Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: National Electricity Regulatory Committee Abolishes Bulk Billing

Sunday, August 23, 2015

National Electricity Regulatory Committee Abolishes Bulk Billing

Following a recent query issued to NERC by the Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki-led Senate, on Monday, August 17th, 2015, the National Electricity Regulatory Committee, agreed to finally end the practice of bulk billing.

In a resolution presented on the floor of the Senate on Tuesday, August 11, 2015,  entitled: “Unfair trade practices of Electricity Distribution Companies in Nigeria,” which was sponsored by Senator Sam Egwu, from Ebonyi, and Senator David Umaru of Niger East Senatorial District, the Senate instructed NERC to “immediately abolish fixed charges on electricity consumption, bulk marketing of villages and communities.”

Additionally, the resolution required NERC to explain the “basis for Discos estimated electricity billing as well as payments made by consumers for meter installation in their homes.”

Initially, in a press conference held a week after the Senate query, NERC, under the leadership of its Chairman, Dr. Sam Amadi, attempted to defy the directive of the Upper Legislative body. However, in a swift turnaround, the commission released a statement on Monday, 17th August, 2015, stating that customers who do not receive power will henceforth be exempted from paying fixed charges. Additionally, the commission agreed with the Senate’s position on the need to eliminate the practice of bulk billing, and replace this practice with individual metering and billing.

Although it appears the Senate and NERC have reached an understanding on the issue of bulk billing, responding to the segment of the query on fixed charges and estimated billing, Dr. Amadi said that there is “no going back on the charges on electricity consumption fixed by the Commission as that was a global practice” – a compromise that many believe is a show of democracy at work.

Reacting to the development, the Senate President on Friday, August 21st, expressed his delight, stating that he was glad that NERC finally agreed with the position of the Senate. 

In a series of Tweets on his personal page, Dr. Saraki further commended NERC for responding to Nigerian’s calls in such a prompt manner, and reassured Nigerians that the “Motion on #power should be a signal to other regulatory bodies that the 8th Senate will not allow anti-people policies to go unchecked.”

The Senate President went on to urge Nigerians to engage with their representatives in the legislature as the 8th Senate will make channels of communication available to Senators- asking Nigerians to contact their Senators for oversight of any agencies and/or organizations. 

18 comments:

1. Praise God. Nigeria is on the march to become great again. The voice of the people

1. As in ehn. They can confidently discuss electricity payments now because light has become stable. Unlike before when Nigerians were aggrieved, no one could talk about PHCN bill when we weren't receiving the service. All good

2. We have heard. The most annoying is that estimated billing thing they do. I get light for only 15days in a month and you expect me to pay for 30 days light. What happened to the remaining 15 days that I run generator?

1. That's why it's better they introduce the card reader meter thing.. so u pay for only what u use.

3. Ok when dem go start to do am.

4. We are waiting oooooo. But what about releasing prepaid meters and stopping estimated bills

5. Wow I like it....nepa don enter am honestly I have been able to keep a reasonable time table of when we have light in my area now I think nepa is increasing o abi na only ?

6. But Saraki I dey look you with one eye o

7. Thank you, my senate President Dr. Bukola Saraki. Welldone we want more of this.

8. Nice move and they should also look into the issue of individual contributing to buy a part of transformer... when will d probe multi-choice

9. OK! That will be a welcome development.