Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle of Blog Visitor Narrative.

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Chronicle of Blog Visitor Narrative.

Is it possible to be married without observing due process?

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
WHEN A HUSBAND REFUSES TO PAY THE BRIDE PRICE

Hi Stella,

This email is a long time coming. I have held myself back time without number from sending this in. Usually I comment as anonymous and read your blog daily. I never imagined I’d do this but my problem is beginning to eat me up! You can see by the time I am sending this email that I can’t even sleep. I need blog visitors to help me reason this out. No cussing please, because I know y’all are mouthed lol

Here goes…. Hubby and I have been married for 6 years, blessed with 2 gorgeous boys but he still has not paid my bride price and it is driving me crazy now. I know the next question would be how is that possible since we are married? The story is we live in the US, got married there by registry with our parents’ consent with the plan of coming home later that year or the next to do the white wedding and traditional wedding. Now it’s been 6 years, 2 kids no dowry paid still and I don’t even see any plan or assurance from his side of the family. I don’t even care about the white wedding but the traditional wedding is really important.

Stella, sharply he wanted me to change my surname and all documents to his name. I wanted my surname to be a compound name but he blatantly refused. Okay, so after our wedding i changed everything. I don't think some men really understand what it takes for a woman to drop everything she used to be known by to acquire a new status (i'm the modern type lol).

You know how we women are? This thing is killing me. My husband reads your blog so I hope he sees this. He needs to do the needful soon. I’m saying this because I am tired, I know I am not properly married. I feel even so bad for my parents because they have really tried to be understanding since we live in diaspora. But now I am beginning to think what sort of mess have I brought upon them? It is really embarrassing to me not to talk of their daughter who now has 2 kids for a man that hasn’t paid her bride price.

My husband is a good man in fairness to him but this is something I don’t understand right now. When we got married I actually waited for 2 years before having kids with him so that we can do the needful. Then we could travel without too much logistics but now with 2 kids under the age of 3 it is going to be really difficult travelling and twice as expensive even.

Might I add that I am married to an igbo man but I am not igbo myself. It was very hard to get his parents to accept me. So this makes me even feel worse. I communicate with my parent in-law weekly but they have never assured me or even spoken about plans to pay my bride price. My father in law once said to me that the only marriage he recognises is the traditional marriage. Is this a punishment for me marrying their son?

Financially, we are doing okay. Things could be better because we are high achievers but God has been good to us so I can’t complain. There are people in far worse situations that have paid their wife’s bride price. I always imagine the married market women and those hawking pure water i see on the streets whenever i visit Nigeria surely must have had their bride price paid. My situation is no were near that, I am highly educated and brought up to very high standards. I just feel so ashamed in the mist of my friends knowing that my bride price has still not been paid. I have been the most understanding wife as regards this. Earlier in the marriage I used to bring it up and he would get really upset telling me that he has to save for it, other times he would assure me.

I left it for a few years in order not to pressurize him but it is even worse because I don’t even hear of a plan. Stella, I am not an igbo girl so my bride price where I am from is not expensive at all. I have even assured him that I prefer it low keyed. 

Please blog visitors what do I do? I am not a happy woman right now. Each time I remember this issue it spoils my whole day. If I am not happy how does he expect me to make him happy? I look at my kids and feel even worse knowing that their dad hasn’t done his traditional rites. 

When I am washing, cooking and cleaning in the house I feel so sad because this man has not put the respect on me yet. I am not the expensive type, I work hard to contribute to my home front, so what is the problem? Please if there are any BV experiencing this please share and advice me on how to go about this issue.

Thanks.

213 comments:

1. Love is not selfish
      Oga if you love your wife, make her happy by doing what will make her happy. Go pay that bride price. Thank you

2. You say you are a modern woman yet the fact you havent done trad is what is killing you? Are you a christian? If so how can you say the white doesn't bother you, its the trad? You don't care that you are not married before God but you prefer a traditional bride price ceremony to make you feel married. Some people don't have problems... Do you read the chronicles on this blog? People are going through thinngs! Its not like the man doesn't acknowledge you, you did court.. Relax! Ffs! Local narrative.

3. I don't comment but for u I had. As Igbos from which ever state,if ur bride price hasn't been paid,u r not a wife traditionally.
      U can't participate in anything from dat community. God forbid,but if something bad happens to either of u,hmm. For instance,we ur hubby dies,u won't b recognized as his wife n ur kids won't b seen as his. Everything he owns 'll go to his family.
      If u die,dey 'll v nothing to do with ur corpse.
      As u r even alive,dey v nothing to do with u. My dear,back home u r just a baby mama o. Talk to ur hubby,beg him,let him do d needful.
      As God 'll v it,it can b done in absentia anywhere in Igbo land. All d best dear

4. As at the time you both got married, who was a US citizen, you, himself or both of you? If you were the only citizen then he married you for the papers. Igbo people DO NOT JOKE with traditional marriage rites so something's not right...

5. This is what happened to my parents. They have been married almost 40 years. They got married in lagos. Wiv just few family members. Dad and mum are Okpe and yoruba respectively. Some years back my mum's friend who she met while she was working, the man left active work to become a full time pastor. So she met him again after he left service. He immediately told my mum to give to ceasar what belongs to ceasar and that the holy spirit says she and my dad did not do traditional marriage. My mum did not take it serious and said after all she has done church, until 2 years ago when another pastor said my dad must go and pay bride price. My dear, they travelled home o. The reason was because some elders were not happy about it and swore that we her children will be affected. According to this elders, when my mum's father was alife, he was the head of the family and per took in everybody's bride price. So the younger elders felt offended that my mum never bothered to come home and do proper engagement. After my parents did everything. You need to see the way doors were opening. It was unbelievable to think something as little as bride price can stiffle someone's progress.

Note this story is not for those nigerians who do not see beyond their nose and the ones that know book more than Einstein. It's for the spiritually inclined people. On this note, madam tell your husband to give unto ceasar what belongs to ceasar. You are not a married woman. U are just a concubine. That's the truth!

6. Exactly. The man should do the needful. Without payment of dowry, the man is a debtor. If it's in my place, those kids belong to the woman's family

7. Anon 15:24, read the Bible, traditional marriage (paying of brideprice) is very recognized.

8. Anon 15:54 note that even d bible recognised dowry payment. Show me a place in d holy book where white wedding is written? It's Notin but a borrowed practice.

Dear poster, consider urself a baby mama in fact if u dey go my church u would've been disfellowshiped on d grounds of furnication. His Dad already told u d truth so plead wit ur man whole heartedly 2 do d needful. Kpele.

9. My dear..u can do absential weddin naa..both parent without u guys..3 of my sister did it..shikena

10. To those saying she is legally married and bla bla bla, its either you are not married or you dont know the traditions and taboos in your place.
      Ask questions before you walk into what will consume you.
      Madam poster in my place as your case is at the moment you cant accept mother of the bride items traditionally if your own daughters hand in marriage was sort for, until your husband pays yours else you die.
      Generally till date the bride price itself is 5nir watever else is added is according to the family of the bride as they please and they will tell you outright. Even the bible says give unto ceasar what belongs to ceasar.
      The reason for this is because whatever treatment you met out to your wife will be reciprocated by the gods of the land. Treat her well and you flourish, beat her at your peril. On the dowry day you will be told she is given in marriage to you and not sold, So you dont own her and btw also when she dies you seek the consent of her kinsmen before u bury her in your place else her corpse returns home. Shikena

11. @anon 15:54. In my church and some others I know, they won't join you if you've not been married traditionally.

12. Anon 15:54 educated illiterate. Born again who dsnt know the bible. White wedding is borrowed. The dowry is what God and man accept. Even pentecostal churches do not wed a man who owes traditional rites to his wife's family. That comes ist b4 d borrowed white dress culture.

13. Babe, r u a U,S. Citizen?
      That man is being nice so you will be married to h8m long enough for him to get his papers. I'm IBO so I know what .my people do for U.S. green card. He has plans to marry another person in future n his family r aware. The man is wicked. He made u change the name on your documents. If u have more than him, Na u go lose after divorce. Send him the link to this cchronicle then give him an ultimatum of wedding this DDecember. Babe b smart or u will b a single mum soon. There are many in your shoes. Even if he does d tradional,, it is already obvious tha5 he has plans. Mark my words. Such men can marry a woman 30 years older sef. Its your papers he is after. Nigerian women in america should stop letting men use them for papers in d name of love

2. SDK chronicle.
    Let me read first.
    Brb.

1. Poster it's obvious the family is still not in total support of the relationship u and Dh share. Try telling him that u will leave with ur kids if he does not pay ur bride price soonest.
      But u fucked up sha! Born 1, no bride price. U then add another one still yet no bride price. Madam u be abroad desperado.

2. Viv you are a lazy ass shit. Damn.

3. Amaka, most times eh, second belle no De give warning o.....

4. Yeah...I will go with Nwa Amaka. Nne ya on point.

5. You have dashed him yourself. Can he try it with his igbo sisters? If I were you I would have threatened to abort the baby. Madam let him pay your bride price. You don't have to be in Nigeria to get it paid. Let his family go to yours and carry your children and waka! Why are they taking so long to accept you? Are you less human? I hate all these tribalistic people. You sef dem no accept you you still marry na by force? Mr husband please take away shame from your wife and dp the needful. And lemme advice you, if she's from Akwa Ibom or Calabar you better run to Naija and pay her bride price else they'd kill her and make you marry her corpse. Na that time you go sabi body.

6. You are very correct,he dear not try that with his igbo sisters

3. Jesus fix it!

********LONG LIVE SDK & SDKERS*******

1. Be claiming modern woman there...compound name ko,garage name ni...when u know u r a modern woman,why r u concerned about traditional marriage then?

1. I understand why he didn't pay first.

Oga is it that you want to go to nigeria to do a party or something and you don't have the means yet? Both families can come together and do the rites without your presence.

Make this woman happy please.

Stella for my place, if you're pregnant before marriage no bride price for you till you give birth.

A relative did it and refuse to go and pay after 4kids. MIL came one day to pack her daughter and the kids. The guy run go pay.

2. @La fresh, r u from Edo state?

3. Most def Edo if I am not mistaken Esan or Ishan

5. This your story just weighed me down. I feel bad for you. Pele.

1. This bride price issue sef, you both don't need to be there. I wasn't there when mine was paid na. Just send the money home...

6. Since your DH is a blog visitor. Oga please go and pay your woman pride price. Do you derive pleasure in seeing her depress.

1. Poster, u and ur husband dnt need to come down to Nig before ur pride price can be paid. Some elders of his family can go to see ur family and do d necessary things. D stuff can be monetised instaed of buyid dem. It is like u re frm edo state

2. Lol. Which blog visitor. What is his I.D.
      If at any time my wife makes our secret public in this kind of forum.
      I would go on a Husband strike for 1 year. What effrontery does she have to seek advice from shadows that can be quenched by light.

Just saying#

3. d funnt thing is, if you are yoruba, the bride price is not expensive at all, the groom is only ask to bring what he has,(cause according to them there child is not for sale) so no excuse from your husband as to why he can't afford the bride price.

4. G_Pharm, if you aren't listening to your wife, I wonder what you'd expect.

5. @ Mrs D_dont mind G_Pharm, just take note of him, all his comments are so pointless, brainless. Its his wife I pity
      #waiting to read her chronicles#

6. Wetin g-pharm dey talk... Hisss

7. G pharm after six years and u dnt support her posting it here hmm u must have a heart of ajeokuta steel. Poster if possible table it to Efcc. Oga sure say u no be Anambra man cos ur ppl hate marrying from outside. Mma anyi si

8. G pharm after six years and u dnt support her posting it here hmm u must have a heart of ajeokuta steel. Poster if possible table it to Efcc. Oga sure say u no be Anambra man cos ur ppl hate marrying from outside. Mma anyi si

7. The one you have done is the real marriage all others are for show.

Come to Nigeria and see how many of your sisters are begging for court marriage. What you have done now has made you and the kids the legal heirs incase of anything.

We don't even know what is right women

1. Poster what u have done is the real marriage ooo.im a lawyer I know what I'm saying.so white people black Americans,Britons do dey pay bride price?Abeg court registry n church is ok.

2. I beg to differ anon 15:07, we are Africans dont ever forget that. Paying bride price is a way of honouring the lady and her family if not trust me, churches would have been kicking against it. Mr Husband, are you sure that ibu ezigbo nwa afor? Do the right thing and give this woman peace and respect. Is she asking for Eya (kalabari final marriage) that you need to save up for? 6years? Wickedness is in different shades sha. Madam, please involve your parents. They did not train and bring you up for a man to disrespect you like this.haba. The woman changes her name, changes her home, has body changes when she bears children. the least you can do is make it worth her while. Na wa.

3. Oh please. It is the husband's duty to go pay the wife's dowry. It's better your man pays your dowry & do the court. White wedding is not all that Material....but its important bcuz it is the church that joins you.

4. Abeg o, we are Africans, we pay brideprice

5. What is the benefit of paying brideprice? Was the man not trained by his own parents? We will be the same ones promoting ownership of women then the same ones complaining when abuse starts

6. She's not fully married without the payment of bride price. Even the Bible recognises it, church wedding is a borrowed culture. Most of our mothers never did church wedding. So please husband pay her bride price and let her have peace of mind.

8. Oooo, so sad. I think you guys need to talk about it. Sit him down and tell him the needful, you are truly not his wife because you are recognized anywhere among his family, and if something is to happen, his family may end up collecting your kids and you will just be a baby mama. Please handle it with excessive care to avoid crashing your marriage. God bless you.

1. For where, they will collect which kids. They live in America boo, there are laws there. Unless they kidnap them if she comes to nigeria. Then it will not be easy for them cos the kids are American citizens.

2. Keep quiet u guys just HUSH,plsssss Court Marriage is d MAIN Marriage.dowry is just tradition.come to court and see women dat just did traditional marriage being messed up.

3. Actually the kids have more rights now because they were probably born on American soil and their parents marriage was registered legally in America. This woman is disturbed bcos she even knows a culture like trad bride price exists, her kids won't give a heck about no damn bride price.

9. Replies
    1. I won't change my name for anyone else name.. My name is my space. The kids can take ur name.. Times are changing..

10. Poster shut up and get real.
    Why has he refused to pay your bride price?

Have you started manifesting some terrible xter that has made your husband's folks to drag their feet towards this brideprice ish?

You know the truth and I put it to you that you have not laid all the cards on the table to enable a healthy judgement

If you are a good lady without fault, this will never be and can never be an issue.

1. Shut up!
      Jst shuuuuttttt uuuppppp!!!!!!
      Gosh

2. Shut up. Why must u accuse her? What she wrote up there doesn't make sense to you? She said they're living happily but this issue weighs her down and yet you're stupidly asking her what she has done wrong. Conveniently shifting the blame to her. God punish naija mentality.

3. Shut your fucking mouth u blog piece of shit!! How dare u be so fucking judgemental?? Who do u think u are u fat black blob???!!

Poster, since it's important to u, tell him again. I for one know how important it is in igbo land

4. How can you just come to that conclusion?! You seem very bitter. May God help you.

5. Let he who has never committed any sin among you, cast the first stone!

6. U shut up ur smelling pussy@blog lord.are u perfect.so bcos she's wt fault she dosent deserve 2 have her brideprice paid.am sure u are nt married.dumbass.

7. ....and i'm guessing you are a good lady without FAULT...mtcheeew

8. Oh please shut up already. Your comment is senseless bitch.

9. @Blog Lord, really? It has to be the woman"s fault? Your comment wasn't nice at all and sounds very judgemental. My parents had the same issue. My dad never completed the traditional rites. They had 4 kids by the time he finally did the needful. My mum was bitter all those years but No One knew why my father dragged. They were actually compelled in the church to do it. And my dad happens to be an Elder and knight. I was 28 when the rites were concluded. And my dad is well to do so it wasn't money. Neither was it because of my mum's 'bad character'. So don't judge if you dont know the story.

10. Bloglord, did u write dat comment urself ? ?? soo to u for her bride price not to have been paid, she must have done something wrong ������! are u for real ? or dat thought came frm ur anus ? ?? did u ask urself why d husband insisted she change her name ? Woman, wake up!

11. @bloglord why r u talking like this? So if she has suddenly become a bad woman his action is justified abi?that thing u wrote up there,not nice all. By right dowry payment is d 1st marriage milestone in most cultures around d world...he's not doing her a favour,its her right
      Poster try and convince that man to do d needful,ask ur dad to call him and talk to him,except there's smthn he's nt telling u

12. So all of you attacking Bloglord have not made a negative comment on this blog before abi...
      Mtcheeewwwwwwww...

13. Read again and make a better comment

14. Your not ok serzly. Where is your empathy!! Your just a stupid bitch. Go and get a life cynical bitter bitch!! You must be reasoning from ur anus @ blog lord

15. BL that's very mean of you.
      Hian.
      Which one is good lady without faults? Who is without faults? I don't think it's her fault at all.

Oga, please go and pay her bride price. Are you from Imo state?

16. I used to respect you before but with this your comment, you lost a fan.

17. Blog Lord you are just a fool for making that comment. So mean

18. Haba, bloggie not a nice thing to say. You just practically judged her. Hmmm
      Posters husband, nna biko do the needful.

19. BL, not like it matters as we are all faceless, but what you wrote up there is quite insensitive. My dear, you've been sounding frustrated for the past few days, I hope all is well? The Lord be with you.

Poster, please disregard BL's comment as it reeks of rotten words

20. Iv always said this bloglord is a bitter bitch.... Bitterness from her husband cheating on her which is reflected in the way she addressess single ladies. May God fix you and your marriage.

Eastwestern

11. If an Igbo man Haba not paid your price. My dear you are not his wife.
    To pay this bride price is simple. U can easily make a congregation of elders let them say how much is every every. The goat kolanut palm wine wrappers salt soap etc
    They should convert it to dollars for u guys to pay.
    Thru bank....
    But then, if ur husband is really a good man. U shouldn't bother but if anything should happen to him but God forbid o. His people will just grab all his properties and could possibly leave u empty handed.
    PS I am not praying for that.

Just be happy. Give him half of everything u are including ya boobs and butts. He does not deserve them full for now

12. Didnt Your parents know all these before gave their consent? The American govt recognizes your marriage, what else?

Madam the way men think, is not the way women think. As far as your husband is concerned, he has married you. Your parents ought to have insisted you came down to Nigeria to do it in d first place.

Ur husband is a good man joor. Had it been he is a baby daddy, you would have complained. But he has married you over there, what else? Bride price abi? Let him send money down to Nigeria Na, and let his family do it on you both behalf. After all, some women de marry with picture.

1. The Anerican govt recognizes her marriage? Ok. Hope she won't come back to Naija again?

2. Igbo men always want their kids to come home o....she's not the igbo man's wife by tradition.

13. Na wah oh...

Poster,you are just a baby mama!...
    Yes,we igbos don't joke with traditional marriage and ime ego Nwanyi...
    Am sure your husband and his family don't want you cos he can easily send money to his father to go and do the needful on you guys absence...
    Oh yes,I have seen it happen...

This is for your husband since you says he is a Bv,...
    Oga,you are a very wicked and selfish man...
    You better bring your wife home and do the needful...
    God forbid but if anything should happen to this woman,you must marry her corpse and her spirit will torment you if you marry another woman...
    Someone that gave you wonderful boys...tufiakwa!!...

1. Sweet heart.... Am just going to say it the way it is. (1)your parents in law doesn't approve of you and you know why? You are not igbo. Change ur attitude towards them for they are not ur friends am nt saying be mean but be wise (2) u Ave nt demanded from ur husband Dat which u desire , u re still making excuses(use all d weapon in ur arsenal.... Of u know wot I mean)

2. Exactly Linda. It happened to my uncle. He and his wife were co habiting and when her father died, they did not allow my uncle to do (ndi ogor things). They even shunned her on top. He had to pay her bride price before they buried her father. After 6 years, so if he is dragging his feet foe normal bride price then what will he do if it was Eya. Onye njo.

3. My thoughts exactly. I don't think your in laws want you, otherwise paying your bride price is something they can arrange in your absence.

They obviously have something up their sleeves; for your FIL to tell you the only marriage he recognises is the traditional one, yet they aren't ready to sort yours out.

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

14. @Poster I'm short of words, how are we to beg your DH to travel down to Nigeria to come and pay your Bride Price. I think you should think of coming home one festive period with your kids, then mandate him to do same and you can go ahead with your bride price payment. Or can his people pay it when both of you are not there? if it can be done, then mandate him to send to his people to go and do the rightful things.

15. ABEG SHUT UP JARE WHICH KIND YEYE DAYARY U DEY LOOK FOR SEH UNA NEVER MARRY ABI U SHA WAN SPREAD UR YANSH FOR OUTSIDE LIKE CLOTH ON THE LINE
    NO BE YOUR FAULT I NO BODA READING UR KORONICLES SEF AS I DON SEE THE YEYE HEADLINE CRY WEY U DEY CRY FOR YEYE BRIDE PRICE ; DA PRICE WEY SOME WELL TODO SENSIBLE FAMILY SEF DEY TELL HUSBAND TO KEEP
    OSHICO.....

16. Tell him how uncomfortable u r about it. Will do.

17. Mr man please do the needful, Haba!
    This is not fair o.
    It's because of situations like this that I did my court at ikoyi registry when my hubby came back. Few days later (10days). I did my white and trad together.
    We were supposed to do just trad then when I join him we'd do the white. I insisted on doing both together.
    I didn't want stories at all.
    The only part that was left out which is inviting my parents and uncles (ima uzo ogo in ibo) has not been done and he has gone back. Imagine what would have happened if I had left the white. Na story for the gods. I might then do it after 25kids and golden jubilee celebration. Lol.

1. Ima uzo can be done anytime. It's funny how they can't do your own If ur mum hasn't done hers....

18. Poster, I am igbo and where i come from if you have a baby for a man without your bride price being paid, the baby won't be recognised as the mans kid.

Your father in law is right. Traditional marriage is what we igbos recognise. I think your hubby is up to something because both of you don't need to visit Nigeria for your bride price to be paid.

He can send his family to your parents to do it.

I think you should suggest it to him.
    Tell him how important this is to you. I hope he's not planning on marrying an igbo girl in future

1. "I hope he's not planning on marrying an igbo girl in future" Gbam!!!

2. I'm also suspecting that.

3. You are right!
      I am igbo and there is no big deal in paying your bride price, his parents and some elders should just visit your village and pay shikena!

If he doesn't do it, then ur hubby has other plans up his sleeves.
      His parents too coz I know it was my own parents that pestered my brother to go pay his wife's dowry after they have had 2 boys with just court marriage.

Some parents shaa, your son is married and with 2 kids yet you are still bugging ur mind about not liking his wife and giving her attitude.
      Remember your daughters or grand daughters will marry one day and karma is a bitch!

Nwannem nwoke, PLS go and pay this woman's bride price and stop being wicked.
      She and her kids are safe in USA but what if u guys relocate down and u die?

Woman, if he doesn't do it soon, start putting your properties in your own name or your kid's name

19. Oga why lah?

What is so hard in paying bride price again, bikonu?

But you couldn't wait for her to drop her name and take yours.

Forget this civilization and westernisation ish, a woman who's bride price has not been paid, is not married, even if her white wedding was in the moon.

It's not such a big deal na, unless you've got other plans.

You as a Nigerian, should know the significance of this.

Poster,take it easy. Hopefully, he'll do the needful after reading comments.

1. Exactly, he didn't even want a compound name. He's a traditionalist but he doesn't want to pay her brideprice.

20. But should bride price really bother u dis much since he his taking care of u and ur children but if it seem to be ur problem maybe u should raise d issue up again and hear his response.

1. My dear, you r yoruba. U don't understand

2. Yes seriki u sure don't understand.

21. Madam,if your the man you call ur husband has not paid your bride price,then, you are not married.He is not your not your husband but a sin partner.

22. Madam,if your the man you call ur husband has not paid your bride price,then, you are not married.He is not your not your husband but a sin partner.

23. Hmmm! Poster u didn't state if d bride price can be paid in absentia if it can maybe your parent in law should go and pay, your hubby may be considering d expenses of travelling down with d family because I have a friend in diaspora who went to registry in UK and her parent in law came to pay her bride price and if it can't be done in your absence you ll have to keep reminding him, may God continue to uphold your home.

24. I can feel your pains from your write-up,Poster. It's natural for you to feel that way. Worst when you realize the means to resolve such issues are readily available but still staying unattended to.
    Since your hubby visits this blog,he would see the numerous comments/advice/ calling out today.
    Poster's hubby, please do the needful by paying your wife's bride price. If that would be your only achievement for this year, let it be. Make the mother of your kids happy Bikonu. And if you have plans of not doing that,let her know to relieve her of this torture she's going through.

25. I have so much to say on this, I'm damn interested, but, as a critic that I am I hate to comment on stand alone post.

26. In naija courts,before you get registered as wife and husband they must ask if you have done all the necessary things like bride price payment, now you said that your PARENTS consented on the wedding, if so,then automatically you are a LEGAL wife of your hubby!Paying of bride price is just a minor thing after-all,your hand has already been given out in marriage by your own parent!

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

2. Any proof to show that the parents consented to the marriage? Paying of bride price is not a minor thing abeg. As far as igbo tradition is concerned, those kids don't belong to dat man. Let the man send his parents to go n pay her bride price. For his parents to even kip quiet about it shows they are up to something.

27. Women.
    All of una 2 get wahala.
    Can't a man ever satisfy una.
    The other day, a woman was insisting on court wedding after the traditional everything.
    And now dis.
    Can't you women ever be contented.
    Madam, I am happy. U have not lied as usual as most women .that ur DH is planning to marry another wife.
    Poster, with all your education. U are still stuck with village mentality.
    Being happy is a choice. U can continue to be sad over nothing.
    Many women can do anything to be in your position. And u are here complaining.
    My advise?
    Gerrarrahiiaa!

1. And I thought you had sense kwa

2. @moneymaker, she has every need to be worried. Let her husband do the needful please!

3. Ha! How can u think money maker?has sense, ?u sef no get sense cus of that kind thinking u get.

28. Wow. Let me read comments.

29. You are lucky 6 years and he is still good to you. One of my uncle has not paid his wife's bride price for more than 20 years and he has even disowned the children.
    The other women he has the same thing. No dowry. Now he is dead.

Since your parents have consented to the 2 of you being together and you are in US. why dont you do court wedding over there. am sure he is thinking of the money he is going to spend.

it is well.

1. U just fall my hand. So u read the whole story and u didn't comprehend? Na wah. Which be court marriage? U no see registry for the story?

30. Paying ur bride price is very important though legally u are a married woman
    The paying ur bride price thing is not even in ur hubby's to do list
    Keep talking to him about it

Stellz how far na,no red ink today?
    It's better like that

31. Seems like he's a selfish man. Why can't he just do the needful? Apparently, your husband has stolen a wife (you).

32. Stella what happened to your red ink?
    Make i read comments biko.

33. Women.
    All of una 2 get wahala.
    Can't a man ever satisfy una.
    The other day, a woman was insisting on court wedding after the traditional everything.
    And now dis.
    Can't you women ever be contented.
    Madam, I am happy. U have not lied as usual as most women .that ur DH is planning to marry another wife.
    Poster, with all your education. U are still stuck with village mentality.
    Being happy is a choice. U can continue to be sad over nothing.
    Many women can do anything to be in your position. And u are here complaining.
    My advise?
    Gerrarrahiiaa!

1. I thought you were more sensible than this money maker. You just fall my hand, seriously!

2. Anon 20:10,
      I am sorry oooh.
      But someone have to say the truth.

34. Ooooooooh my...!
    This woman can too much o

35. Now u blame the man. B4 opening ur legs to av 2kids were u using ur vaginal to think?

36. If an Igbo man Haba not paid your price. My dear you are not his wife.
    To pay this bride price is simple. U can easily make a congregation of elders let them say how much is every every. The goat kolanut palm wine wrappers salt soap etc
    They should convert it to dollars for u guys to pay.
    Thru bank....
    But then, if ur husband is really a good man. U shouldn't bother but if anything should happen to him but God forbid o. His people will just grab all his properties and could possibly leave u empty handed.
    PS I am not praying for that.

Just be happy. Give him half of everything u are including ya boobs and butts. He does not deserve them full for now

37. I hope his parents has not married an igbo woman in the village for him with his consent. You are the only one that can persuade him because you have children for him.Talk to him when he is in good mood and make him see reasons for paying your bribe price. Good luck!

ckjacob.blogspot.com

1. I think you may be right.The family must have married an igbo,woman for him in his village or they are on the process.Madam,may God help you.

38. Mmmm Madam you don't have a big problem abeg...I kept reading your long chronicle rhinkibf there was drama...none.Sweetim later Y'sl will say calabar lady's are this and that my live up your love game with this man ,shower him with so much affection and TLC his brain will reset..Hunt for movies that have story lunes Luke this and the consequences of him not doing it then watch with him.DO NOT NAG!!!...Oga will be the one begging u to tie up loose ends and start backing up for ur trade in Naija.You are a woman use ur power!!

39. Honestly speaking, I don't think you have a problem. A court wedding is still the best and legally acceptable anywhere. Your parents gave their content already therefore you've fulfilled the major tenet of traditional marriage. The bride price is the physical aspect to it. Madam kindly focus your energy on positive and productive thinking. Keep enjoying your marriage and don't create a problem where there's none.

40. I don't want to believe there is an ulterior motive for him not paying your dowry yet as it is generally not expensive. In this case, your father/people can request for everything under 20k just so it can be paid. Am igbo, so as an ibo man, he should understand the seriousness of it because we ibos take it serious. In some ibo circles, no matter what ceremony has been performed, if your dowry has not been paid you are sitting on a long thing.
    Is it possible for your dad to have a chat with your hubby so as to know what the problem might be? Some might say its not important but my dear, we are all Africans so it is. Sweetly talk to him, if its too much give him the money to pay. Those boys you have for him, are not his by tradition because he has not paid your dowry o.

Stella how do you do it, i don tire to type.

41. In all procedures during marriage, the bride price is the most important. Even a good church will ask of proof before wedding you. You guys are co habiting o. The day anything happens that mans family will deny u fair n square

1. Leave them to be advising her that she's married. Madam, you r legally married only there 4 obodo oyibo o. For naija here, u r a baby mama to their son

42. Blog analyser: he can even send his people to do it since it might be difficult for both of u to come back. Some men sha, causing unessary wahala for themselves. U need to dwell on it too much but it seems u fear your husband too much. This is an issue that u can talk to him about tell him point blank that the traditional rites would make more happy in life. If he does love u as truly as u sound let him send his people or both of u can come home and do it low key.

43. lol na wah Stella no comment? lol

Anyways, hun its really hard for me to advise you because kids are now involved. He has kids, he has you and nothing else matters to him anymore. He knows you cant leave him(that for sure), all you can do is rant and rant and rant till you are tired.

But i honestly suggest your parent should do the talking to his family because nothing you can say to his family (now that you already have kids and not from same tribe!?) that will hold waters.

When i met my hubby, he was managing and i was earning more than him(and i was very ok by God grace),so then he was complaining about money and asked we should opt for court wedding (so that he go dey f*** free till i go born all my pikin finish to pay bride price go come turn gobe ). I rejected the offer and waited for him till he could gather money ,bought all the bride items and bride price 100% alon. lol. I only assisted with entertainment.

If i wasn't sharp/smart , he would've married me in court and ended there.

Men are easily manipulated before he starts sleeping with you.. but once he don finish you vijaja ehn , he hard to bend am o! and in your case you already had 2kids and not from same tribe ???

hmmmm

44. Women ehn! U have a good man who obviously treats u right. Legally, ur marriage is recognised (even internationally). Stop stirring still waters ma'am. After all, pple wey dem pay their bride price still dey get marital shits. No big deal about it.

But then, Ghanaman could be wrong u know!

1. You are so so wrong ghanaman!

45. Igbos value trad n paying of bride price more. I don't know wat to say

46. You keep saying it to him without doing something about it.you are not igbo,yes!but you are with him now and that makes you igbo,so change this mindset.
    call your parents-inlaw and tell them to talk to their son.talk to them as you would talk to your own parents.Do not feel that because they didn't like you in the beginning that they won't regard you as daughter or understand your feelings. Igbos are not like that,initially they might fight you in the beginning but when they see you are nice,and mean no harm,they will adore you.
    Tell your hubby how you feel and when your parents-inlaw talk to him too,he will certainly obey them.
    If you really want to be the only woman in his life  forever,please do this and lovingly too.you can start with buying them gifts,calling like twice a week,penetrate their heart before telling them this.and if convienient,please visit them alone without your hubby.

47. I don't understand men seriously
    Is it that he enjoys seeing the woman sad or what
    why can't this man just do the needful and pay her bride price, is it too much to ask from the mother of your children?

Except he's hiding something.

The lord is your strength

48. mhzzbee international27 August 2015 at 15:33

hahahha...... you have entered one chance. Before he can pay your bride price ehn???you will sweet gan as you have birthed his children.

49. You do not need to be there for your bride price to be paid. Encourage him to talk to his family to go and pay it on his behalf. Find the best way to talk to him to avoid a fight that will make the topic become a no go area for a long time. Good luck dear.

50. Please oga try and put dowry on your wife's head. If you say you love and respect her. and her family then try to make it happen.
    You don't need to be they in person to do it you can ask your people to do it on your behalf.

51. HMMMM NA WAR OOO WAT IS DIS ... SAME TING HAPPENING IN MY AREA ALL OVER ( THEY CALL IT ABUJA MARRIAGE ) SOME OF THEM DNT EVEN KNOW THE FAMILY OF THE GIRLS INVOLVE OOO. I PRAY THIS WHOLE RUBISH STOP. WHERE IS OUR PRIDE.?????

BETTYLICIOUS SAY SO

52. HMMMM NA WAR OOO WAT IS DIS ... SAME TING HAPPENING IN MY AREA ALL OVER ( THEY CALL IT ABUJA MARRIAGE ) SOME OF THEM DNT EVEN KNOW THE FAMILY OF THE GIRLS INVOLVE OOO. I PRAY THIS WHOLE RUBISH STOP. WHERE IS OUR PRIDE.?????

BETTYLICIOUS SAY SO

53. Chronicle senders, stop the ass licking and all the plenty talks. Just go straight to the point. Poster, get him to marry you traditionally else you r on a long thing. Don't mind people who will tell you that he has married you already, it's a lie o. Even God recognizes payment of dowry. Be wise

54. I'm unsure why this is really important. Forgive me but you mentioned you are not an igbo girl so why are you pained by the traditional marriage bride price thing? I know most ibos value traditional marriage more and will b pained by bride price issue but as I always say, to each their own if paying bride price will make u more secure and happy, I pray that God will touch his heart speedily so he can do the needful.

55. MY DEAR WILL ADVICE YOU HAVE A HEART TO HEART TALK WITH HIM ON HOW YOU FEEL..
    BESIDES YOU MUST NOT ALL TRAVEL DOWN.. IT CAN BE DONE ON UR BEHAVE.. ITS JUST FOR THE FAMILIES TO MEET AND THE NEEDFUL IS DONE...
    MY INLAW DID JUST THAT, AND I HAVE ATTENDED TRADITIONAL WEDDING WHERE THE COUPLES WERE NOT THERE FOR SOME REASONS..
    HIS PEOPLE SHLD GO MEET YOURS AND THERE WILL BE A REPRESENTATIVE.. FINISH

WISH YOU ALL THE BEST..

56. MY DEAR WILL ADVICE YOU HAVE A HEART TO HEART TALK WITH HIM ON HOW YOU FEEL..
    BESIDES YOU MUST NOT ALL TRAVEL DOWN.. IT CAN BE DONE ON UR BEHAVE.. ITS JUST FOR THE FAMILIES TO MEET AND THE NEEDFUL IS DONE...
    MY INLAW DID JUST THAT, AND I HAVE ATTENDED TRADITIONAL WEDDING WHERE THE COUPLES WERE NOT THERE FOR SOME REASONS..
    HIS PEOPLE SHLD GO MEET YOURS AND THERE WILL BE A REPRESENTATIVE.. FINISH

WISH YOU ALL THE BEST..

57. Pay the bride price it won't cost u anything Oga husband!!

58. But you shouldn't hve rush to change ur name, that's the reason why he's relaxed. To him, no need for any wedding. The mistake has being made already, so talk to him, so as to let him know that he is hurting you. *Oga you be baby Daddy not husband yet if you don't know!* so go and do the needful.

59. Let ur hubby & his pple do d needful..
    Let dis issue be ur prayer point.

60. Let ur hubby & his pple do d needful..
    Let dis issue be ur prayer point.

61. Madam you don't have problem at all, don't let the devil use this ur situation as a yardstick to destroy ur marriage.
    Yes I know everyone wants to be married properly, traditionally with dowry paid but you need to take it easy the way ur going about it. You cry while cleaning and cooking. Na wa oooo
    You have been married in the registry and have 2boys, better be grateful for the blessings God blessed you with.
    Don't force this issue down ur hubbys throat, he will only rebel and if he tells you he no one do trad at all, will you pack your load and leave? Give it time, some ppl even do trad after 10yrs. So far ur hubby loves you, provides and treats you well give it time.
    I have seen sm1 that did intro,trad,white wedding. The wedding didn't even last 1yr and they dated 5yrs before then.
    Even the famous talk show host wendy Williams said she did just registry, na for dis naija dey will make issue out of evrythn.

62. My dear, don't let it bother you too much. Talk to DH and pray about it. The bible says the heart of a king is in God's hand and he can turn it how He wants. You really can't force him. May God settle your home.

63. I understand the sensitivity in this issue but you have chosen to cage yourself despite your exposure level cos you sound super unhappy and near-depressed, hence u mentioning the market women and people who hawk pure water in comparison with you, your education level and the rest...making it sound like they are less human... Me feels U can make your point without that part and stop feeling bad in the midst of people, that would negatively impact on your esteem.

Every humans' situation is different, and I believe you understand yours more than we do. Guess he has adapted to the present scenario and doesn't see any urgent need for the traditional rites.

As long as he plays his role as a dad and has been a good husband I guess you should draw out a decent strategy. Wait for the next time you, hubby and the kids are planning on visiting Nigeria and simply tell him to chip that in the to-do list....even if its a small family gathering, it doesn't have to be big and doesn't call for Ada-Ada, Gollibe and Mmege Mmege to be on repeat with the whole community dancing n all. I don't think thats too much to ask for and he ought to bulge as long as it falls in a period you guys have mapped out for visiting home.

Be happy and enjoy your home.....you've got so much blessings around you but have chosen to stay sad cos of this......count your blessings and be happy, a lot of people are praying everyday for a chance to just breathe n live properly.

Li-yon Vls.

1. You sound like her husband. Just do the right thing already!

64. If your hubby is Igbo like you said, he will know that your not properly married and the kids even though they are biologically his but according to Igbo tradition they are not without the bride price paid and thus should not even bear his name. You kind of put your self into the situation, why did you wed him court without him sending his people to do the needful. You guys mustn't be present for the bride price to be paid at least. Oga you dey fall our hand o, go and pay the bride price unless you've paid on some other bride and they be not returned it thus tiring your hands. Ask him if he is traditionally married to another.

65. Women and their troubles. What will u say of the one that paid the bride price and still calls her girlfriend.abeg park well!!!

66. Dis story is so me, I av been married too for 5yrs nd I did just my intro nd registry,my hubby hasn't still paid my pride price I av two kids for him,my parents don talk tire sotey my hubby runs frm dem,anytime I ask him.he will tell me he dsnt av money for d kind of wedding I wat,am just looking at him coz he dsnt knw those kids aren't his own until he pays my pride price,dear poster if am to advise u ehn sit down dey look like me if anytin happens d kids r ours

67. I don't know why I felt sad after reading your story cos its as if I'm feeling how hurt nd worried you are.
    I've come to realize that when you try to make something work by talking, cajoling et al and things seem not to work the way you envisaged, just commit it to God in prayers on your knees and see how things that were proving stubborn and won't cooperate will just fall in place so easily. Try this poster. It is well.

68. Poster; Paying of bride price is very important,and every country have a culture. Your husband can send money down to his family to go perform the traditional right in order to save cost. Oga please go and perform the traditional right is our culture,I can imagine what your MIL will be passing through with all the side talks in her community not to talk of your wife.

69. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Nna some men are very wicked o... Wetin dey worry am abeg.....

70. Illiterates everywhere what a shame so other countries that don't pay dowry as tradition the couples are not married?u guys be deceiving urselves upon all d dowry most of ur husbands stil divorce u and mess u up.if he pays fine if he doesn't fine so far u have done court marriage that is d MOST IMPORTANT.some families even reject bride price sef.

1. Nah you are the illiterate fool here. How old are you? Remind me 14? Kids kids

71. So people that don't have parents and have never been to their village are not married abi.be dying for dowry their if u like don't fight for d proper court Marriage

1. No man and his family will value you if they don't pay your bride price in Africa..
      Deal with it..

72. I don't u derstand the delay, but have you tried to communicate with him regarding this? You say he is a nice man, why don't you plead with him as to this as I see this will make you happy. And besides, he doesn't need to be there when it is done. Elders and both parents are enough. Good luck in your endeavors.
    Our Ibo men sha delay in paying bride prices especially when you already start having kids before doing the needful. They feel it doesn't matter again, but then, ogamaje your wife happy if it a all she wants to make her smile.

73. I am glad he agreed 2 do the registry, but he should make arrangements 4 d bride price. Madam when life gives you more than you can stand....kneel. The heart of a king is In God's hand. Cos mere talking 2 him about it all d time may make it worst, so go to God in Prayers. It works!

74. Only the truth will set you free.

Listen to your conscience. No judgement on one side....

SDK take note..

75. Bride prize kwa ,abeg there is more to this ,how much dollars will he send to his parents to do the needfull ,why bring it to the blog ,tell him to his face abi you dey fear am .Tell him to send money to his parents to pay your bride prize .

76. madam, legally u r married, u and ur children can claim rights from ur husband... u r not a baby mama. but traditionally, u r not properly married. may God speak into the heart of ur husband to do the needful.doing the both is the best.

77. Your DH is not ready joor,i believe he will definitely pay it,by at his own time,because he is not under any pressure to pay at the moment

78. In igboland paying ur dowry is very important.

79. Can't both of you send money home to do it on your behalf

80. My dear is nt diffcult,you dont need to come down to Nigeria with your family.tell him to send his family representatives and your family should convert every thing to money, your hubby will send the money to his people and their will pay your bride price. is not a must for you to be there.

81. Bcos ur nt in her shoes dt y u all are saying dis,I had same experience wit her but I cried to God to help me n he answered my prayer.I had my traditional n registry after my kids.To God b d Glory

82. If it aint broke, don't fix it. Don't go and start quarreling with your husband and in-laws.

There are so many women that their bride prices have been paid yet they are going through turbulence in their marriages. If a man wants to walk out, he will regardless of whatever have been paid.

There are women tied down by bride-price and cant remarry because their ex-husbands who have comfortably remarried have refused to accept back their bride-prices.

Apply wisdom in these path. Enjoy your man,your man does not have wahala like you said, just use wisdom and make him to pay. It is not by gra gra. Yes, bride price is cherished in Ibo land but don't lose your marriage because you are chasing it. You are even married in court. Don't let it turn you to a bitter woman. Be wise and be gentle.

Mr Man, please pay her bride-price. Make her joy complete. You can even pay it through their account.She needs peace of mind to take good care of your children.

XOXO MYSTERY

83. MY DEAR POSTER, YOU ARE NOT MARRIED! WE'RE NIGERIANS NOT WESTERNERS. YOU'RE IN WHAT WE CALL A 'CREDIT MARRIAGE'. HAVE U EVER THOUGHT OF WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO YOU AND YOUR KIDS IF ANYTHING HAPPENS TO HIM? TO HIS PEOPLE, YOU ARE NOT HIS WIFE, SO BETTER STOP ASSUMING AND LET HIM DO THE NEEDFUL. HE SHOULD HAVE EVEN DONE IT BEFORE YOU CHANGED NAME TO HIS. YOU CAN'T FIGHT FOR YOUR RIGHTFUL PLACE HERE IN NIGERIA OO.. AND YOU CAN'T DRAG HIS PEOPLE TO COURT IN OBODO OYIBO..

84. My advice to d single ladies let ur hubby to be do d right tin before u start giving birth cos it's nt always easy when Uv kids.

85. Dear poster
    Though it hurts, please do not over stress yourself so you do not grow premature grey hair. Lest your in laws begin to claim their son cannot be tied to an old woman.

Dear hubby of poster
    You need to do what is right. If you have sisters, have their own husbands not paid their bride price to your family? You are an onigbese (a debtor). Abeg go and pay up!

86. Poster, I really feel sorry for you and I understand your plight. my bride price was paid, I even had a registry wedding, but no church wedding, hubby keeps saying we will do it. With the kids coming and more expenses, I wonder when. Infact, I can't even bring it up. I wish I had insisted on the church before we got married. If I can be so pained cuz of church, I then wonder how you must feel. Please keep putting pressure on him. If he were to be a yoruba man, i'd have made excuses for him, but every igbo man knows the importance of bride price.

87. Dear poster,an anonymous already said it all.If you were the citizen amongst the two of you as at the time you got married,then he married you for papers.

88. Madam as long as you were married in the marriage registry in the US, you are validly married under Nigerian law. I am a lawyer, I know what I am saying.

89. as long as your parents liveth and his parents too, you are not married. we don't have to forget our root/tradition bcos we live in the Western world. The traditional marriage is what we recognize in the igbo tradition, where the dowry is paid and the necessary marriage rites performed. you should have insisted before moving in with him, the thing is that you two do not even have to travel for it. My sister lives in the USA where she met her hubby, the very day they had their wedding at the Registry in the USA was the same day the traditional marriage was held in our compound in the absence of two of them. the hubby's parents and relatives came prepared and performed the marriage rites and our people received them well. it was after that she moved over to the state her hubby lives. don't put so much pressure on him, pray about it and have a heart to heart talk with him. i just can imagine how your parents feel about it knowing that no dowry had been paid on you and you are living with a man, and to think that he can afford it. the court wedding is recognized in the states but remember that we are still Nigerians and our traditions are still respected. Good luck

90. I think it is normal for men to be insensitive to issues like this. After making their women have children for them, they tend to forget the needful. In as much as u both are legally married, he needs to pay ur bride price, as that is the only way u can be recognised as "Married" traditionally. You need to be subtle and approach this wisely. Please ignore all negative advises and be prayerful. He is your husband and it is his duty to make you happy. All the best

91. I hate your husband for doing this to you.Oh God , why are men so wicked and selfish.

92. Poster, I'm in the same situation as you. Married in court, blessed with three kids,12 years later still no bride price. I don't even talk about it anymore, I've left him and his parents to God. It is well. Bloglord, I used to have a lot of respect for you but it ended today. May your daughter(if you have any) or loved one, not go through the same thing.

93. ◄ Genesis 34:12 ►
    New International Version
    Make the price for the bride and the gift I am to bring as great as you like, and I'll pay whatever you ask me. Only give me the young woman as my wife."

The registry wedding is documented, which favours every woman incase of bigamy, divorce and property tussle, while the traditional wedding acknowledges her, to the whole family and community that she is, his wife and not a concubine!

So poster, continue to hammer on the issue until he does the needful! It could strictly be between your parents and his in the parlour, without any elaborate celebration.

94. Nonsense..Madame u are married, u are married by court and church forget the rest. My neighbour 7 yrs ago was told her hubby never did traditional on her head so she should live the Hse with her kids that she killed her hubby by the time this woman arrange police and human right lawyers for this silly family. Court warn them never to go close to the Hse or any thing her hubby left behind.them compose by themselves.she is still in the Hse with her kids nothing happened. If ur hubby don't want traditional free him u married and he loves u so stop all this noise I didn't do traditional and am an igbo lady that's the best decision without regret I have made. My hubby told me the ball is in my court.whatever wedding I wanted my parents were at my court and white so were his parents, don't destroy ur home cos of some old age tradition.even the women who did the traditional still get all there hubby properties cease if anything happen to me.u on the Gud size with the law.enjoy ur home and ur marriage and stop listening to those igbo frds of Urs making u feel incomplete.enjoy ur kids and ur man am doing same and we gonna be 10 years tomorrow. It's Abt hand him forget the rest.half the people are single and confuse that's why they are still single cos they chase Gud men away on traditional nonsense.stick to ur man his ur head and ur pride .I luv u ugo my hubby is gonna know I wrote this ..

1. Am sorry but it will affect you or your children later in life. You better give unto ceasar. I pity u!

95. Poster's Husband do you have a wife in Nigeria? The reason I ask is that you are the first Igbo man I have heard of that has not paid the bride price of the mother of his BOYS. My brother please do the needful to protect your wife and her children unless you intend to be abroad forever. Besides if you truly love her, this should not be a hard task to perform.

96. Your husband and his family are selfish, no one does that to an igbo lady