Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Government Summons Indonesian Envoy Over Execution Of Two Nigerians

Monday, January 19, 2015

Nigerian Government Summons Indonesian Envoy Over Execution Of Two Nigerians

The Minister for Foreign Affairs, Ambassador Aminu Wali, has summoned the Indonesian Ambassador to register Nigeria’s protest over Indonesian Government’s execution of two Nigerians, Solomon Okafor and Daniel Enemuo, by firing squad.

The Nigerians were executed for drug offences at the Island of Nusakambangu in Cilacap, Central Java Province, despite appeals by the Federal Government.
Also executed with them were two women, one each from Indonesia and Vietnam, two Brazilians, and one Dutch national.

A statement on Sunday in Abuja by the Director, Public Communication Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ogbole Amedu-Ode, said the executions were carried out despite persistent pleas for clemency made by the Federal Government, including the National Assembly.

“The executions had taken place against the grain of the excellent relations that subsist between Nigeria and Indonesia,” the statement noted.
The government expressed its sympathy and condolences to the families of the deceased and also appealed to Nigerians to desist from drug trafficking which attracts the capital punishment in Indonesia and in many other countries of the world.

The Federal Government said it would continue to engage the Indonesian authorities to negotiate and conclude a Prisoner Transfer Agreement that may enable other convicted Nigerians to return home to serve their prison terms.
“Thus, the Foreign Minister has summoned the Indonesian Ambassador to register Nigeria’s protest. It strongly appeals, once again, to the Indonesian authorities to exercise clemency for other 12 Nigerians on the death row in the country,” the statement said.

The drug convicts, Daniel Enemuo, and five other foreigners from Vietnam, Malawi, Brazil and Netherlands were executed in the early hours of Sunday, for drug offences.
The convicts, who were killed by firing squad, were the first people executed under new President Joko Widodo, who took office in October 2014.
He signed off on the executions last month.

Brazil and the Netherlands have since recalled their ambassadors from Indonesia after the country defied their pleas and executed two of their citizens.
Brazilian Marco Archer Cardoso Moreira was convicted of smuggling cocaine into Indonesia in 2004. Dutchman Ang Kiem Soei was arrested eight years ago while Daniel Enemuo, 38, was also arrested in 2004.

The others executed in the Boyolali district in central Java were Namaona Denis from Malawi; Indonesian woman, Rani Andriani, and Vietnamese woman Tran Thi Bich Hanh.
Enemuo popularly known as Diarrssouba, and Namona Denies, were convicted in 2004 and 2001 respectively.

Enemuo was sentenced to death by the Tangerang District Court in September 2004, for attempting to smuggle 1.150 grams of heroin into the country from Pakistan in January 2004, while the 49-year-old Daniel, who was reportedly born in Nigeria but travelled to Indonesia with a Malawian passport, was sentenced by the Bandung High Court in 2001 after being convicted of smuggling 940 grams of heroin at the Seokarno-Hatta airport in Jakarta.

According to his lawyers, Deniel did not understand his trial proceedings and he was not provided with adequate interpretations.
Amnesty International reported that the five convicts were executed on Nusakambangan Island while one of them was executed in Boloyali District, both in Central Java.

AI said: “Death sentences in Indonesia are carried out by firing squad. The prisoner has the choice of standing or sitting and whether to have their eyes covered, by a blindfold or hood. Firing squads are made up of 12 people, three whose rifles are loaded with live ammunition, while the other nine are loaded with blanks.”

The execution was the first under new President Widodo, who had pledged during his election campaign that there would be no clemency for drug offenders, despite pleas from the European Union, the Brazilian government and the Amnesty International.
Rupert Abbott, Amnesty International’s South-east Asia research director, said: “Indonesia’s new government took office on the back of promises to improve respect for human rights but carrying out these executions would be a regressive move.”
EU foreign policy chief, Federica Mogherini, said the executions were deeply regrettable and urged Indonesia to establish a moratorium on the death penalty.
Indonesia resumed executions of drug pushers in 2013 after a five-year gap.

President Widodo has taken a strong stance on the discipline and punishment, not only on drugs but also on corruption and maritime law...Dailyindependent reportage.

46 comments:

1. They got to be kidding me. Wait are they just waking up? After the man has bn executed.

1. What nonsense are u saying @o patience? Cant u read n understand? They have been pleading long before d execution took place. Just like Brazil n Netherlands have been pleadung for their citizens too, but their plea fell on deaf ears. Indonesia still went ahead with d execution. Their own is to plead, d crime was committed in indonesia, n their law stipulates death via firing squad as penalty for drug trafficking in their country. The govt can only plead, but if they refuse d plea, there is absolutely NOTHING d country whose citizen is involved can do. I hope with ds few points of mine, I ve been able to convince u n not confuse u that there is absolutely Nigerian can do except plea n it was rejected.

2. Lol Anony 10:13 just cracked me up. You just reminded me of my secondary school debating days lol... Nawa this is really sad but you know our people, them go still chuk head for Indonesia to do more horrendous things. #justsaying

3. Naija Guys into Drugs trafficking na wa for them. When u know the penalty of a country is Death why go there? If u must do Drugs go to other countries their penalty is not Death. Since that is what you can only do to become Rich. Nonsense

4. Na today??? Medicine after death. Literarily speaking.

2. Its a pity. And I sincerely hope others will learn from this.

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

2. Our govt is indeed patethic...what are they summoning them for and y now when d deed has been done,y weren't dey summoned when the guys were arrested.However be it as it may,i don't feel an iota of pity for those dude,dey knew d risk,d law and d punishment,yet they went ahead to peddle drugs IMO is serves then right,i just hope this would serve as a deterent to other nigerians involved in drug trafficking but sadly so it wouldnt

3. Its just so sad and honestly I don't know what to say. So what will such government do to anyone that kills?

4. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    Medicine after death...shiiiooorrrr
    *Faithful BV Enemuwe thelma*

1. I second ur thoughts my dear. This is useless now.

2. if u cnt do d time, dnt do d crime. if dey had succeeded dey wld hv come back to naija ad#bigboiz. unfortunately for dem, dey were caught. dey knew d risk involved, d punishment it entails n made their choice........

Do u knw where u can read fantastic stories?
      hilarious stories about life
      if u wnt to knw, check this blog out.
      Life Encounters

5. I hope others learn from this.

6. Thank God say Nigerian government don wake up,our citizens iin the diaspora need d protection of their government.@jumy am surprised u v nt reached out to me,u that idiot that is seeking to b noticed on this blog,u dis lowlife,oniranu,see ur face lik that of a chimpanzee.u Wnt to bully ppl u wil have me to contend wit.

1. Lol okon, which drama u wan start for ds blog? Na ur turn ds week??? Abeg park well o jare, we dnt need no drama, especially dry ones.

7. Finally they do something about their citizens being killed in other countries.
    Hope they follow through with it and not just make initial gra gra

1. Bianca if u asked me, I am not impressed by our govt's sudden show of concern about our citizens. Is it because Indonesia carried out a capital punishment that is news worthy worldwide?
      Just so it doesn't seem like Nigeria is mute about thier own?
      What about the issues of the young students who were killed in quick succession in different countries last year?
      What have they done to help Aisha Falode whose son was murdered in Dubai?

What has the government of Nigeria done to seek justice for a score of others who were killed unjustly outside the shores of Nigeria?

But they can show concern for a drug dealer who is being punished for a crime that he committed? Absolute fuckery

8. May the remaining Nigerians be released...#StellaMyMentor

9. The Asian people will not change their law,life in prison would have been better but i hope our Gov do something about this.lots of Nigerians are in death row in Asia prison

10. Replies
    1. Because we igbos are too desperate to get rich. As we are speaking now,don't be surprised that there are some igbo guys somewhere still trying to smuggle drugs into all these ruthless Asian countries. Anyi adi anu nti....

2. My dear and it has to be igbos o.
      Hmmm......

11. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    Medicine after death...shiiiooorrrr
    *Faithful BV Enemuwe thelma*

12. Na now day break for federal government. And why will people indulge in peddling of drugs knowing fully well the consequences of such acts.

13. FG shud recall our Ambassador joor!

1. We can't afford to recall the Ambassador now otherwise we run a risk of loosing the ones in prison (life sentence).

14. Sad. Life sentences wud av be better. Y take a life,just for drugs trafficking,not even a murder case. Dey were killed in desame Java island leading2 d java sea where a plane crashed weeks bck.

15. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Is so fucking late... May their souls RIP....
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

16. The deed has been done. Those who intend going there to traffic drugs should respect their law. *Muna's death makes me feel sad as if we're related*

17. Medicine after death,you summon ambassador after your citizen was killed when you never fought for his life when he was alive.
    A Government that never make effort before now in regards to the case and other cases similar to it even after media publications. Well none of our leaders past to present regard its citizens reason other countries will always take us for granted. There are a lot of cases like this one still pending what effort are the government making?
    Anyway I blame those who carry Drug to those countries because they were warned before hand, it's boldly written on their visa.
    #They don't really care about us#

1. Exactly. This is just a show off and inconsequential as far as am concerned. Underlying issues are still waiting to be responded to by them.. Mshew

18. I will always ask this question whenever I hear someone unfolding his desire to go abroad..what r u going there to do? To study or work? Cos belief me u,u can't make it ova there if as an individual u av nt discovered urself(potentials). U ought to av something dat distinct u frm odas(selling potentials) cos d population n technological development is alarmin otherwise its d same story either drugs or watching dead bodies..wat a pity if for say nija beta who for da travel if nt for tourism n official matters,anyway may their souls rest in peace

19. And our Ambassador has not been recalled

20. Do you ever imagine the innocent lives this guys have wasted with this illicit business?

These greedy folks would have come back to Nigeria, buy land in Lagos and starts calling other law abiding tribes LAZY. I don't have any pity for these "Get rich or die trying" greedy guys.

Do the crime and do the time, unfortunately they have to pay with their lives.

21. Nigerian men dont learn. Dont do drugs mba. The men are died, so what are they summonning the envoy for to return the lives back or what. Make our country good, people will not travel out much to do drugs, yahoo yahoo etc. Pity they had to die by firing squad. It is a lesson and a warning to all

22. That's sad...May their souls RIP...
    The best solution for the Nigerian Government is to make Nigeria free from poverty...a nigerian who is comfortable won't go out to do drugs in a country with rigid laws on drugs and corruption...

23. Good move bt is too late nw....it won't bring back d dead men.

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

24. GEJ is jst waking up now bcos the 2015 election is arround the corner..........nonesense

25. All bcos of election, wot did FG do 4 d past 11years dat d men were convicted?

26. My dear Igbo brothers, please in the name of Almighty God, reject anything or any amount of pressure that will ever make you to engage in such deals or go to any of those countries that will slaughter you like a goat. Just for a second think about the pain, shame and agony you will cause your loved ones and family. You might be dead but your family will bear the pain and shame forever. Ask yourself if this risk is worth it. I am writing this because it really hurts me that they are my Igbo brother's, judging from their surname. And may I also use this opportunity to pray to God to change the hearts of those in the position of power that have left this country in a mess or they face the eternal wrath of God.

1. Good admonition.. not only igbos, others should desist from it too.

27. Life sentence would have been ok, anyway d deed has been done n I hope this will serve as a lesson to others to stop involving themselves in trafficking drugs.

28. I see nothing wrong. Its a lawful country unlike ours. Its just a country with laid down laws who expect their laws to be respected by citizens albeit foreigners living in their country. I'm sure this will reduce drug trafficking to Indonesia after this. Anyone who dares it henceforth does it at his/her own peril

29. Thank God now I know they at least appealed, but why wasn't Nigerian mentioned among nations that plead for clemency for their citizens.
    I hope this serves as deterrent to would be traffickers.

30. Any where you visit in the world make sure you obey their laws.