the cowadly dog in this picture.
      AY bi bawo?
      Team cartoons. LOL

2. @BLOGLORD dem don celebrate ramsey noah tire mike ooo yul altogether so make we still celebrate dis new faces lolz......

3. @Chick Felix, your light dey off and on this days, hope you are good or network never dey your side??? Lol

17. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Other than AY i dont think i knw anyone else on that list.....
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

18. Mmmmm-hmmm

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

19. Err.... I'm not so Familiar with the names apart from Tope Tedela and AY.

20. How many movies has Charles Novia produced this year?

21. Nice1 better than those awards organisers who keep giving awards to old actors.....

22. #sadiqDaba all d way,u sabi jarey charles

23. Abeg this man should go and sit down in one place,he's begining to annoy me. What does he know about acting sef? Nonsense Critic

24. Ok o.. Mrs D kiss your little man for MOI.

25. I agree with Charles .. Ay makun deserved to be on that list

26. Dear Charles Novia,
    I find it very difficult to agree with you,maybe i need more time to digest on the list..(Nollywood Top Five Actors in 2014) According to you. “I’m sure you’ve heard the expression ‘everyone is entitled to their opinion.’ Perhaps you’ve even said it yourself.

1. i totally agree with u,ay is not suppose to be on d list,just bcos he acted in a movie he is already on the top five,aba and american critic would never think like dis

27. Uncle sadiq from October 1 is the bomb.

28. Sadiq Daba is a veteran, from the days of cock crow @ dawn where he played the role of bitrus. Ay first shot in acting and hes among best five! Naaaaa not so soon nau.

29. Its good he recognized the new generation actors. Btw Mr Novia, u get time o. Good job though.

30. I dont know anyother on that list apart from A.y... lol

31. ed dreamz so u won 100k nd refuse to giv us card here dere is God ooo.

1. Ha! Abeg free the guy jare before Linda go vex change her mind

2. Lol, don't mind him and they were busy attacking Alloy saying he is a blog whore meanwhile he is not different from Alloy. Share the national cake jare

3. U try. U r drunk.
      So he should share recharge cards for u guys so dat he will enter trouble with lib d way Alloy did enh?
      How much be recharge cards wey u no fit afford?
      Better go and buy.

32. I don't know them........charles Onye okwu na uka.

33. I totally agree with Sadiq Daba and Tope Tedela.

34. I don't even know most of these actors. Chai!. Anyways, I have always trusted oga Charles'judgment.

35. Where are the interesting 2014 movies? Abeg! Charles take one of stella's chairs.

36. I officially welcome myself to the SDK family! May the love in this family continue to blossom!
    Much love

37. Na only Ay I know and his acting in Ay's crib bores me,the edo or na Delta guy does better. Even Mimi is better.

38. I enjoyed ays performance and I respect him for celebrating new actors not the same old.

39. I'm cool with the list...This guy sef get time. I've slept and woke up like twice to know if am dreaming or not,still feels so surreal to be among the beneficiary of the giveaway.Thanks again to Sdk&bbc.

40. I don't know them except AY cos I don't watch nollywood. *korean movie all the way*

41. .....I dont even know these Men except AY and i find his acting a bit annoying. I prefer his stand ups....

42. Ken Eric is a very good Actor. But I disagree with the above list.

43. Fair enough list. Seen most of the movies and I'd say he has a point. Acting is not just about good looks and popularity and number of movies one's done.
    Its mostly about proper characterization and believability. Mr Dana na baba!

44. Mr Novia don cum again. No comment cos I didn't watch any of those movies.
    ****reporting live from ikpoba hill****

45. Mr daniel wilson y don't u try nd face ur dead music career

46. it's ur opinion mr charles novia

47. I think blossom was good or is a very good actor, also anthony monjaro and lastly kevwe ogunje lol........... But the list is over professionally spot on. #respecttocharles

48. Unfortunately , if we rate directors , Charles Novia will not feature at all this year

Or last year...

Or the year before that....

Maybe that's 'cos he has a new job...online social critic....smh