Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court Lifts Ban On Obasanjo's Autobiography

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Court Lifts Ban On Obasanjo's Autobiography

A FCT High Court in Abuja, has lifted an order stopping former President Olusegun Obasanjo from publishing his autobiography, ‘My Watch’ which was earlier banned in December 2014. 

Justice Valentine Ashi had earlier banned the book following a N20bn libel suit filed by an Ogun state People’s Democratic  Party chieftain, Buruji Kashamu.

Kashamu had instituted the libel suit against Obasanjo having been dissatisfied with his being  described by the former President in the letter which was widely published in the electronic and print media as a fugitive wanted for drug offences in the United States of America.

On December 8, 2014, Justice Ashi granted an ex parte application restraining Obasanjo from publishing the book pending the determination of the libel suit. But Obasanjo went ahead to present the book to the public in Lagos, an act which the court held on December 10, 2014, as contemptuous.

Justice Ashi, upheld an application by Obasanjo’s lawyer, Chief Kanu Agabi (SAN), and has ordered the Nigerian Customs Service which had intercepted the books to release it without charging demurrage for the period the books had been in its custody.

The court holds that Kashamu’s libel suit against Obasanjo in the same court, lacked vital facts to obtain the order.

25 comments:

1. Lol,see his face.
    Can't wait to read it.

2. Oturugbeke!! What does that even mean sef? Sipping my orijin......

Dig Deep and Challenge Yourself

3. Because Jonathan is no longer in power. Obasanjo know that very soon you will meet what will hold you in front.

you brought up pdp and killed it again. God is still on the throne watching you.

continue to enjoy your time

1. Yeah! He brought up PDP and jonathan killed it. Jonathan did not only lose an election, he destroyed PDP.

4. Oh. So it's after Kashamu has been elected that they know his libel suit doesn't have vital facts.

All these Nigerian Justices are part of the problem in this country.

5. Our justice system has been badly politicised . Court could not left ban on OBJ book the past 3months until we are about to have a new government. Same applies to Emeka Ike AGN case of past years why delayed justice the past years for Emeka i guess now is the right time our court system realised they need to grant them justice.
    Everything is truly wrong with all our major systems. When a country lack good justice system,Good medical, good security, good governance,good public educational system how can such country survive.
    It's just crazy.
    I also hope GMB administration extradite Buruji Kashamu to America to face justice for his crime there. Am sure he will be shaking the past weeks in current political situation.

1. U can say that again Jaymore,every damn thing including justice and military(strange enuf) are all upside down!..but then we are grateful there is hope already at d end of d tunnel.the fear of Buhari's wrath alone is making everybody seeking to make a good impression,imagine:same judge dat banned a launch,is same person upholding it',so didn't she access the petition to see if it had enuf evidence before banning?or maybe she had temporarily blindness of eyes and brain#rme#smh!
      ....heard CG of Customs went to see Buhari with 10cars and 200mill,the baba ask am say,isnt he a civil servant,where did he get all dese monies?infact the hypocrite was already bad mouthing and snitch_ing on Jona.now just imagine!d General just shut him up and asked him to leave with all his Greek gifts!may God bless the pple's General and never let the evil demon of corruption possess him so he can clean up dis country...I see bright lights of hope for nigeria.

So basically,Buhari is impenetrable dats why d guilty ones are running helterskelter to impress him.lol!

2. Seriously Queen Bee? 10 cars as gift. That CG need to be sack on the 29th May.

3. @Queen. 200mil in this day of cashless banking? Whoever gave u that gist is lying jare. How could he have taken that much money to Buhari of all people that we know is synonymous with 'no corruption'?

In other news, I don't think Nigerians understand the importance attached to military men. In Nigeria we treat our military anyhow without any iota of respect. Military are to be the backbone of any country. They are to be used as a last resort to combat attacks against the country.

Military men shouldn't be sent on nonsensical errands meant for the police. Military personnels are to remain in their barrack waiting for signals and to obey the last order.

A country where the citizenry discuss plans by its military loosely, or where for instance, say a coup is being planned by them but now leaks to the public, such a country is in trouble. Essentially my point is that the Nigerian govt since democracy have degenerated and downsized the efficacy of our military details. And I think their honor should be restored once the general assumes power.

Politicians should stop engaging our military men in rubbish deals. They shouldn't be involved in politics, they should be partisan. They shouldn't get unnecessarily friendly with any administration. And the president who is the C in C shouldn't abuse the privilege either.

End of rant

6. Once my Oga finishes reading his own, I will collect and read it.

7. It's high time this .... Go back to where he belongs, zoo or jungle. With all the thief thief money you r looking like this, what if u were not criminally fortunate? Can't imagine.

8. So your lawyer is from the same tribe you are crucifying by all means. Obj you wor-wor-wor-wor abegi.

9. It's high time this .... Go back to where he belongs, zoo or jungle. With all the thief thief money you r looking like this, what if u were not criminally fortunate? Can't imagine.

10. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    I fit bet with anything say nobi baba write that book......

11. Lmao book that they've been selling in traffic since baba launched it

12. OBJ is also a criminal