Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Sweden's New Gender-Neutral Pronoun ''Hen''

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Sweden's New Gender-Neutral Pronoun ''Hen''

The official dictionary of the Swedish language is getting a fresh infusion of 13,000 new words, editors of the Swedish Academy have announced.
Among the additions is a gender-neutral pronoun. Instead of just he (han) and she (hon), there will now be hen as well.

The Guardian says: "The pronoun is used to refer to a person without revealing their gender — either because it is unknown, because the person is transgender,
or the speaker or writer deems the gender to be superfluous information."
Sven-Goran Malmgren, one of the dictionary's editors, was quoted by The Independent as saying, "It is a word which is in use and without a doubt fills a function."

As Slate notes: "[For] many Swedes, gender equality is not enough. Many are pushing for the Nordic nation to be not simply gender-equal but gender-neutral. The idea is that the government and society should tolerate no distinctions at all between the sexes. 

This means on the narrow level that society should show sensitivity to people who don't identify themselves as either male or female, including allowing any type of couple to marry. But that's the least radical part of the project. What many gender-neutral activists are after is a society that entirely erases traditional gender roles and stereotypes at even the most mundane levels."

Culled from here

what this means is that instead of using the word han or hon,you use hen referring to either mail or female...Not bad at all.

24 comments:

1. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    If is not coming frm america then is not valid and can never be globally accepted...

2. Orishirishi languages. Diversity

3. Sweden... Better economy, their heating system is free, English is stil taught in schools there after u must have known the language, I think they pay kids to go to school there

4. Heating system is not free,and kids are not paid to go to school there either except of course it through asylum seeking techique,where the swedish government pays both parents and their children.Get your facts right.They have very good economy but very strict laws governing it everyday.Of course homosexuals are highly regarded hence the "hen".

1. Heating system is not free. Yes they pay the kids even if you don't go to school. As a little child that is yet to be registered into school, your mum even receives money for staying at home wit you. As a divorced parent u are given little salary for your kids that's if u have custody of d kids. Sweden get better economy abeg.

5. They dont pay kids to go to school but every parents get what is called "barn bidrag" (1050sek) (24,675NGN) irrespective of your income and status till the child is 18.

But from primary school (grundskola) till university (hogskola)it is free and you get paid for going to secondary school (gymnasiet) and unversity. That is student allowance (studiebidrag) and if you wish or have some bills to pay while studing, you apply for student loan (studielån) but the loan you must start paying back after 2 years of your study and it is according to your income.

If you earn higher you pay back higher and vise vase. However, these amenities are only for people who have perrmanent resident permit in Sweden and people who are Swedish citizens.

As for the "hen" in their dictionary. I think Sweden is taking their gender equality to another level. Even in some day care now it is not allowed to say "he" or "she" (han or hon) rather "hen".

6. Toh....as hen is in their dictionary, e remain make them put cockerel there tooo....hahahahaha. 'That lady Stella Dimokokorkus is a hen'....lmao

7. Na only hen? How about cock?

8. Stella it is bad oh! Same sex parents, transgender parents & whathaveyou... the next generation won't even have the idea that a nuclear family should be - Father, mother & children. It is bad for the christian community in sweden as it is

9. In English we have one too. We say "IT". Useless people

1. Confused people thinking they have sense pass GOD