Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: New Words Added To Scrabble Dictionary

Friday, May 22, 2015

New Words Added To Scrabble Dictionary

If you are a scrabble lover,this will probably make more sense to you than someone looking for gossiptainment...

Thousands of new words - including slang terms lolz, shizzle and obvs - have been added to the latest Scrabble word list, its publisher has said.

About 6,500 words have been added to the latest Collins Scrabble Word List, including a number of slang terms used on social media and in text messages.
New words include twerking, emoji, bezzy and ridic - short for ridiculous.
One the highest scoring new entries is quinzhee - an Inuit snow shelter - which scores 29 Scrabble points.
Other new words now acceptable in the board game include onesie, devo - short for devolution - vape, and shootie, meaning a fashionable shoe that covers the ankle.
Eew, yeesh, waah
New words involving technology include facetime, hashtag, and sexting, while exclamations such as augh, blech, eew, grr, waah and yeesh have also been added.
It is the first update to the list since 2011.
New entries - along with what the word scores in Scrabble - include:
  • Dench - meaning excellent - 11 points
  • Geocache - a recreation activity that sees contenders searching for hidden containers, using GPS - 16 points
  • Lotsa - meaning lots of - 5 points
  • Newb - short for newbie - 9 points
  • Thanx - short for thank you - 15 points
  • Hacktivist - a person who hacks computer systems for political reasons - 22 points
  • Cazh - meaning casual - 18 points
  • Checkbox - a small clickable box on a computer screen - 28 points
The Scrabble dictionary includes words from Australia, Canada, South Africa, the UK and the US in a single list.

"Dictionaries have always included formal and informal English, but it used to be hard to find printed evidence of the use of slang words," Helen Newstead, head of language content at Collins, said.

"Now people use slang in social media posts, tweets, blogs, comments, text messages - you name it - so there's a host of evidence for informal varieties of English that simply didn't exist before."

OMG social media has affected how proper words are spelt oooooh

28 comments:

1. Ochim!
    I love my old-fashioned scrabble ooh..
    What is with the slangs?
    Lolzz. I need to update myself then..

I also miss playing chess.. Life happened! *Bbm crying face*

1. Am not really a scrabble person but I love chess...I use it n gbangudu(poker....21) for cerebral weigh-lifting when I av an exam or any task dat requires a high level of concentration..my children will start learnin chess by d time dey r 8,I dunno wen i'l start teachin dem gbangudu

2. Ezigbo life happened! It really happened inuna?

3. Lol was also added

2. Booooooooooorinnnnng...

Dnt mind me oh. I just gat time on my hand today and network is good so let's go

3. God please help school children not to fail their english exams with all these added words.

4. Okay now, make I save these words... and add some of my own... next scrabble game with my sisters, na me go win.

Going to google the new words and others... ojoro thinz... did they add 'thinz'?

I shall add it at home... hehehehe

5. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    I hate this game pieces i swear....

6. Abbreviation wasn't allowed in scrabble.
    Watstrong with these people?
    They should kukuma add words like amala- a black disattractive looking but yummy tasting solid paste that has delighted generations... if not, I will term them racists.

7. Wow with all the plenty scrabble and dictionary words i haven't finish learning.
    Enough reason for my hubby to cheat me in scrabble spelling words that don't exist

8. Oh no! What I feared most about this social network language had happened. Now, our younger ones will think it's right to speak and write this way. Lord have mercy. .

9. I love scrabble! Maybe we can organise a game night. It will be fun.

10. If you use any of these social media words that aren't in the dictionary against me, you'll loose biko....yimu

11. I love playing scrabble but these new words might just make english boring. Casual - cazh, Newbie - newb. Not feeling these jare.

12. I love playing scrabble but these new words might just make english boring. Casual - cazh, Newbie - newb. Not feeling these at all.

13. I just tried it on my Scrabble game it didn't work o

#GODWIN™

14. I'm so happy. Can't wait to play with my bff(platonic)...will finish him yeaaaa!
    But does this help this generation's use of English.

15. Nice. Scrabble and chess best board games.

16. Awwwww...my kids are soooo excited about the new words.
    Obvs (obviously, nine points). Others reflect trends such as twerking and vapes ( electronic cigarettes).

Picking up words such as"dench", "obvs" and "tuneage" will not just help you to get down with the kids but from now on may make the difference in a tight game too. Lolz.......

17. Tnk God! Ama google and see more,my frnds r in trouble

18. makes sense... Here we go alright!!!

19. So I've officially lost my respect for scrabble. It used to be educative but not so much anymore. I can't imagine playing scrabble with the kids and putting Lol and proudly defending it *shudders*