Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court Ends 10-year-Old Marriage Over Wife’s Stealing Habit

Saturday, January 17, 2015

Court Ends 10-year-Old Marriage Over Wife’s Stealing Habit

An Ikorodu Customary Court in Lagos on Friday dissolved a 10-year-old marriage over the woman’s penchant for stealing.
The plaintiff, Olawale Akanji, who resides at Akinwale Street, Igbogbo, Ikorodu, Lagos, had filed an application seeking to divorce his wife, Afusat, over her stealing habit, disobedience and adultery.

In the application filed at the court in October 2014, Akanji, a carpenter, said he could no longer tolerate his wife in the house.
Akanji, 34, said the latest incident, which informed his decision to seek divorce was the pregnancy his wife was carrying that he suspected did not belong to him.

The complainant, who also alleged that Afusat, 33, was always stealing his money from his wardrobe, urged the court to dissolve the marriage.
The respondent, a hairdresser, denied all the allegations.

“I don’t steal my husband’s money, even though he is very tight-fisted. He gives us N300 feeding allowance daily and I would be the one to feed his aged mother and father that live with us.

“I usually fetch water for sale, that is where I get money to feed the family.
He is always thinking that I am stealing his money or I have been engaging in extra-marital affairs, please help me save my marriage,” she said.

Delivering judgment, the president of the court, Olu Adebiyi, said he was convinced that the couple could no longer live together as the petitioner insisted on divorce after several interventions.

Adebiyi ordered the parties to go their separate ways. He also ruled that the petitioner should enroll the defendant in ante-natal clinic.
“The paternity of the pregnancy cannot be established now until a DNA test proves its ownership after delivery,” he said.

He further directed that Akanji should pay for the accommodation of the woman and be responsible for the schooling, feeding and medical allowances of their two children. (NAN).

Hmm  the job of a Judge is not easy but do judges really have the right to put asunder what has been joined together?The woman still wanted and the man didnt..shouldn't the judge have sent them for counselling first?

60 comments:

1. Marriage, why has this honourable institution fallen so low???

1. marriage is not by force neither is it a do or die affair

2. But she is not stealing outside,judge has no right to end their marriage

3. Judges and personal sentiments. But why the woman dey steal na?

1. If the woman is stealing his money and not another's,then I congratulate her. What will N300 buy, not to talk of feeding parents inlaw? including her pregnant self and two kids. Haba!! That she's stealing his money means he has more than that but CANNOT give. If I were in her position, I would clean his safe and borrow from pple in his name. Stingy guy!!

4. Hmmmmm, na wa ooo. Marriage is like a house, many people are vacating and many are moving in. Whatever the case, my first marriage will be my only marriage.

1. AMEN, same here.
      I will grow old with my hubby.

2. Amen o. Same with me and hubby, we will grow old on one pillow.

1. No be only drama

The judge shouldn't have severed them like that.He could have sent them to counseling since the woman was still interested in the marriage

But anyway,its his court.He's the king

**lululiscious**

6. All these may just be in a bid to marry another woman next month.

7. Lol @300 naira for feeding alawi na wa oooo stingy thing....

8. Woman why do u want stay with a man who makes you suffer so,a man who gives you as little as 300 naira for daily feeding...you well so
    Na both of una know the truth sha..

9. That image really cracked me up.
    OLE
    Stella bae ehn ^_^

10. The man is fed up with her and so can't live with her again.

@iyke via Airtel SIM

11. Kikikikuku.... But wait oooo.... The Judge wouldn't have dissolved the marriage rather the woman should go for counseling

12. She steals your money, 300 nira per day haba this man is wicked he suspects the pregnancy his not for him okooooo this could even be for the woman's good

13. Na wah o! In cases of divorce, the innocent kids suffer most. Too sad!

14. That's what happens when u marry an illiterate as a husband.

15. Hehehe, yam pepper scatter scatter. Orisirisi. But why is the man not also providing for the house financially? He's guilty too jor. M not justifying the woman's action o but I think those 3 allegations are somewhat secondary to the husband's financial "unhusband-ness". Ko to oko se. Hw wl u drip Jst N300 for a whole family to feed on. She suppose roll d money &chuk him for mounting wt it, shior.

16. Another case of character assasinnation all in the name of changing holes.Every cases of if i can'nt have her,nobody will ,by cheating or insecure spouses.Expire!by fire!

17. Na Wa O,This is the same marriage that are some people are struggling to get into while are others are rushing to get out.It is well oo,Yours Sdkly dazzlinglizzy

18. Stella is using oyinbo eye to see ds matter... no b only counselling na auto connect.. and that is d end of another failed marriage..

19. 300 naira for feeding?...
    Kai,this man is very wicked and useless...
    What will 300 buy for you in the market?...
    Some women are suffering all in the name of marriage...

20. Poor woman aw can a man as she claimed tight fisted will do all d judge listed. Is divorce d solution. First time commenting

21. Awww, the lady still loves the man and wants to save her marriage, d man self na wa, 300 for feeding a day? Dis life...

22. 300 for feeding ha for 6 people abi I no read am well in.
    D job of a judge is not easy.

23. Divorce is usually one way,either the man is interested and the woman is not or the woman is and the man is not,the judge must have given them time to settle and there was no settlement,so they have to dissolve the marriage for peace

24. Eba mi kigbe ole ole ole ole ole ole

25. Law tins!my aunt and husby separated early dis year even though dey tried counsellin...d woman went 2court jst once and refused goin 4d other hearings dts how d judge dissolved d marriage...

26. Well d man didn't want d woman wanted and after diffrent intervention he still wants out. Isn't it better she leaves than for him to turn her to a punching bag or mayb kill her one day than for her to go jejely.

27. Poverty na bastard. Imagine, N300 feeding allowance, including his dad and mum. Hian

28. 1.) Stealing Habit: Hian! Taking her husbands money ain't stealing na, afterall one Plus one is two. Especially in the case of any stingy husby, i don't see that as stealing cos most stingy men if not all sPend like mumu for their side chick.

2.) Disobedient: The wife's level of disobedience wasn't detailed so i can't say much. But then oga not because Bible said women should be submissive to their husband you no go no know sai resPect dey reciProcal again. HoPe you are getting it right your self sha?

3.) Adultery: Oga are you also adultery free??? well, the court has Passed a decree already so i can't say much. But then madam if you are guilty as accused, it sucks real bad! That's a massive gross misconduct. Fear God even though you no fit fear your husby inugo?

*Back to your question bigsis, no mind the stuPid court abi judge, this isn't enough reason to end ones marriage. That's why i like the Catholic Tribunal in charge of marriage(s), the man can't get his win on this aforementioned count charges. Its well, life goes on!

#YourLegacyLivesOnProfDoraAkunyili*7/6/14
    *Prayer For Nigeria in Distress x10 Daily*

29. ... the job of a job is not easy ke, abeg make correctios on dt line of ur post SDK. 'tight fisted man" nawa o n he's acting like he's a saint. I hope d court follows up all they asked d man to do.

30. hmmmm!! who are we going to believe between the two.wasn't there.so can't say.Stella if that's what the husband wants; there is nothing left for the wife.there are different types of court.we have the customary court that sees to that

31. hmmmm!! who are we going to believe between the two.wasn't there.so can't say.Stella if that's what the husband wants; there is nothing left for the wife.there are different types of court.we have the customary court that sees to that

32. Something is wrong. The man knows better.

33. In high. Court before the commencement of trial under divorce cases they must go for a compulsory conference;there both parties will discuss certain issues that. Bothers on the marriage;custody of the children,maintenance and probably whether both parties can settle
    It is when the parties can't reach a mutual conclusion,then trial will commence,and the judge will reach a decision after the submission of their final address.
    Some judges,esp hon.jst abdullah oyekan tho her court is. A family court basically for divorce proceedings usually frowns at divorce and she tries all her best for couple to settle,but really what can she do if the couple are no longer interested?sometimes she acts more of an arbiter than a judge during divorce cases

Bolateethole.blogspot.com

34. Counselling kwa? The only counselling a nigerian man will listen to is family meeting. If na the oyibo type of counselling..hehe, untop say ikorodu man..lmao!

35. Ermmm stella this is nigeria not Germany I dnt think we have marriage theraphists here,so let me understand something the husband gives his family 300 daily and is also tight fisted!!!!! While I was reading through I just said that this man shld be very stingy 2 say his wife is stealing and alas he is.and I wonder why the woman still wants the marriage o.

1. Very stingy idiot, he's just making excuses cos he wants to bring in someone else

36. I think the judges sometimes get tired of these kinds of cases and I know in most cases they do send the plaintiff and defendant back to their relations to try to settle them. Then if they cannot be settled by family members,the judge grants the plaintiff his or her heart desire. I think that's what happened in this case. Oh well, marriages this days need God's intervention.

37. Da man is tired of his wife.. That's da simple truth.
    She might be innocent in all these allegations da husband lebeling against her.
    Da best thing is for dem to go dia separate ways.

38. Eeeya...Poor woman.
    something tells me this woman is innocent of all dese allégations...
    Only her stealing.
    only her adultery
    only her Devil Worship....

Chai....
    and d Poor woman Still wants d marriage.
    Soo sorry dear....life aint fair.and some Men make it worse dan it already is....
    God is ur Strength.

39. Na wa o. But d woman still wants d man. In less than 3months court had already decide?

40. Some women re rilly goin tru alot. Women

41. lord i commit my marriage into your hands! i will grow old with my hubby in jesus name.SDK WEDDING UPLOADING IN MARCH....thanks to singles mingles nov 28th 2014!thank you stellastical stella.more gist on the way....

1. Say what????

You've only known each other for 2months and.......

Omo mehn!!

Congrats o

42. Dat man is irresponsible n stupid...The woman should say no to suffering...how can he give her 300 for feeding daily n she still want the marriage that is madness.he is looking for an excuse not to be married again...n she should do the same ...but the court should ensure he implements all dat he was asked to do.

43. The court always does several interventions before it takes the decision.

It's written up there, Stella!

But if Inspite of the reconciliation meetings, one party still insists on leaving, a person cannot be compelled to stay...and that is usually the case where one person wants and another doesn't...

Sad....but that's the reality!!!

44. Mumu man is alrdy planning for a new wife dat is y all his stupid allegation, is unfair how d judge decide on one side alone.

45. Chai! Nigerian women are greatly abused. This man is mean to his family, yet the woman wants to stay with him. The woman should thank God and move on, but being an abused woman she will still do everything in her power to remarry him.

46. If only Nigerians believe in counselling and therapy, this marriage just might have been saved considering the fact that the woman still wanted the marriage. God help us in making the right choices.

47. as Stella cant you read? they said the man insists after several interventions....