Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Job Creation Drops By 69% In Three Months

Sunday, August 23, 2015

Job Creation Drops By 69% In Three Months

The National Bureau of Statistics on Friday released its job creation report for the second quarter of 2015, stating that the economy created a total of 141,368 jobs within the period.

Statistician-General of the Federation and Chief Executive Officer, 
National Bureau of Statistics, Dr. Yemi Kale

The bureau, in the report, stated that the number of jobs created in the second quarter was however 69.9 per cent or 327,702 lower than the 469,070 jobs created in the first quarter of 2015.
The report did not give reasons for the drop in employment created within the second quarter.

It said, “In the second quarter of 2015, the total number of jobs created in the economy was 141,368 jobs, this is a decline of 69.9 per cent (327,702) over the number of jobs in the preceding quarter and 45.5 per cent less than the total number of jobs recorded in the same period of 2014.

“In the formal sector, 51,070 new jobs were generated, representing 36.1 per cent of total jobs generated in the second quarter of 2015. This is a decline of 61.6 per cent (79,871) jobs when compared to the first quarter of 2015 and a 35.2 per cent decline when compared to the same period in 2014.

“In the public sector of the economy, there was a 11.7 percent (669) increase in the number of jobs created making 6,395 new jobs generated in the public sector in the 2nd quarter of 2015, the jobs generated in the public sector represents 4.5percent of the total jobs generated during the reference period.”
Under informal jobs, which typically consists of jobs generated by individuals or businesses employing less than 10 or those businesses operating with little or no structures, the report said an estimated 83,903 new jobs were created in this sector.

This, it noted represents a decline of 74.8 per cent over the 332,403 new jobs created in the first quarter of 2015.

Punch reportage.

53 comments:

1. Nigerians has been deceived by the APC.
    How a man that can a dull, semi illiterate, archaic old man be the saviour, we has been waiting for?
    This is just the beginning. More surprises awaits us.

1. Oga you're not even employable sef with this kind of grammar

2. But with all your degrees you can't still write English correctly to save a life, "Mr. Broke asshole".

3. See dis idiat wiv his epileptic English!!!

4. @Lafresh aka sisi eko: its auto correct wahala. Ok. I forgot to proof read.
      My English language is impeccable.
      For your information. I am one of the biggest employer of labour in the country. OK. byee

5. Invest ur Money in english tect book mehn...TF mehn...Dullard...

6. *Sneezing * nnnttia*Sneezing again*nnnttiaa
      Abeg cold they catch me for Ingrish.

7. Lolz. Brokeass ass jobless mofos everywhere.

8. This comment has been removed by the author.

9. See this one. I'm still your major show stopper on this blog I can tell. I wish I was La fresh! U think if I have ur kind of time I can't tell u off with sisi eko abi? I'll now dedicate another moniker to u? You of all the people on this blog? U?? I mean u? Nahhh it's a waste of time mate. Ciao!!

2. ehn! if i hear! for where una create the jobs dem?? na him 80% of sdkers still dey jobless... taaaaaaa

1. Madam, is English language that difficult? OK. Let me put it like this for you:
      The number of people wey dey lose their job pass number of people wey dey get new job. Abeg. Don't thank me. Go back to skul.

2. Okija Whoremonger, you are back with another pseudonym.
      That shows how distorted your already miserable life is.
      Madam, maintain your cyber lane already. I put you in your place months back and i expect you to remain there.
      I hope you managed to grow a brain while away?
      Independence tunnel slut

3. Go back and read the piece again abeg.

4. sunshine am am happy you are talking to okija wife not me.... if them born your usless bastard mama well, call my name na..... i remain KOLOMENTAL

5. am happy you talking to okija whoremonger and not me..... if them born your usless beggar mama well,, mention my name naa..... i remain KOLOMENTAL

6. Kolomental abeg forget d fool sunshine, very soon, she will go dig up her dictionary (yea, she's jobless like dat) and write one long epistle filled with grammatical insults so that people will oooooooh and aaaaaaaaah. But at d end of d day, she's d jobless miserable one.

Lol @i put u in Ur place. Who the fuck! Says such childish stuff. That girl is very senseless. But I don't blame her, no father to teach her and her mum is one Yoruba ashawo fucking tom, dick and harry.

7. hahahahhahahahahahaha

yes ma@eka joy..... but if she continues, i go finish the ashawo ajegunle born throwaway pikin call sunshine o

3. Nigerians should be thinking God if job creation don't drop by 100% by the end of administration.
    How can Nigerians expect a man that can barely speak English to be the Messiah?
    This is just the beginning.
    No wonder the value of the naira has been on a free fall since the beginning of this govt. Jobs are being destroyed since there is no vision or economic blue print by this regime.

1. He can't speak but can write better than you

2. You took the words out of my mouth...
      3 months since he took over....
      Kwakwakwakwa...
      Oriegwu!...

3. *thanking........ Na auto correct wahala.
      Having said that.
      @La fresh aka sisi eko :
      I prefer to be a money maker than a brokeass yoruba English language expert.

4. Kikikiki empty brain

5. I'm proudly south south, that's the only info you will get from my CV.

6. La Fresh biko fulfil this person's fantasy by adding sisi eko to ur moniker na... my name gives him sleepless nights that everyone who corrects or bashes him is me.. Ahahah u wish!! If only u know u won't waste ur time.

4. By the way, @Eka ite. I can comment as many times I want. Bcos no be your papa or mama get dis blog.

1. Go back to school idiat

2. This anonymous too is sisi eko kwa? Ahahahah smh

5. Side eyes at all team CHANGE members.
    Still waiting for the jobs baba go-slow promised.

6. #Using microscope and infrared lens to look for jobs created within the first quarter of 2015. Oh! Are they talking about the jobs given to children, grandchildren and relatives of PDP loyalists and sycophants just before the elections? #Walks out of post to check on my pot of sunday jollof rice and fried plantain#

7. This silly lad that calls himself money maker just keeps churning out dumb comments. High annoying! Silly lad

8. I laugh in swahili. What is this man saying? How come unemployment is yet to be reduced in this country with the thousands of jobs he claims that have been created. Chai! Make una fear God o!

9. This statistic na true?
    Bureau of statistics still better pass in activity than library , museum people who don forget Tey Tey wetin their work be again
    Weda na government no gree give them money in the past or corruption don finis them I no know

Think am when last you see either organisation active

10. It is well. Small small e go better

11. We are waiting and watching ooooo. Somehow some way there will be a miracle cos this job ish is not a small something.

12. In this era of change, the 3 million job promised must be fulfilled o. Meanwhile this govt is owing my mum and my jobless sis 3 months salary.

13. Eka Joy, I insist you are a BASTARD.
    A filthy one to be precise.
    Dont be deceived. When people have been together for long, they begin to look alike.
    Omo Ale gidi ni e. Ask your mother. Threaten her with a shotgun.
    She'd open up on how you were adopted and they were told that you were given away.
    Most of the 'senseless' Buhari supporters are better than your family members in all ramifications and so shall it remain until the apocalypse.
    Yes, I have a boo and he didnt threaten me not to vote for the candidate of my choice.
    That shows how insiginificant you are in the situationship.
    Insolent stone age pig.

1. your mama and papa insolent stone age bastard piglets!!!

2. @Sunshine :
      That's how vain and shameless. you yoruba people are.
      So having a boo is now an achievement. That's why your people always have 90% of their children outside marriage.

3. See wat u re saying on a sunday morning. You aint no Sunshine. U freaking evil. U need Jesus and a cube of St Louis sugar today

4. Sunburn. Lol! So people can be this jobless? It's amazing.

14. Oh Lord. Please save our nation

15. I like Sunshine and Eka Joy, please why are you two fighting?
    Can you both overlook whatever it is and forge ahead?
    May the peace and love of Christ dwell with you all.

1. No abeg, leave her, let her be running thru my comments seeking my attention up and down. I dunno if I'm d cause of her joblessness, abi am I? Instead of her to beg me to show her d way, she's busy hating.

Abeg d blog needs drama, let her keep bringing it. Wasted sperm!

16. Stella, give us the stats in a graphical form.. So it can be better appreciated... No be only copy and paste work abeg!

17. Job growth is a major market of economic growth. If job creation or growth is down, it means employers aren't hiring or are laying people off. In turn, spending will reduce as people are uncertain what the future holds interns of job security and they'll focus on saving for a rainy day.

The reason jobs have fallen is the uncertainty in the economy. Nobody is investing. Nobody is starting new businesses that will employ labour. Nobody is sure of the policy direction of the new government especially as there's no cabinet in place. Thise with existing businesses are holding on for now. And where some want to brave the odds and invest anyway, they can't as they are unable to source foreign currency to import/export raw materials and machines. Tightening fiscal policy is not necessarily a bad thing but when you start restricting how people can use their money, your economy is in trouble. A policy targeting corrupt politicians is great but not when its at the expense of millions of legitimate business men and women

18. Lie! Fake statistics. How did they go about it? Una don see fool.

19. This is what we call liar liar pant on fire.
    Bogus statistics.