Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nollywood Actors/Producers Say No Regrets Campaigning For Jonathan...

Saturday, April 04, 2015

Nollywood Actors/Producers Say No Regrets Campaigning For Jonathan...

Finally, the presidential election has come and gone with some people in celebration mood while some others went home sulking and licking their wounds.

The people who may likely be saddened with the development are certainly Nollywood actors because most of them massively supported President Goodluck Jonathan in his second term bid.

At every opportunity they got, be it on social media or even on TV adverts, the actors didn’t fail to sing the praises of the president who, according to them, had imparted on their industry.

And since the last election didn’t favour their desired candidate, Saturday Beats asked some of them if they regretted the choice they made and most of them claimed they didn’t.

Actress Omoni Oboli, who may be regarded as a personal friend of the President as she showed her movie, Being Mrs. Elliot, in Aso Rock, said she has no single regret for voting Jonathan.

“I can never regret anything I do. I stood for what I believe in, not because of financial gain. At the end of the day, the victory goes to Nigeria. This election showed true democracy and I am proud of the man that I supported. He is a hero. He conceded graciously and that is the trait of a true leader. This is democracy and nobody should work against me because I supported Jonathan.”

Ace movie director, Lancelot Imasuen, who before now had not hidden the fact that Jonathan was his favoured candidate, said he would rather keep his opinion about the election to himself.

“It is just that I want to use the opportunity to celebrate President Goodluck Jonathan for his uprightness. If a man that has been tagged as weak and clueless demonstrated something we thought was almost impossible in Nigeria, I eternally want to celebrate him. I will never regret campaigning for Jonathan and if this election is done again, I will still campaign for him. Why would I regret supporting him? I was not coerced or bribed into it. I was not given money, I was convinced and I still stand by my conviction. If that would make me face the international court, I am ready to face it. While supporting Jonathan, I did not kill anybody; I was only using the word of mouth to convince people.”

Former Actors’ Guild of Nigeria president, Segun Arinze is another person who has dined and wined with the President on so many occasions. Of course, he is an ardent Jonathan supporter.

He said, “I stood for what I believed in and if I had the opportunity, I would do it all over again. I do not ever regret campaigning for Jonathan. If I believed in Buhari, I would have done the same thing. I wish him all the best and hope he would take the country to a better place. It is no longer about Buhari or Goodluck but about Nigeria. I am not a card carrying member of PDP; I supported the President because I believed he has done well for my industry and Nigeria as a whole. I am a Nigerian and I have every right to the freedom of expression. Being silent would be foolhardy on my part. In 2011, I was campaigning for Fashola, why was I not silent at that time? We are all Nigerians and I don’t think Buhari would victimise me because I supported Jonathan.”

Fidelis Duker, veteran filmmaker, is an avid supporter of Jonathan to the extent that he would even go to Otuoke, Bayelsa Sate for his welcome home party.

“I can never regret supporting President Goodluck Jonathan. When he is having a welcome party at Otuoke, I will be there with him. He has done very well and I am still very proud of him. It has never happened in the history of Nigeria where an incumbent will lose and he will walk away.”

Culled - punch

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.....

62 comments:

1. Na so
    Wetin you want make them do?

1. Ofcourse no regrets coz Jonathan government is the only government that have truly recognized us ..no government has helped our film industry Like Jonathan hope the new government would do same I pray this is not the end.

2. Why should the government support you with public funds, you people are a bunch of idiots and shameless fools!

3. Abegi, let's hear word......

*In Wendy Williams voice, with my mouth to one side*

Uhuunnnnn

4. This people were shameless beggars and the election result show tell them that no one cares about them. They sold out their conscience for money and I hope they have some money left in the savings as this will be the last. money they will make

5. Mosi jubelo do u know Wendy I bet u heard about her from blogs. I doubt u have any satalite connected to your TV coz u so dumb. .@ the two ode anon show me any one who didn't collect money for the elections who supported a particular candidate for free without personal gains and u anon calling us idiots you have no life alrdy I see u are in the line of line of keep waiting for buhari to give u life.Don't go and hustle wait for government

2. Yes ohhh...
    I supported him and I will do it again and again and again...
    The love I have for him will never die!...

1. I have never even thought of the word "regret" in my love for Gej...

I love you sirrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!

2. Shame on all of you for voted against your children birthright

3. Ode anon so buhari is your birth right

3. Please I need a generous sugardaddy who can be of assistance to me. I promise to be a nice girl. The burden is too much and I can't take it no more. This happens to be my last resort. I'm 24, young, supple and beautiful.

Nene

1. And you think sugar daddy won't add to your problem.
      And y did you go anonymous
      Btw Jonathan is a man of surrounded by scorpions

2. Lazy bone. Can't you struggle on your own

3. So,u don kpansh all d single guys tire,now u don begin look for people's husbands? U dey try wella. Make person no join hot water ontop ur poverty problem!

4. Hello. You better be careful. Can you not partner with companies and sell for them and get commissions. Example, a drink supply distributor, a boutique/clothing store, sell properties etc. You sound lazy. Nothing gotten on evil foundation will last. At the peak, you will loose it all. Focus. Read on history of world leaders and entrepreneurs, they began with nothing. Must you open your vavajay for every one. Plsssssss be wise. You are too young to even consider this shit.

5. Drop contact na

6. Go sun news paper or go to those broadcasting it on Facebook there are several agents doing that but don't come here and give us your chronicle

7. What's your email address

8. Anony, if sugar daddy gives u today,tomorrow and next..will he give u till infinity???

Don't be lazy joor,go out there and find sumfin doing...
      As I fine reach,i make hair,i make beads,i sew, I make cakes,am into events decoration, am a make up artist too(Infact I have 3 brides booked already for easter)...

Now before u come talk say I no go school...Am a graduate of Agricultural Economics from FUTO,made a 2nd class upper,i also have a certificate in management.

So what is ur excuse???...what can u do? what is ur passion?...develop it,train more on it and make money....

I didn't even add that am a blogger too...I love to write...anyways visit chinwenmeri.blogspot.com and see for urself

I can help teach u somethings for free if u are in Owerri...click on my name to send me a mail..take care!!!

9. You want to be a whore??
      You need to start from grass root na..
      Start from ashawo,prostitute...Before leaping to that one you hear????

Mtchewww!! Young girl with two hands and legs resorting to lying on her back for a big bellied man and his cronies!! Swerve biko!!!

10. Give physical descriptions of the man you need:
      1. Age range
      2. Occupation
      3. Would you like a very rich guy but with suffocating body odour
      4. Rich guy but there is presence of slight n ammonic mouth odour
      5. Rich and very clean guy
      6. Literate business guy,rich of course
      7. Illiterate,wears suit with pams but very rich and generous.
      8. Stingy politician
      9. Talkative n stingy
      Pls specify and get in touch

4. Motherfuckers that would wait even up till 5am after all those their dinners to collect "thanks for coming". Those that were given the money go share would wait till that late so they would get tired and leave so they can chop the excess but the hungstos no gree. They'll be sleeping in the hall in eko hotel, doing vigil on top money.
    Uncle Segun!!! We know how you tried to shortchange the "gentle giant" after his performance talk less of your new benz so leave this your smelly talk.
    Sometimes, they would even have to stand in line like school children just to have money shared to them.
    Shame! Shame!! Shame!!!
    Una hustling gist plenty. No make me vex oooo...Omoni! Hmmm!

5. I Just dey Observe

All Hail The Baba in Heaven !
    Plus One is not 'yoke' in Bishop Ima.... Voice !

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME

I cannot thank You enough for Your great doings, in my life......

I honor You more on this special day of mine and for the rest of my days
    I lives, moves and have my being in You !.

1. olori western union4 April 2015 at 12:33

Happy birthday God bless you.

6. I do not regret supporting him either.

BV that asked why catholics are forbidden to eat meat on good friday you can find answers here:

http://www.catholic.org/clife/lent/abfast.php

http://forums.catholic.com/showthread.php?t=82017

It's too long so I didn't want to fill up the entire space.

1. I will never regret supporting him and I will do it again in a heartbeat if d need arises.

7. Personal friend ko, public enemy ni.
    Omoni, abeg park well and go nurse your wounds...

No more watching movies in Aso rock
    Kikikikikiki

8. Yes o....I will never regret supporting Jonathan....Buhari I wish u d best sha and i hope u do all that u and ur cohorts do all u said Jonathan could not do.

9. GEJ supported Nollywood in the past so it was expected of them to show their support during his campaign. Though I don't wanna believe that money was not involved.

10. Even me too, for supporting GEJ no regret. Life must go on.

11. The only person i can think of is Charles Novia hahahaha. He was very optimistic that Jonathan will win. I just loff his spirit.

In other news....
    About the edible photo printer.... @cakes by lulugrace..
    i admit i am ignorant in that department, i'm sure i wasn't the only one that didn't know what it was. I love cake, i eat cake, i can't bake or design one doesn't make me ignorant. If you want to correct someone try pass your message across politely without sounding foolish.
    @@Freda love thanks for the enlightenment.... LMAO

Ok moving on.

12. Yes oh I can never regret supporting GEJ he is a man with noble heart.
    Hmm @ segun u r sounding like som1 that is not really convinced wit d choices he made
    Well wat do I knw I might b wrong jst thinking.

13. GEJ is the best president, Nigerians will regret later

14. Eya Buhari won't give dem money again. E dey pain dem. Ooo

15. I support Jonathan till today, this hour , minute & second. I am a Nigerian in diaspora. I have opinions of nollywood. GEJ walked right into the trap that was set for him for him by his persistent opponents. Let us see if Buhari will turn water into wine.

16. Well we all expect them to shamelessly accept no regret, of course they regret their actions not as individuals but as an organisation. No one said to you guys not to support anyone individually but dragging an organisation like yours which should not be political organisation into politics was totally wrong. It's never done in any country, your organisation is not a labour organisation. You guys look up-to Hollywood as role model do you see them supporting any president in US as an organisation rather individually. Yes you people did it for financial gain that was sucked into your pocket. Some of you claimed GEJ did well in entertainment forgetting OBJ that truly opened the road for entertainment industry. The so called government money granted to Nollywood is from world bank and will be paid back by us tax payers not gift.
    I also have problem with the word "HERO" some refer GEJ, such word us being misused as far as am concerned, some even refer him as Mandela of Nigeria, Some say give him Noble Peace prize, LoL what for?
    Can we also tag General Abubukar "HERO" OBJ "HERO" as they also gave power back to elected officers.
    Yes we agree what GEJ did was commendable no doubt, he acted like a true democratic to avoid crises when Nigeria was in tense situation . But most of you should know that, what he did was part of the "PEACE ACCORD" he signed twice before election so it was expected of any party to keep to their accord. Lets commend president for his action as a statesman but he is not a "HERO" but a "Gentleman and Democrat".

1. This Jay Mooore is just a bastard, your hatred for Jonathan may as well send you to early grave..the way you talk about him with so much bitterness like someone who doesn't have a father or had a drunken nobody as a father. That's why nobody in your lineage will ever get to being a councillor. We love Jonathan and a lot of people in the south love him genuinely except the sellouts and their masters up north. Keep writing bitter epistles that only you comprehend. His name will be written in history books but you...the only achievement you would attain is the blabbist of SDK. Do me a favour and hang yourself already...bye bitch

2. 1000 likes for your comment Jay Moore

3. The way you go anonymous to attack him will also kill you. It is his opinion, what is your problem bikonu. Did GEJ pay you to insult those that did not support him. Na because no more largesse and senseless film premiers and pimping of spoilt local actress to these useless politicians in this administration. No let heart attack catch you or better still look for something meaningful to do, e no too bad as you think reach. The Lord is your strength.

4. Meanwhile, I thought a court of law nullified the election that brought in Ibinabo as President.

Now that her Godfather is out, can she stop parading as President.
      I don't know why there are so much sentiments in this Ibinabo's matter.

Yes she is a good president bla bla but she should respect the rule of the court.

XOXO MYSTERY

5. @Lovelace allow them to continue to run under my comment. Them go tire, i am passionate about my country and want the best for my country and any leader that will bring needed improvement into peoples live. The funny thing is that those of them who attack me, am better off than all of them. I have a better life both in Nigeria and oversea than those who attack me so my support for good governance is for them who lack basic necessities like jobs,healthcare,light and others. Am happy were i am in life and can decide to live anywhere, they leave the message and run under comment to make senseless comment. I will continue to speak about what i believed in as citizen.

17. Bia stella where v thou kept my comment? U better no use am fry german stew dis afternoon

18. Imoni you're one d reasons gej lost d election, don't forget dat blue gown ...

19. They better start regretting because they are all going to jail for misrepresenting the youth - PST.chekeleke

20. Me regret ever supporting GEJ? Never.
    I love him and will always support him come rain come sun.

21. Nothing wrong with nollywood supporting Jona, cos he really supported Nollywood. If you expect them to admit they collected "thanks for coming" then you are strictly OYO.

22. I will never regret supporting him,i will gladly do it again and again,he is a hero

23. Make they go sit down, cos we watch their movies and like them, Tink they can confuse us by voting GEJ. I pity wen he gathered some hungry youths calling dem Nigeria youths. This vote is not about APC to PDP, it Nigerians to jonathan. It a big lesson to GEJ

24. Like seriously what do u expect them to say???

25. whats all this 'otuoke otuoke' ish...he doesn't live in otuoke, he lives in yenagoa...kpansia to be precise, just cos otuoke is his village doesn't mean he's going to live n fish in it...hmph...

26. Jay Moore shut up already....what do you know about Nigeria....Hollywood can refuse to be involved in politics because the private sector drives it, how many business men put money into entertainment in Nigeria? u just come here to insult GEJ as if you have monopoly of wisdom..I live abroad too so tell me where you live and what u do so we analyse how patriotic you are about the Nigerian situation....mschweeeeeew
    Nolllywood doesn't owe anyone apology for supporting Jonathan who supported their industry....