Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Tribalism In Nigeria

Tuesday, April 07, 2015

Tribalism In Nigeria

Are we not all one?Does it matter where one comes from?Does it matter whether one is from a Minority or Majority tribe...

The sitting Oba of Lagos has opened a can of worms with his statement on the Igbo's made on Sunday and it must be dealt with because of its sensitivity.

You all talk about other Countries looking down on you when you travel but how can someone else love you if you cannot love yourself?

What exactly is your problem and why do you go Anti-tribe on another tribe?

Toke Makinwa has something very interesting to share on this Tribalism issue....

If you cannot discuss engagingly and must cuss out,I will not enable your comment.We are looking for solution and not kerosene to burn a fire!

98 comments:

1. Toke is very correct,

I hate tribalistic peeps

If I notice anyone like that,i always push away from me!

One Nigeria!!!

1. Its really sad! I was just standing by 2 ladies on the election day one of them just turned to the other heated her speaking Yoruba and went so you are Yoruba and you were just talking anyhow like all these Igbo people ! I just could not find the words to reply her with ,same experience I had in a Brt bus last year and it turned out same way ,this happens all the time and we need to start with ourselves before you address people based on their tribe see them as individuals first.sigh

2. Is not going to stop any time soon
      Most people enjoy being tribalistic 4getting dat we one nation.
      If they attack igbo's, I do attack bk
      Proud of my tribe

3. Hehehhehehehehehee as far as it ain't paper chasing it ain't worth it, wen u no ur worth, little things lyk dis mean nutin 2 u.

4. True point toke just made!!
      Tribalism is just everywhere in Nigeria..Even among we igbo's;tribalism is still practised especially when it comes to marriage..
      You see people from imo state having their resentment's about those from anambra and vice versa..they tell you anambra peeps are not good people,that they prefer money to human live,that most of them are osu(outcast) and that their women will continue jumping from one man to the other even while they are still in marriage...
      Even among those from Abia state and imo state;they still have their own difference..especially those from Ngwa(in abia state) and mbaise(in imo state)....they cant be friends,no marriage between them etc...
      Inshort tribalism is too much in Nigeria even when you are from the same tribe;not to talk of when you are from different tribes...
      For me;i keep friends from every tribe soo long as you A good person and i dont mind whatever resentment it is people have about other tribes...

#may God help we Nigerian's to overcome this issue of tribalism...

Are you A lover of Good Naija and other African top music;then stay tuned...
      Another BANGING mixtape from the stables of DJ MARTINS ABOY coming up soon...

PLS ALSO CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD MY PREVIOUS NAIJA PARTY MIXTAPE

@MARTINS ABOY

5. Let's be honest.....There is tribalism everywhere.....Even in your office...your co tenants... Your Employer....as in.everywhere

If u wan take house sef...u go hear ur land lord or land lady saying...are u Igbo?.....and if u say yes...the next thing is..." I don't give my house to Igbo, they won't leave ur house when u want them to

Is everywhere......

Igbo too wil say...I don't give my house to Yoruba....they are too Dirty

6. martins onye ahuho7 April 2015 at 16:43

Martins well done oh. Indirectly insulting Anambrarians. Meanwhile ur above 'example' perfectly defines an owerri woman.. it's a knwn fact so quit with ur deceptive example. Onye ahuho

7. martins onye ahuho7 April 2015 at 16:47

Martins well done oh. Indirectly insulting Anambrarians. Meanwhile ur above 'example' perfectly defines an owerri woman.. it's a knwn fact so quit with ur deceptive example. Onye ahuho

8. HY IS JIMI SELLING LAGOS STATE TO THE NDIGBOS?Yorubas are very decent, peaceful, accommodating and reasonable people. No tribe will entertain on their land what is going on in Lagos. And Jimi Agbaje is the cause of all this.We all condemn the statement of OBA AKIOLU, if it is indeed true, but let us ask ourselves one important question:WHY IS OBA AKIOLU SEEMS ANGRY WITH IGBOS?My answers are:1. I WILL ELEVATE EZE NDIGBO TO THE STATUS OFOBA OF LAGOS - JIMI AGBAJE.2. IGBO WILL DETERMINE WHO RULES LAGOS- IFEANYI UBAH3. LAGOS IS NO MAN'S LAND.- IFEANYI UBAH DURING TAN CAMPAIGN.4. IGBO DEVELOPED AND CONTROL LAGOS- JIMI AGBAJE DURING GEJ CAMPAIGN IN AKWA IBOM5. WE MUST PRODUCE THE NEXT DEPUTY GOVERNOR OF LAGOS- EZE NDIGBOMY HONEST QUESTIONS TO IGBOS ARE THESE:1. CAN OBI OF ONITHSA ACCEPT ALL THE ABOVE MENTIONED?2. CAN EMIR OF KANO ACCEPT THIS IN HIS DOMAIN ....?3. DO YOU HAVE ANY SINGLE TRIBE IN YOUR CABINET IN THE EAST?4. CAN ANY TRIBE CLAIM ONITHSA OR ABA TO BE NO MAN'S LAND?5. CAN OBI OF ONITHSA ACCEPT THE ELEVATION OF SARKIN HAUSA IN ONITHSA TO OBI STATUS?My conclusion: We have been living together as brothers for years in peace. You must respect our tradition and institutions. Ifeanyi Ubah should stop jumping around Lagos beating drums of war and divisibility.And to Jimi Agbaje, stop selling selling Lagos to the control of the Ndigbos because of your inordinate ambition to be governor of Lagos at all cost.GOD BLESS YORUBA AND THE NDIGBOS -

9. Anons 16:49, what are you on about. Are you not tired of the bitter bile crippling your system. What are you afraid of. Primitive specie.

2. Stella,there is no solution to this...
    Nigerians are tribalistic and it didn't start today...

1. Toke shouldn't say the Oba should not be blamed biko. Yes, the ignorance of our parents can be forgiven because of their ancient beliefs but when you are a public figure, u need to be mindful of what you say!
      I have also noticed this hatred for my tribe in almost everything. Takee the presidential election for instance, on my facebook and twitter pages it was majorly igbo people that campaigned seriously for Buhari, they were ready to unfriend u if you are for GEJ.
      But was surprised that after the election, people started calling igbos 'bigots' who supported GEJ because he is their brother. And I ask, is a bayelsian an Igbo man??
      Also, Afolayan tweeting about how its only igbos that pirate his movies...why should he tribalize piracy? Something that is everywhere
      Now Oba has come with his own when its not even an igbo man contesting. 2 yorubas contesting for Governorship is now the fault of igbos? Wetin we do una?
      I am proudly igbo because we are hardworking no matter the situation we find ourselves in and we are not afraid of anyone

2. Alot of people are just over flogging this issue calling it what its not. Agreed the Oba should have not been caught saying stuff like that.. but i refuse to see how he was being tribalistic. Its not as if the 2 major candidates contesting are not Yorubas. Would we have said that he was being tribalistic if was trying to impose Ambode on another fraction of yorubas whom might have been perhaps supporting Jimi Agbaje? It will have been a different scenario if the PDP canditate was Ibo.. The only thing we can say here is that the Oba is not being a true democrat. Worst have been said leading up to this political race btw the 2 major parties. The whole of the South East not voting for Buhari is what you can categorically term Tribalism while south west voted for the both.

3. Brilliant write up. However the majority think emotionally and not logically and sadly won't agree with u.

3. I think we all are entitled to our candidate and vote.... I am half ibo half efik and married to a bini man living in lagos.... The Oba's statement and Kunle Afolayan's didnt come out right at all.... But all I plead for is peace.... Let us all see this Lagos as ours and as well as Nigeria ...

1. Even within d same ethnic group there's discrimination...anambra man will discriminate against an enugu man,ijebu wil think he's better dan an ibadan man...within d same state an egba man will discriminate against ijebu....an ijebu ode indigene thinks he's better dan oda ijebus....it's a very sick thing.growing up,I didn't know d difference btw tribes cos I had friends that hail from different places n we all played togeda...even philo my first crush was from Ghana....landlords will discriminatebased on sex,tribe,religion n marital status...it's so sad
      Anywayz,am preparing for d lagoon cos my baby is ibo n i'l follow her anywhere

2. Stella, my own issue is the way they have treated the Niger deltans. how many people from the Niger delta own oil wells? Lulu briggs is the only known person. The other fews are speculations. All in total, less than you can could on one hand. How many people NOT from the region own oil wells? ie yorubas, hausas, ibos you name them. The numbers run DEEP! Go to the Niger delta and see how impoverished it is. If BUHARI is not going to take back the oil wells from the hands of the individuals and use it all for the benefit of the masses then he better make sure a good numbers of those with oil wells are from the region it stems from. It is only fair. Somehow somehow these peopke will at least help their communities no matter how small it will be better than what is going on now.
      at all at all na'in bad pass abeg.
      we should ask ourselves, will the yorubas or the hausas or ibos allow the same things be done to them? Let us not do what we wouldn't like to others. That's the first step to reducing the Tribalism that is amongst nigerians.

4. This comment has been removed by the author.

1. Nnenna, shut up with the hate already you tribalistic igbo girl. It's so sad that a young 24 year old girl as yourself can be so backward in thinking. This country isn't even as big as Texas or California, yet you're talking abt division. Division along what axis if I may ask? North-South or Nigeria-Biafra? You really think your 5 or 6 igbo states can stand on their own as a country or you plan on taking us south south with you? Please, if u wanna so much divide, leave lagos and go to your igbo state to live there. Let the rest of us who wanna stay as one country remain in lagos. It's so sad the amount of hate being spat out and the root cause is our parents. And this is the exact same mind set of the white racist. If we can't even love ourselves as one country how do we expect other people to love us??? Charity begins at home!!!
      *drops mic and walks away*

2. Fear frienemies.
      Hmmmmm!

3. Anon 13:15, you cannot bemoan the root cause of tribalism being our parents fault in the same paragraph that you asked Igbos to leave lagos.

For that "leave lagos" statement alone, you are part of the problem with Nigeria, not your parents. This is Nigeria and where you pay taxes and earn your living is your home. Take it or leave it. For your information, even 3 Igbo states is enough to form a country if it comes to that! Country is not by size, but by the people inside. F**king backward bigot!!

4. Most countries in Europe are below 5mil in population. The five igbo states can well make a country if we let them but trust me, Nigeria won't be that interesting if any part of it leaves. Racism/tribalism have come to stay bcos we all different, let's just not make it hurt for the other.

5. Anon 15:37 = Nnena, why are you hiding to comment? Why did you disable your racist comment? I'm far frm being tribalistic. My immediate elder bro is married to a girl frm your village, the one before him is married to an edo woman and I'm dating a yoruba. That also goes to say my parents aint tribalistic, unlike yours that won't even allow you to be friends with anyone except igbos, talkless of dating them. So that phrase 'leave lagos' was for you, not for all igbos. You that has refused to av open your mind and grow out of your tribalistic skin.

5. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Onpoint toke abeg. We are all one and thats a fact... Pls who have omotolas daughters number to tell her we are all one.......

6. The solution to the myriad problem of tribalism is to do a proper zoning and allow the act of citizenship of a state...like an Igbo man who has stayed in Lagos for 30years should be entitle to all the privileges and should be given automatic land ownership secondly we need to have one language understood by all the tribes in Nigeria as to bond our unity stronger -PST.Chekeleke

7. Well said my sister, all these Nonsence Must stop, tribalism here and there even in the offices, so many hatred, HABA!!! God please help us. ***stella I love you***

1. Stella and toke even the ibos discriminate against themselves -the osus ..so what are we saying? The rot has eaten deep into our society ..we need more than al this talk to cleanse our mind . We need God

8. We have overflogged this issue. The oba has said he did not say that. i know it is painful.
    me am an igbo lady so lets not continue to build up sentiment.

lets wait till saturday and let your vote speaks.
    enough of this issue abeg

1. So u didn't listen to d audio or watch d video ba?

2. You this @ekajoy...you're always behind bad bad things. may God help you.

3. Eka sorrow. Omoale jati jati

9. Toke is right.i stand for one nigeria

10. Na wa oh ,after we go say oyibo hate black ,meanwhile we blacks hate ourselves more.Ghanians hate Nigerians too

1. Yea you're so about the Ghanaians hating Nigerians even South Africans sef...nawa oo

2. Yea you're so about the Ghanaians hating Nigerians even South Africans sef...nawa oo

3. About other Africans hating us, you can say that again. Them folks do hate much. But then Nigerians are proud mophokas. Always drawing attention to ourselves.

11. tribalism, discrimination , racism across frontiers is the order of the day amongst many.
    Even ds blog, dem know theimselves.
    You people should change! Change!

Tribalism is not good! Discrimination is not good. All tribes have a certain percentage that has terrible xters. The sooner we realize that the better

1. So true Bloglord. All tribes have a certain percentage that has terrible character. We should all learn to tolerate one another so we can live peacefully in this country.

2. Thank you,
      Even on this forum, tribalism spews like a virus.

Indeed they know themselves.

3. lol @ they know themselves.
      If i have issues with a Yoruba or Hausa man isn't it sheer folly and absolute lack of wisdom to start cursing everyone from that tribe based on my experience with an individual?

When i read some comments on this blog, i really wonder if these bvs are living amongst human beings. Jesus wept, some of these people need to be kept away from human beings and put in isolation.

The earlier we start weighing the consequences of our actions and thinking deep before we react, the better for us all.If violence or war erupts today, we will all be at the receiving end, we will all count our losses one way or the other.Let us embrace peace and unity.

Toke, well said!!

12. Stella because you in particular are involve in this you don't want to hear anything to the contrary. It started from Awolowo when he drove Azikiw out of Lagos. Go to history.

13. They are just pained cos we igbos try our best at succeeding where ever we find ourselves. They say if we can allow the yorubas do what we do in lagos; they shuld go to our land forst na and see if they won't also be allowed freedom to succeed. The pro lem is that they don't move around and they accuse us of moving. An average igbo man is alwaz on the money maka ichu ego. That said, I av very good yoruba friends that we grew up 2gedam also colleagues too and thay are super good thjat I even flow very well with them than some of my tribes men. It just has to do with the indidvidual. I love other tribes too. Most of my friends are not even igbo sef. I don't tink tribalism wl ever end in this country.

1. NOPE. They and other nigerian tribes are pained at the ibos because you people like to dish out what you will not take from others! Always trying enslave everything you come in contact with. Only me must chop the biggest pie mentality. How about you take that success and find yourself back to your home state haba. The Oba was wrong in making such statements especially in front of the ibo elders. Very disrespectful if you ask me. But you ibos need to start respecting other people's territories. You wouldn't allow half of what you do in other states in your own states. No matter what we want to say about lagos, it is a yoruba state.

2. Y go anonymous to rant? Like it or not u can't do nada about it. Igbos will alwaz remain in lagos cos we av investments all over.

14. It's because of tribalism I fear to date a yoruba man cos they do not know that there are other tribes in their mind once one isn't yoruba or Hausa automatically the person is igbo!!! I've a met alot of yoruba people that refer to me as *omo igbo* in a very bad way whereas I'm from Delta...its so sad that in this day and age people still see tribe as problem!!! How about the individual? If one is Igbo is it a crime? What has tribe got to do with being ones self....its really a bad situation, I pray God forgives us!

1. Onome you are so right. We need to educate ourselves and respect each others tribe and culture before we start crying fowl that the foreign countries don't like us. We have to learn to appreciate and tolerate one another and not see one tribe as superior to the other. #saynototribalism

2. Onome you are so right. Yourubas are very arrogant and feel they are the best. If you marry them, you are in for it. They would always refer to you as omo yibo. It's so irritating. Even the ones that schooled abroad that you would think are enlightened, you should hear them talk. I think we should stop inter tribal marriage till further notice.

3. So instead of making negative statements and say reasons why you fear the tribe, why not make your grievances known and then suggest how best to avoid it in the future. You and Anon commenter are still indirectly fanning flames of negativity. I didn't live that much in Nigeria growing up, when I moved back, I had this friend who was from rivers/port harcourt and I used to think she was Igbo until she corrected me. Some people don't honestly know, all you need to do is enlighten them instead of silently brewing hate. Your tribalist tendencies are there too, otherwise why feel so insulted for being refered to as "omo ibo"? Are you trying to say youre better than them so you don't want to be mistaken for one of them? You don't seem upset that they say omo ibo in a bad way, you seem more upset that they say it whereas you're from delta. Seriously, every tribe seems to have certain levels of ignorance although certain individuals are on the chronic end of the spectrum. If someone says something hurtful to you due to lack of knowledge, why not just enlighten/correct them and move on? And for the Anon who said you're in for it if you marry Yorubas, a lot of them feel exactly the same way about Igbos and other tribes too, and can you blame one tribe from fearing another from the way we all carry on in Nigeria? We all need to start being more accepting and accommodating of one another and see if things don't change. You want intertribal marriage to be stopped until further notice? Well, you've fouled on that one! Me and my boo are getting married in a month and he's Igbo. I was concerned about our tribal differences when we first started dating and was worried if his family would hate me because I wasn't Igbo; of course I wasn't worried about my parents accepting him because I know they're not tribalists, but guess what? His parents are the best inlaws anyone can wish for. No matter where you go, some families are just tribalists but it doesn't apply to the entire tribe. Besides, I know Igbo parents who are nasty to their Igbo daughter-in-law, likewise Yoruba parents who are nasty to their Yoruba daughter-in-law. Please let peace and oneness reign. #saynototribalism

15. I woke up this morning to Toke's tweets, i went to Instagram and saw her note, and i fell in love with her. Her write-up makes so much sense!

She's very correct, all we need to do is to educate those around us who are still wallowing in their ignorance and exhibiting senseless tribalism.

Our generation should be exposed enough to know that tribalism will get us nowhere, rather, it will stagnate us and eentually tear us apart! I sused to say that the major problem Nigeria has is the ethnic diversity. But who says we can't all come together and build a stronger and better Nigeria?

God is no fool. I believe that these our different tribes complement each other. Whether you like it or not, whether you accept it or not, i'll have you know that we can't do without each other.

The night the presidential elections results were being announced, one sad dude went on twitter and was posting hate tweets against the igbos urging people to kill the igbos and typing all sorts of gibberish. What manner of rubbish is that?

We all need to stand against tribalism, and only then will Nigeria move forward.

1. You very correct. After the elections, a Yoruba socialite in London went on Facebook asking for Igbos to be driven out of Lagos. People came down on her, including Yorubas. She tried to defend her stand and then grudgingly retracted later on. I don't believe Kunle"s retraction.

16. Can tribalism ever be kicked out of Nigeria?

1. No!

The presidential candidates for APC were selected based on tribalism. Before the elections, people were arguing that Buhari will win all the Northern states, middle belt and SW states. This, they said, will guarantee him victory because North, middle belt and SW was more than the rest of Nigeria. Now tell me - how can a major political party have a strategy like that if they were not banking on people from those zones being tribalistic? Demcracy is supposed to be the bedrock of our nation but it is underpinned by tribalism in Nigeria. Of course, younger Nigerians can afford to be liberal and open minded because they have nothing at stake. However, as they get older and start to raise families, the tribal conditioning that they have been subject to since birth start to show. They begin to realise that they need that "social advantage" that is maintained by tribalism in order to prosper - to gain employment, to get promoted, to get contracts, to get elected, to gain access etc etc. They begin to admire how their tribe has been able to achieve and maintain dominance by being tribalistic. And it goes on and on.

2. Well said Anon 14,34.
      Your head dey there.

3. @ annoy, you hit the nail on the head! Even the presidential elections were guided by tribalism. Our diversity which was initiated to be a blessing is now a curse. People don't trust what they don't understand. If you don't understand what someone Is saying, there's a tending for distrust . Tribalism affects us in many ways, from employment to marriage. It's tiresome! And would never end because of our orientation.

4. In 2011, all south west voted for Jonathan and nobody saw anything being Tribalistic about it.
      Now in 2015, he did not have much vote from the southwest due to non performance, we have suddenly become tribalistic. Smh.

I grew up having majorly Igbo girls as friends but I never saw any difference between us.
      But the hate I see and read on blogs has started affecting my perception of my friends.
      I now keep wondering if deep down, they don't even like me and are only pretending.

My friends mother in law doesn't like her because she's from Ijebu and they are from Ogbomosho. Ogbomosho and ijebu are Yorubas but there's still acrimony. So it cuts across all tribes in Nigeria.
      Respect to the Hausas and middle belt. You won't see them cursing other tribes.

But then, all these can be minimised by blogs not enabling hateful comments against any tribe. Thanks Stella for taking the rightful step.

17. lost to be dealt with,not just tribalism but also religion.This set my mind back to issues in Nigeria that being a catholic and your father is a knight in the church you need to marry a girl from Catholic homes and other churches will tell you that you should marry from your church cos other doctrines will draw your faith backwards.Tribalism has been there.I live abroad and i can remember the question my Botswana friend asked me.Why do Nigerians share flats with there tribes and you hardly see them sharing flats with other tribes from same country.My dear Stella education needs to be free in Nigeria and some courses are meant t be compulsory if we dont have it yet on our syllables then it should be included.Some parents are myopic in thinking and still timid they can even teach such.See the just concluded election.Its North against east.This election might be free and fair as been proclaimed but it shows how divided we are

1. Don't mind them catholic folks

Talking trash about you must marry from catholic if your parents are knights

Am a catholic o, but I now worship God with the redeemed christian church of God, I don't like anything that complicates the relationship I have with God

*my2cents*

2. You are so unserious. I think Pentecostal worshippers have that problem the most. They are so arrogant. ...How many of you have encountered God? As in, has God ever spoken to you? Most times you go to church to worship your GO and forget The GOD. So please. Salvation is personal. Catholic for life

3. Religion is an even more complicated topic. As far as I'm concerned, God is everywhere. I don't let some doctrine dictate my relationship with God. I go to different churches . It's a matter of distance for me . I can walk into a near by church to worship, I'm not there for their pastors or priests, I'm there for God!

18. It didn't start today. My sister was supposed marry a yoruba guy and his parents refuse. They said their child can't marry an edo girl. Same with my friend. Let's just let peace reign and stop all this hatred. If we travel out we complain of racism whereas we can't even love ourselves

19. Truth is that many many many of us are tribalistic, we have to learn to live with one another.
    I don't think any particular tribe should be associated with any particular thing but some tribes practice some things that are barbaric..... Well, I personally respect everyone's culture, religion and tribe and if I honestly don't agree with anything from anyone, I just kinda dissociate myself from that individual. Tribes might have some things but individuals are different. People are aware of the fact that their tribes are associated with a particular thing and they work on themselves to be far from that thing.
    Personally my best friend is Ibo, I don't even know how to describe her and all bit all I know is that she is Amazing, her parents, siblings are awesome. All the Ibo things people say, I don't see an iota of it in her.

Certain individuals go through so much pain because of this tribe thing and its so unfair. I know of a certain individual who's dad said he won't marry someone from my place because his own step mum is from my place and she is very wicked... Because of that, the man refused his son marrying her, now the dude is still single, she has moved on.......

So many many things and this problem is partly our parents fault.
    So much to say but thank God we are now educated and we are dissociating ourselves from all these.

If you consider a woman less pure after you've touched her, maybe you should take a look at your hands.
    @Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

20. Oba of lagos is myopic, we should all say no to tribalism, I wonder why we treat ourselves with contempt just because we come from different tribe, how are we going to stand against the white racist if we are not together in unity, at this crucial times of election please dont let us fuel election violence
    Hey beadlovers
    You might find this helpful
    http://beadglitz.blogspot.com/2015/03/tutorial-african-helix.html?m=1

1. I'm an Igbo man but I don't think the Oba is myopic. He is just saying what he believes in and what the majority of the people he represents believe - that they are superior to Igbos. I admire him for having the courage to say his mind. Most Yoruba will laugh with you, socialise with you, sleep with you (coded), worship with you, but go behind your back and destroy you. Good enough to date but not good enough to marry eh? How can a people that claim to be so exposed and educated, be so tribal? The amount of times I've had to explain to Yoruba people that Efik, Calabari, Ibibio, Ikwerre, Urhobo and so on ARE NOT IGBO!!! Meanwhile, Yoruba people will be the first person to cry racial discrimination here in the UK. You need to see these guys claiming right here and speaking Yoruba with impunity (and aggressively), just because they hold British or EU passport. And I ask myself - will they let another tribe do that in Lagos? They will be raining curse on you, asking you to go back to Aba. SMH!

2. Ikwerre is not a tribe. I'm a linguist and we have tried to establish all the makes a tribe and language different. Ikwerre is sub group of the wider igbo language. Politically, you can consider Ikwerre whatever you like. I'm talking from the point of view called Sprachwissenschaft (science of languages).

3. Anon 15:04, what's your point? Your tribalism no be for here. A Yoruba person left a comment saying no to tribalism but yet you commented right beneath her saying her tribe is this, that and the other. Who is discriminating here now? FYI, a lot of Igbos also date other tribes but would only Marry their own, it's not only limited to Yorubas. You sound as if a Yoruba girl broke your heart or something but the fact of the matter is that there are Yoruba girls who also date Yoruba guys but still disappoint them and marry other guys, same thing with Igbo girls doing the same to Igbo guys so it's an individual thing, not that of a whole tribe. I have a Yoruba friend who's relationship with her Igbo boyfriend was destroyed because his Igbo friends kept pestering him to look for an Igbo girl like they did. These guys are also her friends o! Always playing and laughing with her to her face until he couldn't take it anymore and broke up with her only to tell us later that they guys were pressuring him, always talking about what he's missing and how he's not making the right decision and that this is getting serious and it's better to be with an Igbo girl as its about to lead to marriage. Yoruba girls too are afraid of that kind of disappointment or maltreatment by hubby's family if they get married to other tribes. I mean look at how Igbos attack Lola Okoye just because she's Yoruba and she married an Igbo brother, that's enough to cause rifts between both tribes because we all know exactly why the attacks are that much, Tribalism, pure and simple. And a lot of Yorubas are weary of Igbos because of things like that, amongst other things; and it need not be that way. We need to try to bridge the gap instead of creating more animosity. Some Yorubas could be nasty but there are so many others like me who aren't like that, if your Yoruba friends are the nasty types, maybe you should start hanging with the nice ones and leave the nasty ones to their misery if all you've tried to do to change their views isn't working (mind you, a lot of them also see you exactly the way you see them. E.g, two faced, fake, tribalist etc). I don't think Yorubas think they're superior to Igbos, I think Yorubas are weary of Igbos and Igbos are weary of Yorubas too. We just all need to change our attitudes, apply individual traits to the individuals and not their entire tribes and allow oneness in our midst.

21. Well said Toke! Tribalism is on another level in Nigeria even amongst people that speak the same language.. Osus for example, and the hatred between Ondo and Ijebu. Shame on us!
    Meanwhile please can people learn when to use been and being. I am tired of seeing that gbagaun every time. I'm surprised that even Toke an English graduate has made that blunder. Why?!
    Oshaamo

22. This has got to stop, we re all from nigeria nd for a highly profiled person to sound that way he is nothing but a tout with no sense of reasoning

23. Tribalism is the only inheritance we young people inherited from our parents,very sad. I blame our parents, & politicians they started it among themselves and it has eaten deep into us. The sovereign national conference that was held last year with the billions wasted what was the result? Why didn't our so called representatives tackle the tribal issue first before any other issue?
    The hate among Nigerians is too much and need urgent attention. It cut across all tribes and state not only Igbo's and Yoruba,Hausa.
    Yoruba have their own share within them whereby ijebu person is like an outcast. Igbo's of Anambra extraction see wife/husband from Imo state or other igbo state as very bad and not good enough.
    Some bvs shamelessly state it on single and mingle posts "They want someone from ogun/Anambra guys only". That's the hatred they inherited from their folks it has been engraved unto them. Urhobo hate Igbo's and itsekiri, Sunni muslim hate shitte muslim at the north. The cancer of tribalism in Nigeria need urgent surgery. Igbo's suffer the hate/jealousy the most because of their hard-work noting else. A tribe that has never ruled Nigeria state for 4years and still comfortable in their own right should be praised even after terrible biafra war.

24. Stella, forget abeg. The bitter truth is that tribalism can't be stopped in this part of the world. I borrowed my igbo neighbour 12 litres of fuel during fuel scarcity. Time to pay back, he unleashed his igbo friends on me. One of them even called me akwuna akwuna. Only 2 of them (Ikechukwu and Azuka, God bless them) stood up for me. What names was I not called? Ofe mmanu, anu ofia, etc on top say I did good. Anyway, the good thing is that I cried hard to God that Friday night and He compensated with a good job on Monday morning. That night made me realise that some folks don't deserve anything good in their lives.

1. Some folks don't deserve anything good in life? .... Are you God? Sorry about your ordeal, but they didn't do it to you because of your tribe. Not everything is motivated by tribe .

2. When they said ofe mmanu, you're still claiming it wasn't motivated by tribe? Who are you fooling? If we want to move on and forward in Nigeria, we need to own up to our wrongs instead of covering them up or covering up for others

25. Tribalism cannot stop in this Nation. Have you ever seen Hausa man (M) gave his daughter to an Igbo man? lailai. Forget SDK nothing like one Nigeria.

1. Yes ma for your information I have. My cousin is married to a guy from owerri,we are from borno. My husband is from osun state. There is absolutely no sort of conflict in my family. Mind you we are also a 50-50 mix of both christians and Muslims.
      It can be done. If only we can purge our minds from unecessary hate and myopia.

2. Buhari son-in-law's from Anambra.

3. I didn't know Bornu was Hausa? Though you were Kanuri?

26. I don't think tribalism will be curbed. But really, I don't think any one chose to be born into a tribe or a country, so why can't we put ourselves in out brothers shoes and cohabit? Everyone is different. It hurts that it has gotten to this. I don't think there's one Nigeria, but can we atleast try? I'm Yoruba but I love the igbos like my own flesh and blood. Biko, let's be tolerant of each other. Life is too short to want to bring down our fellow brother. Don't forget that we are human first, before any race, ethnicity, religion or whatever.

27. Hatred for one another breeds tribalism. Once we learn to love ourselves, tribalism will only exist in story books.

28. The truth is we need each other to survive. Its best to stop this discriminating attitude cos its doing much more harm than any good. I just pray it stops soon.

29. D truth is we are all guilty of dis in one way or d other. We should not insult d oba because of his status, either u or ur family are guilty of tribalism...... I remember I called my mum during d election period to ask her who she gonna vote for,she said gej

den I ask her, gej and buhari which one is better den she said non...Den I ask again since we've tried goodluck and he failed us y not try buhari dis time, she replied by saying she can't abandon her brother to vote for fulani. I was like really? Is buhari not a Nigerian, so dis is d reason u won't vote him, we argue about it....... Wen I tried to let her see reasons den she replied and said dat I am still a baby.....

Most of our parents do worst,,,, we should not come here to rain insult because oba said dis or dat....

The oba was wrong but we do worst.

30. Hmmmmmmmmmmm....

JIMI AGBAJE FOR GOVERNOR

31. Tribalism is one of our biggest problem & even amongst the tribes there is still factions. It's a depressing feeling & even with citizens trying to erode that with inter tribal marriages it's still an issue. I have yoruba in laws since time immemorial & thinking of how my late grand pa stood behind my sis more than 20years ago when she brought her yoruba fiance home there by breaking down a lot of barriers in my hometown & pioneering inter tribal marriages in my village & thinking if his efforts are in vain is heart breaking. The people who should know better/who ought to be examplary emulators are busy speaking recklessly. We as a nation / citizens still have a looooong way to go if we still want to have a country @ d end of the day.

32. Na wetin oba of Lagos and Kunle Afolayan cause be this.

33. Omo oni bread, o tun kiri de bi.

34. Tribalism !!! Same way we cuss out actress and actor here because they are Yoruba or because they acted in Yoruba movies. Believing all fair Yoruba lady or man bleach their skin .We should stop this and embrace ourselves . God help us

35. Tribalism can't never be kicked outta we country...its a natural thing and not even stipulated laws can change it...buh when it's becomes unbearable for certain ethnicity...separation is gonna be doing next junction. Which I really like so much...For real!

36. Your home land is economically impoverished; nothing practically happens except hotels and joints where you spend a fortnight to attend weddings and burials have a feel of d local chics and return to base...and dat is ok for you! Weldone!

For those of you who have managed to build edifices,u only stay there a fortnight too wit armed mopol all over the place;cos u r not safe there...u have become a fugitive in your homeland!nwganu!

Yet you come to another man's land; develope it for them;even vie in their election abi? Jisike!

You take ridiculous titles; igwe mararaba, igwe karu; igwe Suleja! Igwe satelite town!You form cabinet;make decisions;
    and you are happy abi? Titles ur umunna cannot give u!daalu o!

You are seeking to be relevant in another man's land okwa ya? And u call it diversity. Why not diversify the economic portfolio of your homeland? I na suu oyibo! Weldone!

Ana e sii n'ulo a ma mma puta! Charity begins at home!...

#‎adaigbo‬!

37. The Igbo man does not even like his brother. When we talk of tribalism let us start within. We always cry first meanwhile, half of you can not marry an Mbaise man. How many of our states (take note Abia) hires other Igbos to high positions? We cant even marry each other. Abeg make I hear word.

1. We are still talking about the same thing. There's a lot of inter-state and inter-tribe intolerance too. For example in Delta state, Ijaws, Urhobo and Itsekiris have fought each other to a standstill in the past.

38. Neva knew tribalism has eaten dis deep in the human's mind.
    Not smtin to expect frm a leader&great monarch who pipo adorn wt much regrds&respect.
    Seriously HrH needs to b dethrone asap he has failed as a fair leader.whattttt@ dis computer age? This is sh**t.

39. Hate is too great a burden to bear...

40. The yoruba people's intense resentments towards the igbos Is becos - the Yorubas have been accommodating, civil and accepting of the igbos in Lagos. Rather than give the same back, the igbos are now claiming ownership of Lagos. Of course, people will be incensed especially when you know that the igbos will NEVER allow a non Igbo to own land or even rent in igboland. Non igbos DO NOT have shops in onitsa or Aba? An Igbo marrying a yoruba is almost always for a financial or social gain. An average Igbo is always out for their self interest at the expense of others thinking they are smart. The hate comments from igbos are worse than those of other tribes yet they are quick to cry foul when they get back what they give. If the igbos want Yorubas to continue to be civil to them, they need to understand that they are visitors who have been warmly welcomed to Lagos for trade and know their boundaries. When a strangers comes to take over your house, won't you fight back?

41. The igbos need to learn respect for others. Everything is not about having money. Their quest to acquire money and all the expensive worldly things does not make up for their lack of proper education. Their intense hatred for Yorubas stems from their view that Awo deprived them of free education. Unfortunately, with all the money they acquire, they still fail to understand that proper education is essential. Also, there are many Igbo billionaires but igboland is severely under-developed yet they want to own someone else's land? #baffles me#

42. I have taken time to read the post and all the comments.
    I am proud of Stella for making this a post. I am also proud of BVs who have made contributing comments and condemns tribalism. I didn't fail to notice that those who make tribalistic comments , blaming one tribe or another do so under anonymous.
    That's still the problem. If you know you can't be bold about your comment, don't comment at all.
    This tribalism problem should be taken seriously, just the same way US took racism serious and even passed anti-racist law.
    Until, we do that people will continued to make hate speeches, cause violence and even kill because of our tribal difference.

1. Gbam! You have spoken well my sister...
      Tribalism no good. No justification at all..#projectNigeria #prayforNigeria