Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FACTS ABOUT THE ASYLUM-SEEKERS SPOTTED IN LAGOS

Thursday, August 13, 2015

FACTS ABOUT THE ASYLUM-SEEKERS SPOTTED IN LAGOS

In the light of the recent publications across various blogs and social media, regarding the influx of Togolese Asylum-seekers into Nigeria and at the National Commission for Refugees, Migrants and Internally Displaced Persons (NCFRMI); it is imperative that the general public fully understands what seems to be the situation on ground.

Some reports erroneously referred to these persons as Refugees, they are in fact, not Refugees, but they are Asylum-Seekers. The difference being that Asylum-Seekers are persons who are seeking to be granted the status of Refugee by a host country, while legally-speaking, Refugees are persons who have been granted such a status.

These Togolese Asylum-seekers in question were originally in the Republic of Benin, where they had fled to during the political crisis which engulfed the Republic of Togo in 2005. Having been in the Agame refugee camp in Benin Republic for the past ten (10) years, the government of Benin upon realizing that things have returned to apparent normalcy in Togo asked the Refugees to either be reintegrated into the Beninoise society as the camp needed to be shut down or return to their country of origin (Togo), but they refused either of the options and have found their way into Nigeria.

As is the international practice, when these Asylum-seekers got to the NCFRMI office, they were duly registered by the Commission and given Attestation documents, these documents enable them to move about freely in the country, pending when their Refugee Status would be determined. It is also noteworthy that the United Nations High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR), which is a UN Agency who works directly with the NCFRMI on Refugee issues, actually offered each of the Asylum-seekers some funds in order to enable them either return to Togo or find somewhere to stay pending their status determination, but some of them turned down the monies and instead preferred to camp out in front of the Office along, Awolowo Road, Ikoyi.

So it is important to note that anyone (individual, religious organization or NGO) seeking to provide help and/or shelter to these individuals should embrace caution, especially with the current security situation in the country and the West African sub-region at large.

BV Gboyega

37 comments:

1. they better go back to Togo. Or do they want to become househelp or nanny

2. Really, thanks for the enlightenment.

Need a yummy Birthday/Wedding cake in Abuja? Home / office delivery. Also send a gift of cake to your loved one in Abuja.Pls click on my ID to see pics and my contact details.

3. pls does first to comment hv a cash reward

4. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    When this one start.... People wey if them just get house nw them don turn full Nigerians...... Wishing all the best shah...

5. What do they mean by, they refused the monies?

See,these days, one has to be careful.

Next thing, they'll try to usurp the owners of the land.

Once again, Bubu, please don't allow these people have be granted refugee status.

Their country is no longer at war,so they need to be sent back.

Imagine!

6. Hian...oriegwu!
    Gov. Ambode over to you ooh!

7. Nice, anyone who can help with anything should go help dem please.... Our brothers and sisters do worst in another man land is time for us to help those who come for us for help......... U can ask dem to go back to their country if u ve never travel out of naija or if u don't have any relative who base outside naija....... Cos ur relatives might be a refugee in another man's land too ....

8. I know naija is very hard at d moment but if dey can cope let dem stay....

9. Thanks for the update Gboyega. Please let's all tread with caution o...

Click my blog for juicy info:
    www.uyitimi.blogspot.com

1. Sometyms it seems dt our govt r getting fooled by d day! Ow can d reject Benin republic bt choose 2 find their way 2 our country Nigeria & stl reject offer on top. Biko,bk 2 sender,togo ko 2go ni! Imagine o & dey r so relax,wat is wrong in ur country ni. Una wan come stay d next 10yrs here too? Lord hv mercy! Abeg,baba shd order them outta Nigeria.

2. .....then they must be criminals and lazy parasites!why is it Ikoyi awolowo rd dey choose to camp?why not ajegunle,mushin or any other slum on the mainland?
      #ole them!

10. Hmmmmmmmmm. I saw somebody around Ijesha along Apapa expressway today like those Militant from the Northern part. People should be vigiliant.

11. They should be sent back to Togo already!
    We are having issues as it is and can't condone influx from togo

The govt should do d right thing by sending them BACK

12. Na wa.. different issues keep emanating.

13. Sorry to say, but our population is too much. They should go back to their country since it's now calm there. How will Nigeria be better if the population is more than what we r bargaining for?

14. Oh chim.... of course they will refuse to go and nothing will be done to them cos naija is lawless... as Benin tell dem to go, y dem no stay back? Something should be done biko o! Meanwhile I haven't heard or seen Lasgidi governor in d news lately... Ambode and his disciples should do something o! Mmadu agaghi anwu kwuru oria Monday.

1. Very soon, some women will start to employ some of them as cooks, nannies or house maids. Just wait and see as someone will use this as an opportunity to start a dubious agency for hiring maids and nannies. They'll use them to collect monies from unsuspecting Nigerians. Shey na kuku Togolese people dey do that kind job the most.

15. So they keep refusing to return to their country. .what do dey want in naija?
    Does that mean nigeria doesn't have d right to bundle them and send them back to Togo?
    Hian

16. Hmmn! No where is cool o! Somebody better tell them. We can't possibly put out their fires when our own roofs still dey burn. Impossicant! Return them..back to sender! We already got enof on our plates! Our hands are too full!

GHANAMAN signing out!

1. Ghanaman I thought u are from Ghana. Y u follow us dey drag our country na.

17. Abeg make them carry their wahala comot for Nigeria, I dont understand their mission.

18. porous borders, this is how Ebola will resurface again...Aadonbelivit

1. GBAM. How did they pass through seme???.....and what is ging on in Togo is it worse than boko haram stuff gping on here..they go back now now.

19. Eyyaaa,i saw them all loitered along awolowo road ikoyi yesterday evening...I really felt for them.pls Federal government should do something for them

20. Ten years and they refused to settle down, this is just stupidity. The were given good options in Benin they rejected it because they are lazy to face the struggle of this life and yet won't return home. Our problem is handful already they should not had to it, am sure some should have even gone back home but this prefer to roam Africa.

21. I wonder how they got into the country. Why are they not kept in a camp or detention till their fate is decided.
    Oh Stella how u doing in Wendy's voice. Longest time!

22. I'm not saying they don't need help o.....but since their country is stable again and they r refusing to go back, what exactly do they want here?.....to constitute a nuisance?....The government should do the right thing pls.

23. I don't usually comments. Those of you saying Nigerian Government should send them back to their country. This is my prayer to you. When you go to Foreign consulate office to get visas to either study, relocate, or for vacation, may you all never get it. The consulate officers will reject all your applications in Jesus name. Yes I said it and I am Nigerian. You all don't think that Europe or the U.S don't have their economic and population problems, but it is the same people condemning these poor people will be the first to say Europeans and Americans are wicked for denying their visa applications or for deporting your relatives or friends. Nigerians are wicked! Stella, please post my comment because I am pissed. What is wrong with assisting people when you don't have. And you all go to church and pray for wealth and prosperity and wonder why God doesn't answer your prayers! Have you forgotten the widow that gave Elijah her last bowl of food and how God blessed her and her household . I was taught that God blesses you when you sacrifice for your neighbours. These people need our help and what is wrong with helping them with the little we have. God will bless us for it. Do you think Europe or U.S that assist refuges or immigrants have resources. They have issues with poverty and unemployment, but they try to help the world. For once Nigerians, please stop being selfish and self-centered!

1. Is that not how some illegal migrants have been harassing the uk/France border in the past weeks. Endangering their lives in the process. Every country is faced with refugees or distressed people hoping for a better life somewhere. They should do it the proper way. That's all.

24. Stella, is there any way we can assist these people by donating clothing and food? Please confirm. I want to help.

25. I guess my country people don't know how to quarantine people. Why let them lose like this? Even with this Ebola wey still dey ravage some African countries. Well if they want to dwell here Na den sabi, afterall my people migrate to other countries seeking for better living. People just have to be careful if they wanna take some in as helps, before they use their children as diced meat. God forbid bad thing.

26. The worst thing in the world is having to run from your land into another's just for mere survival. This life make no promises to any man and we just have to play the hand dealt to us.