Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Landlord And Wife Arrested For Tenant’s Death Over Quit Notice

Wednesday, August 05, 2015

Landlord And Wife Arrested For Tenant’s Death Over Quit Notice

According to Vanguard,Delta State Police Command is currently investigating circumstances surrounding the alleged killing of one Iriguvwedo Joshua by his landlord, Mr. Blessing Omasehe.

The victim, who until his death, was a driver and machine operator at a private water factory located by Aziza Junction, along Warri-Sapele Road, was alleged to have died from wounds sustained from the attack at his Chinkelly Street residence, Ekpan, Uvwie Local Government Area of the state.

Recounting the incident that led to the death of the victim, his elder brother, Abraham Iriguvwedo, yesterday told newsmen that his brother was killed with a cutlass on Friday by his landlord over a fracas relating to a quit notice served on him by the landlord, although Joshua’s rent was yet to expire.
Abraham explained that he was called at about 11:30pm on Friday by the victim’s girlfriend, informing him that his brother bled to death at the scene of the incident.

According to Abraham, his brother had, earlier in the day, had a fight with his landlord over an extension attached to his one-bedroom apartment, which was resolved when the late Joshua fled the house, only to be attacked in the evening when he returned home to pick some of his clothings.

Confirming the arrest of the landlord and his wife, a source in Ekpan Police Station stated that the suspect and his wife were in police custody and would soon be transferred to the state police headquarters for further investigation.

Wicked Landlord....I hear so many cases of tenants being frustrated and given emergency quite notice.

That was how a BV gisted me that the house they got,the Landlord gave a standing order that on woman tenant must wear trousers and then he reduced the rent and made it one year instead of the normal 2 years...

Like dangling a dangerous carrot!

38 comments:

1. Some tenants too... Story for another day...

1. Rip 2 him.
      But some tenants get Wahala like the one I have as a co tenant !
      One day I will mess her up...just respect one person.

2. If the Landlord actually killed him, he should face the music and start collecting rent in jail.

Though some tenants sha.

Need a yummy Birthday/Wedding cake in Abuja? Home / office delivery. Also send a gift of cake to your loved one in Abuja.Pls click on my ID to see pics and my contact details.

3. Everything about this country is messed up

4. Choi this is serious. Landlord has entered wahala o!

2. Landlords and their wahala! I don't blame pple who buy and build in very remote areas just to escape them

3. Heartless evil people everywhere.
    Death by hanging should be his punishment.
    RIP to the dead.

4. Pray dat get enough punishment for their crimes.....

1. Some tenants dou....
      Anyway, dey v committed d crime, let dem do d time.....

5. My own Landlord said he increases his rent every three years, I've only paid for two years and six months. Then he comes to tell me after using this two years and six months, I'll have to start paying #190k from #160 which I was paying for a mini-flat in Ipaja. Even the mini flat is supposed to be #140 from my findings. Where we have 2 bedroom flats for #200 or less. Una need to see as I reply the greedy, jobless old man. Whenever he needs money, he'll just come up with something.
    If we contribute utility or LAWMA bill and give him to go and pay, he will pay half and spend d rest on himself. Our gbese don reach to buy half plot for Epe so tay PHCN wan carry our wire go. He tells everybody the amount to pay for using power and we all agree. What I use in my apartment is not up to seven points, from 1k, he put it at #1,500, now it's 2k and I never use eyes see bill. We him tenants don mean am this month, we wan see where our money dey go. Little wonder one of the tenants gave him a name "Belgium rat".

Jesus is Lord.

1. Lmbo!

Una no go kee pesin for this blog.

2. @AQO, that is one of the reason why I hate staying in flat where the landlord resides there. They are always so bossy.

May the dead, R. I. P. And may justice prevail.

3. Belgium rat? Buhahahahha

6. The landlord is a wicked one!

It is rare to find a landlord with human sympathy. If they are not making life unbearable for you in their houses,they are using your star. Wicked people!

7. I hate it that he killed his tenant

Anoda Story:
    There's a tenant that needs to be ejected. Youngman is a dog. Oil worker,my ass. Uniport girls,shame on you. Coming to fight n sometimes i heard two or more sleep in his apartment at once. Woji will be happy when this mkpi,ọbụkọ,nkita ala leaves.
    Rig worker,my ass.

End of rant

8. Agreed some landlords are cruel, some tenants too can frustrate for Africa.

9. If you check it now, it won't be up to 10k.

And now he's a murderer.

And soon to be landlord -turned-convict.

10. Dresscode for tenants? And someone would still go ahead to rent that kind of house. What I choose to wear is no one's business and I'd never rent a house like that.

11. hmmmmmmmm! Warriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii! NA WA OOO

12. Nawa oh! And they forget that their children and relatives are tenants in another state or country. No body travels with his house!

13. Landlord and tenant wahala.

14. Now that the guy is dead what has he gained. All this landlord sef.

15. Wicked Extortionists some of dese Landlords!
    Hope dey pay dearly.Inukwa killing someone wit a cutlass...Animals!

16. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    May his soul RIP....

17. Hmmmm RIP to d dead. people shld learn to flee from trouble wen it comes knocking on d door. Most tenants & landlords have their faults but d issue is how such people can be managed. If d landlord had handled this issue well, he would have been resting in his house and not @ d police station and d tenant mayb in his one room or @ a new apartment.

18. Some landlords or should I say land ladies are devuil incarnate and mine is the leader
    she tells u wat u shud wear(bo shorts,miniskirts etc in her house),when are gen is faulty the tenants contributes for it else u won't fetch water and we contribute money for fuel monthly o,she even goes to the extent of tellin u she doesn't like the airfreshner u used in ur house,The woman is something else,if u refuse to do as she said,she will make ur life so miserable for the next week,she always threatening us with quit notice but last week I gave her a piece of my mind,it was a woman to woman thing,Thank God my rent is expiring November,can't wait to leave.....Sorry for the long epistle.

1. What rubbish. Will she enter ur house to be smelling everywhere? Why is she nose deep in what u do or wear? And u haven't created a scene yet? Nonsense. If she likes let her do anything, there are laws that guide tenants, and u cannot be evicted just like that. Even if u owe rent. This is invasive biko

19. They always talk about the bad landlord, y not talk about the good once also?

20. Yeah I heard of the crazy landlord that prevents his female tenants from wearing trousers, even visitors too is affected. It's not even the trouser issue, anyone can decide to stop wearing trousers anytime but the question is what right did he have to dictate what his tenants wear. Funny enough the landlord children are all useless bunch, smoking Marijuana here and there. I trust my friend, She gave it to the landlord and told him to shove his house down his ugly ass.
    Senseless rule of the year. Most of these lagos landlords too wicked to their intestines.
    I will always prefer to live in a house where the landlord stays in another place. May the dead Rip

1. Haaaaaaa@Queen Zibah, they are simply charlatans.

21. This comment has been removed by the author.

22. Landlord and their stress
    RIP to the guy

23. Is beating/killing him the best option? Don't be surprised the money won't be more than N40k

24. Haaaaaa @ AQO Belgium rat. No bi small thing o. Na Catholic hostel? The standing order pass Moses 10 commandment.
    1.No female Tenant is allowed to wear trouser
    2.No female visitor is allowed to wear trouser
    3.In case of celebration, educate your guest on the dress code.
    4.No alcohol should be used during the party
    5.All the tenants must participate on the Night Vigil (children, mother, father,including toddler
    6.You must not wear trouser to drop your children in school

Omo the house na gold, abi na for free? Oga Landlord park well jare, I can't deal. If Man be God, Aru ka emee.