Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Controversy Trails Death Of Benin Doctor; Family Accuses Wif

Monday, July 06, 2015

Controversy Trails Death Of Benin Doctor; Family Accuses Wif

Controversy is trailing the death of 49-year-old Dr. John Abode, a well established Benin doctor whose wife claims committed suicide inside his wardrobe last Tuesday. 

Dr John Abode was the Chief Consultant Gynaecologist and Managing Director of Hope Medical Centre, Benin City, and was also a staff of Edo State-owned Stella Obasanjo Hospital, hence the news that he committed suicide came as a shock for both his colleagues and family members since he was apparently doing well in his profession recently opened his private clinic.

Family members have disagreed with the claim by the wife that he committed suicide.

The widow was said to have informed the police that the deceased committed suicide in his wardrobe at about 12noon last Tuesday.

The Police Public Relations Officer in the state, Stephen Onwochei, who reacted to the incident, pointed out that before his men got to the scene, the wife had moved the lifeless body out of the wardrobe, adding that this made it difficult for the police to ascertain his exact position at the point of death.

However, the family and four pathologists swung into action last Saturday to conduct autopsy to  ascertain the actual cause of death.

It was learned that preliminary report indicated that  the deceased died as a result of cessation, which meant he might have used a belt to commit suicide or strangled by unknown persons.

The suspicion that the medical doctor may have been strangled became glaring when one of the police pathologists touched the rails used in building the wardrobe and they pulled out with ease, an indication that the rails could not have carried the weight of the deceased.

However, two of the pathologists have travelled to Lagos to conduct more test on the deceased but a family source said that the police must do their job properly.

‘’They should ask the wife how come when she claimed she saw the deceased body, she did not raise alarm to attract people. She waited from that afternoon till 7pm to inform the elder brother of the deceased.

“Our brother could not have committed suicide because he has no reason to do that. He just opened a very big hospital in Benin. And from the autopsy so far, it is clear that he was strangled.

‘’If he committed suicide in the wardrobe, how come the wardrobe is neatly packed? So the Police must investigate the wife seriously because we know they had issues in the past.

‘’Our brother did a surgery a day before his death, he was okay, so the claim that he committed suicide is rubbish,” a family member said.

*Original reportage by Vanguard, rewritten here *

Nawah ooooo!

107 comments:

1. It is well.
    One's enemy is sometimes a member of one's household.

1. Hmmmmm something is fishy - the truth will eventually come out. Rip

2. Y must it be the wife they suspect.
      Women don suffer...not saying is not possible tho

3. Na wa o...may his soul rest in peace

4. May his soul rest in peace. Only God really knows what happened in that wardrobe.

5. Only God who see things hidden in the sight of men knws. RIP

6. Benin girls fear them

7. To say cos the doctor opened a new hospital and is doing well he cannot commit suicide is lame ,bcos money doesn't bring happiness and he might have other psychological issues!
      His family members are just saying dis so them go see road hijack d man properties from the wife esp now I dat he died interstate(without a will)most likely *...na d plan be dat.#greedy pple#

8. Intestate...thank me later!

2. Our women re stepping up game by killing their husband. Evil set of pple some here will do worst.

1. I get sick and tired when they accuse the wife of suicide. It was the same thing about the pharmacist's case in Lagos. Just terrible. If the woman didn't move the body; they will say is it not strange that you didn't check to see if your husband was breathing. Now she has moved the body wahala. Now she has informed his family privately wahala. CAN A WOMAN BREATHE PLEASEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE?

2. Murder u mean

3. She was not supposed to move the body. Call the relevant authorities. She has already tampered with the evidence so it's gonna fall back on her. They should check his fingers for any sign of struggle cos if someone allegedly strangled him, he will put up a form of resistance. Same with the neck region.
      Don't understand why they are coming to Lagos to conduct more tests? Are they carrying the corpse around or what?

4. Abeg when u see a loved one laying lifeless, the first instinct would be to touch them or try to shake them to life. No one quickly thinks of it as a "crime scene" to be tampered with. It is only later that ur mind will start asking questions.

3. Oturugbeke!!
    So sad....
    So many raised points,, who wants the man dead?
    It's obvious he was strangled but by who????!!!

1. It is not entirely impossible for women to kill their husband's. As a matter of fact, I have a friend whose uncle was murdered by his wife and eldest son, reason being that the rich man was stingy towards them, and the eldest son had a big deal he needed hug money for, as popsi no de drop money, the decided to take him out. As much as am a feminist, am a realist too.

4. Nne your header says wif! Wife, 4 a min I thought it was WiFi. Rip to the dead.

5. This is serious!
    R. I. P doc

6. Replies
    1. How do u no? Are u her sister? Ur just mean

2. Nwanyi oma, it is "are the culprit" not is. Thank me now now, oya! The woman don kpai her husband, so many inconsistencies in her report. Umu nwayi ojor, juru na uwa now oh. Men better be careful.

3. Hmmmmm. Makes sense. But could b anybody.

7. I don't even know what to say.............

1. God will definitely judge whoever killed him . I don't c why he committed suicide now. he could v done that when Edith was cheating with a priest. Dats all I got to say...

8. Replies
    1. Singing *emancipate yourself from mental slavery... *

2. Singing it's too late, too too late.

9. Another one bites the dust. May his soul rest in peace.

10. Someone can be happy on the outside and still commit suicide later in d day nau. Anyways, they should investigate. Why Benin? Always Benin?

1. Always Benin cos nothing is ever natural there.there must be someone to blame .

2. Seriously no one commits suicide without displaying signs for some time including lamenting to the hearing of people openly indicating frustration. The young man was murdered. But by who? I don't know, for police to unravel. The woman's actions are suspicious hence she is a suspect and a man must be involved, paid or expecting reward

3. You are indeed very young and naive!

11. Maybe the wife may be to blame but how are the family members sure he wasn't extremely depressed enough to have committed suicide. Stress alone can push a human being through that route. Maybe work pressure or family pressure could lead to this sad end. Domestic abuse should not be ruled out. Nigerian police must blame someone........@Bia Bia🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏

1. Your head is there! One of d first sensible comments

2. Shey d wardrope na 2 story building? Try enter ur wardrope n hand ursef if ur feet will leave d ground. Or did d man strangle himself and den crawled dead into d wardrope? Or he hung himself after which he strolled into d wardrope 2 die? Unless he was poisoned/ drug overdose dat wardrope gist nor 4llow 4 suicide.

3. Wardrobe you mean right? You actually need to read your comments before posting, English no be by force

4. @tessbaby You think like a man always. Nice observation

5. Wardrobe darlin, wardrobe. A place where 'pepLON' hangs.

6. Thinking intelligently means thinking like a man abi? Stupid chauvinistic comment.

12. Wetin person no go hear. I hope the police get to the root of the matter.

13. Hmmm.nawa o.
    As much as i dont like this fingers always pointing to a wife whenever a husband commits suicide,i still wish that if truly the woman is guilty,that she be found out and punished.

Looks like they didnt have kids.
    Rest in Peace doctor

14. Strange! Strange!

15. Chai this woman don enter o. See accusation... hmmm I pity her already.

1. If the deceased is from Benin ehn... she will be sorry and she will regret the day she got married. The wife should better pray that the police find her guilty even if she is not because when your typical Benin inlaws believe you had a hand in the death of any of children.... Immediately police complete their investigation; the family will start their own and trust me when I say only God can save this woman then.

2. U don't say. So even if she's innocent now she's still going to suffer for it? If the man is from Benin? Waooo

16. It isn't news that most benin women kill their husbands.but d police should conduct full investigation.may his soul rest in peace.

1. Shes marryd to a benin man dont mean shes benin o! Poc most benin men sef are horrible

2. Fools....Dr. John is not a bini man he is frm owan east LGA dis makes him an Ora man

17. Some women sha. May his soul RIP

18. Hmmmmn
    Wicked World
    If she has a hand in his death which I reason in that path, she has no other option but to face the law. And you know say benin nor dey take lasyt for the spiritual level which them go use follow am sha

19. Osetigo, more news to come. RIP Dr
    Sharumi

20. They should question the wife very well.

21. This is serious.That man did not commit suicide,sombody strangled him.

22. Hnmm only God knows what really happened.

23. Everything Na wife Na wife

If Na woman die,who dey accuse the husband?

The God that sees and knows everything will bring his killers to book....But if he died a natural death, then.too bad

24. I don't blame the wife o, the way these 9ja men cheat and lie is on another level. I feel like strangling my hubby most times.

1. Pls don't. Separate from him for sometime if it gets so bad. You don't have to bother about what anybody has to say. You owe no one an explanation cos your happiness is paramount

They have to conduct an unbiased investigation because from the statement that the couple had issues in the past, it seems as if the man's family has already concluded and that's not fair at all. There are so many possible angles to every incident

2. And show me a couple that do not have issues momentarily. It is ignorant of the family member to say such. Cos they had issues in the past doesn't mean she killed him.

25. Wow,this is sad dr amode quiet ,cute and easy going man,he thought me in medical school.this is bad.

1. He thought you or taught you? And u went to medical school?

2. Hehehe. I almost forgot that most science students no dey sabi English. Na 40℃ dem sabi.

3. I "taught" at least a credit in English is now a mandatory requirement for students to be admitted into med school .

4. Lynday abeg go sleep. Cos you still manage detect error. U are blabbing. Like you have never made a mistake before. All theses correcter is worstest. U just might be terrible at English oh

26. Na wa o

Please click on my name, read and comment. Thanks

27. Rip to the dead but to decipher this issue I think the families of the deceased should let the police do their job.

28. Na wa o! No matter what anyone says, I still know that Nigerians don't commit suicide no matter what... make dem investigate d matter well...

1. I concur! Nigerians aren't known to be suicidal. Haba, Nigerian that have enduring spirit, in fact, most Nigerians have endurance as their middle name. People just kill odas, and blame it on suicide.

2. I used to think that too. But not anymore. I have seen a few instances of those who actually committed suicide. Incidents I wouldn't want to relive.

3. what make u so sure Nigerians don't commit suicide.........u can only know if you so wish to know, we are humans u no and anything can happened, pls folks understand alot of Nigerians ave die either depression or suicide,, Eg: 2010 i notice a final yr student committed suicide after he he found out he got 18 carryover and was force 2 be initiated into campus Cult.. i have seen that

29. Only God knows. This is terrible. People tend to kill or take their life's with ease this days

30. Na waooo! U never know with women!

31. Rubylicious I never sight ur comment, abi u still dey sleep ni.

Anyway may d soul of the man rest in perfect peace. Amen

32. RIP Doctor. I pray you find solace in the hands of God. i hear say in Benin, na only women be landlady.. it is hard for men to be alive there is it true.

I want to RANT.

I need the rant to fall on weekdays ooo. I have not participated before. That is my rant for now.

I thank God for everything.

33. Short of words,may his soul rip

34. Too much episodes of "Snapped"

RIP Dr.

35. A rich man married to a benin woman ends up dead before his time! Go to 50houses in benin and you'l meet at least 48landladies with 46having dead husbands and 2having built the houses themselves. They normally use juju so am surprised this one went the way of strangulation.

1. You sound so foolish. Okponu. From ur surname am sure u are ishan d ancestral home of witches n wizards

36. May his soul rest in peace. He actually treated my Mum in Benin and didn't collect money because she was broke. He was a lively man, she says. So sad...

37. jizox!...onye k'o ga kolu nke a?...hmmm make she bera go gada bera lawyers to help am ooh!..dis mata don pass dont b silly.

38. I don't get why Nigerians always stress about cause of death, with autopsy you can find out what killed your person .R.I.P

39. Na so one babe for my area boil water, pour pepper inside locate her hubby inside room come pour am for him body arnd 11pm few days ago just cos d guy catch am say she lie say she go pick children for sch, only God kw where she waka go. Guy wey she born 3pikin for, wey build better house, open business for you.. Even if him dey cheat, no be to waka or stay for ur kids? Scatter d guy body finish come run commot house that night leave her children. Them no tell me o i see am korokoro..... Women!!

40. Abeg make Dem useless family free the woman joor!!!

Nonsense!

41. I know this Late Doctor Abode very well, he is from Ora in Owan west, he has the first private hospital (Hope Med. Centre) in my hometown, Igueben, Edo state.
    Three things are highly suspected here. Withches from his Village, His WIFE, his ex gf
    - He married a wrong wife who snatched him from his ex gf.
    - Several assasination attemts has been made on him(mid 90s to Early 2000) but he escaped.
    - in 2009, His wife was accused of sleeping with a newly ordained Rev Father in Igueben(name withheld) and the Rev Fr went On Air (EBS Radio) to deny it.
    - In 2010, he was shut at night bt assasins in his lower abodomen and was rushed to Irrua Specialist Teaching Hospital where he was given a highly intensive treatment (heard his wife was never allowed to see him privately in that hospital)
    - around 2012 - 13, he sold his duplex in Igueben (attempted to sell his hospital too) and relocated to Benin to establish another hospital.
    News of his death came last week and the whole people of Igueben have been in shock as we lost a a stranger who latter became a son of the soil and title Chief. RIP Dr J.A. Abode.

1. Ahh, the man head dey dia be that. If lawyers get hold of all these facts, the woman might go free jare. Nine lives but didn't get to the ninth.

2. Reminisce, go free ke? Or implicate her further. With the sexual accusation and tussle btw his ex GF, she'll have to prove her innocence very well o. Even the ex will be implicated

42. Na Wah oooo. R-I-P to the dead

43. @love me jeje and @moses Asamaijor Abode is a benin name? dumb heads!!!!

44. It is a shame that with all the enlightenment dat dis generation has we can still come to conculsions without facts.rely think about dis y would the family member of the mans people go and comment on a newspaper if dey r not interested in property.How can vanguard be so sure he was doing well in his professtion.do dey know how the hospital even was completed.how do dey know dat it was 12 noon she saw him.and the most important fact u don't know wat the man has been thru.pls if u don't hav betta thins to do.i advice that you let the almighty God have the final say in this matter

45. Besides i know him very well with the wife and children.This man is successful and his family has neva bin owk with the fact that his wife would enjoy everything.this wife has put her life for the man not even thinking of herself.wen he went to further his education she stopped hers so his dreams could be realised.they hav bin against them since day one.if they rely care about the man why can't they consider the children and kip it low.they all want to collect where dey did not sow.they succeeded the last time in falsely accusing the wife.and dey think now dey can do it again.Her God is alive and he will fight for her!!

46. Stella ..u were given false information. I work with the same hospital..all d pathologist arrived at d same conclusion dat d deceased must hav committed suicide. Moreover d late Doc Abode has not bin regular in d office due to his medical depression condition.He was even issued quarries frm d hospital to com and face panel days before he was said to hav committed suicide. The so called wife has been d one coming to d hospital to plead on her husbd behalf on several occasions.

1. Are you the wife? Hian!

heres my classic off point response:

Uncle I didn't make it today. I just got back with my boss. I should re-schedule for break time tomorrow pls