Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Internet Not Fair To African Women

Thursday, August 06, 2015

Internet Not Fair To African Women

A South African digital media analyst and feminist, Mich Atagana, has said that the Internet is unfair to African women.

Atagana, who was once a journalist and lecturer, said this in an interview Punch.

She noted that the way some people responded to women on the Internet had been affected by a negative societal perception of the female sex existing on the digital space.

“Women in the society are expected to behave in a certain way and that has been transferred to the Internet. This has always been a problem, especially on the world stage,” she said.

Atagana said that women had been increasingly scrutinised online.

She singled out “revenge porn and slut shamming” as indications that women would continue to suffer unfair attacks on the Internet unless there is a change in public perception.

She said, “A study by the Pew Research Centre found that ‘young women between the ages of 18 and 24 experience harassment at disproportionately high levels’ with 26 per cent of them saying they have been stalked online. Among them, 25 per cent said they were targets of sexual harassment.

“A South African writer, Sian Ferguson, probably put it in the best perspective when she recently wrote: ‘I have only a handful of places on the Internet where I know I can be my true self without being disrespected, silenced or trolled.”

According to the woman who is now a brand manager, the unfair treatment meted out to females has defeated the primary principle of the Internet, which is the freedom of expression.

“The Internet was supposed to democratise all voices regardless of age, gender, race or belief. What has emerged since those days is a disturbing trend for this anonymity to be misused. Quite often, this abuse manifests as a tool to be used to provide a cover for some people to harass and threaten women for daring to give a frank opinion in an online forum,” she said.

Explaining the implication of this development, she said the society would breed a generation of women who would grow up nursing a low self-esteem.

She said, “Apart from humiliating the young women, it affects their self-esteem. They will live in a world where they have been painted as something else on the world stage. We seem to have entered a world where a culture of humiliation is okay. And no one is stopping it.

“Young girls are being taught to be ashamed and to keep quiet because the world will not defend them. All over the world, young girls are having their sexuality used as a weapon against them. This is tragic.”

Atagana, who currently works for Google South Africa, said many women had started dumping the Internet to avoid unwarranted harassment.

“We cannot escape the Internet. But more women are either choosing to leave or temper their expressions. It is hard to explore the full possibilities of the Internet, contribute to valid conversations, as well share your world when someone might use these things against you because of your gender.

-Punch

This double-standardness is real. A man is free to say what ever he likes and acts as he wishes on the internet, but a woman is expected to act a certain way else she's attacked and called unprintable names?And some even add that she is married so should be careful,The men aint married?

People, please stop being unfair to women on the internet!

As for me as an African woman NOBODY can hold my hand or mouth,I say it and i move on *Hisssss!*

38 comments:

1. It goes beyond the internet. Saying internet has not been fair to women is actually shying away from the real truth, the truth is that the society itself has not been fair to women. The world to today is designed to favour men, it's so unfair to women.

2. Hisssssssssss for the world!!!!!!

3. Hmmn I remember one time not too long ago when on (twitter) #Nhi a lady hosting the show said she has 13 body count(slept with 13 men) hmmn. After Linda carried the news this lady was harrased, abused and she even got a death threat. It was horrible. A lot of people calling her prostitute etc. I was shocked!!!! 13? I know a lady with 58 body count! She is married with kids now. Some ladies have lost count. Most men have lost count of the numbers of women they slept with. Yet this generated so much ruckus.

4. A woman who makes sense and comports herself well can only be shamed by fools.

A woman who comports herself as a brainless, vain slut should not expect a queen's treatment.

I believe the same goes for men too.
      Real men reason with intelligent women

You leave the privacy of your bedroom and come online practically nude with suggestive poses and expect the world to comment on your intelligence, abi.

Life's not only about boobs, hips, looks and exotic fashion labels. Make meaningful contributions and the world will applaud you.

Earn the respect you deserve!

5. D'arc, I know what you're trying to say but that isn't always the case. Let's not be naive here. The pretty girl that usually keeps herself and says no to all the guys in uni is always dissed and accused of "playing hard-to-get", she'll get taunted while walking by a bunch of guys, some guys would even go as far as "setting her up" to teach her a lesson. This kind of behavior also spills into the matured professionals' sphere but in a more covert way. Some men will say stuff like "is she trying to say she's a virgin at her age?" "you must not really want that job/postion" etc. I've heard of a rich married man trying to "toast" this banker and she politely declined, after several attempts, he even sent huge amounts of funds into her bank account (information he never should have haf but was given because he had the "connections"). She returned his money, only for the man to go to her boss to request that he would like for her to be fired if they don't want him to take his business elsewhere. This lady's life was frustrated and she was reduced to a walking shell, she couldn't get another job because it was as if all her moves where being watched and she was turned down for no particular reason anywhere she went, her old job was scared to give her a good reference, her landlord was troubling her for rent, she had no money to her name. She had to go back and beg the root of her troubles and the man even insulted her, told her he knew she was still going to come begging and she ended up succumbing to the him. Need I say she never got her job back but now she drives the best cars despite being jobless. He made sure he put her in a position where she would always need him ginancially while keeping her comfortable while doing it. A lot of females, both young adults or matured ones cling to a man in order to avoid all that humiliation. And all what I'm saying are things I've seen happen to people. These are regular occurrences in Nigeria. A lot of these ladies put on this "I don't send" attitude and sexualize themselves before the men do it for them because the believe that one way or the other, they would still have to tow that line so they try to be in control of it. Mind you, a lot of these decently dressed and comported women in Nigeria are not any better than the ones who post their "sexy" pics online. You would have to be the most naive and impressionable person on the planet to believe that. A lot of these ladies just adjust according to the situations they find themselves in. I really don't judge a lot of our sisters in Nigeria, some find themselves in more fortunate situations than others because not all fingers are equal but in general, it's a very tough world out there for a woman and the same men who set the nasty ball rolling will be the first to call them names. If you can call women names for the way they post pics and yet you're chasing them around while you have a wife and kids at home, one finger points to the women and the remaining fingers are pointing Right at you!. The bullying is both online and on-ground, changing people's perception and the attitude of blaming and humiliating the women no matter what is what needs to change. Thank you!

2. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    True talk nobi lie and thats why i just love being a man i swear.....

3. Akuko! It's unfair to who chose to c d unfair side...

4. Lol. Stella don vex. Me too I join. Hissssssssssssssss***

5. Double mtcheeeew! Now everything is tagged a man's world!!!

6. Too long and overdrawn for a trivial subject. Woman,pick another struggle! African women THRIVE on the 'net.

7. And I say this candidly,70percent of the time,its the ladies that are being unfair to their same sex.
    Take for instance, a lady goes online to say she went to a male friend's house and was raped,men would show emphathy,some ladies like her will blame and insult her.
    You'll hear stuffs like "ashawo what did you go to a guy's house to do?
    I know there are normal questions to be asked in rape cases,but the way and manner its being asked matters a lot.

Its like talking to the man in the mirror.
    I think the key thing should be people having self-esteem, and not giving in to pull him/her down syndrome.

1. Yea! Women are mostly d culprits here to deir fellow women.Women Always shaming deir fellow women. Some can be soo judgemental eh.

Buh u know how dey say it...D Guilty ones are d most hypocritical...dey scream d loudest....hehehe

8. Decency to me is the key.Truly as a lady,there are some certain things u should not say in public.Just be decent.If a lady dresses properly and carries herself well,she will be respected by men.Men know their limit when they communicate with decent ladies.

1. Wow! Lilian, It's so sad that you don't even see it but you're one of the types of people the article is referring to. Your comment is still putting an unfair scrutiny on women while the men could be doing something 100 times worse but it's still ignored or treated as something too trivial but the women are persecuted for doing a fraction of it. Double standards is what we're discussing here. Of course, everyone should be decent and carry themselves in a decent manner. If it's going to apply at all, then it should apply to both males and females. If a woman is going to be attacked for posting pictures she took in her bikini then men should also be attacked for posting pictures in their boxer shorts. If a woman is going to be called vain for posting selfies, then men should also get dissed when they post photos of their "eggplants". Men make the most sexually explicit comments online all the time and even make condescending comments about women in general but nobody raises an eyelid because "he's just being a guy" but a lady gets asked a question about her "body count", she gives a honest answer and she gets swarmed. That is the issue her. Of course we all need to act and carry ourselves properly but it has to be everybody not just according to what your gender is........... Just Me

9. This comment has been removed by the author.

10. Life it self isn't even fair.

11. dat is what DH use to tell me dat d day l will cook burnt food 4 him becos of this internet thing he will take dis my phone and buy me nokia touchlight lol

12. Women are their own problm, see them on sound city everyday shaking their butts half naked upandan lik they don't have relatives

13. For those women that care about what ppl say. As for me I don't fucking care anymore.

14. Is it not the same women that post their nudes on net? Posting suggestive pictures, and cry wolf when slandered or stalked! DRESS THE WAY, YOU WANT TO BE ADDRESSED! The women have also used the net to their advantage! Getting sugar daddies and having orgies! Women are always playing the victim!

1. Hmmmm, you seem to know a lot about it tho

15. Abeg leave matter . You're the victim only when u allow it. All these wallowing in self or gender pity Sef . Respect yourself , walk with dignity and head held up and no man dare even talk trash to/ about you. You can change the way u want to be addressed. That's the good thing about life. You hold the four aces woman.

1. God bless you. Women always playing the victim where they are the rouble rousers.

You present yourself as a brainless slut with nothing else to offer and you expect to be applauded as a regal queen.

This campaign is meaningless.

Comport yourselves the way you want to be addressed. You will get what you deserve.

16. The truth is, respect is given to whom it's due, respect is earned, no one owe anybody respect.
    You will be taken the way you take yourself, society differs from society, so u have to behave the way your place dictates.

African women have copied the whites that's why they are having problems, if a Nigerian woman decide to be a feminist then she should be ready for insults and humiliation because our own society don't condone that, if yemi alade exposes herself like Rihanna then she should be ready for insult cox

17. And yet you say all this while advertising breast and hip enlargement? Lmao!! Pick a struggle abeg. So respect is given to whom it's due, right? Your potential customers who are willing to enlarge their boobs and hips all of a sudden, abeg who are they enlarging them for again? So your Nigerian culture now dictates that we can start enlarging your body parts for a more sexy/sexual look, right? And we all know the aristo situation in Nigeria, don't we? By the way, I don't judge anybody and I think your body is your own to contour it whichever way you want but I'm just shining the light of your own mentality on your line of business. If you can judge women and support thier humiliation because they're not behaving the way you think our society dictates then you also could be judged and insulted for trying to further aristo behaviour and slutty photos online by providing a means for ladies with natural figures to get bigger hips and breasts. Gerrit?

18. Anonymous 00:16 u are a Blessed Human being and GOD wud uplift u in all areas of ur life dat wud bring goodness n prosperity to u.u are very truthful.

19. Thanks anon 10:55, and you too. May the good Lord bless you for recognizing.