Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Contractor Sues FG Over Jonathan’s N9.2bn Stoves

Wednesday, August 05, 2015

Contractor Sues FG Over Jonathan’s N9.2bn Stoves

The contractor handling the N9.2billion worth of clean cook stoves and wonder bags awarded by the administration of former President Goodluck Jonathan has dragged the Federal Government to court.

The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Environment, Fatima Mede, disclosed this to State House correspondents on Tuesday shortly after briefing President Muhammadu Buhari of the ministry’s activities inside the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Mede said the contractor approached the court to order the government not to terminate the contract following the emergence of the present administration.
The Jonathan-led Federal Executive Council had on November 26, 2014 approved N9.2billion inclusive of Value Added Tax for the procurement of 750,000 units of clean cook stoves and 18,000 wonder bags.

The contract was awarded in favour of Messrs Integra Renewable Energy Services Limited.

There have been calls on the present administration to terminate the contract.
Confirming the legal action, Mede said the ministry had briefed the Office of the Attorney General of the Federation on the development.
She said the government would appear before the court to argue its case.
She however did not say if there were plans to terminate the contract.

She said, “The matter is in court right now, so there is a limit to how I can talk about the issue of cooking stoves.
“The contractor took government to court asking the court to grant an injunction for government not to terminate the contract.
“We will go there and argue our case, the government will go, we have briefed the Attorney General’s office.

“We will present our case on the issue that led to the contractor taking us to court, it will be explained and the court will decide.”
Mede said during her team’s meeting with Buhari, the President raised concerns over environmental degradation in the country.
She said the President was aware that the sustainability of the country would depend on how well the environment was managed.

She added that the rate of desertification and afforestation in the country was alarming.
She said over 43 per cent of Nigerians were affected by the effect of desertification.
The Permanent Secretary also pointed to the conflict between the herdsmen and farmers because of forced migration.

She said the President had directed that to reduce the rate at which wood was being cut down for cooking, the ministry should consider promoting the use of LPG especially in the cities.

Punch report.

N9.2billion?for wetin????
Is it not these same stove story that caused some controversy last year?Na wah!

79 comments:

1. Na real wa!

Jesus is Lord.

1. Chai, jona don suffer!
      Stove 4. What exactly? Fire wood don finish!

2. Pls let's be logical here, if u give people stove, will u give dem kerosene with it or will d stove be run with water. If d people in d village cannot afford to buy stove, pls how will dey buy kerosene to fuel it. No 2) we are in Nigeria and am sure only half of d villagers will get d stove cos d remaining money would av been embezzled. Am even sure after a month, d stove will break down and stop working... So pls let's stop decieving ourselves in dis country....

3. We cant continue to tolerate this type of corruption o. The only tenable excuse I believe GEJ can give to help us rationalise this contract award is for him to tell us that the stoves were meant to help Nigerians through the war of Armageddon.

4. The misplaced priorities of the Jonathan administration. Billions on stoves. I know that they rushed to supply some just a few days to the handover date, but i know that the new govt wouldn't tolerate such frivolity. What happened to the plant a tree project? Now It's share stove project. smh.

5. @Stranger. Ahahah @ help Nigerians through the war of Armageddon. U cray...

Biko they should just consolidate all these corruption charges, to save time and money. If it was a federal govt approved project, the beneficiaries should have been documented. And I assume that they shared it to state govts respectively, who perhaps got it to the end users. Therefore it's not a difficult probe. The state reps should produce details of the beneficiaries for confirmation. That's all.

2. Every day I wake up to shocking news from Nigeria.

Stoves for who?

1. The daily revelations we get now ehn, its something else.

Need a yummy Birthday/Wedding cake in Abuja? Home / office delivery. Also send a gift of cake to your loved one in Abuja.Pls click on my ID to see pics and my contact details.

2. @ Stella Asemota, same question I asked? Who dem dey buy stove for? The rate at which the past administration finished us ehen, it is only God that can deliver us.

3. @Justina I wonder, to think some people still call Jonathan hero is something else.

4. I dey laugh o!!!

They said that the use of firewood was a health risk, air pollution etc. Which is unarguable, if we had to think about the health implications. But... did the right people receive it?

5. Who will give them money to buy Kerosine self. Chai ndi Oshi, The last administration wanted to finish us o.

6. To give out to women in rural areas to cub deforestation. I came across it sometime ago

3. When d stove comes calling, pot must be produced. Next thing we would hear now is wonder pots... Like that would solve Nigeria's issues.

1. Stella, wonder bag is prohibited in this country. The materials used in producing wonder bags are poisonous when expose to humans. Hope min of health is aware of this wonder bag contract?

2. If wonderbag is bad, why is it permitted? Wetin be wonder bag sef

1. The cooking stove is a renewable stove that does not require kerosene, just sticks and not firewood to burn.
      This is a good idea but the amount attached to the project is outrageous. Besides wonder bag shd not be distributed to rural women bcz it can be hazardous.

5. Stella, a stove may be very cheap and very affordable to you and some Nigerians. But many indigent citizens in the rural areas can't afford it. To them it is a luxury. And with the rate of deforestation going on in the country , every caring govt have to intervene.

1. Now this is official. ..bwahahahaha hahahaha
      I can't say more
      Do have a blessed day...

2. I was waiting to read fron yourself and Eka joy who will come to defend the ignorant decisions and contract awards made by GEJs administration.

3. Money maker! Money maker! Money maker!. How many times did i call you? How many ears do you have? What do you use them for?

So Even after all the insults, you still jump in to comment without thinking? Is it when the insults cripple you before you stop?

I'm just talking out of pity sha. We'll I guess you are a confirmation to to the saying that empty vessels..........

4. So if dem give them stove, who will buy the kerosene for them?

5. Money maker the fool. You are such a lunatic. How can someone be so stupid?

6. Which one be wonder bag again?

Billions for stove though?

This my country sef.

7. Ds Jonas govt

8. I'm shocked at d comments I'm seeing. Dyu know how many ppl in d villages still use firewood to cook. You think those ppl won't appreciate such stoves???? Abeg make una get out.

1. Bwahahaha haha. ....like seriously?
      9.2 billion stolen just like that...
      Abeg..you sabi the beneficiaries of this stove project?

2. Gerrarahere my friend... blindly supporting rubbish.. what is wonder bag? so 9.2billion for stove is normal to you?

3. No let that shock give u stroke o idiot!! I knw say u no get sense b4 but u don pass the height of normal stupidity. Share wit ur neighbors or colleagues make u no collapse under the weight of OVERSTUPIDITY!!! @ Eka

4. Dey wud eventually abandon it because dey get firewood free!!!

5. God bless you for this comment

9. i need a contract too. lets provide LPG to Nigeria.

10. The thing is how sure are we that the stove will get to people who its meant for. How do we confirm and what is or has been keeping the company from already distributing the stoves bfr now since they already got the contract.

11. Stoves???
    What stoves???
    Oh! Those Stoves!
    *stiffles laugh*

1. But na firewood food dey sweet pass sha.

2. Same stoves o.

If they can't afford to buy stoves, how do they get kerosene or whatever is needed to fuel it?

At the end of the day, the stove will still be abandoned.

12. SO IF THEM DASH THEM STOVE FINISH, WHO GO THEY BUY THE KEROSENE???????????

13. OUR LEADERS KEEPS GIVING ATTENTION TO UNSUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT FOR IMMEDIATE GRATIFICATION...MTCHHHEEEEEWWWW

14. Som pple r brainless,wen u provide dem stoves who will Giv dem kerosene,last time I checked a litre of kerosene is sold fr #150,do u think dey can afford dat?who is fooling who now,any avenue to steal moni is welcome.why not empower dem or give dem power supply to power eletrick stoves.smh.thiefy thief pple.

15. I have lost faith in this generation. How can people be so dense and unintelligent for crying out loud?to read, assimilate and digest is just impossible these days for these social media youths.
    Imagine people saying PMB has started his agenda to islamize this country because he added 2 books to the curriculum of IRS students. Like really? Are you all for real? When did it become a compulsory subject in federal government schools? One person even said why did he not add christian books? Are you ok at all? What were your christian presidents doing? Stealing right? And you now expect somebody that has no idea about what is done in your religion to recommend books for your students. I mean how stupid can people get? I fear for the future of this generation.. God help us.

1. Oh get a blog name jor!! You have sense! Please ask them. A bunch of dumb ignoramus they all are. They have invaded the blogosphere especially. Sad pity.

16. I have lost faith in this generation. How can people be so dense and unintelligent for crying out loud?to read, assimilate and digest is just impossible these days for these social media youths.
    Imagine people saying PMB has started his agenda to islamize this country because he added 2 books to the curriculum of IRS students. Like really? Are you all for real? When did it become a compulsory subject in federal government schools? One person even said why did he not add christian books? Are you ok at all? What were your christian presidents doing? Stealing right? And you now expect somebody that has no idea about what is done in your religion to recommend books for your students. I mean how stupid can people get? I fear for the future of this generation.. God help us.

1. Anyone dat has brain will not say he's tryin to islamize Nigeria...when he was a military head of state n had d absolute power to do anytin without being questioned by anyone,he didn't do it

17. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Jonah is a joke i swear.... Nobi his administration bring out that nosense..... Stove my ass....

18. That contractor knows in his heart of hearts dat Buhari will not buy into dat bullcrap dats why he's wailing before d fight starts!who told him they will cancel d contract?....his conscience I guess!cos 9.2bill naira worth of stoves is not wat hungry widows need,to cook what on it?sand abi?
    Btw 9.2bill should produce abt 4mill stoves or more not 750thousands!
    Bloody thieves of the GEJ regime!day of reckoning has come!

19. OK, and they need 9 . something BILLION to get those??? * sigh

20. OK, and they need 9 . something BILLION to get those??? * sigh

21. please what is wonder bag and what is it used for o?

22. i'm surprised at some comments here, the government should provide Infrastructure, jobs, modern public facilities in every area in Nigeria not stoves! no worry government go soon start to pay bride price and help f*** for pickin...(pls pardon my swearing)

23. Hian. The way the last administration squandered money sha....

24. What peep in rural areas ? Will they also provide kerosine for the stoves ? Mscheew
    Do u knw d amount of kerosine needed for stoves to function ? At least some old peep don't use kerosine for the firewoods n even if they wana use kerosine its jus a lil drop to ignite d fire
    Gej admin was so corrupt . Jeez
    Na them first run go court imagine .. Offer the poor free education n healthcare not stoves

25. Stella people come to your blog especially to read comments and to read responses to their comments. If you keep delaying the approving of comments you will drive your BV's elsewhere or they won't bother commenting anymore since you now take your time to approve comments. I suggest you approve comments before posting new posts because people are waiting to read comments on earlier posts while you are busy posting new posts when BV's haven't even started reading comments on earlier posts. Do not overwhelm and bombard your BV's with plenty posts. If you can't keep up, perhaps you should employ or engage someone else to give you a hand. My 2 Kobo.

1. Anon 11:18,you must be a jobless yoruba.You won't be saying this nonsense if you are gainfully employed. So madam Stella should not not do any other thing apart from blogging.Don't you know she is married with children?

2. You must be a bastard frm a retarded fada and useless yam legged moda,imagine calling out yoruba caus of airin one's opininon,has d hatred eaten Yu dis deep?if ur parent failed in der duties towards u il av to put u in ur place,which is d zoo caus u are notin bt an animal,im not sorry I have to send u bk home caus dats whr charity begins.old papa youngie calin stela dat is young enof to b his daughter madam.waitin fr ur cohorts to com call me out,now dey wil pretend not seein d nonsens u wrote der,inferiority complex lot dat av to make noise and prove noting in order to claim wat is nt.

3. Anon 17:22,you must be a FAT yoruba Aunty Gwegwegwe.. For your information, any married lady with children is a madam.
      Thank you.

4. Money maker BEHAVE YOURSELF THIS MINUTE! NO scum of the earth tribalistic comments! !!!!

26. What kind of stove is that self ?

27. Billions for Stoves? Not even millions. What a country!

28. Baba TERMINATE it. I never supported that.

29. I don't think its a generational problem. It is a tribalistic problem, in Igbo people's effort to constantly bring down other tribes, they make senseless comments making themselves look dumb and stupid. What is wring is wrong regardless of race, color, creed or tribe but they just don't get it. Keep exposing your bigotry to the world because not only Nigerians read this blog, google is also indexing everything. When the shit hits the fan and the war they are preparing for breaks out, they will then see whose side the world is on.

You think the British who had vested interest in Nigeria and who gave us independence did not know what was going on during the biafran war? why did they not come to their aid and let the Igbos die like dogs, because they know how your tribe is and obviously nothing has changed generations later. Nigeria is waiting for you, this time your whole tribe will be wiped out.

1. You are slowly and surely running crazy!

Make sure you don't hit the streets tearing and screaming. ..money maker the blog jester makes a tribalistic comment and you tow the same stupid path?

NAMSENSE

2. Glorified loony

30. Which one is "Wonder bags" again? What sort of stoves are they buying with N9.7bn? May God help Nigeria & its people.

How are we so sure the stoves will get to those in the rural areas, and even if it does, will they be given kerosene at a subsidized rate or even free?

31. Anon 11:18 makes a comment which is their personal opinion, that comment could have been made by anybody even a non Nigerian but money maker comes out to say they must be a jobless Yoruba person, look who is talking about joblessness when everyone here knows he comments on every article posted here foolishly. When people abuse the Igbo tribe now or say they are tribalistic bigots, they will all gather like flees as if it is not the truth. If you are gainfully employed and also concentrates on your wife and kids whom I pity for having a husband and father like you instead of trolling blogs and showing how uncouth you are, you won't have the time to spend your life on this and other blogs daily.

1. Anon 13:45,why are you all spineless, Why can't all of you comment with your blog ID?
      Smh

2. Shattap go take your meds!
      When you do you'll spare us your yaba-left'riddled rants

3. WHAT IS YOUR PROOF THAT MONEY MAKER IS IGBO????

32. Hmmmmmm Let's see how far ds case goes!

*lips sealed n watching*

#cleancookstoves#wonderbags#9.2 billion naira

btw @money maker are u d contractor in charge of d clean cook stoves project abi or is d contractor ur relative?

33. What proof do you have that he is not?, go and read his comments to see the proof. The day money maker started commenting on this blog is the day tribalistic comments started against Yoruba tribe.

1. Money maker talks shit and you expend your energy calling out an entire tribe because of 1 guys trash? Shame on you

34. money maker you that comment with blog id, what sense have you ever made on this blog. Olympic medalist in being a mumu.