Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Alamieyeseigha Looted Fund Given To Bayelsa Govt

Monday, July 27, 2015

Alamieyeseigha Looted Fund Given To Bayelsa Govt

It was learnt at the weekend that more than £5 million recovered from the funds stolen by former Bayelsa State Governor Dieprieye  Alamieyeseigha was handed back to the state government in 2012.

Dr. Dalhatu Tafida, Nigeria’s retiring High Commissioner to the United Kingdom (UK) broke the news at the weekend in Birmingham where he spoke with the Nigerian community on the amount of stolen funds received from the UK by the Federal Government through its High Commission in London.

Tafida’s visit to Birmingham was part of a thank-you-tour as his tenure ends on August 15, after an eight-year stint as Nigeria’s chief envoy in the UK. He had earlier visited Manchester, Liverpool, Aberdeen, Glasgow, Newcastle and Belfast.

According to Tafida, the £5 million was received from the British authorities and handed over to two government officials from Bayelsa State, who came to London for the transfer.

He told his audience that the money was lodged in a Bayelsa State government account with the London branch of First Bank Plc.

Alamieyeseigha, who was impeached, tried and convicted, got a presidential pardon in March 2013 – courtesy of former President Goodluck Jonathan.

Justifying the clemency extended to Alamieyeseigha, a former presidential adviser to Dr. Jonathan, Dr. Doyin Okupe had told reporters in 2013 that the former governor was pardoned because he had been remorseful.

“He was tried, jailed and dispossessed of his property. He has been remorseful and there is no law against the granting of pardons to any criminal,” Okupe had said.

Alamieyeseigha was arrested at Heathrow Airport in September 2005 by the Metropolitan Police and initially remanded but later granted bail.

Source - The Nation

31 comments:

1. Hope they will use the money well. Because all these governors present and past they are all thieves.

1. Since 2012? Babe they've finished using the money already!

2. I congratulate Bayelsa State on this recovery of their money, hope they mange it judiciously so that no money will launder it again.

1. Larry, the money was returned in 2012, 3yrs ago! It's finished already!

2. No1 heard about the return then lmmaaoo, they probably split d money wit the tiff back then as they got it

3. English na my problem27 July 2015 at 12:56

Oloshi man!!!

4. I wonder why GEJ didnt pardon all the remorseful criminals who had done their time too. I just thank God for removing him and his goons. Bayelsan should pray that another person do not embezzle it again.

1. It's since 2012, they've embezzled it already!

2. GEJ couldn't have probed him. He made Jonathan what he is today, and Jonathan always acknowledges that fact.

5. Good!
    He should be relief of any political office.
    Thief.

6. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    They should lock his ass...

1. Did u read at all....olodo

7. And d purpose of this is? We know say na thief him be na

8. Good to know
    They should use the money well

9. Hello Stella how are you hope you are good. This is my first time commenting. Stella please I beg you with the name of almighty God, please don't allow this senseless @Chukwuemeka orewa bring this God forsaken madness of leaving long empty space in comment here please. I saw his empty comment on the other post, and I had to check if am in another blog, most of us that read other blogs knows that there is a particular blog that the Bvs comment with so much empty space and very good in insulting people as old as their parents at home anyhow. But please Stella, I beg you please don't allow the madness of empty space here biko. Thank you and have a blessed day.

10. Dr. Dalhatu Tafida while you are giving public speech about Alamieyeseigha's loot recovery and gaining recognition for yourself, kindly look into the ROT in Nigerian High Commission UK.

Nothing has changed since you became commissioner. Instead, services have dwindled from bad to worse.

The queues are endless, the staff are rude, disrespectful and uncourteuos, if you don't give bribe, nothing will happen. To get passport or visa, pay £300, to get even BVN, £30. Your website does not function and no phonecall is answered.

Dr. Tafida deserves an award as the worst High Commissioner ever. I am surprised that the discipline and efficiency of the British that you enjoy in the UK was not passed down to your staff. The Nigerian High Commission in the UK operates like a replica of any government ministry in Nigeria.

Utter shame!

I hope Buhari appoints someone reputable when you leave who can give a new lease of life to that High Commission.

1. The Nigerian High Commission in Ottawa (Canada) is probably worse! I wonder if the Abuja culture is imported into all our embassies worldwide.

2. The Nigerian High Commission in Canada is better than most. My family went to get new passports and it took less than an hour to get it done and the staff were polite .

11. Just remembered that his transgender pic. Hahaha Naija n drama

12. So what happened to the money??? Its a shame that Bayelsa state is still not developed till date, bad road, poor infastructures,lack of social amenities, poor people everywhere. Yet this money was handed over to the government. Who do I blame? Even the former president did nothing for his state. It's a shame!!!

13. If the money was given to them since 2012,why are you reporting it now?is it that it was not reported then?

14. And Jonathan gave him pardon , he has a thief Ole as mentor.

15. I hope they returned the 5 million with interest on it because 3 years interest on 5 million should not be less than 1.5 million pounds. All these Oyimbos too they use some advanced sense for us .Anyway, make the current governor self no use the recovered funds buy properties for abuja oo because na their way be that.

16. I hope they returned the 5 million with interest on it because 3 years interest on 5 million should not be less than 1.5 million pounds. All these Oyimbos too they use some advanced sense for us .Anyway, make the current governor self no use the recovered funds buy properties for abuja oo because na their way be that.

17. I hope they returned the 5 million with interest on it because 3 years interest on 5 million should not be less than 1.5 million pounds. All these Oyimbos too they use some advanced sense for us .Anyway, make the current governor self no use the recovered funds buy properties for abuja oo because na their way be that.