Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Today's National Newspaper Headlines/News - 14/4/2015

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Today's National Newspaper Headlines/News - 14/4/2015

Hello You!...

National Newspaper headlines looks interesting today but its still all about politics and i really dont think Political news will simmer down right now.

PUNCH

ANXIETY AS SUPREME COURT DECIDES FAYOSE'S FATE TODAY

here was anxiety in Ekiti State as the Supreme Court in Abuja prepared to deliver judgment on Tuesday (today) in the appeal filed by the All Progressives Congress against the victory of Governor Ayodele Fayose in the June 21, 2014 governorship election.

Fayose, in a state-wide broadcast on Monday, asked residents to maintain the peace and go about their lawful duties.

The governor, who thanked the people for voting overwhelmingly for all the Peoples Democratic Party’s candidates in the Saturday House of Assembly elections, said the victory had confirmed that he had a genuine mandate of the people.

He said that he was sure that he would be vindicated at the end of the day and triumph over whatever plot being hatched to truncate his tenure*

*WE CAN'T CANCEL RIVERS, AKWA IBOM RESULTS –INEC

The Independent National Electoral Commission has said it has no power to cancel the results of the governorship and state Houses of Assembly elections in Rivers and Akwa Ibom states.

It made this known to The PUNCH a few hours after the European Union Election Observation Mission to Nigeria on Monday called for a probe of   the “severe problems” that characterised the polls in the two states.

The Chief Press Secretary to the INEC chairman, Kayode Idowu, said those calling on the commission to cancel   the results were misdirecting their request.

He   explained that once results had been announced by INEC , only election petition tribunals had the power to cancel and order fresh elections.

Idowu said, “The law does not allow us to cancel any result after it has been announced. Everyone knows this.

“It is only the election petition tribunals that can order that or even cancelled the elections. We would advice anyone who is aggrieved to go to the court. “

S’WEST MAY PRODUCE NEXT DEPUTY SENATE PRESIDENT

Fresh indications emerged on Monday that the South-West geo-political zone would produce the next Deputy Senate President based on the ranking rule of the upper chamber which gives preference to returning senators.

A critical analysis of the incoming 8th Senate indicated that with a simple majority in the chamber, the All Progressives Congress’ members are expected to emerge as, Senate President; Deputy Senate President; Senate Majority Leader; Chief Whip; Deputy Majority Leader and Deputy Chief Whip.

A ranking senator, who preferred anonymity, told punch correspondent that the APC Senate Caucus members were pushing for the Deputy Senate President slot to be filled by the South-West since the North-Central and the North-East were currently battling to produce the Senate President.

He said South-South and the South-East would only produce the Minority Leader, Deputy Minority Leader, Minority Whip, and Deputy Minority Whip because none of the senators from the zone, either new or old, was a member of the APC which would constitute the majority in the 8th Senate.

He said the North-West was expected to fill the slot of the Senate Leader, because there were many ranking APC senators from the zone.

*Polls: Hoodlums burn Taraba SSG’s house

*Boko Haram has abducted 2,000 girls, women since 2014 –AI

*Chibok girls seen alive in Gwoza

*2016: Alamieyeseigha, Alaibe, Sylva eye Bayelsa gov

*Anti-Amaechi lawmakers win

APC NWC meets on zoning Wednesday

*Jonathan’s transition committee begins sitting

Elechi, governor-elect reconcile, pledge to restore peace

*Tension in Owerri as PDP supporters protest

*Don’t tamper with our Ilaje victory, Mimiko warns REC

*APC thanks Lagosians for victory

*Inconclusive poll: Violence rages in Taraba, three killed

*There was no election in Borno – Lawan

*Abia governorship poll inconclusive – INEC

*We can’t raise ransom, kidnapped boys’ parents lament

*Residents panic as election death toll rises in Lagos

VANGUARD

*Buhari’ll reduce petrol to N40/L —David-West

*Sack IGP, Service Chiefs, Police Reform Group urges Buhari

*Court remands man in prison for allegedly killing 6-yr-old son

*Violence, interference most pronounced in Rivers, Akwa Ibom —EU

*Imo election result: INEC scuttles

*N25.7bn theft charge: EFCC wants ruling on Atuche’s application adjourned

*NUPENG sets agenda for Buhari in petroleum industry

*BOKO HARAM: 800,000 children have fled homes in North-east — UNICEF

*Plateau governorship election: How Jang was brought down

*Akwa Ibom Gov: The crisis that trailed the polls

*Enugu gov: Universal conspiracy for Ugwuanyi’s victory

*Buhari’ll reduce petrol to N40/L —David-West

*Egypt’s Petrojet wins $185m contract for Iraq gas project

*Why SEC’s Complaint Management framework may not work (3)

*Danish company to produce electricity through wind

*Sahara Group optimistic over prospect

*Crude Production: BMI projects slim growth

THIS DAY

*Guber Polls: Okowa, Lalong, Wike, Others Declared Winners

*Chibok Girls One Year After: BBOG Commemorates Anniversary

*Senate Presidency: Tinubu’s Camp Backs Akume, Amaechi, Others Push for Saraki

*One Year After, Military Keeps Mum on Chibok Girls

*FG Transition C’ttee Meets, Discusses Guidelines for Handover

*Tension in Anambra INEC as N’Assembly Results Can’t Be Certified

*Confusion, Gunshots as Ondo Deputy Governor’s Convoy Enters Government House

*Ibori’s Release Dims as Court Adjourns Hearing Till June Next Year

*US Regrets Loss of Lives in Guber Polls, Congratulates Nigerians, INEC

*Jonathan, Buhari Mourn Tekena Tamuno

*S’West to Benefit from Regime Change, Says APC

*Oil Theft: Court Revokes Bail for Accused

*123 Applicants Benefit from Emeka Offor Foundation Scholarship Scheme

*Senators Describe Jega as Hero

*APC, PDP Trade Blame over Outcome of Guber Polls

*APC Loses Seven Assembly Seats to PDP in Lagos

*VP Sambo Congratulates El-Rufai, Urges Support for Him

*Guber Candidates Concede Defeat in Kwara, Kano, Gombe, C’River

*Uduaghan Congratulates Okowa

*CSOs: Rivers, Abia, Akwa Ibom Governorship Elections Questionable

THE NATION

*Elections: APC wins 19 states as PDP takes seven

*Buhari must tackle impunity, says World Bank

*Mimiko after my life, says deputy

*The fraud called polls in Rivers, Akwa Ibom, by APC

* First Lady ‘influenced Rivers governorship poll for Wike’

*Pirates dare filmmakers again, flood streets with fake October 1 movie

*Oil price crash: 6,000 jobs gone

*How to develop aviation sector, by operators

*Finally, Keshi signs WEDNESDAY

*American rapper Nelly arrested for drug abuse

*World Bank lowers sub-Saharan Africa growth forecast

39 comments:

1. Buhari to reduse petro to 40/L,wow.that will be nice....

1. Once our refineries start working optimally,which I'm certain Buhari'd ensure happens as he did before then #40/L is easily achievable for PMS.It'll also drive down prices for AGO and DPK.

2. @koni dafun e omoale,, if buhari ur sharia papa nor reduce dat fuel money true true ehn....waa gba!!! Bambiala oshi!!!

3. SE suppose to produce the Senate President but since they didn't have any APC senator from there, they will now face what SW faced during GEJ's regime

4. Starry Larry Tinubu deprived the SW HOR Speaker rather gave it to Tambuwal, Get ur finding

2. Stella, excellent job. U do well

3. Stella, excellent job. U do well

4. Irene and Stellas boo should accept defeat na...why is his own different? Mtcheww

1. So,the boo is now polygamous here on sdk?
      Chaaai

5. This comment has been removed by the author.

6. If Amechi like let him cry to Jerusalem and demand cancellation of election in Rivers,Wike will still beat him again and again. He should start licking ass again in Abuja that is what he do best in order to gain a slot. Apc cry wolf over state they lost instead accepting defeat like honourable men,"well they aren't honourable" bunch of hypocrites and thugs,old wines in new bottles

1. Let Wike beat him free and fair.Why was Patience in Rivers for gubenatorial elections but in Otuoke for presidential election?She won't stop till she finds herself at the ICC

2. Koni, Is that not her State. Na by force she must vote for Gubernatorial for the candidate contesting for HOA? Do you know if they are enemies? Meanwhile there was no election in Okirika where Mama peace is from.
      So Amaechi should cry blood. Wike has defeated him landslide.

3. She won't find herself in any icc,and she was in otueke because that's her husband place,and she's was in rivers because it's her place

4. Amechi should go n rest, what's his problem self.
      Apc should leave fayose alone, everybody can not support them.
      They are making it look as if you must support them or else you loose your office.

5. All of u shud leave him alone na.
      Ki dọọ?

7. Wtf?? Ibori's release dims as court adjourns hearing till june next year?
    Oh c'mon, isn't it time they let that man go? Is he d first governor to siphon public fund? Ya all wasting precious time keeping him confined. Release him tomorrow and after 10yrs he contests for a position, Deltans will still vote him.. read my lips, thumbs, whatever

1. Yes now after all stella oduah won in Anambra

8. Buhari to reduce fuel to N40. i am waiting for that.

Amaechi should go and meet buhari to give him post. he should just forget about Rivers. Traitors every where.

i am waiting for the change they promised us

1. Buhari would give him post in his dreams!

2. He already has an esteemed post. Keep ya fingers crossed

9. When APC WINS it is not rigging and nobody calls for them to cancel it rubbish but when PDP WINS the foolish lai mohammed will call for press meeting and order INEC to cancel it

#GODWIN

10. Nice..
    I dey fear any human being wey no dey fear Dame Patie...nwanyi kporo ka o bu lol

That woman claiming she saw Chibok girls three weeks ago is a big fat liar. Yeye

They should leave this Fayose man alone nah, ndi anya ufu msheww

I'm glad Ifeanyi Okowa won in Delta state. I hear he is a good man!!

1. No o, they can't leave Fayose o, he has "misyarned" too much. Let them treat his fuqq up buhahaha

2. Hahahaha Eesah you no well

3. Shut up Eesah

11. Elections: APC wins 19 states as PDP takes seven

Lol. The caption should hv been APC floors PDP on chased them in2 d desert LMAO.

Semi RIP to PDP, oops

12. Boko boko haram una try oh! God pass una!
    Fayose nd his running mouth, GBM is d man, I hope he keeps to his promises oh! God bless Nigeria

13. Olorun olojoeni please heed our prayers and bring those children back safe and sound

14. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    APC 19... Wow, the change is happening already.....

15. More changes in the senate and house of representatives frivolous salaries that will make them seat up and work well.

Buhari do the needful. much is expected from you.

16. Buhari we are all waiting to see u fulfil this #40 thing o.... it'll be really nice.

1. I hope u read n understood Tam David West said it n not Buhari b4 u start running all over town shouting dat he has changed mouth again