Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Naira To Rise Further As Banks Reject Dollars

Monday, August 03, 2015

Naira To Rise Further As Banks Reject Dollars

The United States dollar will further tumble against the naira at the parallel market this week as Deposit Money Banks continue to reject cash deposit of foreign currencies into customers’ domiciliary accounts.

The naira had appreciated against the dollar from 245 to 220 at the parallel market last week after banks started denying their customers opportunity to make cash deposits of dollar, pound and euro into their domiciliary accounts.

Foreign exchange dealers say that the naira would likely appreciate further against the dollar at the black market this week.

A forex trader, who chose to speak under the condition of anonymity said, “We expect the naira to appreciate further this week at the parallel market.

“Banks have flooded the market with dollars and other foreign currencies. This is making the naira to appreciate. There is still a huge stock of dollars out there that the banks will be pushing into the parallel market this week.”

The Acting President, Association of Bureau De Change Operators, Alhaji Aminu Gwadabe, also noted that large amount of dollars in the market would make the naira to appreciate further at the parallel market this week.

Banks had last week told customers that they would no longer collect cash deposits into domiciliary accounts.

Bankers also noted that the parallel market was beginning to see a reversal in the naira’s weakness as banks stopped taking dollar deposits.

The local currency has lost around 15 per cent against the dollar over the past year, with an official devaluation in November and a de facto one in February.

-Punch extract

Na wah.....so those people hiding dollars better quickly change it because it a short while Dollar exchange rate will be worth nothing.
*sigh*
If Naira rises I will increase my advert rates oh.....LMAO!

51 comments:

1. Kikikikikikikk stellakork no let dem enter u ooo......Flight mode activated, catch me if you can.

1. Y now???
      They should wait a lil longer till iv changed some of my dolls.
      Changed some lastwk and twas 210 sef as against d 240-50 i was angry to say d least and now ts gona depreciate further. Habaaa.

This ain't a gud news for me o jare

2. Stella pls how much is ur Advert rate? I want like you to advertize for me. Thanks

3. Elena. Av u ever seen dollar? Just asking.

3. Na so somebody dash me £60, I quickly go change an str8 up, I got #21,000. Make naira rise abeg

1. This is good Abeg make dollars continue to come down till it comes one naira. " dreaming"

5. We are patiently waiting for the naira to appreciate in value.
    I hope it is not another Tales by moonlight

1. It has appreciated already, 245 to 220 and it will continue to appreciate. Next u'll say it Jonathan's doing. Olodo, Obo Lagido!!

2. Kai ur mentality is screwed.

3. Shut up! You can see it rising already from the above extract. Or can't you read? What then are you patiently waiting for?

4. Money monkey the blabber. The most daft person on this blog.

6. Nice one!!! Abeg naira should better rise..o cos the inflation rate is annoying.you go to the market and come back home in anger,all they tell u is dollar don rise.

7. Abeg the dollars should come back to N1.00 by sai baba (aka Go Slow).

I love this.

8. They cant even change it because there is no naira in the market. So either or, naira will still rise.

9. Nobody Is accepting dollar again. Its not only banks. I like this new nigeria. Let the cost of Mac products reduce abeg

1. My dear, the last lipstick I got cost me N5500. It's a ridiculous price considering most of them cost N3800 a few months ago.

2. No be small thing. Mac lipstick for 5500? Nawa....

3. Lol...
      Na where de pain person naim e go put for near fire.

10. Thank God.. Else before you know what's happening, it'll be 500 naira to $1. #NiceMove

1. Chai olodo 1 of SDK. U mean 500dollars to 1 naira?

Do you even understand the post at all

2. Anon 18:01, you are duller than the sides of an egg.
      I weep

3. Na u be olodo..she was correct..read her sentence very well..She was only happy dat naira is rising above dollar..Didn't u see where she wrote "else bfr u know wat is happening it will be 500naira to 1 dollar"...e be like say u no pass tru school..

4. And d 'dopemu, agege' even had the effrontery to question her comprehension of the post!

11. Finally! This is good news.

12. na wa oh...got 9500 dollars in my dorm account....so tempted to sell but hate when you are travelling and you will be looking for dollars to buy....these same banks just give u a certain amount for travel allowance.. and that yeye FCMB will always be short of forex when u want to buy from them...

13. Please Can somebody explain this thing to me.
    This whole Naira and Dollar issue is confusing me. Thank you

14. Hehe, see groove. Abeg it shld just be 1dollar to 1 naira. We don too suffer for this country.

15. Interesting...God help this country please.

16. Good move..
    Cos everyone is inflating prices with the excuse that 'dollars don cost'
    That's how I went to buy suya and the guy gave me like six pieces of meat for #200 and when I complained,his response was 'you no know say dollars don cost'
    Wetin concern dollars and 'malu'

17. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Oky thats nice....

18. Goodnews, thank God I have not paid my fees

19. Someone is missing here..... where is Money Monkey?

20. Midnight stories all na mouth!!

21. Great! Going to buy some dollars tomorrow 😊

22. Does it mean that there is no economist to explain d implication of bank rejection of cash deposit of dollar to d economy?pls I need gud economist