Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Diezani Alison-Madueke Says She Did Not Steal The Missing $20bn And No One Should Wrongly Accuse Her

Sunday, June 07, 2015

Diezani Alison-Madueke Says She Did Not Steal The Missing $20bn And No One Should Wrongly Accuse Her

Nigeria's Minister of Petroleum Resources, Diezani Alison-Madueke, has debunked allegations of stealing the missing $20bn. She says she was wrongly accused and has become the most abused minister today.

While disclosing this in a recent interview with Thisday Newspaper, she said...

"I must say it is very upsetting for me. Because I don’t stand out there shouting to Nigerians that I am not corrupt, they keep accusing me irrationally."

"When you are sitting here and trying to do all these work – everyday, you hear outside that $20 billion is missing under your watch – and even while you were trying to explain to Nigerians that such did not happen, you hear again about $18.5 billion."

"Then you see all kinds of stupid stories that start surfacing as if I am sitting on a barrel of money or a house full of money. When people come into my house every day and they can see what is in the house."

"So at a certain time, it looked as if despite all you think you have done for the betterment of the sector and country, it seemed like a group of people had decided that you should be the target no matter what you said or did." 

"Yet, I have a family, I have a husband, children, grandchildren, who everyday are on the internet seeing all sorts of nonsense written about me.

They look at me in prison garments, with handcuffs and all sorts of rubbish, and then Nigerians are saying I should be more open. You know there is a balance to everything in life." 

"Did we make mistakes? There would always be mistakes. But please do not say I stole $20 billion or $18.5 billion because I did not at any point in time. And if NNPC misappropriated funds or so, they have the entire explanation and more forensic audit should be done to determine how and why. But people should not make damaging accusations which have nothing to do with an individual. At no point did I steal from the Nigerian state."

"In fact, the first mantra I had from the time I came in was that I will never touch anything that has to do with the Federation Account and I never did and I will take that to my grave. 

So I will suggest that this issue of $20 billion or $18 billion be dropped because that is the major problem I had with my job. I was accused of unsavoury things, but which were actually accusations against NNPC and the audit was deployed to clarify all these things.

So let us deal with the issues. I have never gone around accusing people of doing this or that, I have always stuck with the issues even when I was the most abused minister, I was professional, I stuck to the issues and responded only to the issues," she said.

Read more excerpts from the interview below...

On the N10 billion private jets lease, Why did you do that?

First of all, nobody can lease a jet for N10 billion over a period. You can buy three jets for N10 billion. So that was obviously a nonsensical argument and I did not lease any jet.

The NNPC leased those jets to the best of my knowledge because at that point in time, they had no official planes. They leased the private jets for executive movement and operations in general, as had always been the case. 

But it was alleged that it was for your personal use?

No, it was not for my personal use, it was for executive movement, which has always been the case.

Is there any truth in the allegation that you have run away from the country or gone into exile?

Starting from the running away, I will say no. I didn’t run away from the country. I had said clearly to everybody a few months ago that I have been coming out regularly from early this year for treatments. 

In fact, everybody would remember that in March I had a major operation and I have been coming out for treatments periodically. It is a necessary treatment, so I have not run away at all. 

So those were my concerns and another concern is the kind of nastiness that has been thrown at my person, for what I can see as the sole reason why somebody got up and said $20 billion was missing or misappropriated; okay it is now $18.5 billion and all kinds of mud was thrown at you as if you picked up the $18.5 billion and walked out through the door. 

Essentially, these are my concerns. Please go and investigate it and make your report available, but please stop accusing people irrationally.

So what exactly is the nature of your illness; is it true that it is cancerous in nature?

That is a private matter that should not concern the public.

*Interview excerpts culled from Thisday*

73 comments:

1. I feel for her, cus evn her grand kids wil, come n hear that grandma stole frm the Gov. True or not

2. Where u don hear thief de own up??

3. I mean were u xpectn her to admite she stole?? Mayb not the 20b sha, but she's a crook.... U mean to telk me all ur props n all u do is frm ur salary??

4. Maam you did and gave your smallie Kola to keep

5. Maam you did and gave your smallie Kola to keep

6. Taaaa madame na ua ọnụ mechie...just shush it there biko. What did we expect you to say before?? I don't blame u, I blame the lax judicial system and the acute financial decadence that has eaten deep the Nigerian government, which makes people like u talk with such impunity. Perhaps I should be addressing the corrupt govt in past tense, because we now have an incorruptible leadership. If u ever get away with this, it would be because the new president has decided to overlook the corruption that happened before his administration. And Perhaps would overlook it out of respect for Jonathan.. because there's no way you'll go down and Jonathan won't sink with u.

2. It is only dumb people that would believe this woman actually stole N20bn. N20bn? so outrageous.

1. Chai.....
      Na sit down look I dey...

2. Exotic moron. First of all, it is $20b. Secondly, u r clearly naive. Or ignorant. Or both!

3. Eh ya...Why is she coming out now? after harassing pmb begging to be heard? by the time buhari is through with her, she would confess the truth.

4. You are all thiefs u stole more dan that
    Arm rubber

5. If she didn't den who did...is it me?

6. No wahala, NNPC should be probed not you shey? Ok

7. Sunday morning rubbish!! Maami your prodigal daughter has returned ooo

8. Abeg stop deceiving yourself because you can't lure me to believe you know nothing about the missing $18billion.

9. 20 billion dollars not naira! Nawaa o!

10. Thief defending herself. I saw prison smelling underneath her arm pit.

11. Nobody agrees to a crime only when they are caught in d act. Madam let your conscience judge you.

1. Conscience kwa? Which conscience? That one don die tey tey.
      Sherry's Daughter

12. O si gini? Woman, thiou has lost thy glow. All is not well with you for the peoples cry/curses against you are much. Don't go down alone so who are the cabals? Madam start singing or bear the consequencies ALONE. Kylat

13. For some reasons I believe this lady.

14. So why has she been stalking Mr. Buhari and all of a sudden she decides that she wants to be friends with the efcc chairman, bombarding him with calls? I'm not judging, but she seems like someone acting out of a guilty conscience.
    But some people don't have the fear of God in their livess. Why the hell would you steal 4 trillion naira??? Are you keeping money for your whole generation? Tufia! What kind of Anya ukwu is this one? Nawa oh.

Silent Observer

15. I read little and stopped..

Of course she wouldn't say she did it, will she?

Investigations will be carried out in die time, by Gods grace ad the culprits will be found!

We don't need the sermon!

Y'all are corrupt!

16. Hmnnnnnn......
    sitdon look naim I dey
    Diezani diezani!
    Idikwa sure that aka gi dikwa ocha?
    Issorait.
    Sitdon look position I resume.

1. Abeg... na echetara ya she's a ohi.. she go soon talk true.

17. None of my bussiness but if u eat any money,u will surely vomit it knowingly or unknowingly,people like u is the reason alot of people are dieing and eaten by fish inside Mediterranean sea.greedy set of people.

1. Lmaoo@eaten by fish. Not funny but had to laugh.

18. Lying bitch!

19. I kinda like her boldness, and she's very good at her games.

Nigeria journalism is so poor and annoying, just copy cat, some copy from bloggers sef. Do a very thorough investigative journalism.

If the new administration can conduct new forensic audit on NNPC, the accusations should stop.

20. I like her responses to questions, Nigerians should please leave her alone now

21. We Don hear, then who come carry the money?

22. No mind them. Madam.

23. Ok you did not keep it for yourself but you helped or know the person that took it. All na same thing madam.

May God help u all.

24. Thief!
    Why are U just voicing out now
    I thought U own the government
    This woman is a very big thief !
    Everybody cant be wrong
    I know what I'm saying
    U need to be close to the people around Her to know
    Arrogant and saucy woman!
    What do u have to say about Ur son/stepson partying in a private jet....?
    He worked for the money right?
    U guys been spending Nigeria money like its Ur inheritance
    God will expose all of U and the plague of the Egyptians shall befall U all for sucking this country dry In JESUS Name!
    Indeed the wickedness of the wicked shall consume them'

25. We do not expect her to come out to tell us she stole money, she's a smart lady.
    Our Politicians even when caught red handed will deny everything that's part of their culture. You hired private jets for executives, what happen to flying business class or even first class to cut down bills?
    You can not deny the fact that your kids whether biological or adopted waste our money in the US flying private jets from city to city just to party please madam your claim are fabricated lies. We truly want justice in your case and others.
    As you all (Elites) want to deny us the citizens chance to enjoy our common wealth due lack of accountability and corruption, our God will continue to bless all of you ruining our dearest country with terminal illness.
    Wicked people, i have no pity for any of you as whatever our young once faces today is due to you people's evil intentions/selfishness.

1. Don't mind them Jaymoore. What I want to know now is what would happen to all the private jets acquired by the Jonathan administration. I heard the presidential one alone is up to 8 private jets. Then the ministers who also bought theirs. Stella Oduah too, and the rest of them. I think all these jets should be sold, the president doesn't need more than 2 private jets. Abi how many can they fly at once? The ones the ministers got should be taken from them and sold immediately. The maintenance and parking fee for these jets alone is enough to start a new country. Whose money are they using to afford the unnecessary luxury? Anyway I trust Buhari. If Buhari could halve his salary and other income, he will surely see to it that these extravagance is cut abruptly. When there's no money to loot, people will desire less to want to be in governance. Watch how they'll all back out soon.

2. And did u hear that GMB is doubling as the minister for petroleum as well as being president? Eheheh

3. This comment has been removed by the author.

4. Sisi Eko my sister things will surely change. Yes we have too many PJ's in the country while poverty is the order of the day. Am sure some of the PJ owners has quickly sold theirs due to fear of probe. PMB don't even need private jet, let him continue to fly BA first class after all he said he is a servant leader but then again one madam man might threaten his life in a public airline reason PJ have become a necessity.
      I would like him to run NNPC or be minister of petroleum as president until he appoint a competent/ trusted person to run the department because if we need to close down on corrupt practices in government then we need to stamp out corruption in the our oil industry.

26. Madam u know where d money went. U just didn't eat alone, so do urself a favour and start calling names. Expose them b4 they abandon u like they did Ibori @some point. Be wise!

27. All of u throwing stones at her will even do more than her if actually she stole the money, judge not, let God be the judge. He alone will expose her when found guilty.

1. Her thieving is obtuse to say the least.

28. Fumming at how these people travel abroad for treatment. I can't even rant because tomorrow, some Nigerians will be gushing about her grand kids graduating from a foreign university.

29. She go knw when BABA hit ground!
    Sh even stole more than that!!!

30. Madam ruffled feathers when she started to move for change and to question status quo because she wanted to stem the wave of corruption. She was shouted down and then labeled the thief! This certainly looks like a blood-sport and like all sporting activity it will come to an end and you will be the winner

31. Madam ruffled feathers when she started to move for change and to question status quo because she wanted to stem the wave of corruption. She was shouted down and then labeled the thief! This certainly looks like a blood-sport and like all sporting activity it will come to an end and you will be the winner

32. Oh my days! lesson to women.Politics is not chewing gum.

I pray the Lord helps this woman. Those who misappropriated the money know themselves.

Like any relationship please before taking a role please please ask the Lord should I pursue?

She managed her previous job very well. Unfortunately this oil money get plenty fat rat weh name no fit b named.

Now you are sick. Oh Lord hear my compassion on her.

I pity all those who are hard on you.
    You are just the scape goat. You tot your silence and time will vindicate you.

It's not easy..

God bless Madame.

33. Madam ruffled feathers when she started to move for change and to question status quo because she wanted to stem the wave of corruption. She was shouted down and then labeled the thief! This certainly looks like a blood-sport and like all sporting activity it will come to an end and you will be the winner

34. As quoted by the minister “when we came in, there were those who felt that they were the lords of the manor, they owned the sector and they had a sense of entitlement about it. We felt on the other hand, that as much as possible that we should open up the oil and gas sector to all Nigerians.” Madam you don try - These lords of the manor or cabals will be brought to justice.

35. Ok! Innocent until proven otherwise.
    Get well soon.

36. If I hear...d monies found underground ur Bedroom nko?

37. Well done madam for taking the time to answer these questions. All of these nay-sayers on the internet and in the press are hired hands with no rational abilities. They have done no research and they have not reviewed any facts! Just singing the tunes taught to them with the incentive of dollars. All I will says to the people behind the mask is watch out as GMB will get to you and the smoke screens you are putting up will not hide you for much longer

38. People that live in glasshouses should not throw stones is so apt in the case of this lady. She has fought to empower Nigerians but many of these greedy fat cats are not satisfied and want to persecute her for not giving them more to steal away. And to deal with their disappointment they pay to execute a smear campaign. You have said it all madam these people will crash and burn once GMB takes hold of the ministry – enough said

39. Nigerians suffer from a disease called ITK (I Too Know)!!!! They are the eternal advisers, judge and jury! How can you label a human being of guilt when no official body has! God save us all from ourselves! Amen

1. Mumu dey dia dey talk nonsense. Official body ko,na lastma u go soon see. Pesin tif money u dey talk say dem be itk

40. By the time you're chilling your butt in jail you will know you stole it

41. O please Dieziani, please.......haba. Upon all your atrocities? Don't insult our intelligence here. Where is all the money Kola Aluko and Jide Omokore kept for you? The list is too long. You really disappointed a lot of women. Your own is too much. So because you want to put some boys like Walter and co in trouble you are now talking. Look, you are in deep shit o. Let me go and sleep small. This weather no gree me type.

42. So Who did Kolawole Aluko and Jide Omokore of Atlantic energy give all the monies to? both Oml 30, 42, 34 and even 26. What of Oml 60 ? who took all the monies without paying signature bonus?. That cancer will kill you o.....just confess

43. Ok Ma! How much have ypu stolen? if not $20bn