Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NNPC Recruitment Drama

Saturday, May 02, 2015

NNPC Recruitment Drama

This is so wrong but then i do not understand the situation inside NNPC...They are probably going thru' a storm but its not right to put people thru' this!

Hello Stella,

‎I love your blog and everything it represents, thanks for always helping us out and giving us a voice. Stella please I want to rant at the federal government (NNPC in particular).

‎Please help me share this on your blog so that anyone that knows anyone important might hear our cry. I finished School in 2011 (BSc and MSc), did my youth service in 2012. Then NNPC was recruiting for Graduate trainee positions. Thousands of young graduates still with hope and belief of a better future applied for this position then. Can you imagine we were not shortlisted until two years after, in December 2014?

It took a whole two years for the great NNPC to select and shortlist from all CVs submitted for the graduate trainee program. Most of us had forgotten that we applied for the job. Most of us had had our hopes of getting a good job dashed by this hard economy, Stella there are no jobs in this country. So imagine the happiness when we finally got a response from NNPC saying we have been shortlisted for the graduate trainee position and we should come a tests.

‎The shortlisted crowd for the tests was huge (in thousands), I was like in this crowd, how will I get to the next stage. I prayed, studied and prayed again. On the day I saw a lot of people from my NYSC camp, we were all still struggling to get a good job, I knew how bad unemployment had reached. Two years after NYSC, meanwhile we are getting old in the employment market, cos two more sets of graduates would have been done with their NYSCs as well and now searching for jobs.

‎Anyway, after the test, less than two months, I was sent a congratulatory sms, along with some other people. In the text, they said we will be contacted on the details of the next stage (interview stage) in a few days time. Stella I was beyond excited, what it meant to be so close to my dream job I can't describe. There were lots of threads on another site open on this NNPC recruitment. With the successful candidates excited and looking for tips on how the interview would be and thanking God, while the unsuccessful ones were sad and knew they had to move on.

‎I even started studying for the interview, with more prayers on this dream job. This is almost three months now, we haven't heard a thing from NNPC. How our federal government and the NNPC can continue to play with the hopes of it's unemployed youths are beyond my imagination.

‎This recruiting process started in July 2012! This is May 2015! Why is our country like this? If our so called Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, won't employ any graduates in 3years, how will other companies do? Stella the hardship is too much in this country, there are a lot of brilliant and hardworking youths rotting away in the decay of this country. I am embarrassed and disappointed by our Government. I pray and hope someone important gets to read this memo to NNPC and do something about recruitment

‎Thank you Stella and God bless you.

53 comments:

1. Hmmmm
    The rate of unemployment in Nigeria is awful! Baba God pls come to our aid

1. Poster u are sitting on a long thing DH got to the level of coming from lag to abj 4 dere interview after that we did nt hear anytin.Let's jst keep praying

2. Fix it Jesus !

Princess NAN

1. Nawa ooooh
      Job no dey this country true true oooh
      Fix it baba God

3. It's a pity you're affected this much but hey, if you luckily got shortlisted after 2 years then exercise patience and believe things will work out.
    But then most times this their GT program looks like wash coz they already have their people and slots are being sold to who know man.

You can get the job God helping you.
    I know somebody that applied like that and got a mail 4 years later. She applied and after all the rigorous exercise she clinched a position there. Today she's doing well and balling. So don't give up and be hopeful.
    Have you checked Schlumberger?

1. This your conclusion is soo wrong. People get recruited through the gt programme without any link. I'm one of them and I know a lot too, even my superiors and subordinates. The coy is undergoing a lot of financial and structural problems. I will encourage anyone on the process to keep faith n never loose hope until u get something else. The last gt recruitment took over 2 yrs too. I hope all these will be resolved and ppl will have reason to smile. But as for now, they r struggling to pay salaries. That's all I can say here

2. Read well before you reply.
      "Most times" and not "all the time".
      Plus I cited someone that got the job without any sponsor.

4. Hmmm, thank God at last some one has decided to bring. This matter up. Am among those that wrote d test nd I also received congratulatory massage, nd stil hoping to rcieve mail abt d interview venue nd time. Honestly this NNPC drama has gotten me depressed cos all my hope is in this job after almost 3yrs of struggle. Can som1 pls tell us wot is happening , shld we continue to hope for it or not?

1. Keep hope alive dear! There's always a light at the end of the tunnel!
      But when you finally hammer remember Sdkers in your kingdom oo lol

2. Same here Favour.
      I was short-listed too.
      Wrote the text and it was perfect.

I even thought it was a scam when I got the message initially, cos honestly I had forgotten all about it.

Oh well, I've taken the bull by the horn mehn.
      No more waiting for anyone to employ me, I want be the one employing people.
      So help me God!

3. Have faith. I was called too . But then... I already have a comfortable job so I let this pass.

5. Hmmm, thank God at last some one has decided to bring. This matter up. Am among those that wrote d test nd I also received congratulatory massage, nd stil hoping to rcieve mail abt d interview venue nd time. Honestly this NNPC drama has gotten me depressed cos all my hope is in this job after almost 3yrs of struggle. Can som1 pls tell us wot is happening , shld we continue to hope for it or not?

6. My dear they hv employed people from that your set that applied! I am 100% sure!!!! Infact they've started another process to recruit another set.. The exam was taken in December..tho its all in hold now because of the elections. So my dear I think u didn't make it..

1. Oh oh now I get you... Oh.. Just wait ehn they are waiting for d new administration.. D last day recruited was in 2012. But they didn't apply in 2012... Even lng put their recruitment on pause. Just exercise patience.. Get busy if possible

7. Replies
    1. I say ehn... at the time I applied I was 28. I hope my present age won't disqualify me. So I'd jejely stick with my job.

8. And baker Hughes is dropping pple like hot poop!
    Pele
    Keep ur fingers crossed!
    They r undergoing an overhaul.

9. All hope is not lost, just be positive.

10. Unemployment rate in nigeria is just too bad,it is well.lets wait for the change they said

11. God is still God, He can do it for you.

12. My heart weeps for the Nigerian youth. NNPC is probably stallion because of salaries. Meanwhile one frog eye evil woman Diezini or whatever the crap her name is has hoarded billions of naira and squandered millions on private jets

13. Lmaooooo, welcome to the federal government of Nigeria. Before they will start paying you, war. I'm in the civil service, trust me, you will learn patience by force. The bureaucracy can drive you insane. Manage you hear it is well.

14. My heart weeps for the Nigerian youth. NNPC is probably stallion because of salaries. Meanwhile one frog eye evil woman Diezini or whatever the crap her name is has hoarded billions of naira and squandered millions on private jets

15. I didnt even get a congratulatory message,ive given up already since 2012.wat am looking at now s ow to be linked with d federal minstry of health,but pending d time am currently doing a voluntary job with d state mins of health,they pay stipends in arrears n up until now we re yet to be paid from january till now,dis govt work seems to be worst dan most private companies dis days!i tire

16. Don't understand this your complaint.
    You were shortlisted after 2 years, so why are you now in a hurry after 3 months.
    I'll advise you remove your mind and do other things pending when they decide to call you for the interview.
    The problems in nnpc now is more than recruitment. They are in a mess and there have been calls for unbundling it.
    You are even lucky. I know some people who could not even open their mail boxes because it had been hacked into within that two years.

17. It reminds me of wen I was searching for work, Ndic (Nigerian deepest insurance commission) used a whole to do 3 tests, 2 interviews , gave me transport fare, that was the last I heard of them. Same thing with Zenith bank, even did their medicals, met their Md, only to be told they are downsizing, no vacancy again. The last one was Nama (Nigerian airspace management agency), did the test and interview, came first in the selection process, didnt hear anything for more than a year, not knowing my Name has been replaced with someone else's. Power of man know man. But I know God and he proved him self. All that is now history. My advice, dont give up, stay strong, believe, prayer answers all things, learn a Profitable Skill, Something to always fall back on wen the going gets tough. Be proactive, dont rely on your credentials alone, add more marketable skills, not only big companies offer jobs, start with the small ones too even if the pay is low or is a one man business. Its better you have an experience than to be setting down at home, waiting for the dream job and no experience. Thanks

18. Dear poster, continue to hope you have passed the test so there's hope. I know someone that is in the same stage as you are. Last I heard he said that he got a message saying that they will soon start the recruitment process again. Election slowed things down. Even oando that put out their job offer since just continued it again after people waited for like 3 months. Poster did you apply for oando? Don't worry everything will work out.
    The situation is very difficult but be patient. They will start soon enough.

19. Worried Nigerian2 May 2015 at 14:50

Same with me ooooh, mine was last year with G- investment (recruiting for various gov parastalal) wrote the test got the congratulatory message til no show.My worry is that it might affect us after the change of govt...pls any1 who can help and get the govt attention should help us,cos am already loosing it.wahali unemployment is a major issue in this country.... Stella we were over 5 thousand that wrote that exam in Feb 2014.

1. G Investment recruiting for govt agencies? ?? You have been scammed! Hope you didn't give out money?

20. Poster abeg chill...
    Understand that a coy can accept CVs and put in their recruitment pool till Jesus come, nobody can question them for that. Its a recruitment strategy, which comes in handy when there's urgent need for new staff. The ones in d pool would be considered and called up for tests and so on.

NNPC as we know have internal issues as we speak, that may have been d reason for d delay. They are prolly waiting 4d new administration to assume position b4 calling you guys again. I strongly believe recruitment has been frozen for now...so drink chilled yoghurt pls.

1. See how ur applauding the wrong attitude...my dear Lara, in developed countries it takes 3 months max for a company to tell u if they r employing u or keeping ur application in a recruitment pool or throwing it away...stop sounding "I know it all" and drink some frozen yogurt urself

2. @anon 18.20, you said it all. "In developed countries......"!!

21. Thank God for this post. Hopefully they will see this and remember that we are waiting for them. Federal government job is everyone's dream.

Happy Saturday dearies, make sure you are getting the princess treatment...

22. My dear people, there is no Job in this country, the country is damn doomed.

Please venture into being an entrepreneur and go into business!

The slots in nnpc has already being sold out.

This is Nigeria, get use to it.

God bless and One Love!

23. Na ur type go still vote for Jonathan.
    I hope NNPC will respond to this!

24. I wrote that test too n should I say thank God I wasn't sent the congratulatory message. We know how government jobs go though we still apply n hope for the best. Private entities are after what they can get from u ie what u hv to offer....The reverse is the case when it comes to d government. It's either whose brother, son, daughter, child n so on are you. My friend was just given an appointment letter last week in D M's house. It is well. I wish u d best my dear.

25. This youth employment thing is a f*cking time bomb.

26. My dear ur case is that of the proverbial tortoise who had been in a shit hole for a long time, and the point he was about to be brought out, he was like pls be fast the shit here is something else. At least u were shortlisted for interview after 2 years, that goes to show u that God's delay is not denial. Cheers.

27. Hmmmmmmmmmm, I can't even imagine wat you had gone through.......2 years 4 a recruitment??? Nawa ooo. May God deliver our country

28. Enter your comment...Is so unfortunate but I pray this post gets to them.poster and favour just hold on your waiting will not be in vain.

29. Is so unfortunate but I pray this post gets to them.poster and favour just hold on your waiting will not be in vain.

30. Look at you.
    Everybody is shaking even the ogas
    Nobody knows his fate
    A pal was called for an interview in an Insurance firm he applied to three years before then(oyibo).
    Luckily,Mobil don employ am. So quit complaining cos your employment for NNPC no be today thing.
    The ogas there are also waiting for their kids to graduate before the exercise so they can fix them in juicy positions.

NA ME TALK AM.

31. My friend is among dose dt was shortlisted but he is doing his banking job n waiting for dem. So maybe look elsewhere n still wait for dt one. I wish u goodluck.

32. Dear poster ,
    My friend just left my house about 2 hrs ago and told me this same thing. First of all I applied too but was not short listed, secondly, my friend that was short listed has written 3 diff stages and is waiting for the last stage which is interview. From your write up seems you wrote only once. Pls find out if you are still in the race.
    All the best.

1. If your friend has written three different stages, so sorry darling ur friend didn't pass the first time. You are meant to write once then oral follows. I wrote once and am waiting for the oral too.

2. True talk. That your friend has bin invited for the third time because he or she didn't pass the first and second time. I wrote just once likewise so many people I know.

33. Am still waiting for them. God will surely see us through.

34. please oh, I wrote an test for jumia in Feb/ March this year, and I got to the final stage and they said they wud get back to me as well as others that got to that stage. till now, nothing and I'm jobless and sad at home, please does anyone know what happened or if they hv contacted anybody here, pls!!!

35. Maybe looking for a job is not the only joker? Why not do something on your own?....or take any job...even if the pay is low?...then when nnpc is ready they will call you?

36. Maybe looking for a job is not the only joker? Why not do something on your own?....or take any job...even if the pay is low?...then when nnpc is ready they will call you?