Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Jonathan Tells UN ''We Need Help With Rehabilitation Of Areas Ravaged By BH Not Foreign Troops...''

Friday, April 17, 2015

President Jonathan Tells UN ''We Need Help With Rehabilitation Of Areas Ravaged By BH Not Foreign Troops...''

STATE HOUSE PRESS RELEASE

WE NEED HELP WITH REHABILITATION OF AREAS RAVAGED BY BOKO HARAM, NOT FOREIGN TROOPS, PRESIDENT JONATHAN TELLS UN

President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan Thursday in Abuja urged the United Nations to focus more on helping Nigeria with the rehabilitation and reconstruction of persons and communities affected by terrorism in Northern Nigeria rather than deploying an international force to the country.

Speaking at an audience with the Special Representatives of the UN Secretary-General for West Africa and Central Africa, Mohammed Ibn Chambas and Abdoulaye Bathily, President Jonathan expressed the view that UN intervention in Nigeria should not be based on Chapter 7 of the UN Charter, which relates to military enforcement  of peace, but on Chapter 8.   

The President said that the provisions of Chapter 8 of the UN Charter, which recognises the role of regional bodies such as the African Union in working with the United Nations for the promotion of peace and security, were robust enough to tackle insurgency in Nigeria and other African countries.

President Jonathan also told the UN envoys that with the cooperation of neighbouring countries, the Nigerian military had already regained most of the territories seized by Boko Haram in  Yobe, Adamawa and Borno states, and had now commenced a final push to take the last stronghold of the insurgents in  Sambisa Forest.

In his remarks, Mr Chambas commended President Jonathan for his statesmanship following the outcome of the March 28 Presidential and Parliamentary elections in Nigeria.
He conveyed UN Secretary-General’s personal admiration for President Jonathan’s “exemplary leadership’’ with regard to the conduct of the general elections in Nigeria.

“We are hoping that other African countries who are holding elections this year will learn from the good example of Nigeria,’’ the envoy said.
Mr Chambas told the President that the UN team was visiting countries affected by the Boko Haram insurgency including Chad, Cameroon and Niger.

He reaffirmed the UN’s readiness to support the on-going effort  by Nigeria and other countries in West and Central Africa to end terrorist attacks against their citizens.

31 comments:

1. We need both. Help to rehabitate affect areas and troop to fish boko haram out with the missing chibok girls.

1. How is it well said?
      They should start rehabilitating without making sure the sect is crushed finally?
      Na wa for una thinking o.

3. Hurrah!!! After 6years he finally has an opinion!
    Lmao. Jona just pack up and leave Aso rock already. Oponu.

4. God....Why this man dey talk like say Na popcorn dey his brain? It's like they're hiding something that they don't want foreign troops to know.....As much as we need held to help salvage what is left of affected communities, we also need help with troops experienced with handling terrorism to come wipe out this maggots. Mtchew.....coz his children or relatives are not on the front line.

1. What's Ur point? Did u understand d press release at all?

2. No, I think hez talking out of experience...look at countries where anerican troops r stationed, even after completion of their tasks, they dont leave. thats how they want to create permanent presence evrywer. Load the army wit serious n sophisticated weaponry n see if boko boys wont b flushed out.
      By d way...that man wit popcorn brain is someone's father, u wont love ur dad to b addressed that way.

3. @Eka Joy....I mean he shouldn't requested just for help, but also foreign troops. Nigerian military is not sophisticated enough to handle the militants. @Sister April I did not call him a man with popcorn brain....I used 'like'...comparison

5. The north should be the one footing the bill for the reconstruction and rehabilitation since they are the one that started boko haram in order to make the country ungovernable for a Christian president.

6. Let us not forget how boko haram started.The North started demanding for sharia when Obasanjo (a christian) came to power. The quest for sharia by the north is what gave rise to the boko haram of today. Boko haram is giving the muslim north the Sharia they have been demanding all along. The north should reconstruct their place by themselves since they are the ones that supported boko haram in the beginning when they were killing only Christians and bombing Churches.

7. Dont i just love people from Otuoke.

8. Iran and saudi arabia should be the one paying for the reconstruction of the north since they were secretly supporting the insurgency

1. Pussy juice has u super messed up,hope u drown in it

9. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    We no longer need their soldiers but there money.......

10. oga jonah you don talk well na nw dem wan bring foreign troops abi rubbish UN

#GODWIN

1. Abi o? When Boko haram been dey kpai our people like chicken; sell us weapons; dey nor gree; send soldier? whosai! Now wein our boys don dey dislodge the animals na him dem wan send soldiers?

Abeg mek dem go siddon pon one of those stella chairs wein carry 10 inch carved dick, and grind away.

11. Jonathan, abeg no help dis man beg for anything. Let him come and start his own from where u stopped. They frustrated Ur tenure collectively, and even tho I don't want u to frustrate his tenure, don't give him a helping hand. He doesn't deserve it. May 29 should come abeg so u can go get Ur well deserved rest.

Eka bitterness is just an idiot. She's so full of hate. Buhari won, give it up. Wretched thing. Did I miss anything????

12. GEJ pls talk no more..Step aside already
    .U wont do miracle under one month..Just prepare and handover to Buhari..

13. Us troops went to Afghanistan till now they are still fighting "insurgents'', us troops went to Iraq till now they are still fighting ''insurgents''. They aided Libya, Egypt to oust their rulers till now no peace there, I don't trust USA they are not needed here. They are looking for a way to come here since they hoped so much that they will be post election violence but was disappointed and now they want to use d guise of boko haram to come. Afghanistan, Libya, Egypt, Iraq all have oil and the USA is taking it for free now they want to come to Nigeria that has oil too. Why after they showing interest in countries that have meaning natural resources? Gej thank u for turning d troops offer down

14. We need both jare
    But what of all the money wey den budget and even borrow $1bn

15. Well said Oga Jona.
    They foreign troops sent to Iraq and Libya never brought peace but more problem.

16. They should rid of them first then rehabilitation will follow.

17. We need both President Goodluck.

If they rehabilitate those places without tackling the insurgency, then...., well your guess is as good as mine.

Boko Haram will raze it down and we will be back to square one.

18. Well said Mr.President. sometimes I wonder why people are not discipline, just abuse others anyhow,and yet they want pple to respect dem,their parents and partners.

19. When jona needed assistance with weapons they refused to sell oooh not for free inorder to frustrate him, they thought that there will be post election violence jona saw through them n kept cool now they come with olive branch for peace n Greek like gift of troops for what i ask? We see through you USA our God is bigger your divide n rule tactice is foiled wuuuuuuuu. Leave us alone, my dear jona you have the whole naija to choose a place to rest n you really deserve it so you can watch drama unfolds bcause it sure will.

20. Igba yi laro. Calculation gone wrong.