Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Train Kills Boy Who Had Earphones On

Thursday, April 09, 2015

Train Kills Boy Who Had Earphones On

An unidentified young man, who had earphones on, was killed by a passenger train at Cappa area for Oshodi, Lagos, yesterday.
He was reportedly standing on the rail tracks.

Reports said the Ogun-bound mass transit train was leaving its Oshodi station to Mushin, when the accident occurred.

The train had, as usual, sounded its horn repeatedly as it was approaching the railway crossing at Ilupeju by-pass for clearance of its tracks.
According to an eyewitness, the boy who had his earphones on was apparently carried away with either a call or music.

The eyewitness said: “Obviously, the man was not aware of the approaching train even as it blasted its horn, perhaps because of the earphones.

“Before he knew it, he was already hit by the train without a chance to escape. Immediately he was hit, the body was mangled as the train dragged it along.”

Earphones use had also led to the death, on rail tracks, of a lady in 2006 at Shogunle GRA railway crossing, while another one was killed in 2007 at Oshodi.

Culled from Vanguard.

55 comments:

1. Well the boy killed him self out of carelessness!
    RIP!

1. Eeyah, but passers by should have dragged him naa, haba.
      May he rip

2. Sigh..and I have This habbit oh lesson learnt

3. Sorry to say but I'm not sorry for him! I have a shop in Arena Oshodi and I cannot tell how many people I've screamed, corrected and pled with over this headphone use on the rail tracks. Ignorance or Stupidity??? I'll still keep correcting people but would never feel sorry for them.

4. The dude killed himself sha......
      Aiyah, may his soul RIP

If you start out as the other one, you'll never be the only one.......
      @Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

5. @cakes by LuliGrace. I read it in punch newspaper that an area buy try to pull him back but he forcefully free himself from the area boy probably thinking d area boy want to rob him of his valuable.
      May his gentle rest in perfect peace but...

***EVERYWHERE IS GOOD***

2. So sad! Were there not people around that could have signaled to him???

1. You took the words out from my mouth.... Its so sad.....

Rip to the dead

2. This should be added to '1000ways to die'seriies!
      I mean,how can one be on d railway doing wat?its a high risk being there first of all,talk more of with an earpiece blocking ur ears...dat was death calling,quite unfortunate.

3. God his death was either sent from the village or thats just where God had it that it would end for him cause I can't believe the fact that he couldn't hear the loudness of the train horn ,what manner of earpiece was that. Come to think of it when train is coming it vibrates the whole place at least that could have touched him. If it was just a car horn It would have being understandable. Gosh!! The misuse of earphones has led a lot to an early grave. May his soul rest in peace. I just wish others could learn.

1. Kinda wierd! Or could probably be suicide? He might have used the earphones so that his mission of killing himself might be achieved!
      Cos to me, it seems he didn't want to notice or hear that sound so that he will not be jolted to consciousness!
      Whichever way, RIP dude.

2. I can't understand it myself. The person who narrated how he was there should have pulled him na. Too sad

4. God his death was either sent from the village or thats just where God had it that it would end for him cause I can't believe the fact that he couldn't hear the loudness of the train horn ,what manner of earpiece was that. Come to think of it when train is coming it vibrates the whole place at least that could have touched him. If it was just a car horn It would have being understandable. Gosh!! The misuse of earphones has led a lot to an early grave. May his soul rest in peace. I just wish others could learn.

5. Tragedy ,rest in peace to the dead

6. Lord have mercy!!!

How many times have I had to rest on my horn to catch the attention of earphones wearing youths?

We really need to be responsible in the things we do.

Do I say RIP?

SHARONNA

7. Lord have mercy!!!

How many times have I had to rest on my horn to catch the attention of earphones wearing youths?

We really need to be responsible in the things we do.

Do I say RIP?

SHARONNA

8. Chai !

That is how he ended his life .......

9. We all need to becareful about these things..may his soul rest in peac

10. Hmmmm. Can't just explain how someone will walk with both ears blocked.it is well

11. This story sounds somehow. Why was he even walking on the train tracks? And trains horns are much louder than car horns so it's odd that he didn't hear or over the earphones or feel the train coming . It should be illegal to walk on the tracks. Hope he didn't want to kill himself. May he RIP. #tragic

12. Na wa o
    He coulda been a newbie in lagos who didn't know that....

But if he wasn't a newbie, then I suspect that his village witches must have severed his head from his body, from his picture they have with them.

May he rest in peace.

13. Na him village witches dey call am ..........Stella u must enjoy me

14. Except it was Beats pro/ Sennheiser HD 650 headphones, death cheated him....

What a cheap way to die!!!
    Chinco stuff killing Nigerians since God knows when....

rip.

1. I tell u. Even at that, you'lld still hear a train's honk vibrate. If those who live meters away can tell when a train arrives, why not one who is close by the track?

15. Painful and RIP. that was how one was with earphone and wanted to enter into my path while driving.

they dont hear words even with what is happening, they will never learn.

now you have made your parents to lose a dear son

16. I'm showing this post to my brother. Even at home, we would have to shout ceaselessly before he hears. So sad a story, what a way to die.

17. This is Sad!

Somwtimes u see Young people,ESP Men with Ear phones on and going about their business ESP in d mornings.
    Sometimes i horn and its obvious dey dont hear.
    dose that hear d Born,dont hear it on time.
    i always stop n lecture dem o.
    Remove d Ear phones so u know wots going on around u.

Chai....Poor boy.
    more awareness should be created on d dangers of wearing Head phones while out and about.ESP in busy areas.

18. olori western union9 April 2015 at 10:07

What a tragedy.

RIP

19. OMG! even with how loud the horn sounds he was still carried away? RIP

20. oh my God, RIP to d dead, use of earphones on d highway also is very risky. ppl bewarned abeg

21. Oh dear Lord.... can't help but remember d day I was nearly crushed on dat same Oshodi rail way. Hadn't heard its blaring horn.. still beats me hw I nvr heard it. Had no ear phones. Perhaps it's coz I was busy holding my breath so as nt to smell d shit stench all over d plc. I had only realized wot was going on when I saw d woman across d oda side throw her hands on her head n d small boy beside her screaming. Dats whn I turned saw d coming train. Hw I found myself at d other side thereafter, still can't decipher..

1. Why would u stand on that railway track ehn!

2. Hmmmmmm
      Reading Dis scared me o
      thank God for ur life

22. Dunno y people will use earpiece on d road ........ See how dis boy ended his life ... Wat a pity

23. RIP!!so there is know one in front to signal him......sad

24. I wonder the kind of earphones he had on and how loud whatever he was listening to was, because trains are really loud and there motion vibrates the rails. It must be a clear case of absent mindedness.
    RIP young man, hope others learn from this. Sad.

25. I can authoritatively say dat he had no earpiece on. I was der wen it hapnd, all of u dat have alredi started judging, una welldone! D guy seemed very deep n lost in thought, he was oblivious to what was happening around him. People wer shouting at him n d train was blaring its horn, bfor d guy came back to his senses, it was alredi too late, he just froze on d spot out of shock!! RIP

1. My God, people are really going through tough times only God knows what stole his attention like that may he rest in peace

2. Please don't blame anyone, it was the details reported in the news. You know this cos u were there. So sad

26. What a tragedy. I nearly hit one guy recently, horn person no go hear. God na yr hand we dey o.

27. the man is actually my brother inlaw. no one saw this coming. finding it very difficult to believe his gone. he was survived by a wife and a beautiful daughter (1 yr +). tnk u all for your condolences.... Stella tnk u too. our family is very devastated right now. so shoking

1. Sorry for your loss.May God grant his wife the fortitude to bear this devastating loss & may his soul Rip,Amen.

2. E yah I commiserate with your family at this time. May God grant u the fortitude to bear the painful loss. May God be with the wife and daughter left behind.

3. Chai...may GoD comfort u all esp his wife and daughter.

4. May God console you and your family .

28. RIP to d dead, so sad

29. Rip young man.

Most times I horn for them esp the hausa guys their own too much then school boys.

May God ve him rest .

30. HMMNN.....R.I.P Tajudeen Smith. The guy just marry oo,d wife just born sef.

1. Ohhh God.this is so saddening.
      May his soul rest in peace.
      Kai.