Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Zoning is not in the APC Agenda – Chief Bisi Akande

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Zoning is not in the APC Agenda – Chief Bisi Akande

The Former Interim Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Chief Bisi Akande, has said that zoning of political offices has never been the position of the party and rejected the notion that the party was standing in the way of any qualified senator in its fold to contest for the position of Senate President.

The APC chieftain said it was the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) that brought zoning into Nigeria’s polity and that no way would his party adopt the debilitating tradition.

“Zoning is not part of APC,” he explained. “It is a PDP arrangement and we will not practice it. What you see with the Senate Presidency is us trying to ensure there is no rancour amongst the senators. Of course, we want the best man to emerge and that is what will happen.

“It is true that sometime after the election, the National Chairman (Chief John Oyegun) wanted to toy with the idea of zoning. But as a united party, we unanimously said, ‘No.’ we know that zoning could create a room for the opposition to take advantage and snatch these positions. We have been sacrificing and compromising in the interest of our nation and that is what we must continue to do.”

Chief Akande spoke when a group of reporters met him as he arrived Protea Hotel, Ikeja, for a meeting. He promised that the APC would deliver on its manifesto and assured Nigerians that the President-elect would turn around Nigeria’s fortunes. 

23 comments:

1. All this news no concern me, am patiently waiting for PH pics to be posted

2. These men are the problems of Nigeria.They should be in their retirement homes,sitting in the balconies,rimless glasses perched on their noses and reading Guardian.

1. Politically they are needed, experience matters.

3. this man should get a sit and put his bum bum on it, what is he saying abeg

#GODWIN™

4. Whatever will make the nation go forward

5. Amen, that us our prayer for Nigeria, change

6. Please zoning is whats been dividing us all through the PDP era and should be abolished. The best man has to be placed in every position for us to move forward. Its so ancient already and has never helped us. Lets try something new pls

7. Story but giving all to the north and west is in your agenda right? GERMAN JUICE SAY SO

8. All these APC yoruba people talk too much. i have not seen or heard when an Aboki in APC talk or say something.

it is only this fear fear yorubas talker.

9. Issokay, let's hope for the berra.

10. Not surprised. The election is over. The APC is about to show its true colour.
    Can they say this during campaign time.
    Nigerians, here comes the change you all voted for.

11. Ok we af hear.... still on side eyes mode

12. Abeg who be TWG? This sounds juicier

13. Zoning sud be cancelled afta Hausa man wins! #Godwin jare

14. Good you guys are not falling for that divisive nature pdp used..noted anyway.

15. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Apc is definately going to bring change no doubt....

16. SDK there's hot gist about Dangote and sylvia, Bring it here na, lol.

17. Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahhaahahahahahahha