Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Today's National Newspaper Headlines/News - 8/4/2015

Wednesday, April 08, 2015

Today's National Newspaper Headlines/News - 8/4/2015

Good Morning,
Have you read the news?Here are excerpts from trusted Nigerian Daily Papers...

PUNCH

***CHAOS IN EKITI..

Armed policemen and soldiers took over strategic places in Ado Ekiti, the Ekiti state capital on Tuesday as the anti-impeachment protests by the Peoples Democratic Party members entered the second day.

The mayhem which also took place in Igede,   Itawure, Efon Alaaye, Iworoko, Aisegba, Ikere, Ise, Ogotun and Igbemo,   led to the death of one person, accidents and the closure of banks.

Nineteen All Progressives Congress members of the state House of Assembly had served an impeachment notice on Governor Ayodele Fayose, citing eight impeachable offences,   including impunity, violence, stalking and other constitutional breaches, against him.

The protesters, who   converged on   Ajilosun, Ijigbo, the Secretariat Road, Okesa, Ojumose and old garage as early as 6.30am, moved round the city , thereby hindering movements   for several hours.

While some of them made bonfires on the streets, others used broken bottles, wooden chairs and tables to block the highways that   lead to and out of the city.

The development forced private and commercial bus drivers from other parts of the country who pass through the state capital to park until the chaos subsided.

Their passengers panicked as the demonstrators   drove round the streets in commercial buses chanting solidarity songs. They were watched by the heavily-armed soldiers and policemen.

The   security operatives were mostly seen in areas such as the Fajuyi Roundabout, the Governor’s Office Road and the NTA Road where the protesters used luxury buses, tyres and chairs to block them.

But at the Secretariat Road, a Toyota Hilux van marked AA 363 YEK, conveying some gun-wielding protesters to the assembly premises   ran into a police patrol vehicle, a development that led to the arrest of three of them (protesters).

Among the worst affected by the chaos were   Senior Secondary School 3 pupils presently sitting for the West African Senior School Certificate Examinations outside the capital city who were turned back by the demonstrators.

Many civil servants and traders, who had reported at their places of work and business had to return home in fear.

In spite of the violence, some bank customers in the city were seen using the Automated Teller Machines while those without ATM cards milled round the front of the banks located on the Bank Road, New Garage and Adebayo Road

*****BUHARI AND OBASANJO HOLDS SECRET MEETING IN LAGOS

The President-elect, Muhammadu Buhari, and former President Olusegun Obasanjo on Tuesday held a secret meeting in Lagos.

Our correspondent learnt that the meeting which held at the Presidential wing of the Murtala Muhammed Airport, lasted for almost an hour.

The meeting, it was learnt, was the first meeting the two would have since Buhari was declared winner of the presidential election on April 1.

It was learnt that Buhari and other All Progressives Congress leaders had come to Lagos for a thank you visit and to campaign for the party’s governorship candidate, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, but had a meeting with Obasanjo before setting out to campaign in the Orile area of the state.

A member of the President-elect’s entourage said, “Gen. Buhari and former President Obasanjo were in the inner lounge of the presidential wing of the airport where they held a secret meeting for almost an hour.

“The National Chairman of the party, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, Governor Rotimi Amaechi, Senator Chris Ngige and many of us were made to stay at the main lounge throughout the meeting. We do not really know what was discussed but it must have been very sensitive.”

****ACTIVIST BLAMES JONATHAN’S DEFEAT ON FANI-KAYODE, FIGHT WITH OBASANJO

President Goodluck Jonathan’s electoral defeat by the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, General Muhammadu Buhari, has been blamed on the appointment of Mr. Femi Fani-Kayode in the president’s campaign team and his intractable disagreement with former President Olusegun Obasanjo.

Making the observation on Tuesday in an interview with THISDAY, a Lagos-based human right activist, Mr. Olufemi Aduwo, who is the national coordinator of Rights Monitoring Group (RMG), said many Nigerians were disenchanted with the appointment of Fani-Kayode as a director in the president’s campaign team.

“In a situation where those who destroyed the president last year became the spokesperson - because for me I spoke with a lot of PDP chieftains in the South-west – I can mention their names, who were not comfortable with Fani-Kayode’s emergence as the president’s Director of Media and Publicity.

“How can Fani-Kayode come and be defending the same Jonathan he destroyed a year ago. How qualified is Fani-Kayode to come and defend the president? It is a blunder! And then when you see the APC, they look for professionals. Whether you like it or not, Dele Alake is a professional journalist.

“He did a lot of work. He talked less and did a good work. In Lagos here, look at Ambode and the former Editor of National Mirror (Steve Ayorinde). The PDP is so myopic. Not only are they greedy, they are myopic, self-centred and the level of their thinking.

“You will be shocked that in a study we did about three months ago, I gave a copy to Mr. Ebenezer Babatope, Chief Bode George, Mr. Segun Oni and I sent a message to the president that PDP will lose and that it is going to be between a range of 44 – 56 per cent.

He added that another major setback for the president was his fight with Obasanjo, stressing: “It was a big blow. But those people surrounding Jonathan thought it was not. 

“If you go to the North and you just call ‘OBJ,’ they are not comfortable. They see him as a demigod. They call him ‘baba.’ It is only we here that don’t recognise him that way. He may have his shortcomings but when people like that gave expert advice to Jonathan, he should have taken it,” he noted. - (This day).

*16 parties storm INEC, demand Rivers REC’s removal

*APC wins 214 House of Reps’ seats

*PDP planning to rig elections – el-Rufai

*Aondoakaa, Onoja dump PDP

*There won’t be shortage of materials – Oyo REC

*Confusion in Delta over April 11 elections

*I will support Buhari –Edwin Clark

*Adeyeye asks Buhari to caution Ekiti APC members

*Osun monarchs urge patience with president-elect

*We’ll deal with violent politicians –Oyo CP

*Baga: Army begins trial of Brig.Gen, others

*Outage: Port Harcourt residents threaten to boycott election 

*People’s strength lies in their votes – Buhari

*Jonathan faults ‘negative’ celebration of Buhari’s victory 

THIS DAY

*Oba Akiolu's Threat: Lagos APC Tenders Apology to Igbos

*One Killed as Protests Rock Ekiti Towns Over Fayose’s Impeachment Bid

*STOCK MARKET Ends Rally as Naira Stabilises

*Boko Haram: Nigerian Military Recaptures Alagarno in Borno

*Edo Govt Raises the Alarm on Plane Hovering over Oshiomhole’s Country Home

*Killers of APC Supporters in Rivers will Not Go Unpunished, Says Amaechi

*Patience Jonathan Arrives Abuja Aboard Emirates Airlines

*BPE Contests Court Appeals on Sale of ALSCON to BFIG

*Rivers Guber Poll: 16 Political Parties Besiege INEC, Demand Removal of REC

*APC Tasks Security Agencies, INEC on Neutrality

*Political Killings: IG Deploys More Officers to Rivers, Other Volatile States

*NLC Allays Fear of Planned Sack of Ogun Workers

*Ekweremadu Vows to Remain in PDP

*FG Pays NYSC Ad hoc Staff Ahead of Polls

*Fashola: Enemies of Nigeria Introduced Ethnicity, Religion in Politics

*Kukah Donates Food Items to Sokoto Orphanage, Leprosy Hospital

*Contract Scam: Ex-Gov Audu’s Trial Resumes April 15

*NYSC Calls for Adequate Security Measures for Corp Members

THE NATION

*Aondoakaa: INEC, Jega must not succumb to blackmail over Card Reader

*IGP petitioned over illegal sale of Deeper Life Church’s land

*APC’s victory and the Buhari/Tinubu alliance

*APC members walk out on Assembly

*North’s Christian leaders congratulate Buhari

*LP candidate withdraws

*INEC sacks two electoral officers Edo

*Herbalist, accomplice held for ‘robbery’

*Customers protest poor power supply, workers’ conduct

*Soldiers bar 19 APC lawmakers from entering Ekiti

*Gbemi Saraki, PDP youth leader defect to APC in Kwara

*Military sack insurgents from Alagarno forest

*APC Action Group: Fayose has not learnt any lesson

*Impeachment crisis: Ekiti Obas call for peace

*Pension Scam: Coalition of civil society wants Maina prosecuted

*Indian police kill five terror suspects on way to court

*Alleged Ekiti Killing: You lied, APC tells Fayose

*April 11 poll: Jonathan urges Nigerians to remain peaceful

*Buhari assures of credible polls in Imo, Rivers, Edo

*Plateau LP guber candidate declares support for APC

27 comments:

1. We don see.......Stella u must enjoy me

1. Good morning to you Nigerians! NIGERIA'S OVERPAID LEGISLATORS
      PLEASE, READ: THIS IS WHY EVERYBODY WANTS
      TO GO TO ABUJA. Read & send to all your contacts let us do this together so that our country will be better for us and children to live like other Europe country that our Nigeria people are runny to today thank you,
      If you don't understand why those who are in
      Abuja don't want to return and those who want
      to go are doing so at all cost, look at this
      information.
      SPECIAL REPORT:
      SALARY OF NIGERIAN SENATORS.
      After reading through this Special Report, any
      shred of doubt in the reader's mind that Nigeria is
      doomed and heading for a headlong, downward
      plummeting will simply dissipate. The details of
      the remuneration of an average Nigerian Senator
      is detailed below:
      * Basic Salary (B.S) - N2,484,245.50
      * Hardship Allowance (50% of B.S) -
      N1,242,122.70
      * Constituency Allowance (200% of B.S) -
      N4,968,509.00
      * Newspapers Allowance (50% of B.S) -
      N1,242,122.70
      * Wardrobe Allowance (25% of B.S) -
      N621,061.37
      * Recess Allowance (10% of B.S) - N248,424.55
      * Accommodation (200% of B.S) - N4,968,509.00
      * Utilities (30% of B.S) - N828,081.83
      * Domestic Staff (70% of B.S) - N1,863,184.12
      * Entertainment (30% of B.S) - N828,081.83
      * Personal Assistants (25% of B.S) - N621,061.12
      * Vehicle Maintenance Allowance (75% of B.S) -
      N1,863,184.12
      * Leave Allowance (10% of B.S) - N248,424.55
      * Severance Gratuity (300% of B.S) -
      N7,452,736.50
      * Car Allowance (400% of B.S) - N9,936,982.00
      * TOTAL MONTHLY SALARY = N29,479,749.00
      ($181,974.00)
      * TOTAL YEARLY SALARY = N29,479,749.00 x 12
      = N353,756,988.00 ($2,183,685.00)
      * EXCHANGE RATE: $1 = N162
      LEGISLATORS PAY WORLDWIDE PER ANNUM
      * Britain - $105,400.00
      * United States - $174,000.00
      * France - $85,900.00
      * South Africa - $104,000.00
      * Kenya - $74,500.00
      * Saudi Arabia - $64,000.00
      * Brazil - $157,600.00
      * Ghana - $46,500.00
      * Indonesia - $65,800.00
      * Thailand - $43,800.00
      * India - $11,200.00
      * Italy - $182,000.00
      * Bangladesh - $4,000.00
      * Israel - $114,800.00
      * Hong Kong - $130,700.00
      * Japan - $149,700.00
      * Singapore - $154,000.00
      * Canada - $154 000.00
      * New Zealand - $112,500.00
      * Germany - $119,500.00
      * Ireland - $120,400.00
      * Pakistan - $3,500.00
      * Malaysia - $25,300.00
      * Sweden - $99 300.00
      * Sri Lanka - $5,100.00
      * Spain - $43,900.00
      * Norway - $138,000.00
      In terms of lawmakers’ salaries as a ratio of GDP
      per capita, the gap is even much wider. While the
      salary of a Nigerian lawmaker is 116 times the
      country’s GDP per person, that of a British
      member of parliament is just 2.7 times.
      The average salary of Nigerian worker based on
      the national minimum wage is N18,000.00, So,
      the yearly salary is N18,000.00 x 12 =
      N216,000.00 ($1,333.00)
      Remember, Yearly Salary of Nigerian Senator =
      $2,183,685.00.
      Proportion: $2,183,685.00/$1,333.00 = 1,638
      It will take an average Nigerian worker 1,638
      years to earn the yearly salary of a Nigerian
      Senator.
      Source: the economist
      Legislators, both at d state & federal level are d
      problem of dis country. They only legislate into
      their pocket. Lets unite, mobilize & move against
      them beginning with those thieves at the National
      Assembly. We the Nigeria youth want the National Assembly Annum to be cut to $70,000.00. Per yearly thank you.

2. There we go. Did I not say it repeatedly here that this Fani man was the major reason Jonathan lost? It's like this man just photo copied what I had in mind. And also the OBJ angle was another reason he lost. It wouldn't have cost Jonathan a thing to tolerate baba, at least for the purpose of election. He wasn't smart at all.

Lovelace were u dey? I no tell u? FFK was their greatest undoing and he was just about the camera show off, speaking grammar and twisting that his mouth for camera, he did no under ground work to help Jonathan. Even GEJ sef, what was he thinking? What name did this man not call u, how could u have allowed him close to u? A regrettable blunder of the highest proportion. Now see how he used his badluck to rubbish u

He will go behind to beg OBJ, just watch. Fani should just close down his social media cos he's a sore loser. Not as a PDP but as a human being.

Monies given him was misappropriated. Greedy liar. Watch how he'll famz APC very soon. If he had stayed with them, he would have been guaranteed a federal appointment, but greed no gree am sitdon for one place. See his mouth.

3. Sisi, I saw your response in the other post.. Very intelligent and devoid of grieve/swear words... I love having political conversations with your kind..

Ehen,back to the matter.. but why should we try to please "Baba"
      Why should we tolerate him?
      When will Nigeria grow beyond such godfatherism?
      This means the masses like you and I are played daily!
      Does it mean we can never be free of him even though he was not a world class leader?
      Politics is indeed dirty!!!!

4. Iphie dear I salute.

No its not what u think. Pleasing baba isn't the right word, more like taking a cue from a past leader with experience, u know. Especially one who mentored u to the level that u are.

Look at it from the ordinary man's point of view. Take for instance a technician who learnt his job under a boss. Once he's done learning he gets his "freedom"..as we call it in Nigeria. Now he goes ahead to set up his own work place, should he experience difficulties on the job as a new boss, it's only normal that he'll seek knowledge from his boss who trained him.

Liken that to OBJ and Jonathan and you'll see there's no big deal or sentiments to it.

2. Good they've found mama Peace for those looking for her.

Hmmm if Buhari believes he wants to change Nigeria then he should distance himself from Oby the traitor. He'll mess with his old brain!

Buhari we accept ur apology but we're still waiting for the Obas' own apology. And plz we should vote for someone we feel is the best man not vote for someone bcos the president told you to. Or someone is threatening to do so!!

1. Stella/Bvs, pls as much as y'all can, on your social network handles, spread the awareness about this new style of campaigning. Asking people to vote the 'party at the center' for their own interest is the in thing now and it's very saddening. People should be allowed to vote a candidate of their choice, not out of fear.

Let Buhari take over power and discriminate governors/states of the opposition and let's see.

Y'all need to hear some campaigners talk on radio.

We have a very Looooooong way to go as a country.

I'm trying to stop talking, but I can't. Didn't know I love my country this much. Lol

3. THISDAY.;Naira stabilizes.na im be d only good news wey i see

1. If u can cum up 4 air,u'll start 2 see new things that're good news

4. Interesting....I should start buying news papers now.

1. I remember jimi disu saying before d election dat ffk ,doyin okupe n all pdp campaign media handlers should be held responsible if they lose d election....all they did was attack d opposition,they didn't try to sell their candidate

5. He is meeting with Obasanjo in secret, and you call him 'change'? OWUYA!!!

Nobody should come under my comment to tell me abt being open minded.

If y'all have chosen to be blind to the fact that this man is no good news, carry on. I am very sensitive and I read between the lines. As far as I'm concerned, Obasanjo is a huge problem in/to Nigeria. You don't tell me about change when you still have 'secret' meetings with him.

29th May should come already. I'm itching to see what they has up their sleeves. I really would love to be proven WRONG. But till then...

1. Please let's pray for the best...
      For the sake of our dear country..
      We must hope for the better,even though past experiences have left us raw and sceptical... WE MUST SUPPORT OUR LEADERS AND PRAY FOR THEM..from your mouth,to God's ears!

2. Not sworn in yet they have deprived our first lady the use of the presy jets that she now flys commercial? This aint change but abuse of power n victimization.
      pls be warn oooo shru shru ba mugu ba ne in hausa. I rest my case..

3. Mrs mustapha,fear God if not 4 urself do it 4 ur children.How can an incoming President who's yet to be sworn in stop the outgoing 1st lady from using d presidential jet...does that even sound remotely sensible 2 u? Last time I said I was sorry 4 d kids dat call u mum,I wasn't insulting dem;was just symphatizing with dem 4 d calamity dat is u.Have u treated d staph oga gave u dis month?

6. Thank God for the bad news on the papers today.

Maina needs to be persecuted. i thought it was a forgotten matter.

change is here to stay.
    Politicians are not loyal at all. look at Gbemi, Andoaka, etc. what a shame in this country.

7. Why did they leave Amaechi n co at the main lounge?
    Old men meeting abi?.

Buhali,prease luuuuuuuuuun away from snakes,destiny killers and maricious old men o.

8. The oba should apologise..is he too big to apologise? Buhari meets with Obasanjo ..smh

9. I feel for Fayose.
    Thank God for Naira

10. Newspaper Headline news 08/04/2015

Court stops DStv from hiking subscription fees (will they obey)

Agbaje begged me for ACN ticket in 2011 – Tinubu(and you did not give him, diaris god o)

Aondoakaa, Onoja dump PDP(at least dem no jump enter lagoon)

I will never decamp to APC – Ekweremadu(thats a hero)

LP, MPPP, APC form coaltion to unseat PDP in Plateau (star wars)

Plateau deputy governor, Gen. Useni, Dariye, others dump PDP for APC(na lie, if na support yes, but dump nahe)

Ekiti commissioner, Fayose’s aides arrested with live cartridges, Indian hemp, fake dollars(tools of the trade)

Nigeria’s former minister jailed in UK(for committing a crime now)

Ekiti senator, Ayo Arise, dumps PDP for APC(even Abacha go soon join)

Polls: 79 senators fail to return to Senate(na so exams dey be)

Stalemate as merger plot between Ogboru, Emerhor collapses(merger again)

Pastor’s daughter killed as arsonists set Baptist Church ablaze(God sure pass)

Lagos APC apologises to Igbo on Oba Akiolu’s outburst(I pray dey hear)

Jonathan warns politicians against instigating crisis, says FG won’t condone it(after d cookies crumbles)

Lagos too important for APC to lose – Buhari(but life is about winning and loosing)

Military sacks insurgents from Alagarno forest (good news)

CBN warns Nigerians against use of foreign currencies for domestic transactions(it is too late)

Mallam albert einstein talk say old key no fit open new door. Yeye dey smell,

PS. if u are going to the island u are on a Loong tin .. the traffic tie wrapper....

11. What's the secret meeting between OBJ and buhari all about!!!

1. How to level BH I guess. Boko Haram insurgency must stop. Now that Jonathan is out I want to hear the new excuses that they have to tender. Weeks ago the momentum was high as per the military claiming back the captured towns. Of which some people reported were all lies and a propaganda to mislead Nigerians. Whether lie or not..how do we confirm it? And why have they suddenly stopped the rapid process? Na my own be dat o

12. Hmmmmm, the what the activists said might be true......

OBJ might not be perfect ut he is also a Political god....

well, Hakuna Matata.....

Never listen to people who project their negativity and try to stop you from achieving your goals, their beliefs don't define your ability.....

@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

13. @ Ekiti state. Fayose must go no matter the protest those thugs are protesting; I hope OBJ, had a good meeting with GMB; FFK, mouth is licking and his among the people who make GEJ, lose the last election yes it is true; congrats to APC for wining house of reps members; thank u Edwin clack for supporting Buhari; I thank God for our Naira stabilises; yes oh @ Amaechi, all those killers who killed APC members in Rivers will not go unpunished Amen; Mama peace na only u walka com Abuja? Lol: thank u INEC for sacking those criminals officials in Edo state.; why should soldiers bar lawmakers for entering chamber or Ekiti now? Is it their work they where assign to do? Soldiers want to cause chaos again after the first rigging they did in Ekiti state.; @ APC about Fayose, you no goat is always a goat even those you carry goat from Nigeria to new york it will still act like goat that is all about Fayose; Thank u LP for declaring your support for APC in plateau state. Sai Baba, we pray so we have a credible polls in Edo. Rivers. Imo and the rest state. Sir.

14. Abeg the Oba don apologise to the IGBOS? Na APC dey talk on his behalf indirectly.

Dollars abeg come down, na dat one I dey wait.

15. Oba don apologise?

Buhari ready to start receiving your own social media cusses.