Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari Suspends Nigeria Immigration Boss After Terrorist Is Issued Visa

Saturday, August 22, 2015

Buhari Suspends Nigeria Immigration Boss After Terrorist Is Issued Visa

David Parradang, head of the Nigeria Immigration Service, has been suspended by President Muhammadu Buhari effective Friday.

The deputy comptroller general, Martin Abeshi, will take over while Mr. Parradang is on suspension, according to the News Agency of Nigeria and Premium Times.

While no immediate reason was cited, the suspension comes just two days after Vanguard reported that President Buhari has ordered an investigation into the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The investigation concerns the issuance of a Nigerian visa to Ahmad al-Assir, a notorious cleric supporting Islamic State or ISIS. Al-Assir was arrested last Saturday at Beirut’s Rafik Hariri International Airport, where he was attempting to leave for Nigeria via Cairo. He was in possession of a fake Palestinian passport and a legitimate Nigerian visa.

The anonymous Ministry of Foreign Affairs official who told Vanguard of the probe mentioned, “The reported arrest of the wanted terrorist is a huge embarrassment to Nigeria and the president has directed that the matter should be investigated.”

The official also said that Nigerian embassies are supposed to keep track of wanted persons in the country they service. “We are amazed that such a high profile terrorist would evade our radar. This is a major breach that cannot be allowed to go without investigation.”

The official furthermore mentioned the additional concern raised by the fact that Boko Haram pledged allegiance to ISIS in March of this year.
Al-Assir had been wanted since 2013 when his followers fought a two-day gun battle with Lebanese soldiers, killing 18 of them. He was reportedly recruiting members for ISIS to join the ongoing fighting in Syria.

SR

Fake passport with Legit Nigerian visa?The whole of Immigration should be overhauled ASAP!!!

25 comments:

1. May God save us in dis country. Only in naija u hear such nonsense too bad

1. Presidency has said this is not the reason why he was suspended.

2. Anything goes in this dark country...

3. See disgrace. God don catch the immigration people. They just issue visas anyhow to foreigners. As long as your skin is light, u be oyinbo for their eyes. Even as popular as Osama was, these blocked heads would have given him visa free of charge. Incompetent lot.

Meanwhile HBD to u my dear Stella. You know I love you anyhow. The best is yet to come.. from glory to glory and from grace to grace. God bless u darling.

2. OK. Noted.
    But this man is just a scapegoat.
    Baba GoSlow should be going after boko haram and their sponsors . whom he should know.

1. But another terrorist can enter the country?

Money maker change biko

3. It's a very good decision n move

4. The Presidency has issued a denial about this.
    He was suspended for irregularities in employment of people into the Immigrations.
    He didn't obtain approval before doing so and even after be warned to regularise it, he refused doing so.

It's only a suspension sha not termination.

1. Exactly.

That suspension would soon be changed to termination.
      For whatever reason he was suspended, the immigration department needs a change. A total change.

5. Nigeria is a country where anything can happen.

1. The rot in NIS is on another level, the officers are so corrupt without fear or shame.
      Happy Birthday Stella, may you and your generation never lack helpers and may God always meet you at your point of need.

6. I concur absolutely. All they know is to collect 300k for employment. Legit Nigeria passport na egunje. That shows if Osama bin Laden request for how visa dey cold have offered him gladdenly and he would come to settle on Obudu ranch. Corruption, Corruption!

1. Chai, same thing I said up there before reading ur comment o. They would have given Osama Vip entourage to enter Nigeria sef... crazy

7. Singing.. Which way Nigeria..

8. Sacking him alone is not fair. There are some officers that should be sacked too. Na so dem dey collect money dey allow ple enta Naija via Maiduguri border.

9. Somebody has to take responsibility. This is something Jonathan didn't know. Holding ppl accountable . Paradang and Abba Moro would have been issued a suspension or a sack after the fraudulent botched immigration recruitment saga. It's high time ppl heading agencies and ministries are made to take responsibility whether good or bad. It's not only to enjoy the goodies of the office. If things go wrong, u either resign or be sacked pending investigation. #behonourable #beaccountable

10. Happy birthday Ma,age with Grace