Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gen Muhannadu Buhari's Victory And The Business Lessons Therein.....

Thursday, April 02, 2015

Gen Muhannadu Buhari's Victory And The Business Lessons Therein.....

The 2015 presidential election has come and gone but there are some hard lessons in it for business oriented people, entrepreneurs and managers. .....

1. NEVER GIVE UP

Never give up because whatever you do know that, persistence surely pays and has its rewards. Buhari contested four times and made it on his fourth attempt. Recall how many times Thomas Edison tried to make the light bulb work? If they had given up, today will never have happened. Many times in business, persistent failures makes us lose hope or become forlorn. Let the Buhari example be your inspiration today. I repeat, Never ever give up!

2. FLEXIBILITY IS THE NAME OF THE GAME!: In not giving up, be strategic and very flexible. After every failure, examine what went wrong, check your team and be prepared to make necessary changes. Buhari changed his party platform from the ANPP in 2003 and 2007 to CPC in 2011 and then the APC in 2015 which eventually gave him victory. Bottom line? CHANGE is constant!

3. IDENTIFY AND MITIGATE YOUR WEAKNESS; THE OSIBAJO FACTOR- No one is perfect but everyone must be honest enough to identify their shortcomings. Buhari identified his weakness as a perceived Islamic fundamentalist. Mitigating it with Osibanjo, a pastor in one of the biggest churches in Nigeria worked magic! It's the same in business. You can't know it all or be it all. Identify your weakness and introduce a mitigating factor to it.

4. PUT THE PEOPLE AT THE CENTER:

The people you serve and the problems your business seeks to solve must remain at the centre of your product, services and ideas, never forget. Take a good look at Buhari's manifestos and his promises to the people. Equal distribution of wealth, opportunities, security and the fight against corruption. These are the living reality of people which made Buhari an easy buy. In business, identify problems people can relate to and provide simple solution they can own!

5. COMPETITION IS HEALTHY

The recent elections in Nigeria proves this fact! Doubtlessly, the strong opposition made the ruling party PDP work extra hard in the build up to the election. This helped to increase standards and erase some mediocrity. In business, competition keeps you on your toes. It makes you to continually innovate and remain focused and where there is no more records to beat, set your own standards and beat it!

6. COLLABORATION WORKS! 

So all the major opposition parties came together, formed a unit and went against the ruling PDP. The success was not only resounding but outstanding. Many times in business people tend to struggle alone. Many times also collaboration helps speed up reaching your goals. Think about this today, don’t be selfish, sacrifice personal ambition for common good and activate new partnerships.

7. FOCUS ON SELLING YOUR PRODUCT AND NOT PUTTING DOWN YOUR COMPETITOR

So you have a competitor? Great! Don't forget that your focus and goal remains the same. Selling your product and services to the best of your ability. Imbibing healthy practices from the competitor and checking out what you can do better shouldn't change. Anything you do, never ever put down your competitor, focus on selling your product or you lose your market share. If you doubt me, ask the PDP :)

Adepeju Jaiyeoba

53 comments:

1. The change is here,so start working let's see...mtcheeeeeeeew

1. Does buhari in any way look like a magician to u

You want him to start working wen he hasn't assumed d office yet.

U sef try get sense small na

2. U keep hating this man but he keeps progressing.

3. Mr Efe 1st to comment to win prize. Buhari is not a miracle worker. If you as a Nigerian do not work towards this change nothing can be. Done.

2. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    I love this post and i will always apply it to my daily life activity....

1. Apart from visiting blogs do you've other daily activities?

2. Y go under anonymous to cuss him out.

Y'all anonymous folks ain't to be taken seriously

3. I second...
    That's how my Igbo brothers do it....we don't give up when it comes to making money...

1. Yea. We don't take last in Business, Check every where in Nigeria that flourish an Igbo Man is there. SS And SE, its time u guys work together and leave this traitors call Yoruba, We need to cooperate and Disintegrate peacefully like Czech and Slovakia peacefully. We can do it. Am sure this time we must win

2. 13:40, did you actually read the write up?

4. The last point is very vital. I will pay a million dollars to see the look on the faces of Patience, Doyin OKupe and FFK right now. Especially Patience, she disappointed me as a woman with her outrageous utterances. Nice piece.

1. Where will you get the million dollars???...you don chop today??..

2. Who dash u million dollars? Dreamer oshi !

3. Figure of speech. Haters!

4. Chill guys, it's a figure of speech.

5. Same here, kept thinkin wat wll mama peace be doin or thinking when she realized no hope of winning again

5. Stella they teamed up against your tribe Out south and south east. You don't know? Why do u think Yaradua was very well accepted all round? The end of APC is near that I know, wicked old men.

1. Who teamed up against the SS and SE?Enough of all this sentimental comments.Live and let live

2. SS & SE also teamed up against the rest. Go figure!

6. Omg! Yaah big lesson learnt from sai buhari victory! From now on I will stop opening sai buhari post because seeing his pics alone makes me cum! And his post is more than 5 a day ahhahahahahhahhahh cute man.....

7. True words. While Buhari and APC were busy campaigning Fani kayode and PDP were busy searching for his certificate and taunting those whose parents were palm wine tappers.

8. Gbam. PDP didn't outline GEJ's achievements, all they did was bring Buhari down, up to the point of Madam Peace calling him brain dead. At a point, I had to ask on my fb wall that is Buhari GEJ's achievements in the past 4 years? Like I said, GEJ is a good man, but he surrounded himself with mischief makers.

1. .....are u minding the losers? but then do u blame them?cos it's only when one has something to sell he advertises it!meanwhile Jona's regime is officially the worst regime in the history of nigeria!all vices were at their peak with the CINC watching on helplessly as a nice guy dat doesn't want to take decisions and step on toes,yes,everyone has to be pleased with him#rme
      We tank God for his answers to prayers and bringing us dis deliverance,cos if we had continued with Jona for the next 4yrs,nigeria will cease to exist,infact it will disappear off the world map!

2. Well said...reminds me of Shakespeare's Macbeth and how the 3 witches encouraged his ambition with deceitful prophecies until he met his downfall.

Jonathan had selfish people around him who were NEVER going to tell him the truth for obvious reasons, they were taking advantage of his humble nature. PDP members were so confident that instead of focusing and highlighting Jonathan's achievements, they were busy scoring cheap points i.e looking for certificate, talking about his trip to the uk, his age, where he was interviewed in London,he is brain dead, someone's smelling mouth amidst other childish tantrums.

Their campaign strategy was solely to discredit Buhari .Jonathan remains a good man, a humble man at that but Nigerians got to a point where national interest had to over ride personal interest hence their choice.

God bless Goodluck Jonathan for accepting defeat and leaving the stage when the ovation was loudest.

3. Queen bee and Whirlwind. Gbam

9. Example is, Dangote sharp business move to the victory side..

10. Gej messed up....,he is the architect of his own downfall ..,,,sadly he's taking the ibos and minority with him....,wonder when next we will have a chance to prove our worth.....,,,,,Stella u must enjoy me

11. Excellent piece.

12. Excellent write up!!! Every point hit the nail on the head!! Thumbs up stella. His victory makes my day anytime i remember. No more ruling parry,change has come to stay!

13. Failure is an orphan.

we can see how those that ate with Jonathon disappear gbam to the winner side.

God is watching everyone of us.

14. olori western union2 April 2015 at 12:22

Wow very vital points, a big lesson indeed.

15. Nice one stella

But this is not the first time we are hearing bout change
    Lets see what GRANDPA got to offer.
    Heaven knows I don't like GMB for anything

16. Patience and Not giving up!!!

I'm so happy Buhari won, I actually cried seeing him accept that certificate.

I know he'll do better.

Wish GEJ all the best.

Its better to have no one, than to have someone who is half there, or doesnt even want to be there.
    @Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

17. One more thing accept your failure gallantly and people will praise you par example Jonathan lol

18. Very educative piece. I know very well that something would be obvious within the next four years

19. Good thinking good product shikena.

20. He who laughs last certainly laughs best. I hope my dear nigerians that support GMB feel the same way in 4 years. Pls ask those who lived through the 80s to describe his time as leader of this great country.

21. I am glad that GEJ lost out bcos if he had won,hmmmm more innocent souls would hv died from mega bomb blasts. Everywhere has been peaceful since GMB was announced the winner,the lesson learnt is to be persistent n never give up,not to be bombing innocent souls,staging chibok girls abduction,creating a lot of confusion in naija to frustrate GEJ out of the presidential seat. Oya GMB congratulations and carry seat,I don talk am b4 and I go talk am again,its not easy to lead this our country called naija. GMB,only U and God knows about the effort details in your persistence n never giving up till you got victory,may God see U thru.

22. Beast,without being biased I lived through Buhari's 1st tenure as President and if I must say I've longed to've those days back since he got overthrown.I won't bore you with stories about his achievements as wikipedia and google'll help you with that but one thing's for sure,GMB'll put the interest of Nigerians over and above all else.By Nigerians,I mean the masses and not a handful of billionaires.Now I can sleep with two eyes shut.