Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari To Address The Press Today Over Certificate Scandal.

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Buhari To Address The Press Today Over Certificate Scandal.

Maj. General Muhammadu Buhari, the Presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress will address the press on Wednesday, according to a  statement by the campaign team.

The statement said Buhari will use the forum in Kano to clear the air over the controversy generated over his academic qualifications, in the wake of the disclosure by the Nigerian army spokesman that the army does not have a copy of his school certificate in his military record.

At a press conference in Abuja yesterday, Brig-. Gen. Olajide Laleye, the army spokesman said the Nigerian Army does not have the original, certified true copy or statement of results of retired Major General Muhammadu Buhari.

Laleye said that the entry made on the Nigerian Army Form 199A at the point of documentation after Buhari was commissioned as an officer, indicated that the former Head of State obtained the West African School Certificate (WASC) in 1961, “With credits in relevant subjects: English Language, Geography, History, Health Science, Hausa and a pass in English Literature.

“Neither the original copy, certified true copy (CTC) nor statement of result of Major-.Gen. Mohammadu Buhari ‘s WASC result is in his personal file.

Laleye said that the army holds the retired senior officer in high esteem and respect and would not be a party to any controversy surrounding his eligibility for any political office.

He said that suffice to state that Buhari rose steadily to the enviable rank of Major General before becoming the Head of State of the country in December 1983.

“The media hype on the retired Buhari’s credentials as well as numerous requests made by individuals and cooperate bodies to the Nigerian Army on this issue have necessitated that we provide the facts as contained in the retired senior officer’s service records.

“Records available indicate that Buhari applied to join the military as a form six student of the Provincial Secondary School, Katsina, on Oct. 18, 1961.

“His application was duly endorsed by the principal of the school, who also wrote a report on him and recommended him to be suitable for military commission.

“It is a practice in the Nigerian Army that before candidates are shortlisted for commissioning into the officers’ cadre of the service, the selection board verifies the original copies of credentials as presented.

“There is no available record to show that this process was followed in the 1960s,” Laleye said.

However, Laleye who addressed a press conference on yesterday to announce that the army could not find General Muhammadu Buhari’s school leaving certificate in its records, had already been redeployed from that post, military sources say.

Besides, those documents had just been released to General Buhari, less than 24 hours after the former Head of State requested them, and the sources said they were surprised Brigadier Olaleye Lajide was addressing the press.  He was supposed to have handed over to his successor, Colonel SK Usman, and assumed duty as the Brigade Commander of the Fourth Brigade Battalion in Benin City, Edo State.

Of the documents, Buhari’s aides said the presidential candidate had not had a chance to look at them since they were sent to his office in Abuja last night by one Major General Abba, while he was busy preparing for campaigns and Kano and Jigawa States.

Sources said it was unclear why Brigadier Olaleye, rather than hand over to Colonel Usman, chose to call a press conference to discuss Buhari’s certificate.

Meanwhile, Buhari has called a press conference of his own scheduled to hold this morning.  Garba Shehu, Director of Media and Publicity in the APC presidential campaign, said the general will speak about the certificate controversy.

Source : pmnewsnigeria and saharareporters

It is better he addresses the press.

Where is Salisu sef?The Toronto guy?

45 comments:

1. lmao.. See his Face..
    He is busy concocting lies with his entourage of sycophants. Trust me. He will get a way with this like he always did in the 80's..

Nigeria politics is embedded with Lies. Bitter Lies at that...

1. the much awaited response... long overdue. make i siddon look

What is your addiction? Mine is reading stories
      If you love good stories, join me. click this link
      STORY JUNKIE

2. Shut up! What do u know??

3. I so pity many Nigerian youths.You prefer a dishonest, looting govt to one that promises transparency? You people baffle me truly.

2. Tinubu's Toronto nko????

Baba should spare us biko!!!

GEJ 2019!!!

1. Gbam!!! GEJ till 2019. See d old man face sef?.....

3. Whatever jare! I out and over this politics wahala

4. Yea,it's better he addresses the press and clear all these ambiguities really.That being said,Stella I've not been seeing my comments lately.Abeg,it won't add any flavour to your stew pot,just bring them here...I nugo?

5. Please sue simple grammar to avoid another scandal thereafter

6. Ok!!! Will be viewing from my ocean side.

7. Most Army officers in Nigeria are just plain stupid and easily induced by money. No control, no order, no respect for authority, they are worse than the police. The Nigerian Army stinks of corruption to take care of their personnel na problem. Atleast the Navy and AirForce dey try small. For Buhari i think he should avoid the issue and face his campaign, what ever he says without the evidence of his certificates will seriously undermine his chances. APC under Tinubu is a keg of gun powder waiting to explode. Please Buhari after this election you dont win quietly return to your country home and stay away from APC. You already have my vote Sir come FEB.14.

1. He should ignore and face campaign without answering to this certificate queries? U r just as empty n corrupt as d Nigeria we complain about if u can ask him to ignore such a crucial matter. Stop thinking tru ya anus ma friend. Oriegwu..

**Adaorah**

2. In your blind craze to type in support of your clueless candidate who is a Dr with nothing substantial to attest for his academic acquisition, you failed to read and comprehend what am saying. You quickly picked a sentence leaving out the finish line to show how daft and stupid you are. Buhari contested in two previous elections why did this certificate brouhaha not rear its ugly head. When he submitted his Form and attached necessary documents why didn't INEC call him to explain and provide the said certificate. I do not support circumventing the laws of the land. Since your clueless principal is desperately seeking for re-election all avenues from his desperate corrupt campaign camp will do all unecessary evil to clinch power.

8. Buhari go and rest....
    So the certificate is even O level in this age and time?...
    Nigerians we deserve better biko...

1. Nnem we deserve better biko....

9. All of this press addressing are IRRELEVANT. He should just put the certificate on the table and let the exam body verify that its the real deal and let us be done with this already.
    But if he no get, he should stripped first of his badge and sent to KIRIKIRI for perjury. From there, he can send all 'kwa-rupt' politricksters in za kwantry to join him.
    Shikena.
    *where z that girl that sees dead fiful again sef*

1. Hahahahahahaha you funny gaan!

2. Funny comment, but so so true!! He should just show us the certificate let everybody rest.

10. Always looking for a way to Pull this man down .....#GMB 2015

11. Oga show your certificate make we rest. If you no get, which is likely, talk make we hear.

12. I pity this Man.I just pity him.
    These people Wil play him like chess
    play him like ping-pong
    MY heart is just breaking for him cos he looks so fragile...
    And soo desperate....

Honestly,if I had a country,I would have given him to rule. So he can just rest....

*sad sigh*

1. LOL @ if u had a country. You are so funny TGW
      Aren't they all desperate

2. Lol, his face in this picture looks wicked

3. Eziokwu TGW......

4. Hahahahahahaha TGW, you sweet soul, you won't kill me with your hilarious pity laden comments. Lol@ if I had a country, that's so sweet of you but wishes are not horses so let God's will in Buhari's life prevail. Hugs to you beautiful one.

13. Address the press or not. GEJ will win either by hook or crook coz no naija president want to stay for just one term. Dis Election should plz come and go abeg

14. See buhari wicked face...weda em smile or bonne wickedness still de show fr em face. BS!!!

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

15. Lol...I know we will get it right someday soon. He should address the issue abeg.

16. Well,he was recommended for to join the military commission lol you go fear na.

INEC sef no sabi their job......The minimum qualification for being a governor and president is damn questionable. Come 2019 they should review it biko

Still on Still FeBuhari 2015...Waiting for the address.

17. Hmmmmm!so it is now they know all these and digging out facts. Let him release his press briefing let's hear his side of the story . Politixs is indeed a dirty game

18. Can he read? Can he write? can he hold an intelligent conversation? Does he understand the English language? Can he speak fluently? If all the answers are YES, then there's no need to call his result into question, since he didn't need the certificates back then.....However, if our democratic constitution states that you cannot contest for the seat without having attained the necessary certificates, then by all means he should be disqualified.....but then again, this is the one and only Nigeria. ...

19. We dey wait to hear from you.

20. Buhari go and rest you look weak and frail is it by force to rule Nigeria again,I watch the news yesterday he wrote wace and he has a pass in hausa language,don't bother addressing it because you can never rule Nigeria again

21. Some Northerners do not join army with certificates let alone in the 1960s when it was like free of charge. We dey wait.

22. Can this 14th feb come already? So that I can sleep peacefully. Buhari dat yur face fit make u fail this election sef.

23. Certificate or not go and rest this old man,despirate old fe buhari Lmaoooooo

24. Baba you need rest! GEJ tip 2019.

25. Nigerian and their way of thinking.....at this time it certificate dat will save Nigeria?Those who have plenty of it what have they done .....mcheeeeew.

26. Let me warn APC and pa Buhari, do not go and forge certificate o, if you do it will surely be dictated and you will be nailed finally, i don talk my own!