Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Etcetera Says Buhari Should NOT Be Sworn In With The Quran

Saturday, May 16, 2015

Etcetera Says Buhari Should NOT Be Sworn In With The Quran

This week, Etcetera questions the age long traditional use of Bible or Quran for swearing-in into political offices when it's not stated in the Nigerian Constitution. He enunciated the barrier between religion and the constitution and finally asserted that the incoming president, Gen. Mohammadu Buhari should NOT be sworn in with the Quran. 

Here's how he put it....

A lot of Nigerians do not know that Nigeria is a secular state and they are also not aware that the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria does not require that Buhari take his oath of office by swearing with the Quran. 

The drafters of the constitution made it crystal clear that any Nigerian of any faith or no faith can hold any office. It would have been very easy for the constitution drafters to include it in our constitution that the president should be sworn in with the Quran. But they didn’t. 

In other words, placing a hand on a Quran while reciting the presidential oath is simply a tradition that is not backed by the constitution. Meaning, it is absolutely unnecessary.

On Friday May 29, the Constitution requires that Buhari gives this oath of office: “I, Muhammadu Buhari, do solemnly swear that I will faithfully execute the office of President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, and will to the best of my ability preserve, protect, and defend the Constitution.” So, why should Buhari swear with a Quran? Why shouldn’t he place his hand on the Nigerian Constitution- the very document he’s promising to “preserve, protect and defend?”

There’s is a gargantuan barrier between religion and state and Buhari should demonstrate that he recognises this fact by taking his oath of office with his hand on the constitution instead of the Quran. His loyalty should be to the nation’s laws above all else.

A lot of people will argue that Buhari swearing with the Quran ensures that he adheres to his oath. But let’s be truthful to ourselves: We have seen elected officials swear to uphold the laws of our country with their hands on the Quran and go on to steal billions of naira and break laws like crazy. It all comes down to the individual’s moral code, not a few seconds oath.

My objection is not only against the Quran. I would hold the same view if it were the Bible, the Book of Mormon or any other religious scripture. The drafters of the constitution made it clear that the Nigerian Constitution, “shall be the supreme law of the land.” It is the living legacy they bestowed upon us. It is the framework for our government. And as such, that’s the document our president should place his hand on.

It should be clear to us on May 29 that the president views the Constitution as our nation’s alpha and omega. As a matter of fact, your religion doesn’t matter when you are taking a position in office because religion has nothing to do with running a country.

I personally think that being sworn in with any kind of religious testament is a waste of time and useless. A lot of people in the out-going government were sworn in with the Bible but did they deliver any of the things they promised the country?

To some people, it doesn’t matter whether the president-elect is sworn in with the Quran. They’re probably used to seeing it happen. We just take it for granted that it is the way things have always been done, but it doesn’t necessarily make it right. In my opinion, any elected leader in any secular country like ours is voted in to represent everyone in that country. 

So why not swear with a document that means something to everyone, such as the constitution? Wouldn’t that make more sense, instead of swearing with a religious document that only represents a chunk of the population? Imagine if a Juju priest was elected President, would it be okay for him to be sworn in with ‘sango, orunmila or amadioha’ or some other work written about atheism? 

Would it be okay for an ogboni president to be sworn in with the ogboni book of sacred covenant? I am a Catholic and I believe completely in not swearing with the Bible because there are multiple religions in the country and swearing with a Bible will not cause the sacred binding to the truth if the person swearing does not share a religion with the Bible. The Bible does not have the same meaning to every person. So it shouldn’t be counted as a true binding document.

Finally, we shouldn’t also forget that oath taking of any kind is absolutely forbidden by the Bible:

“But I tell you, do not swear an oath at all: either by heaven, for it is God’s throne; or by the earth, for it is his footstool; or by Jerusalem, for it is the city of the Great King. And do not swear by your head, for you cannot make even one hair white or black. All you need to say is simply ‘Yes’ or ‘No’; anything beyond this comes from the evil one.” – Matthew 5:34-37

Source : Punch.

Na wah!......Last week i practically called him diarhea mouth and asked him to stop these write ups,most of the comments cussed me out for suggesting so and even hinted he was a better writer than me.
This week,i leave him and let you Judge....This write up is oh-so-intelligent but can spark off something.
Be careful please!

56 comments:

1. His Opinion!! Let our constitution handle the rest..
    .NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

1. I couldn't agree less, they should stop the practice of swearing in political leaders with religious books, rather they should use the constitution.
      Well said etcetera.

2. Hmmmm...lemme pass..waiting for next post..

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Do the walking and let your shoes do the talking
      www.hawtshoes.co.uk

3. Well said

4. Shenkau also swears with Koran to destroy Nigeria

5. So swearing with the constitution is going to automatically make them all saints? Abegi!!!

2. Well said...
    Read and you will understand where he is coming from...

1. He makes sense
      This guy is intelligent

2. Nne did u really readthe article? ogenemingwo

3. You know they won't read and understand. The only thing they can piece together is he cheated, she is sleeping around, aunty gwegs, and the likes. Things of substance...nope

3. Lmao! Still struggling to stay relevant. I wonder where he stays to write all this bullshit. Just shut the fuck up and rest because nobody will read it.

1. Who told u nobody would read it? Speak for yourself

4. Sorry what you're professing cannot work out, I don't support the use of Quran or the Bible for our politicians as a swear-in tool, I will rather go for Sango(god of thunder), Ogun(god of iron) etc these gods are quick to judge compare to our every loving and forgiving God, who always wait for the sinners to repent before judging them. This our politicians cannot learn, they're fond of mocking God by using Bible or Quran to swear-in

1. Lmao! Then you know that no politician will be left standing after the oath.

5. Too much igbo dey worry person

6. Who is this one abeg?

7. The last one bible passage is the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth in this whole write up.

8. Be it bible, quaran or constitution, all I want is delivery of agenda n promises. Buh wait!, like he mentioned,what if the elected president do not believe on either? Infact, ETc is damn right biko!

9. Before them idiots jump to say he isn't making sense, it would be advisable to read and actually understand what he wrote before jumping to conclusion. Etcetera, we are watching them to see what would be done. Very nice write up.

1. Eka, u can stil say ur mind witout d 'idiot' thing. Try not 2 take this platform serious.#pleading#

2. Divinity, the mark of an intelligent mind is someone who can make their point without throwing insults. Search elsewhere if you are looking for that.

3. Divinity, what about dis? 'Fuck off!

4. Eka easy with it not plz. Ur comments since yesterday is with anger. Can down biko.

5. Y bother with this useless attention seeker with no mind of her own? Dnt u see dat every comment she makes ends with what any1 would say to her or think bout her useless comment? Learn to skip da fool over cos she sef is unsure of her comments. Attention seeking beggar

10. Just that no one cares about what he thinks...
    But in the court, they use bible or quran nao.

Let Buhari just do good that is my own.

11. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    I will say for a fact that this dude is so damn intelligent no doubt....

12. Etcetera again with swearing-in, must he write on dis

13. It's the Nigerian way...swearing means nothing to them!

14. Oh! He's so intelligent.

15. We don't care what he thinks. Please Stela stop giving him audience. I don't even read his comments

1. Eka goan face d issue in ur home n life. Idiot, wiv ur unsettled miserable lonely life. Stop transferring ur anger on bvs. Bitter reject like u.

16. Story! Nigeria blurred the line between state and religion eons ago. A politician that does not openly profess their deep faith in either Islam or Christianity will have majority turn on them most likely. Nigeria would like to think it's secular but we are really not. Religion, politics, business, work, success, health...all tied together here

1. The fool was mute when Jonathan turned everything Nigeria into religious matters, now he wants to talk.

17. na wa o...Nigeria is not just for christains na...etc should take several seats.

18. Ecetera is always detailed in his analysis, throw d messenger away but not d message. What he wrote has some great points, d Bible & Quran is widely accepted to all & sundry bcs it's either I'm a Christian & u are a Muslim, come to think of it truly if a traditionalist wins any of such elective post & demands he will be sworn in wt cowrie, a white hen, or d blood of a goat or whatever he believes in dat represents his religion, how will Nigerians feel? I suggest dat part of d constitution be amended & be specific on what will be d yardstick for taking oath of office.

19. "As a matter of fact, your religion doesn't matter when you are taking a position in office because religion has nothing to do with running a country" dis statement won't work in Nigeria ooo, let an Ogboni man, an atheist or a traditionalist run for a position here and let's see how it goes.Its either u are a Christian or a Muslim.
    Nice write up though....

20. who d hell is dis etcetera he should look for fame some where else he is so daft..............

www.adhubbing.blogspot.com

1. You are dafter.......blady fool

21. Nigeria is secular and I am Beyonces assistant manager. Just like the constitution exists just for show, so does the secular title on Naija. This is a HEAVILY NON SECULAR NATION. HEAVILY.

22. I disagree with this. This is the same issue the USA is facing that has caused religion to be taken out of schools and also eroding the moral fibre of the country .

23. I love his eyes.
    Sexy balls of fire.

I didnt read anyways

24. If we can keep sentiments aside, he has made salient points...
    So courts may have to stop the use of religious books for the purposes of oath taking...
    Hmmmmm...
    #smiles...

25. Pls stop raising dust where there is none. In the Courts in Nigeria, witnesses swear by the Quran, bible everyday. So do deponents , in Affidavits. We haff hia, you may pls shattaap.

26. Pls stop raising dust where there is none. In the Courts in Nigeria, witnesses swear by the Quran, bible everyday. So do deponents , in Affidavits. We haff hia, you may pls shattaap.