Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Emeka Offor, Abike Dabiri’s Firms,Others Owe Banks N143.81bn

Tuesday, August 04, 2015

Emeka Offor, Abike Dabiri’s Firms,Others Owe Banks N143.81bn

Nigerian Deposit Money Banks on Monday continued with the policy of naming and shaming their delinquent debtors with further publication of the names of firms and their directors whose loans have become non-performing for more than one year.
While nine banks published the names of the loans defaulters on Monday, four banks released the lists of their chronic debtors, owing a total of N143.81bn, on Tuesday.

The four banks are First Bank of Nigeria Limited, Access Bank Plc, Diamond Bank Plc and Unity Bank Plc.
The banks, which had published the list of their delinquent debtors on Monday were Zenith Bank Plc, Guaranty Trust Bank Plc, Union Bank Plc, Sterling Bank Plc, Skye Bank Plc, Fidelity Bank Plc, Stanbic IBTC Bank, Heritage Bank Limited and Enterprise Bank Limited.
First Bank, which has its total amount of non-performing loans as N43.72bn, published 92 names of delinquent debtors.

The first five companies on the lender’s list owe a combined sum of N23bn. These are Ajaokuta Steel Company Limited, Starcomm Plc; BGL Securities Limited, where a former Minister of Finance and National Planning, Kalu Idika Kalu, is a director; Shield Petroleum Limited and Fargo Petroleum and Gas Limited.

Shield Petroleum, the number one on the list, owes N6.883bn; while Zurich International Service, the last on the list, owes N26.69m.
Unity Bank also released 260 names of delinquent debtors with a combined NPL figure of N45.52bn.

The list has the companies of some prominent Nigerians. These include Umar Mutallab’s DeanShanger Project Limited, N3.6bn; Senator Ayodele Arise and a former Minister of State for Works, Mr. Dayo Adeyeye’s International Payment Devices Limited, N81.9m; and Prince Adeyanju Olateru-Olagbegi’s Cupid Investment BDC, N90.1m.

Other prominent companies on the list are Ekiti Kete Mass Transit, which owes N991m; Fargo Petroleum and Gas Limited, N2.5bn; Ava Cement Limited, N.8bn; and Plywood Chemical and Accessories, N1.1bn.
Ava Cement topped Unity Bank’s debtors’ list with N9.8bn, while Malcolm Akpokodje owes the least with N20m.

Access Bank Plc published a list of 11 delinquent debtors, with a combined NPL figure of approximately N3.4bn.
Top on the list are Bioka Ventures Limited, which owes N1.15bn, while Derukas International Limited was last on the list with a debt of N56.3m.
Diamond Bank Plc has N47.17bn as its total NPLs, with companies belonging to prominent Nigerians owing sizeable amounts.

These include Sir Emeka Offor’s Global ScanSystem Limited, which the bank says owes N181m; a former Chairman, House of Representatives Committee on the Diaspora, Mrs. Abike Dabiri-Erewa’s Thriller Eneavours, which owes N122m; and a former Delta State Commissioner for Sports Solomon Ogba’s Delta Mega Trend Limited, which owes N89m.

Aside the 13 banks which have published their debtor lists, other banks which will publish theirs this week are Ecobank Nigeria, First City Monument Bank Limited, Standard Chartered Bank, Keystone Bank Limited, United Bank for Africa Plc and Wema Bank Plc.

Investigations by our correspondents on Monday revealed that most of the banks had cut their list of delinquent debtors due to litigation with their customers over disputes arising from loan terms and last-minute renegotiations by some clients.

A top bank executive, who spoke to one of our correspondents under the condition of anonymity, said, “Some of the banks have to remove the list of some clients due to issues that border on litigation.
“Some names were removed at the last minute after the affected customers came to renegotiate with us. Some banks have had to cut the names on their debtors’ list by at least 50 per cent.”

Officials of banks, who spoke to our correspondents, linked the relatively high figure of the NPLs in some banks to inside connivance with customers, lingering margin loans and huge oil and gas-related loans.
According to them, customer relationship managers in some of the banks connived with the customers to obtain huge loans that eventually became bad.
They also said that long-standing margin loans in some banks were responsible for the high figure.

“A huge chunk of the loans are oil and gas related. The drop in oil prices has also worsened the situation for some oil and gas companies. They borrowed relatively large amounts of money, which later became bad loans,” an official of a tier-1 bank told our correspondent.
Meanwhile, the Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria will publish the list of its debtors early next week if they fail to regularise the terms of their loans with the agency.
The spokesperson for AMCON, Mr. Kayode Lambo, who confirmed this on Monday, said companies which failed to regularise the terms of their loans with the agency would have their names published.
“As many companies who have not been servicing their loans will have their names published,” he added.

The names of firms belonging to prominent Nigerians who have not been servicing their loans may appear on the list.
In 2009, the Federal Government spent about N5tn to buy the NPLs from banks to save them from imminent collapse.

AMCON, the government agency created after the 2009 banking crisis, was the special purpose vehicle used to acquire the NPLs from the banking sector.
The Central Bank of Nigeria had on April 22, 2015 directed the banks, discount houses and AMCON to publish the list of delinquent debtors from August 1.
They are to publish the names in at least three national newspapers on a quarterly basis.
In line with the directive, the banks gave the chronic debtors a three-month grace period, which expired on July 31.
The Director, Banking Supervision, CBN, Mrs. ‘Tokunbo Martins, had in a circular dated April 22, 2015, said, “In order to ensure that the industry NPL ratio does not exceed the prudential limit of five per cent and to improve the credit culture in the banking industry, banks and discount houses are directed to observe prudent credit underwriting and monitoring standards.”

The debtors are those whose accounts have been classified as lost and include persons, entities, directors, subsidiaries and other related parties, according to the central bank.

Edited from Punch

56 comments:

1. Sisi eko is the first to comment.what an achievement, I bet your mama will be so proud of you.

2. Abike Dabiri has denied the punch report.

Stella, check her twitter page.

2. Oh mon dieu.! Me no dey own bank, na bank dey own me ooooo.!

3. SDK is hot this morning o. Debtors go and pay ooo lol

4. A very nice initiative.
    Naming and shaming the chronic debtors. They should start paying immediately.
    But the banks should also publish the names of those debtors whose cases are in the courts. While indicating that their cases are in court. Like Aliko Dangote's brother that owes almost all the banks in the country.

5. Lmao. Emeka offor should sell his wife's private jet na. Hahahhahhaa while his staff at global scan were under paid and most times weren't even paid at all, Emeka was busy spending millions on wedding number __.
    This is why is good to be rich. The banks dare not go to their houses to harass them like they do to average people. It's a shame really. The legal system in Nigeria favors the rich most times.

1. You missed abike's name you hungry Yoruba fart

2. I've always said it that, it is when some so called "rich and famous" people die, that'll you'll know many are living a borrowed life. As the banks will swing in on their properties. No one uses their monies for business, the banks even force them to take loans most times.. knowing that they'll take their properties that aren't under lien as collateral.

Another thing some people do now is that, if they are cash strapped and cannot get quick cash for business or whatever.. they default in paying their bank loans because the banks can sell ur property quicker than an independent agent. So once the bank sells and removes their money, they give the debtor the balance and everyone is happy. That is if the property is worth more than debt owed.

3. Sisi Eko d Ms I know it all. Strapped kwa? Ok continu

6. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    See momey wey dey naija abeg..... The banks did great shah....

7. So madam abike is a debtor? Lol...and the 'almighty' Emeka Offor too??? Lool

8. Some have not serviced dia debts in 3/4 years n dey still have exotic cars,mansions,travel first class/private jets....n d banks couldn't reposses any of dia properties....d bank bosses shld be investigated too...

9. Big man---->big biz----->big loan.
    Nothing new.

10. Emeka Offor pay up your debt and stop flashing around...

11. Instead of dem to give young enterpreneurs loan! To start small bizzness to help in unemployment! Dey went to give thieves! Wateva! Dey shld Vomit dem! Is it bcus Baba bu bu said dey have found were all stolen money are!

I ask for 2million to start my own fruitbar/ lounge dem said I should go and bring my father's Blokkus for colletral! Idiots

Fruiterer/Eventsmanager

1. Oluwakemi. Lol @your father's blokos for collateral

2. I dey vex oh! Its so annoying! Pipu are out there ready to work! Pipu calling me if there is. Vacancy! I den tot to expand bizz oh! At least to help pipu off d joblessness! I take my leg waka go my bank av bin banking wit for years! Na so dem give me shocker of life! I use hand carry my breast waka commot!

Fruiterer/eventsmanager

12. Emeka Offor is not even owing serious money. He will pay them this afternoon for sure.

13. Chief of whom is Aliko Dangote, owing and intimidating all banks in Nigeria. I heard one back recently took over one of his investments

14. The banks in Nigeria only give loans to the so called big men, nothing for the common man. Even Abike???..hmmm..

15. Bank and their debtors, hope they do recover the lost money.

16. Oloshi banks,dats good fr u,wnt evn pity u lot,u kip enriching d rich while ur poor customers dnt av acces to loan,imagine such huge amount,if I approach u for loan to start up a busines wil u borrow me?u wil ask me to go and brng my great grand Fadaz thumb and so many Un reasonable things fr colateral,knowing fully well I'm jst a mere starter,abi how do u expect me to av a house or landed property as somone dat is jst startin life fr a colateral,to mak d mata worse dey evn require fr wat is worth more dan d loan fr colateral but at d snap of der fingers des rich pple kip getting loan fr una,na God go judge u. Ntorrrrrrrr.

17. The moller man next to Abike Dabiri is cute for days. I wanna fuck him. \(--________--)/

1. You can easily get his contact if you are in Abuja..
      All the runs girls there knows him...

18. Hmmmm,na only Emeka Offor's name I see o.
    Kcee (Ogaranya) will sing and mention him.
    Ruffcoin(Eriwa agwu agwu)will sing and mention him.
    Oh,Abike Dabiri's name is dia too? Beht why??
    *suspicious look*

1. It's normal nau...
      You can hardly see a business man that does not borrow from banks...

19. NA DEM FACES B DS???TOMJERRYSWIT

20. Abike own na cloths, etc she buy. Emeka Offor na marry n cars him buy.
    At least some women got their shares from the loans.

21. Please don't mind all these banks, they are the ones that go about searching for rich people to give money to. I know someone whose bank gave him 400m for business, he paid 300m and the bank was ready to give him another loan. And this time the amount triple the former. And other banks are on his case wanting to give him loan. There is a bank he owes over 150m and hasn't paid them in 8 months and they still want to give him another loan because he told them the business he did with that crumbled.. They are desperate like that, so why the naming and shaming??

22. Imagine, and just 100k is enoff for me to start a biz, dey will never loan me lai lai. God pls rememba me. The bank managers only connive with d rich because of the bribes they give to dem.

23. Where is otedola and dangote's name??? Those are the major debtors

24. That money is a chicken change to Sir E. Haba!

25. Ordinary people hardly have non performing loans(so called), only the high and mighty have always. Why? Simply because the ordinary folks must first provide security that must be worth more than the loan requested if they are ever to get a loan. The high and mighty are not asked to provide such by their fellow high and mighty who are in charge of the loans. In the case of the ordinary people they care that the money belongs to people hence the follow the rules while in the case of the powerful they don't care that the money belongs to people

26. Emeka use him own marry n buy cars.
    Abike na cloths n others
    Alh n women.

Na for women some spent d cash.

27. Big man
    Big problem
    Even Emeka Offor

28. Na Gbemi Olateru papa name be that? make them fear God.ooooo!*mouthWideOpen*

29. Abike sai chanji

30. For all these thieves, scammers and white collar robbers, follow up with a white-collar crimes registry. This will mean going 4ward, anyone found to be in the registry cannot get a bank loan, contract or position involving finances, etc. For assistance on setting up this registry, contact: goodcause4trouble