Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Omotola Headed to South Africa with ONE Campaign to promote Women Empowerment‏

Friday, April 24, 2015

Omotola Headed to South Africa with ONE Campaign to promote Women Empowerment‏

Top Nollywood actress, activist, and Times 100 superwoman, Omotola Jalade Ekeinde will be heading soon to South Africa to join the ONE Campaign and lead other celebrities in a new campaign to promote Women Empowerment.

The campaign is tagged 'Poverty is Sexist' meaning that women and girls are
most seriously affected by poverty. And in order to eradicate extreme poverty, there is a serious need to promote women empowerment. 'Poverty is Sexist' was conceived to support the ‘Africa Union Year of Women Empowerment’.

The campaign was launched on Thursday 16 April by the ONE Campaign in Abuja, Nigeria, at a policy forum that was attended by representatives of the National Association of Nigerian Traders (NANTS), Equity Advocates and Save the Children Nigeria among others.

From 27th April, 2015, Omotola will be in South Africa to participate in a music thriller, accompanying a campaign song that will be performed by top African female singers including Omawumi (Nigeria), Judith Sephuma (South Africa) and Victoria Kimani (Kenya). The song will be co-produced by Cobhams Asuquo and Masterkraft.

The song will be used to promote the campaign across the world, and will be officially launched in Nigeria, Mozambique, and South Africa, during the World Economic Forum for Africa and the African Union Summit.

The campaign has a petition which calls on African leaders to fast-track the fight against poverty, by investing more in women and girls, and ensuring that resources put to the service of women and girls are transparently and accountably used.

Speaking about her new role as ambassador for ONE Campaign, Omotola said:
“I am fortunate to be a young woman living her dreams, a trailblazer of my generation. But I also recognize that many women and girls are not so fortunate. Women and girls are hit hardest by the effects of extreme poverty, but when we invest in women and girls, we increase and accelerate the chances of overcoming extreme poverty  – for everyone. That is why I have joined the ONE Campaign’s Poverty is Sexist Campaign, and I call on the public to join me by signing the petition on www.one.org/sexist.

I dont think Omawumi will be part of this oh...Her belle don cover road and she is in Yankee.

43 comments:

1. Hmmm OK ooh...

Make she no forget to empower Nigerian women too oh

1. Make they no match am ooooooh
      Ijeoma

2. The timing is just so wrong. Not now. Wetin she go tell them? Make the SA women beg their men to stop the lynching of foreigners ? She can't sing either. The organisers should reschedule.

2. Hmmmm. We are talking about the attacks on foreigners, she is talking about empowering women to eradicate poverty. In my opinion, it's a good course but not the right time to campaign for it in South Africa. Just makes her look like she doesn't know what is going on down there.

3. Omosexy is one very fine woman sha. Good initiative

1. Even after 4kids.
      Can't say the same for you. Aunty gwegwegwe

2. Stella y are u allowing dis comment?
      Fear God ooo!
      Cos u r a woman too

4. Please be careful while in that xenophobic country.

#BabatundeRajiFasholaForFCTMinister

5. Please be careful while in that xenophobic country.

#BabatundeRajiFasholaForFCTMinister

6. Naa!
    Am sure omotola can handle.
    Omawunmi is due to offload. She can't risk

7. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    She don finish with the one wey dey her country neh..??

8. Omotola dont go the South Africa oo. i cant pray for you at all.

these south africans that are behaving like bokoharam

9. Hmmmm Omosexy be careful o, why South Africa by this time with the wahala there

10. Omotola always trying too hard to remain relevant.

11. YES.....Am the first to comment....
    Am the first
    Wow Am the first

#Dancing out

12. Bold step 4 her.......hope it goes well.not that they will just have the whole thing inside a confrence room

13. Ok. Seen

*****Mhiz_Derby_Via_Instagram*****

14. Good question,has she finished with the women in her country,I hope she comes back alive

15. Omotola is needlessly over hyped .... Her acting is not outstanding, her music is worse... She's just an over hyped pretty face ... I'm not afraid to call a spade a spade... Just being honest.... this is the problem with Nigeria, we would rather go for the famous than the qualified...

Cleopatra

1. Anony 18:45 same thought here. Pretty face no doubt but no substance as in making an impact on her generation. She gives small handouts here and there like most of us. Ours not publicized. So what is the difference ? Still dey question her Time Mag appearance couple of years back. It was for what? After that one wetin she pull with all that publicity. Ah! Africa, Naija make we try pass so. No cause really attached to her as the author that she's advocating for. Her publicists should be more innovative. Anyway, the time don pass when she would have brought together some big worl philanthropists to support a cause, ie just after the Time Mag appearance.

16. Btw you're no trail blazer... Someone needs to sit you down and tell you the truth

1. If omotola is no trail blazer, then neither is Genevieve, I have come to realise that most people who make nasty comments about her are genevieve's fan, sit ur tribalistic ass down nd face ur work, mumu

2. They are both not trail blazers and my comment isn't nasty.. it's people like you that will vote for people like GEJ.. what a joke

17. She dey enter South on top dis Xenophobia matter? U dey try o

18. What about the women in her country

19. Aaawwww...nice one omosexy

Aeegurl...

20. She must be an afamaco.
    Falana gan ti gbo ta re ni si.

21. PD Young Billionaire24 April 2015 at 20:50

Not a good time to be in SA if you'ld ask me!

22. What is she looking for there now? Or is it not the same South Africa that they're killing foreigners?....... Especially nigerians. Abeg o, let's allow wisdom to reign o!

23. South where? In the middle of this their wickedness.

24. Omotola you would have gone to empower women in your village and in Nigeria first. Keep it up sha

25. South Africa ke, wrong timing. Xenophobia needs more attention for now.

26. Abeg make she keep nyansh for chair.how many people she don empower for naija? She fit leave boko haram territory to go face South Africa. Killers ok? Besides she hasn't been acting for sometime ...just going up and down shaking nyansh left and right like satan.