Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari charges Security Agencies To Save Nollywood From Pirates

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Buhari charges Security Agencies To Save Nollywood From Pirates

President Muhammadu Buhari has directed law enforcement agencies to step up their efforts to curb the menace of pirates in Nigeria’s entertainment industry so that artistes can enjoy the fruits of their labour.

President Buhari gave the directive after receiving a briefing from the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Information, Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan and her Directors Tuesday in Abuja.

“Nollywood is making progress. We should work with them. Unless they are backed, they will be ruined by pirates who want to reap where they have not sowed.
“They have built an industry with their own sweat. It is therefore incumbent on us to give them the necessary support,” President Buhari said.
He charged law enforcement agencies to identify the perpetrators of copyright piracy, their sponsors and collaborators, and bring them to justice.

President Buhari also charged the Nigeria Television Authority (NTA) and the Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN) to tap into the opportunities presented by their wide reach to shore up their revenue profiles.

51 comments:

1. Slow and steady..... Sai bubu...

2. NTA still dey exist? Rubbish station with their 1960s broadcasting format.

1. Lmao
      They should just close it down already.

2. Aw come Jayem n Goldscent stopped commenting @ d same time?

3. Ask Ben Bruce, the new voltron of the Senate, what happened to the digitalisation of NTA?

4. Anon are you insinuating they are.... well,lemme stay quiet for now

3. PMB don remember nollywood,dat's a good one....

1. Even d president dat was frolicking with nollywood people didn't do anything about piracy...shame!

4. The agencies security must dare to enforce the law and prosecute the piracy

5. Really! Then its a new dawn for nollywood, very good for them

6. Awwwwww. Where are all those who said Buhari will not pay attention to Nollywood? Una see now, you were all wrong.

The man is attending to everyone bit by bit. Honestly I'm surprised this is happening this soon, considering how full his slate is at the moment with more important stuff that need attention. Nice one Mr President.

7. Grandpa bubu is Nollywood pirates the important thing now?

1. Madam Lara, pls tell us what is the important thing now?

Don't know why people can't be appreciative.

8. Goodluck to those charged with bringing down the culprits

9. Replies
    1. Booty,nepa is on point. For almost a week now,at least 23 and half hours light.
      Before then,it was like 20 hrs a day.

2. Help me ask am ooo! Na that one we need pass sef.

10. Misplacement of priorities.
    That's is the hallmark of this Islamic government.
    Can't Alh Buhari face other more pressing problem facing the country.He should be thinking of at least how to solve the erratic power supply in the country. It has destroyed many businesses.
    Baba go slow is just chasing rats while his house is on fire.

1. Ur lack of intelligence must embarass ur parents assuming it's not a default gene.Has d undiluted idiot dat u'r asked urself how many businesses were destroyed under ur hero gej's 6yr reign?I've had so much light for d last 6weeks dat I even have to turn off my freezer 2 be able 2 remove stuff.Gtfoh u sob!

2. @ Money Maker, stop embarrassing the Christians. You are so full of hate and intolerance. What makes you a higher being than a Muslim? Your comments are so shallow, it's unbelievable.

3. No mind am,
      The power supply issue is so alarming.
      Nollywood piracy shld be d least on his priority list.
      Nawah!

4. @Cynthia N, low blow for money maker, lol... Default gene??? Awwww, extremely low blow.

Mary!

5. Cynthia, I am a very busy successful businesses man. I don't have time for people like you.

6. Businesses man yea? Issokay o.

11. Please Sir, are we supposed to be talking about Nollywood now or other important issues? Electricity supply in the country is nothing to write home about and you are here talking about Nollly wood. Let learn to prioritise first things first.

12. He's doing this to frustrate ibos cos they are the ones who will be affected. They r the ones who pirate. Baba goslow abeg park well

1. Please keep your mouth shut! You silly tribal bigot.
      Must you pirate? Can't you find an honest source of livelihood?
      If you are one of them, I hope you get caught soonest. You're not even ashamed to pen down such level of stupidity.
      Go and die!

2. Now I believe there are retards on this blog,smh,Tribalistic bigot

13. Please increase NYSC Allowee to 40k.

1. Everyone has where it is paining them. My take, NYSC should be scrapped. #Dasall

14. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Dope move no doubt....

15. Yorubawood and Kannywood also need protection from pirates not just Nollywood.

1. Nollywood is a combination of all of them so they are covered.

2. Rubylicious, don't misinform the public. Yorubawood and Kannywood is different from the more popular Nollywood.

16. If he knows nollywood then the baba still Sharp small

17. Just negodu this people,you want him to put all his fingers in a mouth at thesame time,so that you will brand him with another name?Baba go slow is ok,atleast slow and steady wins the race.

18. I love my president...long live baba.

19. What a pathetic move

20. And they didn't stand by him oo ride in Buhari slow and steady wins d race if I hear ppl call u baba go slow again ehn

21. Naija pple na wa 4 una ooo Ntn person do wey una go ever appreciate. Please if we all want dis country to move forward and progress then put religion and tribal issue aside cos bein tribalistic won't help any one of us. Buhari is not a miracle worker he is not even upto a year in d ofis yet u pple want him to perform miracle. Abeg it's one step @ a time slow and steady win d race. Let's just pray God give him d strength to turn tins around for dis country in a postive way. Stop d hate already haters

22. Honestly, I pity nollywood producers and actors. They just labour without favour.

But if I may ask, can't anybody issue a statement telling the Nigerian police to help curb the piracy menace? During the election period, people said that PMB will strengthen the executive, judiciary and legislative arms of govt. Is this the strengthening or am I to expect another?