Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: World's Fattest Man Keith Martin Dead

Saturday, December 06, 2014

World's Fattest Man Keith Martin Dead

A Brit who was officially the fattest man in the world has died, it emerged today.
Keith Martin - who weighed an astonishing 70 stone at his heaviest - died from pneumonia following a lengthy battle with his weight.

His death at the age of 44 came just eight months after Keith had undergone a successful gastric sleeve which removed three-quarters of his stomach.

The surgeon who tried to save his life with life-changing weight-loss surgery is calling for the government to swiftly impose a fast-food tax.
Unemployed Keith admitted much of the weight had come from eating huge amounts of super-cheap fast food.
He would gorge on 20,000 calories a day - almost 10 times the recommended amount - having six-egg fry-ups for breakfast then pizzas, kebabs, Chinese takeaways and Big Macs for lunch and dinner all washed down with six pints of coffee and two litres of fizzy drinks.
He'd also snack on sandwiches, chocolate, crisps, sweets and biscuits. His surgeon Kesava Mannur said: "Keith, like many people, had some emotional issues and he turned to food for comfort.

"That type of behaviour is nothing new, but what is new is how easy it is for people in that situation to buy a lot of cheap junk food."
Following his death in March, Keith left behind his two sisters - Sharon and Tina - who cared for him for many years leading up to his death. Speaking from the home they shared in west London, Tina said 
"We're still grieving. We miss him very much."

Head surgeon Mr Mannur, who operated on Keith at Homerton Hospital last year, wants more obese people to be offered gastric surgeries on the NHS.
He said if Mr Martin had lived he would have lost hundreds of pounds and regained his ability to walk and live a normal life.
Mr Mannur said: "The government needs to make unhealthy fast food more expensive.
"Otherwise we'll continue to see more and more people like Keith. In the past few years I have treated several people who weighed between 45-60 stone.

A hopeful Keith had previously said: "I'd resigned myself that either I was going to die in my bed or I was going to kill myself.But now I think 'you stupid person'.I'm a lot more confident than I used to be. I feel a lot happier.
In a few months' time I want to be up and walking .I know the only person to blame is me. All those years wasted. I'm not going to waste anymore of it. "

Having been stuck in his house for ten years and bedridden for several years due to his size, Keith was able to drop 25 stone in order to qualify for the surgery after switching to a 2,000 calorie a day diet.
But just a week after the procedure he discharged himself from the hospital, against doctors' orders, because he was homesick.

By October 2013 he was back in hospital with septic shock and dehydration.
 Two weeks later he contracted pneumonia. Keith spent four months in hospital before he was released in February 2014, having been deemed medically fit.
His weight had dropped to 39 stone After being transported home he said: "I feel great about surviving the operation.

"It gives me a chance now to go do some of the things I wanted to do - to get myself up and walking, take my dog Benji out for a walk.
"This is the end of one chapter and the beginning of a new chapter. Where it takes me I don't know, but it's going to be fun finding out."
But just a month later he was dead. culled

36 comments:

1. For terminally obese men like these, their partners are their worst enemies. Supplying them junk food while they are bedridden.

1. This is were the word "What you like/love can kill you much easily.

2. I still wonder why people keep bringing them junk food in this state

3. When they get hungry,is crazy!! Like an addiction...
      I remember the Haiti or Trinidad and tobago woman that died after her successful surgery! Watched it on TLC..she would shout on her daughters to go get food for her...abuse them ehn...even though she was bedridden,they were scared of her...this is indeed a disease!

2. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    This dude fat die i swear.... may his soul RIP...
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

3. RIP! God forgive me but I hate fat I detest fat,it kills.

1. Being skinny kills too, at the end of the day you need to find a balance and live healthy.

4. Eeeya....Rest in Peace!

There Goes I Buh For The Grace Of God........

1. Hahahahahaha.

The quote that put Betty Irabor in trouble.

5. so sad and touching. obessed people can't help themselves no matter how they try. is people around them that should help them out to eat healthy and in loosing weight.may he rest in peace.

1. Liar liar every thing boils down to the individual..... This guy reached the morbidly obese stage so u can blame ple around but before u get to this stage u have to take resp for yourself....

6. Chai...I'd love to see his coffin though! Rest in peace!

7. How e take dey order food? Obviously someone who did not love him. Pity the guy.

In other news, I am in love but waiting for my sugar to say those 3 words. One day he commented to himself and called me "my love". Fine man, respectful and so so set with money, education and everything. Although the prick big sha. But in all we give thanks. Though he is busy most times and I get angry, once I hear from him I melt. The voice is now a rich baritone. Chai Dia is God o. All for me. He told me he is working for us. When I think of him I just smile. He cannot see me in shorts and not rush me. Anyway I felt like sharing my good news with someone. I will share my proposal story shortly, sure thing. And to say I dey do shakara for 3 yrs because he vex me. And I was dating some big fools.

1. Hmmm, is this your sugar in abuja?

8. It's a pity.. rest in peace though

9. Is that chocolate and pizza am seeing.as fat as he is he still eats.
    Faceoflib

10. Eyah! RIP Keith. atleast he was optimistic about loosing those fats.

11. I don't pity him @ all
    How cul he do dis to himself?
    Why will I pity someone who doesn't pity himself?

12. atleast he was optimistic about loosing weight. RIP Keith

13. Atleast he was famous for something and made an impact
    RIP fatty!

14. Rip .i keep fighting weight loss half of my life ,my weight keep going up and down. Sometimes I want to give up ,but no I wont

15. He didn't follow d steps jo... RIP to da dead.... Y human being go de eat plenty like dat,nawa

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

16. Afi Benji naa, orishirishi
    Go and rest, you fought well.

17. people are wicked sha, as fat as dis still person get mind buy pizza for the guy, that person should be arrested gosssh, RIP too bad you dont ve a kid