Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FG Set Up Committee To Screen All Foreign Degrees

Friday, May 08, 2015

FG Set Up Committee To Screen All Foreign Degrees

The Federal Government has constituted a committee to screen certificates obtained by Nigerian students who studied abroad, according to Professor Julius Okojie, the Executive Secretary, National Universities Commission (NUC).

Okojie said this while addressing newsmen after the presentation of licences to two new private universities on Thursday in Abuja.

According to him, the committee comprises of members from the NUC and the Federal Ministry of Education.

“When they come for NYSC, they are referred to the Ministry of Education to look at the quality of their certificates.

“Recently, the ministry decided to set up a joint committee of NUC and the Federal Ministry of Education to look at the quality of those certificates; the committee has been set up but it has not been inaugurated.

“In Ukraine, where we have many of our students for instance, it is not that all the universities are bad; some are really good but it depends on which one.

“Some of our students who attended universities in Ukraine pass through the UK and get a second degree; in some countries, you can buy a certificate in the airport.’’

He said that mere knowing that a foreign university was approved was not enough as the programme pursued by a student might not be approved.

The NUC boss had earlier expressed concern over the quality of universities Nigerian students attend in the West African sub-region, especially in Ghana.

Source: Leadership

27 comments:

1. "In some Countries, you can buy a certificate in the airport", that part got me laughing really hard, as in WTF??? Na so den bad reach?

1. Buy a certificate 'in' the airport......shows d shallowness of d writer or whosoever published ds report.

2. Ok oooo. Meanwhile they should improve Nigeria Education. Improve the Standard so less people can travel abroad. Also the Learning Environment should be condusive

3. Many students especially in Ghana universities attend classes in places worst than our primary schools building yet they tag foreign universities

1. I tell you!
      Malaysia nko?
      Ukraine is the worst!

4. Please Oga Okojie, channel d energy/strenght where it matters most,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,sanitise our educational sector so that Nigerians won't choose foreign universities against nigeria varsities. Which committee? Waste of resourses!

5. Okay. Good morning Sdk and Bv's.

6. So someone that has suffered for four years in Ukraine any other country might now not be accepted or what? The quality of education in Nigeria nko? Abegi, remove the log in your eyes first.

@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

1. Shurup and comprehend properly.

2. Mosi Trash talking trash...that's how you fail your exam. Read and comprehend before commenting. Capiscé

7. why not upgrade ours first and we talk of evaluating foreign degrees later
    what do I call this; I would say misplaced priorities

8. That committee should first review the authenticity of GEJ's PhD.

9. I wonder why parents still send their kids to Ukraine.
    Dont they listen or watch the news?.

1. Is Ukraine bad? My dad is thinking of sending my younger sister there for medicine

2. Ukraine for medicine? Abeg o! Instead, he should send her to Ghana. They make better doctors.

10. Prof has come again. I respect Prof. Okojie he is a man of the people and he always give a listening ear to any problem table before him.

11. Very nice and a wise decision.

12. Thank you very much sir.please look into university of Buckingham ,where you attend a masters and at graduation they give you a postgraduate diploma certificate. Anne hampton pls explain to us.

1. When a student does not complete the stipulated module for a course in masters degree, a diploma is awarded instead of a masters. And NYSC is based on your first degree and not masters! Pls educate yourself first. Furnish yourself with information from the university of Buckingham website. Google and be informed!

2. You were awarded a pgd because you failed. It's normal practice

3. Yes, and especially in cases where you do not complete your dissertation, or do not get the stimulated pass grade in your dissertation you are given a PGCert.

13. Mr. Man fix the educational sector before opening this your thing call mouth.

14. hahahahahahah the Nigerian elite are so so funny. It should be a shame to you that your citizens are running to Ukraine for a degree. Fix the educational system~!!! Will u say u don't go abroad for holidays and medical checkup? do u think anybody wants to live far away from home in a cold land for a foreign degree?? Are your kids studying in Nigeria? its cos your generation so messed up Nigeria that people are dying at sea - they are seeking a better life, seeking more options that the misery Nigeria provides them!
    Abeg don't even annoy me Sir - screen certificates my foot. Trust me, even the certificates bought at their airports are better than the ones issued by Nigerian Universities after 6years of strike, cultism, lecturer wahala, malpractices and so on. Pouring out half baked abi incompetent graduates yearly. Touts and thieves are the leaders. Even the NYSC should be scrapped. it serves NO purpose.