Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Students Arrested In Malaysia Over N125.2m Internet Scam

Tuesday, July 07, 2015

Nigerian Students Arrested In Malaysia Over N125.2m Internet Scam

Five Nigerian students have been arrested and detained in Malaysia over alleged involvement in an internet fraud amounting to N125.2 million (RM2.4 million) in Selangor and Kuala Lumpur.

The five students, aged between 20 and 30, studying Information Technology courses in a leading private college in Kuala Lumpur, were arrested on June 30, 2015, in different areas in the country, including Petaling Jaya, Cyberjaya, Damansara and Kuala Lumpur.

Following the arrest of the five students, police also detained two local women, aged 40 and 55, who are the owners of the accounts used by the syndicate, said Penang Commercial Crimes chief.

ACP Azmi said police also seized five laptops, 20 smart phones, ATM cards, SIM cards and documents believed to have been used to con their victims.

He said police launched “Operation Merpati” after receiving a report from the owner of an ice block producing factory in George Town who claimed he had been cheated by the syndicate.

The 62-year-old victim said he received an e-mail from the syndicate in March, informing him that he was among 50 recipients selected to receive RM15.9 million from the government of the United States.

“The e-mail requested the victim to follow certain procedures to ensure he did not miss the opportunity.

‘’Convinced by the contents of the e-mail, the victim carried out 51 transactions involving money, to accounts numbers given by the syndicate before realising it was a scam. He later lodged a police report,” he said.

Azmi said initial investigations revealed that the syndicate had conned several victims to the tune of RM2.4 million.

Police have also found transactions involving up to RM1 million that were banked in a neighbouring country.

Culled: Vanguard

MALAYSIA???..OMG who will save them?I hope they dont kill them cos this is my fear with Asian countries,they dont waste time in wasting a lives!

29 comments:

1. See the hungry dry looking police man sef, no mercy for him face

2. Yea,me too.my heart skipped Wen i saw d headline.
    let dem face d law.no backyard killing.

*humming Osuofia's Song: i go Chop ur dollar*

1. Lol. U n dis ur heart again. Is it only Nigerians that re involved in dis yeye scam thing or its just d fact that we only get 2 hear about ours? The tin don too much jor. Maybe this countries should introduce instant killing then we go hear word small.

2. Tess baby,why should they introduce instant killing for scam?...
      Na Mugu fall guy man chop biko...
      Asia people are the main fraudsters sef...

3. When will this people stop bringing shame to Nigeria and Nigerians.

4. Yea u r right SteLla nwunye Korkus; dey dnt waste time in "wasting a lives".

1. LMAO na so I crash tire yesterday until one anon came 2 my rescue. Lol.

5. If na me dupe this kind money I for don run back to Nijja, these boys are not smart at all.

6. Another Internet scam
    Wow
    Even their local women are in the deal too
    Hmmmmmmmmmm

1. You just repeated the post without adding any contributions of your own,get busy Efe,commenting on a blog is not by force,olodo.

7. Our boys dont hear word. It is better than carrying drugs self. At least they will spend 20 years in prison and come back home in handcuff than coming back in a coffin.

8. Save them from what? Only God can abeg. Didn't they listen to and watch d news of d ones who were executed? Why won't they learn n stop committing crimes ehn?

9. No witch in their villages cause this one. Ndi-mmadu na Luxury! luxury!! Luxury!!!
    What shall it profit a man to gain the whole world...

10. If dey kill dem dey die go na. Will it deter others frm doing same?
    Msteeeew

11. Chicken finally come roost (if true)

Fraud, con artist and Yahoo are not "being sharp or smart" or "running tins"

BITTER TRUTH
    They are thieves pure and SIMPLE!

12. After some pple will come n say Nigerian govt should speak for them, that 62yrs old man can be their grandpapa but greed has blindfolded their eyes to see that. If found guilty pls malay do the needful, these ones cause trouble any where they are whether home or abroad.

13. If you do the crime, you must be ready to do the time!!!

14. Good for them! May d law follow it's due course on dem.

15. Every day is for the thieves, a day is for the property owner. Same is applicable to Ikorodu Banks robbers who were later caught at Okitipupa. See their loot and their faces here - http://folabright.blogspot.com/2015/07/we-are-not-led-by-any-woman-ikorodu.html?m=1

@SDK, weldone

16. The ones nigerian leaders dey scam us daily nko ,which scam pass that one ,na oyibo do scam pass ,na oyibo push drugs pass yet na nigeria name they their mouth pass

17. You guys are all saying rubbish...your leaders still everyday and you watch them go unpunished, the whites come here and exploit us. now its our turn to pay them back.