Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: ICPC indicts Okiro And Asks Him To Refund N133m

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

ICPC indicts Okiro And Asks Him To Refund N133m

The Independent Corrupt Practices and other related offences Commission has directed the Chairman, Police Service Commission, Mike Okiro, to remit N133m to the Federal Treasury through the ICPC recovery account at First City Monument Bank.

This was the balance of the N350m he received from the Federal Government for staff training and physical monitoring of police personnel during the last general elections.

The ICPC also ordered the workers of the commission who were paid two-way return tickets and airport taxi fares to location within the Federal Capital Territory and states close to Abuja during the monitoring exercise to refund to the treasury N11.75m.

“Consequently, this Commission hereby directs as follows that the total balance of N133,413,845.99 from the N350,000,000 2015 election monitoring exercise domiciled within FCMB be remitted to the Federal Treasury through the ICPC Recovery Account No. 1012929790 at Zenith Bank Plc,” it directed.
The anti-graft agency said this in its report of investigations into allegations of graft levelled against Okiro by a PSC worker, Solomon Kaase, who petitioned the ICPC in May, 2015 over alleged moves by Okiro to swindle the PSC to the tune of N275m.

He alleged that the retired Inspector-General of Police claimed that the money would be used to train 900 PSC workers when the total number of the workers of the commission was 391.
The ICPC confirmed that the PSC had only 391 workers contrary to 900 claimed by Okiro.
It said, “Investigation findings revealed that the commission budgeted for training of 900 (members of) staff and to conduct training in Abuja, Lagos and Kano.

“However, the entire staff force was not more that 391 and that is the figure actually trained in a programme held in Abuja only. The commission accepted the explanation that due process could not be adhered to strictly because of time constraint.”
The report signed by the ICPC Chairman, Ekpo Nta, and dated August 6, 2015, said investigation revealed that the commission paid daily travelling allowances to all members of staff including those based in Abuja that participated in the training programme held within Abuja.

“Air tickets and DTA were paid to management staff and others who monitored elections within Abuja and its environs; even at locations where airports do not exist such as Lokoja and Minna,” the report, which was addressed to the commission’s Permanent Secretary, stated.
The ICPC observed that the PSC chairman collected money for two conferences that ran simultaneously in Dublin and Orlando, Florida, noting that he did expend the ticket fare for the Dublin trip.

The agency, however, said Okiro had written to the Presidency to expend the ticket fare for Abuja-Orlando-Abuja on another trip coming up in October, 2015, stressing that it (ICPC) should be informed if the request was turned down.

Punch

27 comments:

1. Everywhere leader in the country are not just clean

2. Until Nigeria imitate developed countries and start sending these public looters to prison, the fight against corruption will remain a charade.

1. Am surprised u didn't term this a witch hunt.

2. He would have termed it so if the chairman's name was Abdullahi or Musa. As na Ekpo Nta, he is comfy. Tribalistic bigot.

3. And ur days are nos dis man.my father is going to get ur possition.

4. Na wa o!!! Ole plenty for Naija!!!
    He better return d money.

5. Oga ooooh.......please bring back our money!

1. All these figures be giving me serious headache. How can someone just steal this kinda money?
      It is wa.

2. All of u better go on your knees and start thanking God for Buhari now. If not for the Buhari effect, all these "our" money for don lost o! If Jonathan had remained prez,the "our" money for be Sei Gobe.

6. Wher are all these old men robbing us blind taking the nations money to.

7. Replies
    1. Pastor BelieveAll why are you surprised he stole? Because he is a "christian"? Lmao!

8. Won't he be jailed ?

9. Omo, see money! The way they call these millions eh..

10. No wonder he is very careful in choosing his ministers and people who will head government agencies.

Please Buhari don't let anyone head NNPC oh, please head it yourself...There is no more room for day light robbery.
    These men and women have stolen so much that the interest on the money stolen sef would be huge... however they can keep the interest, at least return the bulk amount of money.
    The peoples money is not lottery abeg.
    To think some people are still kicking against Buhari because of tribal issues...these are real issues he is dealing with...you cannot do much if you are cash strapped. People are indeed suffering big time. Go to Lagos now, Nepa sef don step up for fear of repercussions. It's not the best but Nigeria is getting there.
    It only takes living in a developed country, even Ghana next door to see ordinary Nigerians have been suffering and smiling for too long.
    That was how Jona was having countless nonsense dinners with Nollywood artist....one i understand but more than 10???? what is the point of that?

11. These are the old men that went for national conference. I dont know what they want to tell us. He should bring all the money back. Afterall police no be my friend self.

1. He will bring it back my dear. We will get OUR money back. Wanna know why? Because of the fear of our dearest Daura go-slow-and-steady president. So start thanking God for him now now.
      O, and stop insulting a good man old enough to be your grandpa before God go vex for you.

12. NaAawoooo! Even Okiro self!!! Mmmmmmmmmm! Trust no one @all. See as he's dishing out monies as if it is his private property. They should refund all! The war has started in earnest! Say NO to corruption.

13. There is money in this country o. Are these old men and women looting our monies going to take it with them to the great beyond? I just tire.

14. 9ja
    Hmmmmmmmm
    Everybody wants to eat from the national cake

15. Pls let them return all our money. God is watching oh!

16. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    They should refund all our money criminals...

17. Na wa. By the time these guys return all the money, Naija'd be richer than US.

18. Stella, I am an avid reader of your blog, though I seldom comment. I expect you to be more balanced with your reporting, after having read through various reports on the matter. As a journalist, you are to research further on any new report you come across. ICPC did not indict Okiro. Infact, the ICPC report in paragraph 3 states clearly that the ICPC's investigation has not revealed any criminal infraction against Mr. Okiro's person. The Account in FCMB is an Police Service Commission account and not ICPC as you have reported. I expect better from you. If you like don't post this comment.

19. I have taken out timee to read your post and other comments, no blame to the commentators, but the truth of the matter is that I have the privilege of seeing the official report of the ICPC. There wasn't anywhere Okiro was indicated or asked to return any money.. For doubting Thomases, let me quote an excerpt of the report Paragraph 3, " The investigation has not revealed any act of criminal infraction against the person of Sir Mike Mbama Okiro, the chairman of the Police Service Commission" and it will interest you to know that, the money to be remitted back to the government is the balance that was left in PSC' account domiciled in FCMB. So next time, as a professional journalist, let objectivity be your mantra and stop misleading people of your fake, malicious and scandalous stories.