Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Almajiri - Jonathan Gives Beggars Education And Shelter

Thursday, March 19, 2015

Almajiri - Jonathan Gives Beggars Education And Shelter

The Almajiri Integrated Model Schools (AIMS) were commissioned by President Goodluck Jonathan in 2012 to move the huge number of school-age children roaming the streets into education.  

The objective was to bridge the gap between Islamic and Western education in the region, according to Sheik Shehu Ubaidullah, the principal of one of the schools in Sokoto that this reporter visited.

Ubaidullah, who had previously been the principal of a traditional Almajiri school for seven years, explains to me that he embraced the integration of the conventional Western school system and Islamic education as a means to re-educate children in the region and convince families in rural areas send their children to school.

At the Almajiri Model Boarding School in Gagi, Sokoto, I saw the pupils – all 260 of them – partake in an early morning and nightly Quranic recitation. 

In between, all other subjects taught to students in conventional schools are being taught as well. Students enjoy regular extra-curricular activities, take classes in Social Studies, use a science lab and are trained in vocational skills via a regular monthly workshop held by the school management.
It seems like one administration – the Jonathan one – has finally found a solution to the seemingly endless number of homeless children.

55 comments:

1. Keep it up Mr president more grease to your elbow team GEJ

#GODWIN #HBD CYNTHIA

1. Jeez! R you seriously naive.

2. GEJ till 2019 abeg... Wen Boohari was Head of State, apart from human right abuses in d name of discipline and fighting 'kwarapshan' wat did he achieve?

3. Hisssss if he likes he sud bring the dead back to life, I am not voting for jonnathan. What annoys me is the fact that he is doing all this now. Why not last year. If you like don't post my comment stella. At least I know u read it u pdp ass licker. But I still love u Stella cause u have a good heart.

4. So u think e just did all these?? He only started showing us his achievements in the past 5 yrs as president. since the likes of you accused him for not doing anything because you are blinded by bias XxxbarbieXxx.

2. GEJ has finally won the support of the Hausa people!!

3. What's the point of building ill-equipped schools for almajaris while turning millions of other citizens to beggars??
    GTFOH!!!

1. Common sense, u don't have.

2. No country has ever employed all his citizens.
      Stay there and wait for GEJ don't go look for business and set up

3. Eka filled with common sense,have you removed the deaf n dumb sign from around your father's neck at ipodo market?
      Anon 10:14,by virtue of my name,I'm gainfully employed because if I wait on Gej;rapture'll take place before I get a job.
      To summarise,that I'm employed doesn't mean there're not millions of unemployed people out there and the numbers keep rising.

Anon 10:14 u musn't

4. You should be creators of employment, not waiting on the government.

4. See the fine classrooms they are having. better than most public schools in Lagos.

i hope they will learn very well and not continue to beg on the street. those people dont get tired of begging like some blvs

5. GEJ my Man. You must be Re Elected come next week Saturday.

6. Let me read what d apc goons have to say. Good one Mr President

7. Yes ooo. Goodluck has done what no past President ever did. D man is just the best president 9ja has ever had. Has everyone at heart. Come march 28th, I am going to vote for Dr Ebele Goodluck Azikiwe Joe boy to stay till 2019. *Goodluck sitdon sitdon sitdon*

1. Yes oooooo. Even their "So called Sai Buhari" did not know it for them instead he closed down the federal technology school in kastina as a Military Head of State. My PVC I must utilize this time

8. U see! Jonathan a southern president built Modern skuls 4 d almijiris so as to beta their 2moro n take dem off every criminal activities. This is what our northern leaders could not achieve in their 50yrs in power, meanwhile deir own kids study abroad. Wu is deceiving wu? Gej till 2019

9. Just see for yourselves how much GEJ has blessed the lives of northerners...What Yar'adua or the so called converted democrat could not do when he was head of state...Oh how i love GEJ.

10. Una sabi give sweet name...... "almajiri integrated model school"???? Will that improve its standard and quality or make them less extremists??? Calling the school "almajiri " is even enough stigmatization already. Just give quality education... That's all!!! And liberate them from the shackles of chronic ignorance.
    GOD BLESS NIGERIA.

11. Patiently and anxiously waiting for 10 am .hehehehe

12. So we shud start singing and dancing just becos u r doing what u were elected to do ba? ok na, Continu.

1. Did Obusoju your brother do it? We should learn to appreciate our leaders when they perform

2. Chineyelu pls shut up you take to much biko. You should marry FFK. U like notice me abeg

3. Anon Kill yourself. Notice me ke? U just called the wrong person out. I tell you I dey look for hubby? Ndo. Am taken

13. See when the school was comissioned?
    2012 just so we know Goodluck is the
    Man for the job.

14. GEJ is trying to romance the almajiris. Future boko haramist
    no offense

1. Let him romance them, positive parenting brings out the best in children.

15. Nice one.....Stella u must enjoy me

16. He indeed found a solution but you won't believe what's happenning. Some of them are escaping while some do not wanna go there because their Malams are discouraging and as well feeding them with lies.
    - The reason why some are against it is because if these kids get d education or acquire skills, they won't be able to carry out their order to kill or partake in riot. Like what Buhari said in Hausa (2011) that the election would be bloody, it was this set of boys that started the killings.
    GEJ has tried but only fools are not seeing. Even the North are enjoying it but sentiment won't allow some to talk about it openly.

17. My President is working

Vote for Continuity

Forward Nigeria

18. It doesn't matter anymore though. Too late to cry.

19. Check out the newly Fed universities built by Jona. Admission nyafu nyafu and we dey disturb ourselves over d old ones.

20. President Goodluck has more for the north more than any former northern leader.Those former leaders only cared about their immidiate families.Thats why the looted so much money from the national treasury and kept them in foreign banks for their generation yet unborn.Only this week,the swiss govt agreed to return billions of dollars that Abacha stole.Goodluck mean well to the ordinary man in the north more than these past bad leaders.

21. You can never please Nigerians. The president is trying in his own little way. God bless Nigeria.

22. THE NORTH LED THIS COUNTRY FOR 43 YEARS WITHOUT ADEQUATE DEVELOPMENT OF THERE PEOPLE, NOW SOMEONE ELSE WHO THINK THAT EDUCATION IS POWER, IS BEING BULLIED, DISTURBED, ABUSED, CRITICIZED, MOLESTED, INSULTED AND FRUSTRATED INSTEAD TO WORK WITH HIM BRING IDEAS SUGGESTIONS AND COLLABORATIVE EFFORT TO HARNESS THE MENACE THEY ARE BUSY SAYING IS THERE RIGHT AND PRIVILEGE TO RULE, DO THEY HAVE MONOPOLY OF POWER? I BEG JOO, IF POWER WILL CHANGE HAND TILL 2019

23. THE NORTH LED THIS COUNTRY FOR 43 YEARS WITHOUT ADEQUATE DEVELOPMENT OF THERE PEOPLE, NOW SOMEONE ELSE WHO THINK THAT EDUCATION IS POWER, IS BEING BULLIED, DISTURBED, ABUSED, CRITICIZED, MOLESTED, INSULTED AND FRUSTRATED INSTEAD TO WORK WITH HIM BRING IDEAS SUGGESTIONS AND COLLABORATIVE EFFORT TO HARNESS THE MENACE THEY ARE BUSY SAYING IS THERE RIGHT AND PRIVILEGE TO RULE, DO THEY HAVE MONOPOLY OF POWER? I BEG JOO, IF POWER WILL CHANGE HAND TILL 2019

24. THE NORTH LED THIS COUNTRY FOR 43 YEARS WITHOUT ADEQUATE DEVELOPMENT OF THERE PEOPLE, NOW SOMEONE ELSE WHO THINK THAT EDUCATION IS POWER, IS BEING BULLIED, DISTURBED, ABUSED, CRITICIZED, MOLESTED, INSULTED AND FRUSTRATED INSTEAD TO WORK WITH HIM BRING IDEAS SUGGESTIONS AND COLLABORATIVE EFFORT TO HARNESS THE MENACE THEY ARE BUSY SAYING IS THERE RIGHT AND PRIVILEGE TO RULE, DO THEY HAVE MONOPOLY OF POWER? I BEG JOO, IF POWER WILL CHANGE HAND TILL 2019

25. GEJ is the best President ever.

26. Is this a call for celebration? Building blocks of class rooms an NGO can build and equip in less than 3months with government support is something we should celebrate as an achievement of 6 years by an administration.
    How much is wood chair and table? What's the cost of books? Just imagine the billions spent on the contract. Do we need someone to post picture to convince us? GEJ government is really trying too hard to convince Nigerians,very bad. Sir let your work speak for itself. I do not see this as an achievement by any president after 6 years or even 4years, such celebration are meant for people who need to be ruled the way they are being ruled presently not me.
    What a country and citizens? SMH
    Same administration that wasted $12billion dollar on Chinese old locomotive train while common Ethiopia spent $475m on a REAL light train.
    Those who think they deserve better should watch below video link of Ethiopian train and Nigeria train even Doyin Okupe said in the video that Nigerians don't deserve brand new train just imagine a government spokesman. Nigerians we can do better, we are smarter than all this show of shame. Our leaders have really taken us for a ride, citizens now clap hands for being misruled.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=se_ydeIKMWg

1. But if fashola does d same, its a good act on his part. Gej does it and its what anyone can do. See jaymoore, get ur brain out of ur arse so u can finally start reasoning like a human being. Geez, ur level of reasoning is appalling.

2. Jaymoore u just misquoted Doyin. Kai you love APC stop spreading propaganda like your Supporters He never said Nigerians does not deserve New train he said Nigeria's Economy can't afford brand New Trains. Did Buhari build this "so called Alamijiri schools?

27. Blogger Arinola Ipadeola it is your parents job to provide food, clothing and shelter for you, when they perform these duties dont u appreciate it and say thank you even though it's their responsibility? If it's such a normal duty of govt how come all the past leaders could not do it? even the hausa elite have not been able to build 1 school for these almajiri's yet u say gej should not be commended?

28. HAS BUHARI EVER LAID EVEN 1 STONE IN SUPPORT OF NORTHERN EDUCATION? HAS HE EVER PUBLICLY CANVASSED FOR BETTER EDUCATION FOR THE CHILDREN IN THE NORTH? THE ANSWER IS NO!!!!! ANYONE THAT BELIEVES WHAT GEJ HAS DONE NOTHING BY BUILDING THESE SCHOOL'S IS AN ENEMY OF THIS NATION AND THESE POOR ALMAJIRI CHILDREN. HATE GEJ ALL YOU WANT BUT HIS WORKS SPEAK FOR HIM. HE CAN DO MORE OBVIOUSLY BUT HE HAS DONE MUCH MORE THAN EVEN BUHARI EVER DID

1. Don't mind d fools says d one from d lineage of big fools