Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: DSS Sues Sambo for illegal possession of firearms

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

DSS Sues Sambo for illegal possession of firearms

The Department of State Services has charged the former National Security Adviser, Col. Sambo Dasuki (retd.) to court for alleged illegal possession of firearms.

The service, in a statement by a DSS official, Tony Opuiyo, on Monday in Abuja, said Dasuki was charged to court for owning firearms without licence.
The DSS had on July 16, 2015 carried out search operations on the ex-NSA’s residences in Asokoro, Abuja and Sokoto, where its operatives claimed to have recovered seven high calibre rifles including magazines and military gears at the houses located at 13, John Khadya Street, and 46, Nelson Mandela Street, both at Asokoro, Abuja, and 3 Sabon Birni Road, Gwiwa Area, Sokoto, Sokoto State.

The agency also recovered 12 new vehicles, including five bullet-proof cars from Dasuki’s house, the ownership of which could not be explained by the embattled former NSA, and which investigators believed must have been purchased with proceeds of corruption.
The DSS had claimed that it searched Dasuki’s homes “based on credible intelligence linking the imme­diate past NSA with alleged plans to com­mit treasonable felony against the Nigerian state.”

But in the Monday statement, the service said it charged him to court based on evidence so far obtained. The evidence relates to possession of firearms without licence, punishable under section 27(i)(a)(i) of the Firearms Act Cap F28 LFN 2004.

The statement partly read, “You may recall that on July 16, 2015, the Department of State Services carried out search operations on properties belonging to the immediate past National Security Adviser, Col. Mohammed Sambo Dasuki (retd.), in Abuja and Sokoto.

“This action was necessitated by credible intelligence which linked him to acts capable of undermining national security. The search operations led to the recovery of large cache of arms and ammunition among other things and for which further investigation was conducted.

“ Consequently, on Monday 24, August, 2015, he was charged to court based on evidence so far obtained, but which relates to possession of firearms without licence punishable under section 27(i)(a)(i) of the Firearms Act Cap F28 LFN 2004.”
The service said Dasuki’s arraignment was in line with democratic practice and “our avowed commitment to the rule of law, in which nobody is deemed to be above the law, no matter how highly placed in the society.”

It added that the public would be duly informed as the matter progresses.

Meanwhile, the Service said it had recommitted itself to the fundamental role of providing adequate security for all Nigerians to enable them to pursue their legitimate aspirations and businesses.

Punch reportage.

21 comments:

1. Dasuki?? Let me just keep shut nd read comments

2. There is more to this that meet the eyes o^o

*****EVERYWHERE IS GOOD*****

3. Why is he sacking everybody?

Yet his Boy Amaechi is so scared of his Govt being probed.

Change must start from the home

XOXO MYSTERY

1. Xoxo mystery, are you ok?
      Abi you no gbensh yesterday night?

4. Lobatan.
    Time to get back their pound of flesh.

5. Sambo ke lol the heat is on.

6. I hope this isnt a witchhunt? For christ sakes Dasuki had one of the highest security clearances in the country by virtue of his position thus making him a high profile target for anybody/group with an axe to grind with the government. Therefore I see nothing abnormal with the cache of weapons found in his possession. I believe DSS is just reaching with this one. But then again, they probably know sometning we dont.

1. He is liable is those rifles aren't registered or he doesn't have the legal licence to possess them. The DSS is out to get the man one way or the other. Besides, his bad blood with PMB goes back to the 80's when PMB was usurped. This is retribution.

2. But what did he do to Buhari na @Nicole

7. From undermining national security, they could only charge him for possession of firearms? Lmao. This dss just keeps falling their hand. Well, lets see how it goes

1. The DSS is following orders. If they had proof of substantial charges they would have brought them against him. They just want to charge him for one crime whilst they search for others .

8. Let all the people that have been defending this vindictive govt come and make another stupid excuse for this.

1. How come u r not playing the tribalistic card on this issue? Oh I see. The man served under ur GEJ regime and as such,he is a saint to u. Zuzupu ebea biko! Ezi bida!

9. Hehe who no lik him life hehe

10. is that all they could come up with??? MTCHCHHEEWWWW!!! (LOOOONNNNGGGG HISSSSSS)

11. CGroup. Bane of Nigeria. Watch things unfold

12. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Sorry man....

13. yoo waa!! wahali gaskiya! zes is good por this akuya walahi.. dis man heartless faa faaa! prosecution shikena!

14. Omo, don't watch that. This Dasuki is a real big thief. Let him come and tell Nigerians what he did with all the defence money. Nigerians would be shocked to their bone marrow walahi. Wo they have just started. They would send our poor soldiers to the battle front and swallow all the money meant for procurement of arms. Just wait people, you would hear a lot. Rubbish. Wicked people. Him and that his their assistant Kunle Aluko. Kola Alukos younger brother. Useless people