Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NNPC Missing $20Billion: Senator- Elect Wants Punitive Action Against PWC

Sunday, May 03, 2015

NNPC Missing $20Billion: Senator- Elect Wants Punitive Action Against PWC

Please find below, a press release from the office of the Chairman, House Committee on Public Accounts.

The Senator-Elect for Lagos West Senatorial District and Chairman of the House of Representatives Committee on Public Accounts, Hon. Solomon Adeola has called on the incoming Federal Government and relevant financial and auditing regulatory bodies to appropriately sanction the auditing firm, PriceWater House Coopers (PWC) for misleading and decieving Nigerians on the issue of the missing $20billion NNPC fund as alleged by the former CBN governor and present Emir of Kano, Alhaji Sanusi Lamido Sanusi.

Speaking to journalists against the backdrop of revelations from the ‘Forensic’ Audit Report of the Missing NNPC $20billion and the disclosure by PWC that it did not really audit NNPC accounts contrary to impression created, Hon. Adeola said his Committee that addressed the Press on the need to make the report public as there appears many shortcomings in the procedure for engaging PWC and its subsequent work has been vindicated on its alarm that an unprofessional work might have been done to deceive Nigerians on the weighty allegation of missing billions of dollars .

“From the disclosures by PWC on its work, there is no audit report on the missing money much less a ‘forensic’ audit report. From what was done by PWC, only a review and compilation of some figures was done resulting in different figures from $1.4billion to $4.3billion being bandied for refund by NNPC to the coffers of the Federation Accounts” he stated adding that PWC not only misled and possibly defrauded Nigerians by purporting to have undertaking a forensic audit report and collecting fees for same but may have abetted a criminal cover up of fraud in its role in the investigation.

The senator-Elect called on the incoming Federal Government to investigate the PWC for it role in the shady saga that has now unfolded and report them to such bodies as International Federation of Accounts (IFAC) and ICAN to face disciplinary actions adding that the accounting firm should be suspended and prevented from further participation in similar exercise undertaken by the Federal Government.

“For such a highly rated auditing firm to release such a report is dangerous and unethical. Indeed all other reports by PWC for the Federal Government should be investigated as they were also involved in the Fuel Subsidy Investigation and they should be made to refund money for work not done or done appropriately” Hon. Adeola stated.

The Lagos West Senator-Elect commended the incoming administration for its promised to revisit the issue of missing NNPC fund as a step in the right direction adding that the deceptive cover up role of PWC in this investigation must not be overlooked as it strikes at the heart of our constitutional provisions and the development of Nigeria.

“We are talking about $20billion and not millions. This is almost the budget of Nigeria for about two years” Hon Adeola stated.

29 comments:

1. Yessoooo... 20b is not a small something.....they should find our money......the change is here .....Sai baba.......Stella u must enjoy me

2. Who are we to believe now. PWC can't be so wrong in their report. I don't understand oh.

1. In this issue they are o! I read somewhere that they admitted that the audit was done without NNPC account statement. What type of auditing firm does that? That $20b must show o! Cos one thing i know is that if money wasn't missing, Sanusi wouldn't have said it was.

2. They are a multinational company,yes!but they were also bribed!every man has a price.they have been benefiting from the corruption of d system.all their activities should be probed!

3. Who are we to believe now. PWC can't be so wrong in their report. I don't understand oh.

4. 20billion?my mouth wide open,speechless

5. Patiently waiting for d change

6. This money must come out by fire by force

7. I also smelt a rat on this report. Pwc has been seriously compromised. Another audit needs to be done.

8. Yes I agree, only in Nigeria will they wait for a new government to knw what to do!

9. It's really a shame.
    They should be made to refund the monies paid to them. Nigerians requested for forensic audit. But they just did their wuru wuru audit.
    The thing wey this $20b go cause ehn?

10. when i read PWC's report.i was shocked to say the least..they never audited/investigated.they were like going by the figures given to us ,1.4bn dolls has to be returned.this is not to say we are sure and shii..was shocked mehn!

1. Yea they were given figures by NNPC but not all they requested for they even asked CBN for their own documents to support what NNPC gave to them but CBN didn't give them what they asked for that is why the report was qualified

2. Hi Ivory, you need to understand how an audit works first before you act surprised.

See the link below for a refresher on the issue

http://www.thisdaylive.com/articles/pwc-report-no-20bn-missing-but-cites-several-infractions-by-nnpc/207996/

Muna, I have a new love reading the newspaper sites, the comments there are more informative, educative and interesting on such technical matters. .. you should look it up if you aint already doing so.

Welldone and cheers

11. Yes I agree....totally
    Something should be done about it fast!

12. We should just tank GOD that failed jonathan didn't go for second term, This country could Av finally finish. PDP ll never smell aso rock again. Na thunder go strick them. Useless president saying stealing is not corruption, bastard! 20billion dollars na toy?

1. That's an elderly man
      State your opinion without insults
      It's so wrong

13. Patiently waiting for the chanGE!

14. PwC should never have gotten involved in this at all.

Nigerians, why is it now that they are crying foul?

15. Please you all should go and read the audit report again they qualified it cause they have some constraints. Officials of NNPC and CBN refuse to give them documents and information they asked for so they can conduct a proper investigation it was even stated in their report that it can't be relied on cause they don't have relevant information on the happenings of NNPC and CBN

1. Thank you Munachi, my exact thoughts... you are one of the few who are informed enough.

16. Sweetie, you are insane. Check into a psycho hospital for treatment.

17. I agreed with Hon. Adeola PWC has been bribed. Thief . BB.